Status of Claims
Claims 1-24 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 is objected to because of the following informality: The underlining limitation “the accommodation body fastener includes an upper fastener positioned higher than the accommodation surface, and a lower surface positioned lower than the accommodation surface” is unclear and improper. As disclosed in the Specification at [0122]: the accommodation body fastener 833 may include an upper fastener located higher than the accommodation surface 832 and a lower fastener located lower than the accommodation surface 832. Thus, it is the lower fastener that is positioned lower than the accommodation surface and not the lower surface positioned lower than the accommodation surface.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16, 19, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN-111434832-A).
With respect to claim 1, Wang teaches of an interface (a rotating knob with display structure 20, fig.1, of a washing machine for user to set proper program to wash clothes, pages 1-2; specifically, in the washing machine, through rotating the shell 10 can select the corresponding washing program and adjusting the washing parameter, through the display structure 20 can display the current washing parameter and the working state of the machine, page 8) comprising:
an encoder (encoder 14, fig.1) including a fixing portion (encoder bracket 13, fig.1), a rotating portion rotatably coupled to the fixing portion (the encoder bracket 13 comprises a relatively rotating supporting part and a rotating part 134, fig.1 and page 9; the supporting part [134] is fixedly connected with the knob bracket 30; the rotating part [134] is fixedly connected with the shell 10, so as to realize the shell rotating, page 9), and a signal generator configured to generate an electrical signal during rotation of the rotating portion and connected to a first circuit board (encoder 14 electrically connected with the computer board…the computer board according to the signal generated by the encoder 14 to obtain the rotating direction of the knob, rotating angle, and according to the rotating direction, the rotating angle controls the household appliance to execute the operation or program corresponding to the position of the knob, page 8);
an actuator1 (the rotating knob with shell 10 including the knob main body 11 and the knob base 12, and the sealing piece 40 to drive and control movement, fig.1 and pages 8-13) including a shaft2 fixed to the rotating portion (sealing piece 40 and knob base 12 are fixedly connected to the knob bracket 30 and the encoder bracket 13 as disclosed in fig.1; the knob main body 11 is fixedly connected with the knob base 12…the knob base 12 is fixedly connected with the rotating part [134]…the knob main body 11 is matched with the rotating part [134] to realize the rotating function, fig.1 and page 9), a handle3 fixed to the shaft and configured to receive a force required for rotation of the shaft (the knob main body 11 of the shell 10, drives the rotating part [134] to move, page 13; the supporting part [134] is fixedly connected with the knob bracket 30; the rotating part [134] is fixedly connected with the shell 10, so as to realize the shell [10] rotating…it is convenient for the user to check the parameter information, page 9), an accommodation space4 provided in the handle to have a greater cross-sectional area than a cross-sectional area of the shaft (inner surface of the knob main body 11 has a diameter greater than the inner surface diameter of the sealing piece 40, fig.1), and a handle through hole5 configured to communicate with an outside of the accommodation space to pass through one surface of the handle (the internal cavity of the knob main body 11 for fixedly connect the components of the encoder 14 and the display structure 20 as disclosed in fig.1; the supporting part [134] is fixedly connected with the knob bracket 30; the rotating part [134] is fixedly connected with the shell 10, so as to realize the shell [10] rotating…it is convenient for the user to check the parameter information, page 9; the encoder 14 obtains the position information of the knob, the encoder 14 processes the position information, the washing machine executes the corresponding operation (program), the digital screen processing the current state of the machine into information, page 13); and
a display unit (display structure 20, fig.1) including a fastening body fixed to the fixing portion to pass through the shaft (decorative plate 23 of the display structure 20 is fastened to the knob bracket 30, page 11; the knob bracket 30 is further connected to the encoder bracket 13, page 10), an accommodation body fixed to the fastening body and located inside the accommodation space, and a display fixed to a side of the accommodation body (as disclosed in fig.1, the body of the display structure 20 are fastened inside the inner surface of the knob main body 11; and the display screen 21 is embedded in the display screen bracket 22, the display screen bracket 22 in the position of the light guide hole 222 shape is corresponding to the display content of the decorative plate 23; the display screen 21 structure also serves to the display screen bracket 22 in the knob bracket 30; the limiting groove 221 and the limiting post 305; the decorative plate 23 through the third buckle 306 and the third slot 232 and the knob bracket 30 is fixed, page 13), which faces the handle through hole, and configured to display information (the display screen 21 faces the knob main body 11 through the cross-sectional area space, fig.1; the display structure 20 comprises a display screen 21, a display screen 21 connected with the computer board; the display structure 20 is used for displaying the parameter information of the household appliance, page 8).
