DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7, 10, 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 10, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
As to claims 11 and 13, the claim recites the limitation “may be”. Rendering it unclear as to if the limitations are actually a part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2021/0156039 A1 to Ballantine et al. (Ballantine).
As to claim 15, Ballantine teaches a method for allocating electrical energy within an electrolysis plant for producing oxygen and hydrogen, the electrolysis plant comprising a system control device (controller (142)); a management apparatus comprising a management control device (circuitry (126) in communication with the controller (142)), an electrolysis device (128) and a power distribution unit (106); the electrolysis plant further comprising a water supply unit (water module (112)), a hydrogen gas pressurization module (compression module (116)), a heat exchanger unit (114), the allocation method comprising the steps of detecting an amount of available power (a supply capacity that can be obtained and utilized) via a communication interface of the system control device, determining a target operating range for the management apparatus and transmitting this intended target operating range to the management apparatus, the method further comprising determining characteristic operating parameters of the electrolysis device (the condition of the electrolyzer, for example degradation) by a management control device (such as a cell current measurement device) of the management device to determine an target operating state for the electrolysis device (i.e. adjusting operating set points to offset the degradation) (Paragraphs 0004, 0004, 0013, 0015, 0018, 0019, 0029, 0022, 0029, 0044, 0045, 0047, 0049; Figure 1A).
As to claim 16, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 15. Ballantine further teaches that the management control device, via measuring for example the current and corresponding degradation of the electrolysis cell, determined an available processing capacity of the management apparatus, i.e. how much hydrogen the cell can actually produce (Paragraph 0045).
As to claims 17, 18, 19 and 20, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 15. Ballantine further teaches that the system control device provides power to the cell in view of the availability of power and in view of the device degradation detection including placing the cells in standby or shut down, thus a balancing between the available processing capacities of the management apparatus and the supply capacity, determining an adapted target operating range of the management apparatus, determining an adapted target working state on the basis of a target operating range and allocating an amount of electrical energy corresponding to a respective target working state (Paragraphs 0044-0049).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ballantine.
As to claims 1, 4, 5 and 6, Ballantine teaches a method for allocating electrical energy within an electrolysis plant for producing oxygen and hydrogen, the electrolysis plant comprising a system control device (controller (142)); at least two management apparatus each comprising a management control device (circuitry (126) in communication with the controller (142)), an electrolysis device (128) and a power distribution unit (106); the electrolysis plant further comprising a water supply unit (water module (112)), a hydrogen gas pressurization module (compression module (116)), a heat exchanger unit (114), the allocation method comprising the steps of detecting an amount of available power (a supply capacity that can be obtained and utilized) via a communication interface of the system control device, determining a target operating range for each of the management apparatus and transmitting this intended target operating range to each of the management apparatus, the method further comprising determining characteristic operating parameters of each of the electrolysis devices (the condition of each electrolyzer, for example degradation) by a management control device (such as a cell current measurement device to measure input power lost, i.e. power consumption) of each of the management devices to determine a target operating state for each of the electrolysis device (i.e. adjusting operating set points to offset the degradation) (Paragraphs 0004, 0004, 0013, 0015, 0018, 0019, 0029, 0022, 0029, 0044, 0045, 0047, 0049; Figure 1A). Ballantine further teaches that the management control device, via measuring for example the current and corresponding degradation of the electrolysis cell, determines an available processing capacity of each the management apparatus, i.e. how much hydrogen the cell can actually produce (Paragraph 0045). Ballantine further teaches that the system control device provides power to the cells individually in view of the availability of power and in view of the device degradation detection including placing the cells in standby or shut down, allocating energy to each in view of the operating target of each cell, thus a balancing between the available processing capacities of each of the management apparatus and the supply capacity that can be obtained from and utilized by the electrical supply, determining an adapted target operating range of each of the management apparatus on a basis of this balancing, obtaining and utilizing the electrical energy from the electrical supply by allocating to each of the management apparatus according to the respective target operating range, determining an adapted target working state on the basis of a target operating range and allocating an amount of electrical energy corresponding to a respective target working state (Paragraphs 0044-0049).
Ballantine fails to specifically teach that each management apparatus comprises at least two electrolysis devices capable of separately being supplied electricity, detailing an embodiment with a single stack with each management apparatus. However, Ballantine specifically teaches that each module described can be provided in redundancy to reduce the likelihood of unscheduled interruption resulting from equipment failure (Paragraph 0015). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide each cell stack within the management apparatus in duplicate in order to allow for redundancy to reduce the likelihood of unscheduled interruption as taught by Ballantine.
As to claim 2, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 1. Ballantine further teaches that the electrical supply can be provided by an energy generating company (grid), an anergy generating community (local sources) and renewable energy (wind/hydroelectric/geothermal/photovoltaic) (Paragraph 0020).
As to claim 3, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 1. As discussed above, Ballantine teaches that the target operating range for the management apparatus includes a mode of operation, i.e. normal operation, and a corresponding amount of electrical power utilized (Paragraphs 0044-0049).
As to claim 7, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 1. Ballantine further teaches that the state detection device of a management apparatus includes an electrochemical impedance spectroscopy measurement, thus a sensor for each cell that is capable of being activated by means of the state detection device (Paragraph 0045).
As to claim 8, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 1. As discussed above, Ballantine teaches that the state characteristic monitored by the characteristic operating parameters include degradation, and thus efficiency and expected remaining service life.
As to claim 9, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 1. As discussed above, Ballantine teaches a control unit for implementing the power balancing, and thus a method wherein the processing capacity is determined from the working states and meta-information by the management control device.
As to claim 10, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 1. As discussed above, a current impedance measurement is utilized to determine the intended target operating state, thus a resistance function that provides a counter measure against a disadvantageous working state in terms of operating during degradation causing inefficient power loss (Paragraph 0045).
As to claim 11, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 10. Ballantine further teaches that the current impedance measurement can be utilize to block the provision of power to the electrolyzer (Paragraph 0045).
As to claim 12, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 1. As discussed above, a current impedance measurement is utilized to determine the intended target operating state and a corresponding target operating range, i.e. allocation of power, thus a resistance function that provides a counter measure against a disadvantageous working state in terms of operating during degradation causing inefficient power loss (Paragraph 0045).
As to claim 13, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 1. The method of Ballantine would be capable of being connected as claimed, i.e. “may be”, Ballentine specifically teach database programming and processors for distribution across devices (Paragraph 0062).
As to claim 14, Ballantine teaches the method of claim 1. As discussed above, Ballantine teaches that the system control operates based on current processing capacities, and furthermore Ballantine teaches that historical data such as supply capacity at different times of day can be taken into account (Paragraph 0020).
Conclusion
/CIEL P CONTRERAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1794