Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed February 4, 2026 has been entered. The Applicant amended claims 1-2 and 16-17. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Final Office Action mailed November 26, 2025. The examiner withdraws the 112(b) rejections in light of the amendments to the Claims.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayala et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0393586 A1), hereinafter known as Ayala, in view of Shin (US PGPUB 2019/0252786 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ayala teaches (Fig. 8) A wearable device (10), comprising: a housing (16), comprising a metal portion (16-3, 40-4), configured as an antenna radiator (40-4); a printed circuit board (PCB) (50-4) disposed in the housing, opposite to the metal portion (16-3, 40-4); a feeding unit (48), electrically connected to a first end of the metal portion (46B) and feeds the antenna radiator; and a first switch (102B; [0107]), with one end electrically connected to a second end of the metal portion (46A), and the other end grounded (126), wherein the first switch is in a first switch state or a second switch state, wherein when the first switch (102B, SW1 in Fig. 9A) is in the first switch state (closed state), the second end of the metal portion (46A) is grounded through the first switch (102B, SW1 in Fig. 9A) to form a first antenna element (antenna element comprising 40-4 and 78) generating a first radiation pattern (radiation pattern generated by 40-4 and 78), and when the first switch (102B, SW1 in Fig. 9A) is in the second switch state (open state), the second end of the metal portion (46A) is not grounded through the first switch (102B, SW1 in Fig. 9A) to form a second antenna element (antenna element comprising 40-4) generating a second radiation pattern (radiation pattern generated by 40-4 and 78), the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern together increases a pattern coverage of the antenna radiator (Fig. 11 and [0121], tuning the antenna radiator to the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern increases a pattern coverage of the antenna radiator to the frequencies the antenna radiator is tuned to), and wherein an operating frequency band of the antenna radiator comprises a first frequency band (Abstract)
but does not specifically teach wherein the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern are complementary patterns with non-overlapping zero points, and wherein the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern operate within the first frequency band.
However, Shin teaches (Fig. 7A-7B) the first radiation pattern (Fig. 7A) and the second radiation pattern (Fig. 7B) are complementary patterns with non-overlapping zero points, and wherein the first radiation pattern (Fig. 7A) and the second radiation pattern (Fig. 7B) operate within the first frequency band ([0018]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wearable device of Ayala with Shin to include “the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern are complementary patterns with non-overlapping zero points, and wherein the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern operate within the first frequency band,” as taught by Shin, for the purpose of improving efficiency (see also [0032]).
Regarding claim 2, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 8) wherein a distance between a connection of the feeding unit and the metal portion (46A) and a connection of the one end of the first switch and the metal portion (46B) is greater than or equal to one-eighth of a first wavelength corresponding to the first frequency band ([0113], [0121]).
Regarding claim 3, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 8 and 9A) wherein when the first switch (102B, SW1) is in the first switch state (closed), the second end of the metal portion (16-3, 40-4) is grounded through the first switch (102B, SW1); and when the first switch is in the second switch state (open), the second end of the metal portion (16-3, 40-4) is not grounded through the first switch (102B, SW1).
Regarding claim 4, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 9A) wherein the first switch (SW1) is a single-pole single-throw switch (SW1), a single-pole double-throw switch, a single-pole four-throw switch, or a four-pole single-throw switch.
Regarding claim 5, Ayala further teaches wherein the first switch is an adjustable capacitor ([0051], [0106]), the first switch state corresponds to a first capacitance value of the adjustable capacitor ([0106]), and the second switch state corresponds to a second capacitance value of the adjustable capacitor ([0106]).
Regarding claim 7, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 8) wherein the PCB (50-4) comprises a metal layer ([0054]) disposed opposite to the metal portion of the housing (16-3, 40-4), and the other end of the first switch (102B) is electrically connected to the metal layer and grounded through the metal layer ([0054]).
Regarding claim 8, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 8) wherein at least one of the feeding unit (48) or the first switch is disposed on the PCB (50-4).
Regarding claim 9, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 8, 9C) wherein the wearable device comprises a matching network ([0050]); the first end of the metal portion comprises a first feeding point (108) and a second feeding point (46B); the matching network comprises a first radio frequency circuit (C), a second radio frequency circuit (L), and a second switch (SW9); one end of the first radio frequency circuit (C) is electrically connected to the metal portion at the first feeding point (108), and the other end of the first radio frequency circuit (C) is electrically connected to the second switch (SW9); one end of the second radio frequency circuit (L8) is electrically connected to the metal portion at the second feeding point (46B), and the other end of the second radio frequency circuit (L8) is electrically connected to the second switch (SW9); and the second switch (SW9) is electrically connected to the feeding unit (8).
Regarding claim 10, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 8, 9C) wherein the matching network further comprises a third radio frequency circuit (L9, SW10); and one end of the third radio frequency circuit is disposed between the second switch (SW9) and the feeding unit (48, 156), and the other end of the third radio frequency circuit is grounded (124, 160).
Regarding claim 11, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 9C) wherein the first radio frequency circuit comprises a first capacitor (C); the second radio frequency circuit comprises a first inductor (L8); and the third radio frequency circuit comprises a second inductor (L9).
Regarding claim 14, Ayala further teaches wherein the first frequency band is a Bluetooth frequency band ([0047]).
Regarding claim 15, Ayala further teaches wherein the wearable device is true wireless (TWS) headsets, a smart watch ([0025]), or smart glasses.