With respect to claim 2, Wang teaches wherein the cross-sectional area of the accommodation body is set to be less than a cross-sectional area of the accommodation space and set to be greater than the cross-sectional area of the shaft (as disclosed in fig.1, the body of the display structure 20 are fastened inside the inner surface of the knob main body 11, thus the body of the display structure 20 is less than the inner diameter of the knob main body 11, and the body of the display structure 20 is greater than the inner diameter of the sealing piece 40, fig.1).
With respect to claim 3, Wang teaches further comprising: a shaft through hole that is connected to the accommodation space to pass through the shaft and into which the fastening body is inserted (sealing piece 40 with a through hole and knob base 12 are fixedly connected to the knob bracket 30 and the encoder bracket 13 as disclosed in fig.1; the knob main body 11 is fixedly connected with the knob base 12…the knob base 12 is fixedly connected with the rotating part [134]…the knob main body 11 is matched with the rotating part [134] to realize the rotating function, fig.1 and page 9); and a base that extends from a circumferential surface of the shaft in a direction away from a center of the shaft through hole and to which the handle is fixed (a knob base 12 that extends from inner surface of the sealing piece 40 away from the through hole of the sealing piece 40, fig.1), wherein a cross-sectional area of the base is set to be greater than a cross-sectional area of the shaft through hole (inner surface of the knob base 12 has a diameter greater than the inner surface of the sealing piece 40, fig.1).
With respect to claim 4, Wang teaches further comprising: a shaft through hole that is connected to the accommodation space to pass through the shaft and into which the fastening body is inserted (sealing piece 40 with a through hole and knob base 12 are fixedly connected to the knob bracket 30 and the encoder bracket 13 as disclosed in fig.1; the knob main body 11 is fixedly connected with the knob base 12…the knob base 12 is fixedly connected with the rotating part [134]…the knob main body 11 is matched with the rotating part [134] to realize the rotating function, fig.1 and page 9); and a base that extends from a circumferential surface of the shaft in a direction away from a center of the shaft through hole and to which the handle is fixed (a knob base 12 that extends from inner surface of the sealing piece 40 away from the through hole of the sealing piece 40, fig.1), wherein a diameter of the base is set to be greater than a diameter of the shaft through hole (inner surface of the knob base 12 has a diameter greater than the inner surface of the sealing piece 40, fig.1).
With respect to claim 16/4, Wang teaches wherein the actuator further includes; a plurality of base fasteners provided on the handle and fixed to the base (mounting holes 141 and predetermined position hole 142, fig.1 and page 10); and a handle outlet provided to pass through the base or the handle and configured to guide water flowing into the accommodation space to an outside of the handle (the gap between the inner wall surface of the knob main body and the outer wall surface of the decorative plate (the gap can be assembling gap) defines the water vapor inlet 60, the knob base body is provided with a water vapor outlet. is convenient for water to flow out from the water vapor outlet; the water vapor outlet can be set at the bottom of the knob base, page 13).
With respect to claim 5, Wang teaches wherein the accommodation body includes: an accommodation body base extending from a circumferential surface of the fastening body; and an accommodation body circumferential surface extending in a length direction of the fastening body from an edge of the accommodation body base (as disclosed in fig.1, the body of the display structure 20 are fastened inside the inner surface of the knob main body 11; and the display screen 21 is embedded in the display screen bracket 22, the display screen bracket 22 in the position of the light guide hole 222 shape is corresponding to the display content of the decorative plate 23; the display screen 21 structure also serves to the display screen bracket 22 in the knob bracket 30; the limiting groove 221 and the limiting post 305; the decorative plate 23 through the third buckle 306 and the third slot 232 and the knob bracket 30 is fixed, page 13).
With respect to claim 6, Wang teaches further comprising: a mounting space provided in the accommodation body; a mounting portion that is provided in the mounting space and to which the display is fixed (the display screen 21 is embedded in the display screen bracket 22, the display screen bracket 22 in the position of the light guide hole 222 shape is corresponding to the display content of the decorative plate 23; the display screen 21 structure also serves to the display screen bracket 22 in the knob bracket 30; the limiting groove 221 and the limiting post 305; the decorative plate 23 through the third buckle 306 and the third slot 232 and the knob bracket 30 is fixed, page 13); a second circuit board including a circuit configured to control the display (the display screen 21 is a control part of the display structure 20, receiving the computer board signal, controlling the display content, page 11); and a cover fixed to the accommodation body and configured to close the mounting space (decorative plate 23 fixed to the body of the display structure 20 to close the mounting space for the display structure 20, fig.1).
With respect to claim 7, Wang teaches further comprising: an accommodation body through hole provided in a side of a space provided by the accommodation body, which is directed toward the handle through hole, and configured to close the cover; and a fastening body through hole connected to the mounting space to pass through the fastening body, wherein the display is located between the cover and the mounting portion (the knob bracket 30 and the decorative plate 23 can also be connected by a bolt and other fastener, page 11; the display screen bracket 22 is located between the display screen 21 and the decorative plate 23, fig.1).
With respect to claim 8, Wang teaches further comprising: an accommodation body through hole provided in a side of a space provided by the accommodation body, which is directed toward the handle through hole, and configured to close the cover; and a fastening body through hole connected to the mounting space to pass through the fastening body, wherein the second circuit board is located between the mounting portion and the fastening body through hole (the knob bracket 30 and the decorative plate 23 can also be connected by a bolt and other fastener or adhesive or threaded connection, page 11; the display screen 21 is located between the knob bracket 30 and the decorative plate 23 …connected by a bolt and other fastener, page 11).
With respect to claim 9, Wang teaches further comprising: a lamp fixed to the second circuit board; a lamp through hole that is provided to pass through the mounting portion and into which the lamp is inserted (the display screen bracket 22 is provided with multiple light guide holes 222, so that the light in the display screen 21 is transparent, page 11); and a cover sheet fixed to one surface of the cover and having a region to which the lamp through hole is projected and in which a letter or a symbol is formed (display screen 21 is embedded in the display screen bracket 22, display screen bracket 22 in the position of the light guide hole 222, the shape is corresponding to the display content of the decorative plate 23, in the display screen 21 structure is also service, such as display screen 21 light source structure corresponding to the display content, page 11).
With respect to claim 10, Wang teaches wherein the mounting portion includes a mounting body that is fixed to the mounting space and in which the lamp through hole is formed (the display screen bracket 22 is provided with multiple light guide holes 222, so that the light in the display screen 21 is transparent, page 11), and an accommodation body fastener provided on a surface of the mounting body, which is in contact with the accommodation body, and the accommodation body includes a mounting body fastener provided on the mounting space and coupled to the accommodation body fastener (the knob bracket 30 and the decorative plate 23 can also be connected by a bolt and other fastener or adhesive or threaded connection, page 11; the display screen 21 is located between the knob bracket 30 and the decorative plate 23 …connected by a bolt and other fastener, page 11).
With respect to claim 11, Wang teaches further comprising an accommodation groove that is provided on one surface of the mounting body and in which the display is accommodated, wherein the accommodation body fastener includes an upper fastener positioned higher than the accommodation surface, and a lower surface positioned lower than the accommodation surface (limiting groove 221 of the display screen bracket 22 and clamping groove 232 of the decorative plate 23 as disclosed in fig.1, the groove 232 is upper fastener position of the decorative plate 23 surface and the groove 221 is lower surface position of the display screen bracket 22, fig.1).
With respect to claim 12, Wang teaches further comprising: a fixing protrusion protruding toward the mounting body from the cover; and a fixing protrusion fastener that is provided on the mounting body and to which the fixing protrusion is coupled (a decorative plate 23 is set above the knob bracket 30, a decorative plate 23 extends downwards to form a second extending bulge 231, the second extending bulge 231 located on the knob bracket main body 301 of the inner side or outer side. the second extending bulge 231 and the knob bracket main body 301 is provided with a third buckle 306, page 11).
