DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (US 2020/0253073 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US 2009/0201124 A1) and Li et al. (CN 112538723 A).
Cui et al. discloses an interface (Fig. 3) comprising: an encoder 21 including a fixing portion 211 (Fig. 7), a rotating portion 212 rotatably coupled to the fixing portion 211, 2111 (Fig. 7, paragraph [0047]), and a first circuit board 22; an actuator including a shaft 13 fixed to the rotating portion (paragraph [0049]), a handle 112 fixed to the shaft and configured to receive a force required for rotation of the shaft (paragraph [0041]), and an accommodation space provided in the handle (Fig. 4, space within 13); a display unit 12 including a fastening body 124, 123 fixed to the fixing portion 211,2111 to pass through the shaft 13, an accommodation body 122 fixed to the fastening body (Fig. 6) and located inside the accommodation space (Fig. 4), and a display 121 fixed to the accommodation body 122 and configured to display information (Figs. 5-6). However, Cui et al. does not explicit a signal generator configured to generate an electrical signal during rotation of the rotating portion and connected to a first circuit board. Cui et al. also does not disclose a protrusion provided on at least one of the accommodation body and the handle and maintaining an interval between the accommodation body and the handle. Kim et al discloses an interface (Fig. 1) comprising an encorder and a signal generator configured to generate an electrical signal during rotation of the rotating portion and connected to a first circuit board (paragraph [0012]). Lee discloses an interface comprising a protrusion 11 provided on handle 10 (Fig. 2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the interface of Cui et al to include a signal generator configured to generate an electrical signal during rotation of the rotating portion and connected to a first circuit board as taught by Kim et al. in order to improve the control efficiency and to further modify the interface of Cui et al. to provide a protrusion on the handle as taught by Cui et al. in order to keep spacing between the handle and the accommodation body. With regard to claim 12, Cui et al. discloses the interface is used in electrical appliance device such as washing machine, clothes dryer etc (paragraph [0018]). It is known in the art the clothes dryer comprising a cabinet including a panel inlet and a drum pivotably provide in the cabinet to accommodate clothes therein and including a drum inlet communicating with the panel inlet. Kim et al. discloses a laundry treatment apparatus comprising a cabinet 1 including a panel inlet (Fig. 1); and a drum pivotably provided in the cabinet 1 to accommodate clothes therein and including a drum inlet communicating with the panel inlet; and an encorder (not shown, paragraph [0012]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 6-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY