DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment dated 7/23/2026.
2. Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12, 15-17, 19, 21, 28, 29, 31, 32, 35, 38, 44 and 45 are pending in the case.
3. Claims 7, 9, 11, 13, 14, 18, 20, 22-27, 30, 33, 34, 36, 37 and 39-43 are cancelled.
4. Claims 1 , 31 and 44 are independent claims.
Applicant’s Response
5. In Applicant’s response dated 7/23/2026, applicant has amended the following:
a) Claims 1, 8, 31 and 44
b) Title of Specification
Based on Applicant’s amendments and remarks, the following objections set forth in Office Action dated 4/23/2026 are withdrawn:
a) Objection to Specification
b) Examiner acknowledges Claim interpretations under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) to cancelled claims 42 and 43 are no longer applicable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 35 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “weaker” in claim 35 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear if the context of a “weaker” “reminding intensity” is based on “low or high” numerical criteria or “light or dark” visual color criteria. The term “weaker” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10, 12, 15-17, 19, 21, 28, 29, 31, 32, 35, 38, 44 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nezarati et al. U.S. Published Application No. 20160127282 A1.
Claim 1:
Nezarati teaches An interaction method, comprising: (e.g., first IM participant interaction with second IM participant in original chat (i.e., first object collection) and another observer participant in a side chat (i.e., second object collection) par. 5; methods that allow a chat or IM participant to add another participant invisibly and chat with the added participant without the knowledge of the other participants of the original chat session.)
obtaining a change request for changing an association relationship between a first object collection and a second object collection; (e.g., obtaining a change request from a first IM participant for changing relationship between Observer in a side chat (i.e., second object collection) and a second IM participant in the first original (i.e., first object collection) par. 192; The environment may also provide devices to share only select messages with the observers by providing control elements in the IM or chat client of the participants, e.g., by default all messages are hidden until a user-selectable button is pressed by a participant and, once the button is released or deselected, the revealed messages are again hidden from the observers. par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content)
and changing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection, so as to allow the second object collection to be no longer subordinate to the first object collection, or to allow the second object collection to be subordinate to the first object collection. (e.g., changing the association relationship between second IM participant and Observer in side chat so as to allow the observer to view the messages of the second IM participant of the original chat(i.e., allow the second object collection to be subordinate to the first object collection) par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion. However, the observers may also be invisible to or not known by the other participants not involved in the side chat. If an observer is passive and invisible, the observer may not be able to become an active participant in the business discussion.)
wherein in response to the second object collection being subordinate to the first object collection, all member objects comprised in the second object collection are member objects of the first object collection, (e.g., in response to an observer being added to the original chat, the observer is now an active participant of the original chat with the first and second original IM participants (i.e., “ members of the first object collection) par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion.)
a first operation of the first object collection corresponds to a first operation of the second object collection, (e.g., In the context of business discussions, an active participation operation (i.e., first operation of the second collection) of an original IM participant corresponds to an active participation operation of an observer (i.e., first operation of the second object collection) par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion.)
the second object collection is configured to have no permission to directly perform the first operation on member objects of the second object collection, (e.g., observer has no permission to make other observers invited to the original chat, visible active participants par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content, e.g., by highlighting or annotating select content without the observers being aware of the highlighting or annotation of the selection.)
when the first operation is required to be performed on the member objects of the second object collection, the first operation is performed on member objects in the first object collection that are identical to the member objects of the second object collection, (e.g., active participation operation is performed on original IM participants and added observers who belong to the business discussion chat (i.e., identical members of chat discussion) par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion.)