With respect to claim 13, Wang teaches further comprising: a protrusion protruding toward the second circuit board from the mounting body; and a protrusion through hole that is provided to pass through the second circuit board and into which the protrusion is inserted (the second extending bulge 231 bulge towards the display screen 21 and the second extending bulge 231 passes through the display screen 21, page 11).
With respect to claim 14, Wang teaches further comprising a selection unit provided in the mounting space and configured to determine whether to select a control command displayed on the display by detecting whether a body of a user is in contact with the cover (through rotating the shell 10 can select the corresponding washing program and adjusting the washing parameter, through the display structure 20 can display the current washing parameter and the working state of the machine, page 8; the computer board receives the signal of the encoder 14 to select to execute the corresponding control instruction, the decorative plate 23 corresponding to the indication icon highlighted. by touching the touch control area or pressing the key area, a touch signal or pressing signal is transmitted to the display screen 21, a display screen 21 receives the signal transmitted to the computer board through the lead, the computer board according to the received signal selection to execute the corresponding control instruction, decorative board 23 corresponding to the indication icon highlighted. the display screen 21 controls and displays the current washing parameter and the working state of the machine through the computer board, page 12).
With respect to claim 15, Wang teaches wherein the selection unit includes a sensor provided on the second circuit board and configured to detect static electricity of the body of the user, and a conductor connecting the sensor and the cover (the computer board receives the signal of the encoder 14 to select to execute the corresponding control instruction, the decorative plate 23 corresponding to the indication icon highlighted. by touching the touch control area or pressing the key area, a touch signal or pressing signal is transmitted to the display screen 21, a display screen 21 receives the signal transmitted to the computer board through the lead, the computer board according to the received signal selection to execute the corresponding control instruction, decorative board 23 corresponding to the indication icon highlighted. the display screen 21 controls and displays the current washing parameter and the working state of the machine through the computer board).
With respect to claim 19, Wang teaches wherein the display displays preset information according to the electrical signal generated by the signal generator (a display screen 21 electrically connected with the computer board, a rotating knob, the encoder 14 rotates, the rotating position of the feedback knob to the computer board, the input of the signal. the computer board according to the signal generated by the encoder 14 to obtain the rotating direction of the knob, rotating angle, and according to the rotating direction, the rotating angle controls the household appliance to execute the operation or program corresponding to the position of the knob; the display structure displays the parameter information of the household appliance, realizing the knob with integrated rotation and display function, page 8).
With respect to claim 23, Wang teaches of a laundry treatment apparatus (a rotating knob with display structure 20, fig.1, of a washing machine for user to set proper program to wash clothes, pages 1-2; specifically, in the washing machine, through rotating the shell 10 can select the corresponding washing program and adjusting the washing parameter, through the display structure 20 can display the current washing parameter and the working state of the machine, page 8) comprising:
a drum6 providing a space in which clothes are accommodated (washing machine to wash clothes, pages 1-2, would require to have ‘a drum’);
an encoder (encoder 14, fig.1) including a fixing portion (encoder bracket 13, fig.1), a rotating portion rotatably coupled to the fixing portion (the encoder bracket 13 comprises a relatively rotating supporting part and a rotating part 134, fig.1 and page 9; the supporting part [134] is fixedly connected with the knob bracket 30; the rotating part [134] is fixedly connected with the shell 10, so as to realize the shell rotating, page 9), and a signal generator configured to generate an electrical signal during rotation of the rotating portion and connected to a first circuit board (encoder 14 electrically connected with the computer board…the computer board according to the signal generated by the encoder 14 to obtain the rotating direction of the knob, rotating angle, and according to the rotating direction, the rotating angle controls the household appliance to execute the operation or program corresponding to the position of the knob, page 8);
