Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-13 are pending.
Claims 2, and 7 are canceled.
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 13 are currently amended.
Claim 13 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6, and 8-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson (US D459156 ) in view of Barducci (US 20070267422) and Wikipedia (hereinafter “Wiki”).
Regarding claim 1, Davidson discloses, An alcoholic drink tasting glass (Fig.1-5; Description) comprising: sidewalls (See annotated fig. below) and a base (See annotated fig. below) which define a volume (See annotated fig. below)for accommodating a liquid , a conical depression (See annotated fig. below) formed in the base and located inside the volume of the alcoholic drink tasting glass and wherein the conical depression is formed by sidewalls which have a constant curvature.
However, Davidson does not explicitly disclose the conical depression comprises a tip.
Barducci discloses a glass wherein the center of the glass comprises a tip (18; fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the depression of Davidson to incorporate a tip at the center as taught Barducci for the purpose of “interrupt the flow of the drink in the cup, facilitating oxygenation and a more intense emission of the aromas and bouquet.” (Para 22).
Incorporating the tip to the center disrupts the flow of the drink and thereby improving oxygenation.
However, Davidson does not explicitly disclose, wherein the alcoholic drink tasting glass is formed from soda-lime glass.
Wiki discloses, beverage container are made of soda-lime glass.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davidson to make the glass of soda-lime glass as it is known to be “inexpensive, chemically stable, reasonably hard, and extremely workable.”.
The limitation “a mechanically formed conical depression formed by a tool, and […] the mechanically formed conical depression comprises a mechanically formed tip formed by the tool” is considered product by process. The determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. (Same cite as above).
The limitation “the conical depression is configured to distribute the alcoholic liquid when poured into the alcoholic drink tasting glass,wherein the conical depression is configured to reduce a splash of the alcoholic liquid when poured into the alcoholic drink tasting glass” is considered to be functional language. The prior art of Davidson as modified has all the structures required perform the claimed functional limitation. Hence, the prior art is inherently capable of performing the limitation. It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Herein the glass of Davidson has all the structure as claimed and is considered to be capable of “distribute the alcoholic liquid when poured […] and reduce a splash of the alcoholic liquid when poured into the alcoholic drink tasting glass”.
The limitation “the soda-lime glass interacts with ethanol in the alcoholic liquid when the alcoholic liquid is poured into the alcoholic drink tasting glass, and wherein the soda-lime glass interaction with the ethanol decreases an amount of ethanol to be vaporized from the alcoholic liquid” is considered to be intended use. Examiner asserts that the recitation of intended use or purpose of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use or fulfilling said purpose, then it meets the claim. Herein, the soda-lime glass of Davidson is just as the instant application as claimed and therefore is expected to perform the same i.e. interact with ethanol when alcoholic liquid is poured and interaction with the ethanol decreases an amount of ethanol to be vaporized from the alcoholic liquid.
Regarding claim 3, Davidson discloses, the conical depression has a symmetry axis which is perpendicular to the base (Fig. 5; depression is shown to be symmetric).
Regarding claim 4, 5, and 6; Davidson discloses a conical depression but does not explicitly disclose, a volume defined by the depression is between 0.5 ml and 3 ml, and a volume defined by the depression is less than 1 ml and a depth of the depression is between 6 mm and 10 mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a volume defined by the depression is between 0.5 ml and 3 ml, and a volume defined by the depression is less than 1 ml and a depth of the conical depression is between 6 mm and 10 mm, since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II A). This is done for the purpose of improving aeration when pouring drink in the glass.
Regarding claim 8, Davidson discloses, the base comprising an ice (See annotated fig. below) but does not disclose, an ice having a thickness of between 20mm and 50mm.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an ice having a thickness of between 20mm and 50mm since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II A). This is done for the purpose of making the glass bottom heavy thus allowing for improved stability while also minimizing thermal exchange in between any surface the glass is kept and the beverage.
Regarding claim 9, Davidson discloses the sidewalls form a bulb (Fig. 1-5).
Regarding claim 10, Davidson discloses, the sidewalls have a convergent portion (as it goes towards the bottom/base) and a divergent portion (as the wall goes towards the opening), wherein the divergent portion forms a mouth of the glass (Fig. 1, 5).