and an operation result of executing the first operation is synchronized to the second object collection, to complete the first operation on the member objects of the second object collection. (e.g., when original IM participants and observers are visible active participants, the “active visible” participant result is “synchronized” to everyone in the business discussion chat including original IM participants and observers par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion. par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content, e.g., by highlighting or annotating select content without the observers being aware of the highlighting or annotation of the selection.). )
Claim 2 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein in response to the second object collection no longer being subordinate to the first object collection, the second object collection has more independent operational permissions than when the second object collection is subordinate to the first object collection; or, in response to the second object collection being subordinate to the first object collection, the second object collection has at least one subordinate operation controlled by the first object collection. (e.g., in response to the observer (i.e., second object collection) being subordinate to the first and second IM participant first chat (i.e., first object collection) , the observer ability to view messages is controlled by the participants of the original chat; par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements, e.g., by providing a button on the IM or chat client or by providing tools for selecting portions of IM or chat messages being exchanged between the participants. par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content )
Claim 3 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein in response to the second object collection being subordinate to the first object collection, information interaction within the second object collection is at least partially controlled by the first object collection.(e.g., in response to the observer side chat (i.e., second object collection) being subordinate to the original chat (first object collection) , first IM participant of the original chat may selectively control (i.e., controlled by the first object collection) which messages are shared with the observer par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements, e.g., by providing a button on the IM or chat client or by providing tools for selecting portions of IM or chat messages being exchanged between the participants. par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content )
Claim 4 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein in response to the second object collection being subordinate to the first object collection, at least part of informational interaction of at least one member object of the first object collection is performed via the second object collection. (e.g., in response to the observer side chat (i.e., second object collection) being subordinate to the original chat (first object collection) , first IM participant of the original chat may selectively control (i.e., controlled by the first object collection) which messages are shared with the observer Examiner notes that the first IM participant is a member of both the original chat and the side chat. Therefore, the first IM participant controlling shared messages of the original chat with the side chat teaches or suggest at least one member object of the first object collection is performed via the second object collection) par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements, e.g., by providing a button on the IM or chat client or by providing tools for selecting portions of IM or chat messages being exchanged between the participants. par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content )
Claim 5 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein in response to the second object collection being subordinate to the first object collection, at least one operational permission of the second object collection belongs to the first object collection. (e.g., in response to the observer side chat (i.e., second object collection) being subordinate to the original chat (first object collection), operational permission to access shared messages belongs to the first IM participant of the original chat. par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements, e.g., by providing a button on the IM or chat client or by providing tools for selecting portions of IM or chat messages being exchanged between the participants. par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content )
Claim 6 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein obtaining the change request for changing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection comprises: determining, in response to receiving a change triggering operation input by a user, that the change request for changing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection is obtained. (e.g., revealing shared messaged to the side chat in response to triggering GUI control by first IM participant par. 192; The environment may also provide devices to share only select messages with the observers by providing control elements in the IM or chat client of the participants, e.g., by default all messages are hidden until a user-selectable button is pressed by a participant and, once the button is released or deselected, the revealed messages are again hidden from the observers. par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements, e.g., by providing a button on the IM or chat client or by providing tools for selecting portions of IM or chat messages being exchanged between the participants. par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content)
Claim 8 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein the at least one operation on the member objects of the second object collection being dependent on the operation on the member objects of the first object collection comprises at least one of: performing an adding operation on the member objects of the second object collection correspondingly by performing an adding operation on the member objects of the first object collection, or performing a removing operation on the member objects of the second object collection correspondingly by performing a removing operation on the member objects of the first object collection, or allowing the second object collection to be configured unable to perform the adding operation or the removing operation on the member objects of the second object collection directly. (e.g., adding observer from side chat to the original chat or removing observer of side chat from the original chat by deleting side chat. Par. 137; The third user may then join the side chat session by accepting the invitation. The side chat module 212 may then create a communication channel 116a between the second device 108b and the fourth device 108d. Both devices 108a and 108d may register with the channel 116a to exchange messages is the side chat Par. 141; As some time thereinafter, the second user can terminate the side chat with the third user, in step 744. For example, the second user can terminate the side chat session by selecting user-selectable device 664. Selecting device 664 can signal the side chat module 212 to end the side chat session. The side chat module 212 of device 108b can send a termination signal to device 4 108d to signal the termination.)