an actuator7 (the rotating knob with shell 10 including the knob main body 11 and the knob base 12, and the sealing piece 40 to drive and control movement, fig.1 and pages 8-13) including a shaft8, a shaft through hole that is provided to pass through the shaft and to which the rotating portion is fixed (sealing piece 40 with a through hole and knob base 12 are fixedly connected to the knob bracket 30 and the encoder bracket 13 as disclosed in fig.1; the knob main body 11 is fixedly connected with the knob base 12…the knob base 12 is fixedly connected with the rotating part [134]…the knob main body 11 is matched with the rotating part [134] to realize the rotating function, fig.1 and page 9), a base that extends from a circumferential surface of the shaft in a direction away from the shaft through hole (a knob base 12 that extends from inner surface of the sealing piece 40 away from the through hole of the sealing piece 40, fig.1), a handle9 fixed to the base and configured to receive a force required for rotation of the shaft (the knob main body 11 is fixed to the knob base 12, fig.1, drives the rotating part [134] to move, page 13; the supporting part [134] is fixedly connected with the knob bracket 30; the rotating part [134] is fixedly connected with the shell 10, so as to realize the shell [10] rotating…it is convenient for the user to check the parameter information, page 9), an accommodation space10 provided inside the handle and communicating with the shaft through hole (inner surface of the knob main body 11 is fixedly connected to the knob base 12 and the through hole of the sealing piece 40, fig.1), and a handle through hole11 provided to pass through one surface of the handle and configured to communicate between the accommodation space and an outside (the internal cavity of the knob main body 11 for fixedly connect the components of the encoder 14 and the display structure 20 as disclosed in fig.1; the supporting part [134] is fixedly connected with the knob bracket 30; the rotating part [134] is fixedly connected with the shell 10, so as to realize the shell [10] rotating…it is convenient for the user to check the parameter information, page 9; the encoder 14 obtains the position information of the knob, the encoder 14 processes the position information, the washing machine executes the corresponding operation (program), the digital screen processing the current state of the machine into information, page 13); and
a display unit (display structure 20, fig.1) including a fastening body inserted into the shaft through hole and fixed to the fixing portion (the knob main body 11 and the knob base 12 can also be connected by a bolt and other fastening piece, page 10; the knob bracket 30 is connected with the decorative plate 23 by a fastener, page 11; the rotating knob as disclosed in fig.1 is a complete mechanism, thus all parts as shown are fastened from the display structure 20 through the encoder bracket 13 and the encoder 14, fig.1 and pages 8-13), an accommodation body fixed to the fastening body and located inside the accommodation space, and a display fixed to the accommodation body to be directed toward the handle through hole and configured to display information (the display screen 21 is embedded in the display screen bracket 22, the display screen bracket 22 in the position of the light guide hole 222 shape is corresponding to the display content of the decorative plate 23; the display screen 21 structure also serves to the display screen bracket 22 in the knob bracket 30; the limiting groove 221 and the limiting post 305; the decorative plate 23 through the third buckle 306 and the third slot 232 and the knob bracket 30 is fixed, page 13; the display screen 21 faces the knob main body 11 through the cross-sectional area space, fig.1; the display structure 20 comprises a display screen 21, a display screen 21 connected with the computer board; the display structure 20 is used for displaying the parameter information of the household appliance, page 8), wherein a cross-sectional area of the base is set to be greater than a cross-sectional area of the shaft through hole (inner surface of the knob base 12 has a diameter greater than the inner surface of the sealing piece 40, fig.1).
With respect to claim 24, Wang teaches further comprising: a mounting space provided in the accommodation body; an accommodation body through hole provided in a side of a space provided by the accommodation body, which is directed toward the handle through hole, and communicating with the mounting space; a fastening body through hole connected to the mounting space to pass through the fastening body; a mounting portion that is provided in the mounting space and to which the display is fixed; a second circuit board provided inside the mounting space to be located between the mounting portion and the accommodation body through hole and including a circuit configured to control the display; and a cover fixed to the accommodation body and configured to close the accommodation body through hole (the display screen 21 is embedded in the display screen bracket 22, the display screen bracket 22 in the position of the light guide hole 222 shape is corresponding to the display content of the decorative plate 23; the display screen 21 structure also serves to the display screen bracket 22 in the knob bracket 30; the limiting groove 221 and the limiting post 305; the decorative plate 23 through the third buckle 306 and the third slot 232 and the knob bracket 30 is fixed, page 13; the knob bracket 30 and the decorative plate 23 can also be connected by a bolt and other fastener or adhesive or threaded connection, page 11; the display screen 21 is located between the knob bracket 30 and the decorative plate 23 …connected by a bolt and other fastener, page 11; the display screen 21 is a control part of the display structure 20, receiving the computer board signal, controlling the display content, page 11; decorative plate 23 fixed to the body of the display structure 20 to close the mounting space for the display structure 20, fig.1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-18 and 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious, which makes the following claims allowable over the prior art:
With respect to claim 17/16/4, Wang teaches further comprising: a fastening guide provided on the handle and located between one base fastener and another base fastener; and a guide groove that is provided in a groove formed by bending a circumferential surface of the base toward the shaft through hole and in which the fastening guide is accommodated.