Regarding claim 11, Davidson discloses a sidewall with a curvature radii but does not explicitly disclose, a curvature radii of the sidewalls are between 50 mm and 60mm. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a curvature radii of the sidewalls are between 50 mm and 60mm since the claimed values are merely an optimum or workable range. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.05(II A). This is done for the purpose of improving while allowing an user to swirl the beverage at an ideal rate that allows for elevated experience.
Regarding claim 12, Davidson discloses the glass comprises 65-75 percent silicon dioxide (See fig. below) , 10-20 percent sodium oxide (See fig. below), and 2-16 percent calcium oxide (See fig. below).
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davidson (US D459156 ) in view of Janku (US D744285), and D'Orefice (US 3608766) as evidenced by NPL (Wikipedia).
Regarding claim 1, Davidson discloses, An alcoholic drink tasting glass (Fig.1-5; Description) comprising: sidewalls (See annotated fig. below) and a base (See annotated fig. below) which define a volume (See annotated fig. below)for accommodating a liquid , a conical depression (See annotated fig. below) formed in the base and located inside the volume of the alcoholic drink tasting glass and wherein the conical depression is formed by sidewalls which have a constant curvature.
However, Davidson does not explicitly disclose the conical depression comprises a tip.
Janku discloses a wine glass comprising a depression wherein the depression is steep making a tip (fig. 1-2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the depression of Davidson to make it steep thus making a tip as taught by Janku since such modification would interrupt the flow of the drink thereby improving aeration.
However, Davidson does not explicitly disclose, wherein the alcoholic drink tasting glass is formed from soda-lime glass.
D'Orefice discloses, beverage glass made of soda-lime glass (Col. 2; lines 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Davidson to make the glass of soda-lime glass as it is known to be inexpensive, chemically stable, reasonably hard, and extremely workable.1
The limitation “a mechanically formed conical depression formed by a tool, and […] the mechanically formed conical depression comprises a mechanically formed tip formed by the tool” is considered product by process. The determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. That is, the product in such a claim is unpatentable if it is the same as or obvious from the product of the prior art, even if the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 697, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). A product-by-process limitation adds no patentable distinction to the claim, and is unpatentable if the claimed product is the same as a product of the prior art. (Same cite as above)
The limitation “the conical depression is configured to distribute the alcoholic liquid when poured into the alcoholic drink tasting glass, wherein the conical depression is configured to reduce a splash of the alcoholic liquid when poured into the alcoholic drink tasting glass” is considered to be functional language. The prior art of Davidson as modified has all the structures required perform the claimed functional limitation. Hence, the prior art is inherently capable of performing the limitation. It is well settled that it is possible for functional language to define structure, but that where no distinguishing structure has been defined, the claim is not patentable and is fully met by the reference. See In re Swinehart, 169 USPQ 226. See also General Electric v. United States, 198 USPQ 73 which further reinforced the concept that functional language which defines no structure cannot distinguish over the prior art. See MPEP 2173.05(g). Herein the glass of Davidson has all the structure as claimed and is considered to be capable of “distribute the alcoholic liquid when poured […] and reduce a splash of the alcoholic liquid when poured into the alcoholic drink tasting glass”.
The limitation “the soda-lime glass interacts with ethanol in the alcoholic liquid when the alcoholic liquid is poured into the alcoholic drink tasting glass, and wherein the soda-lime glass interaction with the ethanol decreases an amount of ethanol to be vaporized from the alcoholic liquid” is considered to be intended use. Examiner asserts that the recitation of intended use or purpose of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use or fulfilling said purpose, then it meets the claim. Herein, the soda-lime glass of Davidson is just as the instant application as claimed and therefore is expected to perform the same i.e. interact with ethanol when alcoholic liquid is poured and interaction with the ethanol decreases an amount of ethanol to be vaporized from the alcoholic liquid.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argument with regards the depression and the tip being mechanically formed is considered but these are considered product by process. The determination of patentability in a product-by-process claim is based on the product itself, even though the claim may be limited and defined by the process. See MPEP 2113.
Lastly, the newly incorporated tip is disclosed by prior arts of Barducci and Janku as above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DEBOUT (US 20230089369) discloses a glass with a tip at the center of the glass.
/SANJIDUL ISLAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3736
/ORLANDO E AVILES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3736
1 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soda%E2%80%93lime_glass