Claim 10 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein in response to the second object collection being subordinate to the first object collection, at least one as follows is applied: member objects of the second object collection remain partially identical to member objects of the first object collection, or the second object collection is configured to allow at least one member object of the first object collection to perform information interaction through the second object collection. (e.g., partially identical in the sense that the observer and the first and second IM participants are all visible and active participants in a business discussion. par. 188; Another implementation example of the methods 700-1000, described in conjunction with FIGS. 7-10, can involve establishing a management or business discussion forum. The business discussion can have participants and/or observers. The participants can be actively engaged in exchanging IM messages in the chat session. One or more of the active participants can initiate a side chat. For example, the participants can initiate a side chat to keep the observers informed on the business discussion. Par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion.)
Claim 12 depends on claim 10:
Nezarati teaches wherein at least one as follows is applied: member objects of the first object collection comprise a user, and member objects of the second object collection comprise a user, or member objects of the second object collection comprise a user or a control for serving the user, and the control is configured to allow the user to perform information interaction through the control, or member objects of the first object collection comprise a user, and the first object collection is configured not to directly provide information interaction for the member objects of the first object collection, or the information interaction comprises any following operation for a specific member object or an unspecific member object: sending or receiving text information; sending or receiving voice information; sending or receiving video information; sending or receiving picture information; or sending or receiving web link information. (e.g., first IM participant interaction (i.e., sending or receiving text information) with second IM participant in original chat (i.e., first object collection comprising users) and another observer participant in a side chat (i.e., second object collection comprising users ) par. 5; methods that allow a chat or IM participant to add another participant invisibly and chat with the added participant without the knowledge of the other participants of the original chat session.)
Claim 15 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein at least one third object collection is subordinate to the first object collection, and the at least one third object collection and the second object collection are not subordinate to each other either before or after changing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection. (e.g., adding second observer side chat to be subordinate to the original chat Examiner notes that the both side chats are subordinate to the original chat par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion. However, the observers may also be invisible to or not known by the other participants not involved in the side chat. If an observer is passive and invisible, the observer may not be able to become an active participant in the business discussion.)
Claim 16 depends on claim 15:
Nezarati teaches wherein the at least one third object collection is a sub-collection of the first object collection, and at least one operation on member objects of the at least one third object collection is dependent on an operation on member objects of the first object collection. (e.g., in response to the observer side chat (i.e., third object collection) being subordinate to the original chat (first object collection), the side chat displays selected messages of the original chat (i.e., sub-collection of the first object collection) and the observer of the side chat ability to view the shared messages is dependent on the first IM participant of the original chat (i.e., dependent on an operation on member objects of the first object collection) par. 192; The environment may also provide devices to share only select messages with the observers by providing control elements in the IM or chat client of the participants, e.g., by default all messages are hidden until a user-selectable button is pressed by a participant and, once the button is released or deselected, the revealed messages are again hidden from the observers. par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements, e.g., by providing a button on the IM or chat client or by providing tools for selecting portions of IM or chat messages being exchanged between the participants. par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content)
Claim 17 depends on claim 15:
Nezarati teaches wherein at least one as follows is applied: in response to adding one member object to the first object collection, number of member objects of the at least one third object collection is not correspondingly increased, or in response to the second object collection being subordinate to the first object collection and the at least one third object collection being subordinate to the first object collection, when one member object is added to or removed from the first object collection, the one member object is accordingly added to or removed from the second object collection and the at least one third object collection. (e.g., ending original chat and maintaining a first and second side chat results in the second IM participant being removed from the original chat and each side chat that was subordinate to the original chat par. 141; In some scenarios, the side chat session need not be terminated before the original chat session. The original chat session may be terminated first and the side chat session may remain in progress. Par. 142; The first user or second user may terminate the original chat session, in step 748. The termination of the original IM chat session may require the first user or second user selecting a user-selectable device (e.g., clicking on a button displayed in the IM client) or the first user or second user closing the IM client in their device 108. Either action can cause the devices 108 to signal each other and/or the server 120 to end the chat session. )