Regarding claim 16, Ayala teaches (Fig. 8) An antenna (40), comprising: a radiator (40-4), a printed circuit board (PCB) (50-4), a feeding unit (48), and a first switch (102B; [0107]), wherein the radiator (40-4) is disposed opposite to the PCB (50-4); the feeding unit (48) is electrically connected to a first end of the radiator (46B) and feeds the radiator (40-4); and one end of the first switch (102B; [0107]) is electrically connected to a second end of the radiator (46A), and the other end of the first switch is grounded (126), wherein the first switch is in a first switch state or a second switch state, wherein when the first switch (102B, SW1 in Fig. 9A) is in the first switch state (closed state), the second end of an antenna radiator (46A) is grounded through the first switch (102B, SW1 in Fig. 9A) to form a first antenna element (antenna element comprising 40-4 and 78) generating a first radiation pattern (radiation pattern generated by 40-4 and 78), and when the first switch (102B, SW1 in Fig. 9A) is in the second switch state (open state), the second end of the antenna radiator (46A) is not grounded through the first switch (102B, SW1 in Fig. 9A) to form a second antenna element (antenna element comprising 40-4) generating a second radiation pattern (radiation pattern generated by 40-4 and 78), the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern together increase a pattern coverage of the antenna (Fig. 11 and [0121], tuning the antenna to the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern increases a pattern coverage of the antenna to the frequencies the antenna is tuned to), wherein an operating frequency band of the antenna comprises a first frequency band (Abstract)
but does not specifically teach wherein the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern are complementary patterns with non-overlapping zero points, and wherein the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern operate within the first frequency band.
However, Shin teaches (Fig. 7A-7B) the first radiation pattern (Fig. 7A) and the second radiation pattern (Fig. 7B) are complementary patterns with non-overlapping zero points, and wherein the first radiation pattern (Fig. 7A) and the second radiation pattern (Fig. 7B) operate within the first frequency band ([0018]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the antenna of Ayala with Shin to include “the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern are complementary patterns with non-overlapping zero points, and wherein the first radiation pattern and the second radiation pattern operate within the first frequency band,” as taught by Shin, for the purpose of improving efficiency (see also [0032]).
Regarding claim 17, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 8) wherein a distance between a connection of the feeding unit and the radiator (46A) and a connection of the one end of the first switch and the radiator (46B) is greater than or equal to one-eighth of a first wavelength corresponding to the first frequency band ([0113], [0121]).
Regarding claim 18, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 8 and 9A) wherein when the first switch (102B, SW1) is in the first switch state (closed), the second end of the metal portion (16-3, 40-4) is grounded through the first switch (102B, SW1); and when the first switch is in the second switch state (open), the second end of the metal portion (16-3, 40-4) is not grounded through the first switch (102B, SW1).
Regarding claim 19, Ayala further teaches (Fig. 9A) wherein the first switch is a single-pole single-throw switch (SW1), a single-pole double-throw switch, a single-pole four-throw switch, a four-pole single-throw switch, or an adjustable capacitor
Regarding claim 20, Ayala further teaches wherein the first frequency band is a Bluetooth frequency band ([0047]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayala in view of Shin as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Bevelacqua et al. (US PGPUB 2014/0292598 A1), hereinafter known as Bevelacqua.
Regarding claim 6, Ayala does not specifically teach wherein the first capacitance value is less than or equal to 0.2 pF, and the second capacitance value is greater than or equal to 10 pF.
However, Bevelacqua teaches wherein the first capacitance value is less than or equal to 0.2 pF ([0054]), and the second capacitance value is greater than or equal to 10 pF ([0054]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wearable device of Ayala with Bevelacqua to include “wherein the first capacitance value is less than or equal to 0.2 pF, and the second capacitance value is greater than or equal to 10 pF,” as taught by Bevelacqua, for the purpose of tuning to a desired frequency (see also [0052]). Such a modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ayala in view of Shin as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Hu (US PGPUB 2018/0212336 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Ayala does not specifically teach wherein a capacitance value of the first capacitor is between 0.5 pF and 1.5 pF, an inductance value of the first inductor is between 1 nH and 2 nH, and an inductance value of the second inductor is between 1 nH and 2 nH.
However, Hu teaches (Fig. 6) wherein a capacitance value of the first capacitor (34) is between 0.5 pF and 1.5 pF ([0036]), an inductance value of the first inductor (24) is between 1 nH and 2 nH ([0034]), and an inductance value of the second inductor (38) is between 1 nH and 2 nH ([0042]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wearable device of Ayala with Hu to include “wherein a capacitance value of the first capacitor is between 0.5 pF and 1.5 pF, an inductance value of the first inductor is between 1 nH and 2 nH, and an inductance value of the second inductor is between 1 nH and 2 nH,” as taught by Hu, for the purpose of achieving a desired frequency (see also [0034]). Such a modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 13, Ayala does not specifically teach wherein a capacitance value of the first capacitor is 1 pF, an inductance value of the first inductor is 1.5 nH, and an inductance value of the second inductor is 1.5 nH.
However, Hu teaches (Fig. 6) wherein a capacitance value of the first capacitor (34) is 1 pF ([0036]), an inductance value of the first inductor (24) is 1.5 nH ([0034]), and an inductance value of the second inductor (38) is 1.5 nH ([0042]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the wearable device of Ayala with Hu to include “wherein a capacitance value of the first capacitor is 1 pF, an inductance value of the first inductor is 1.5 nH, and an inductance value of the second inductor is 1.5 nH,” as taught by Hu, for the purpose of achieving a desired frequency (see also [0034]). Such a modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The Examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record within the body of this action for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply.
Applicant, in preparing the response, should consider fully the entire reference as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/DAMEON E LEVI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2845
/YONCHAN J KIM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2845