With respect to claim 20, wherein the fixing portion includes: a fixing body fixed to the first circuit board; a support body that extends from the fixing body and to which the rotating portion is rotatably fixed; a body through hole connected to a board through hole formed in the first circuit board to pass through the fixing body and the support body; and a fastening body fixing portion that is provided on at least one of the fixing body and the support body to be located in the body through hole and to which the fastening body is fixed, and the rotating portion further includes a rotating body rotatably coupled to the support body, and a shaft fastener that is provided on the rotating body and to which the shaft is fixed.
Claim 18 is allowed due to its dependency on claim 17 and claims 21-22 are allowed due to their dependency on claim 20.
Conclusion
The additional prior arts made of record and have not been relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure as follows: US-20180010932-A1, CN_107675437_A, and KR_20190000990_U.
/HIEN D KHUU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116 May 28, 2026
1 Applicant’s disclosure in [0094] and figure 8 defines the actuator as the handle 73 including the shaft 71 and appears to be equivalent to the rotating knob as disclosed by Wang in fig.1 that includes at least the knob main body 11, the knob base 12, a display structure 20, a sealing piece 40.
2 Applicant’s disclosure in [0094] and figure 8 defines the shaft 71 as part of the actuator 7 and appears to be equivalent to the sealing piece 40 as disclosed by Wang in figure 1.
3 Applicant’s disclosure in [0094] and figure 8 defines the handle 73 as part of the actuator and appears to be equivalent to the knob main body 11 as disclosed by Wang in figure 1.
4 Applicant’s disclosure in [0098] and figure 8 defines the accommodation space 731 as the inner surface of the handle 73 and appears to be equivalent to inner surface of the knob main body 11 as disclosed by Wang in fig.1.
5 Applicant’s disclosure in [0098] and figure 8 defines the handle through hole 732 as the internal cavity formed for pass through and appears to be equivalent to the internal cavity of the knob main body 11 for fixedly connecting components of the encoder 14 and the display structure 20 as disclosed by Wang in fig.1.
6 Applicant’s disclosure in [0048] and figure 2 defines a drum 3 to provide a space in which a clothing (generic name of a laundry object) may be provided inside the cabinet 1, thus the drum is interpreted as the large, central cylinder where clothes are loaded.
7 Applicant’s disclosure in [0094] and figure 8 defines the actuator as the handle 73 including the shaft 71 and appears to be equivalent to the rotating knob as disclosed by Wang in fig.1 that includes at least the knob main body 11, the knob base 12, a display structure 20, a sealing piece 40.
8 Applicant’s disclosure in [0094] and figure 8 defines the shaft 71 as part of the actuator 7 and appears to be equivalent to the sealing piece 40 as disclosed by Wang in figure 1.
9 Applicant’s disclosure in [0094] and figure 8 defines the handle 73 as part of the actuator and appears to be equivalent to the knob main body 11 as disclosed by Wang in figure 1.
10 Applicant’s disclosure in [0098] and figure 8 defines the accommodation space 731 as the inner surface of the handle 73 and appears to be equivalent to inner surface of the knob main body 11 as disclosed by Wang in fig.1.
11 Applicant’s disclosure in [0098] and figure 8 defines the handle through hole 732 as the internal cavity formed for pass through and appears to be equivalent to the internal cavity of the knob main body 11 for fixedly connecting components of the encoder 14 and the display structure 20 as disclosed by Wang in fig.1.