Claim 19 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein changing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection comprises at least one of: removing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection, to allow the second object collection to be no longer subordinate to the first object collection and maintain the first object collection and the second object collection respectively, (e.g., removing original chat message viewing privileges from the observer of the side chat par. 192; The environment may also provide devices to share only select messages with the observers by providing control elements in the IM or chat client of the participants, e.g., by default all messages are hidden until a user-selectable button is pressed by a participant and, once the button is released or deselected, the revealed messages are again hidden from the observers. Alternatively, the messages being exchanged between the participants are visible to the observers for limited period of time, or only in the current IM session, or may depend on other rule sets that may be configurable by a user. Par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements, e.g., by providing a button on the IM or chat client or by providing tools for selecting portions of IM or chat messages being exchanged between the participants. Par. 195; The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content,)
or in response to disbanding the first object collection, removing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection and maintaining the second object collection, or in response to disbanding the second object collection, removing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection, or establishing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection, or establishing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection, member objects of the first object collection not being null before obtaining the change request. (e.g., ending or removing either original or side chat and maintaining either the original or side chat par. 141; As some time thereinafter, the second user can terminate the side chat with the third user, in step 744. For example, the second user can terminate the side chant session by selecting user-selectable device 664. Selecting device 664 can signal the side chat module 212 to end the side chat session. The side chat module 212 of device 108b can send a termination signal to device 4 108d to signal the termination. Also, side chat module 212 may delete or empty any data structure associated with the side chat session and dismantle channel 116a. The original chat session may remain in progress. In some scenarios, the side chat session need not be terminated before the original chat session. The original chat session may be terminated first and the side chat session may remain in progress.)
Claim 21 depends on claim 19:
Nezarati teaches wherein at least one as follows is applied: the first object collection is disbanded after the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection is removed, (e.g., ending or removing either original or side chat and maintaining either the original or side chat par. 141; As some time thereinafter, the second user can terminate the side chat with the third user, in step 744. For example, the second user can terminate the side chant session by selecting user-selectable device 664. Selecting device 664 can signal the side chat module 212 to end the side chat session. The side chat module 212 of device 108b can send a termination signal to device 4 108d to signal the termination. Also, side chat module 212 may delete or empty any data structure associated with the side chat session and dismantle channel 116a. The original chat session may remain in progress. In some scenarios, the side chat session need not be terminated before the original chat session. The original chat session may be terminated first and the side chat session may remain in progress.)
or the interaction method further comprises: creating the first object collection with member objects being null, and allowing the member objects of the first object collection to be identical to member objects of the second object collection which is existing and with the member objects being non-null, wherein allowing the member objects of the first object collection to be identical to the member objects of the second object collection comprises: obtaining the member objects of the second object collection, and updating, based on the member objects of the second object collection, the member objects of the created first object collection to allow the member objects of the first object collection to be identical to the member objects of the second object collection, or the interaction method further comprises: obtaining the member objects of the first object collection and member objects of the second object collection, and updating, based on the member objects of the second object collection, the member objects of the first object collection to allow the second object collection to be a sub-collection of the first object collection, (e.g., in response to the observer side chat (i.e., second object collection) being subordinate to the original chat (first object collection), the side chat displays selected messages of the original chat (i.e., sub-collection of the first object collection) and the observer of the side chat ability to view the shared messages is dependent on the first IM participant of the original chat (i.e., one operation on member objects of the second object collection is dependent on an operation on member objects of the first object collection) par. 192; The environment may also provide devices to share only select messages with the observers by providing control elements in the IM or chat client of the participants, e.g., by default all messages are hidden until a user-selectable button is pressed by a participant and, once the button is released or deselected, the revealed messages are again hidden from the observers. par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements, e.g., by providing a button on the IM or chat client or by providing tools for selecting portions of IM or chat messages being exchanged between the participants. par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content)
or the interaction method further comprises: updating, based on the member objects of the first object collection, the member objects of the second object collection to allow the member objects of the first object collection to remain identical to the member objects of the second object collection, (e.g., identical in the sense that the observer and the first and second IM participants are all visible and active participants in a business discussion. par. 188; Another implementation example of the methods 700-1000, described in conjunction with FIGS. 7-10, can involve establishing a management or business discussion forum. The business discussion can have participants and/or observers. The participants can be actively engaged in exchanging IM messages in the chat session. One or more of the active participants can initiate a side chat. For example, the participants can initiate a side chat to keep the observers informed on the business discussion. Par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion.) or before changing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection, the interaction method further comprises: based on the first object collection, creating the second object collection with member objects being null, and selecting at least one member object among member objects of the first object collection to be added to the second object collection as a member object of the second object collection.
Claim 28 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein after changing the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection, the interaction method further comprises: updating an association attribute of the first object collection, wherein the association attribute of the first object collection comprises the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection; and updating an association attribute of the second object collection, wherein the association attribute of the second object collection comprises an association state of the second object collection, and in response to the second object collection being subordinate to the first object collection, the association attribute of the second object collection further comprises the association relationship between the first object collection and the second object collection. (e.g., side chat displaying shared messages from original chat par. 192; The environment may also provide devices to share only select messages with the observers by providing control elements in the IM or chat client of the participants, e.g., by default all messages are hidden until a user-selectable button is pressed by a participant and, once the button is released or deselected, the revealed messages are again hidden from the observers. Alternatively, the messages being exchanged between the participants are visible to the observers for limited period of time, or only in the current IM session, or may depend on other rule sets that may be configurable by a user. Par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements, e.g., by providing a button on the IM or chat client or by providing tools for selecting portions of IM or chat messages being exchanged between the participants.)
Claim 29 depends on claim 1:
Nezarati teaches wherein the second object collection being subordinate to the first object collection is presented in a visualization manner. (e.g., side chat being subordinate to the original chat is presented in a visualization manner as shown in Figure 6E)
Independent Claim 31:
Nezarati teaches An interaction method, comprising: providing a first object collection, wherein the first object collection has at least one second object collection subordinate to the first object collection, (e.g., providing an original chat having a side chat subordinate to the original chat. par. 5; methods that allow a chat or IM participant to add another participant invisibly and chat with the added participant without the knowledge of the other participants of the original chat session.)
member objects of the first object collection perform interaction in a form based on the at least one second object collection, (e.g., participants of the original chat (i.e., first object collection) communicating (i.e., interaction in a form) with participants of the side chat (i.e., second object collection) par. 188; One or more of the active participants can initiate a side chat. For example, the participants can initiate a side chat to keep the observers informed on the business discussion. Par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion.)
and one of the at least one second object collection is configured to be a default object collection for the first object collection; (e.g., observers of side chat are configured with default settings par. 131; The server 120 and/or each user may have one or more default settings. A user may opt to accept the default settings or may opt to modify the setting to personalize the device 108 to suit their needs for the chat session, e.g., a user may define their presence and availability preferences.)
and maintaining an association relationship between the first object collection and the default object collection during existence of the first object collection. (e.g., maintaining session with participants of original chat and participants of side chat while default settings are applied to the participants of the side chat par. 188; One or more of the active participants can initiate a side chat. For example, the participants can initiate a side chat to keep the observers informed on the business discussion. Par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion. par. 131; The server 120 and/or each user may have one or more default settings. A user may opt to accept the default settings or may opt to modify the setting to personalize the device 108 to suit their needs for the chat session, e.g., a user may define their presence and availability preferences.)
wherein all member objects comprised in a second object collection are member objects of the first object collection, (e.g., in response to an observer being added to the original chat, the observer is now an active participant of the original chat with the first and second original IM participants (i.e., “ members of the first object collection) par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion.)
a first operation of the first object collection corresponds to a first operation of the second object collection, (e.g., In the context of business discussions, an active participation operation (i.e., first operation of the second collection) of an original IM participant corresponds to an active participation operation of an observer (i.e., first operation of the second object collection) par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion.)
the second object collection is configured to have no permission to directly perform the first operation on member objects of the second object collection, (e.g., observer has no permission to make other observers invited to the original chat, visible active participants par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content, e.g., by highlighting or annotating select content without the observers being aware of the highlighting or annotation of the selection.).
when the first operation is required to be performed on the member objects of the second object collection, the first operation is performed on member objects in the first object collection that are identical to the member objects of the second object collection, (e.g., active participation operation is performed on original IM participants and added observers who belong to the business discussion chat (i.e., identical members of chat discussion) par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion.)
and an operation result of executing the first operation is synchronized to the second object collection, to complete the first operation on the member objects of the second object collection. (e.g., when original IM participants and observers are visible active participants, the “active visible” participant result is “synchronized” to everyone in the business discussion chat including original IM participants and observers par. 189; The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion.par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content, e.g., by highlighting or annotating select content without the observers being aware of the highlighting or annotation of the selection.). )
Claim 32 depends on claim 31:
Nezarati teaches further comprising at least one of: creating the first object collection, and creating the default object collection along with creation of the first object collection; (e.g., creating an original chat having a side chat with applied default settings while subordinate to the original chat. par. 5; methods that allow a chat or IM participant to add another participant invisibly and chat with the added participant without the knowledge of the other participants of the original chat session. par. 131; The server 120 and/or each user may have one or more default settings. A user may opt to accept the default settings or may opt to modify the setting to personalize the device 108 to suit their needs for the chat session, e.g., a user may define their presence and availability preferences.)
or selecting an existing target object collection, and creating the first object collection based on the target object collection, and changing the target object collection to the default object collection along with creation of the first object collection; or disbanding the first object collection and retaining the at least one second object collection. (e.g., disbanding original chat and maintaining either the side chat par. 141; In some scenarios, the side chat session need not be terminated before the original chat session. The original chat session may be terminated first and the side chat session may remain in progress.)
Claim 35 depends on claim 31:
Nezarati teaches further comprising at least one of: in response to a change in an association relationship between the first object collection and any one of the at least one second object collection, reminding the member objects of the default object collection by a first prompting mode, so as to allow the member objects of the first object collection to obtain a change prompt in a form based on the default object collection; (e.g., in response to connecting the side chat with the original chat, displaying a prompt to end the session of the original chat (i.e., obtain a change prompt) or the side chat (i.e., a first prompting mode) par. 141; As some time thereinafter, the second user can terminate the side chat with the third user, in step 744. For example, the second user can terminate the side chant session by selecting user-selectable device 664. Selecting device 664 can signal the side chat module 212 to end the side chat session. The side chat module 212 of device 108b can send a termination signal to device 4 108d to signal the termination. Par. 142; The first user or second user may terminate the original chat session, in step 748. The termination of the original IM chat session may require the first user or second user selecting a user-selectable device (e.g., clicking on a button displayed in the IM client) or the first user or second user closing the IM client in their device 108. Either action can cause the devices 108 to signal each other and/or the server 120 to end the chat session.)
or in response to the change in the association relationship between the first object collection and any one of the at least one second object collection, reminding member objects of any one of the at least one second object collection by a second prompting mode, wherein the first prompting mode is different from the second prompting mode, wherein a reminding intensity of the first prompting mode is weaker than a reminding intensity of the second prompting mode.
Claim 38 depends on claim 31:
Nezarati teaches wherein the at least one second object collection is a sub-collection of the first object collection, and at least one operation on member objects of the at least one second object collection depends on an operation on the member objects of the first object collection. (e.g., in response to the observer side chat (i.e., second object collection) being subordinate to the original chat (first object collection), the side chat displays selected messages of the original chat (i.e., sub-collection of the first object collection) and the observer of the side chat ability to view the shared messages is dependent on the first IM participant of the original chat (i.e., one operation on member objects of the second object collection is dependent on an operation on member objects of the first object collection) par. 192; The environment may also provide devices to share only select messages with the observers by providing control elements in the IM or chat client of the participants, e.g., by default all messages are hidden until a user-selectable button is pressed by a participant and, once the button is released or deselected, the revealed messages are again hidden from the observers. par. 193; Control over what portions of the IM or chat conversation are visible to the observers may be managed through Graphical User Interface (GUI) control elements, e.g., by providing a button on the IM or chat client or by providing tools for selecting portions of IM or chat messages being exchanged between the participants. par. 195; The IM participant initiating the side chat may have control over the content that is being shared in the IM or chat session. The participant initiating the side chat may retain the rights and selectively grant these rights to the observers to visually interact with the content)
Claim 44 depends on claim 1:
Claim 44 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 44. (see device 108 of Figure 2)
Claim 45 depends on claim 1:
Claim 45 is substantially encompassed in claim 1, therefore, Examiner relies on the same rationale set forth in claim 1 to reject claim 45. (see storage of Figures 1 and 2)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) Rejection
Applicant argues this feature describes the relative relationship that the reminding intensity of the first prompting mode is lower than that of the second prompting mode, analogous to expressions such as "the first transmission rate is higher than the second transmission rate" or "the first temperature is lower than the second temperature". Such wording is objective and unambiguous, and a person skilled in the art can directly comprehend its technical meaning without any misunderstanding of the scope of protection. Thus, claim 35 is clear, and Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration and withdrawal of the rejection. (see Response; page 13)
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
For the sake of argument, Applicant admits that the recited “reminding intensity” has objective and quantifiable criteria in the art, such as prompt frequency, visual feedback intensity, audio feedback intensity, and interaction intrusiveness. (see Response; page 13). Examiner submits that is unclear which quantifiable criteria is being used in respect to the recited “reminding intensity” since there are a plurality of different types of criteria to compare.
In the alleged analogous examples provided by the Applicant, it is clear that quantities of the same known dimensions are being compared (e.g., first transmission rate vs second transmission rate or first temperature vs second temperature). Examiner notes that “reminding intensity” is ambiguous in meaning because it can mean low or high or light or dark in respect to what is being compared. In other words, it is unclear which “quantifiable criteria” dimension out of the plurality of “quantifiable criteria” dimensions provided by Applicant is being used as the comparable criteria to quantify the “reminding intensity”. For example, the recited “reminding intensity” is not a “quantifiable criteria” dimension but is associated with a plurality of “quantifiable criteria” dimensions that indicate if the “reminding intensity” is weaker or stronger. This is in contrast to comparing temperature which is a known dimension in the art and can only be low or high. Examiner encourages Applicant to amend language to clarify the context of which “quantifiable criteria” dimension out of the plurality of “quantifiable criteria” dimensions is being used to determine “weaker or stronger” reminding intensity.
Based on the specification of par. 235 as indicated by Applicant, it appears a visual feedback frequency would clarify the context of a “quantifiable criteria” dimension being used to determine if the “reminding intensity” mode is weaker or stronger. In effort to avoid misunderstanding with the claim language, Examiner encourages Applicant to further amend to clarify which “quantifiable criteria” dimension associated “reminding intensity” is being used to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection.
Prior Art Rejections
1)Applicant argues that in contrast, in Nezarati, e.g., paragraph [0116] of Nezarati (By selecting the entry 644, the side chat module 212 will attempt to add deice 4, associated with the entry "Green Pepper" to a side chat session but keep the addition anonymous from device 1 108a), observers in side chats are third parties and do not belong to participants of the original chat at all; the observer is completely anonymous to the participants of the original chat. (emphasis added) (see Response; pages 14 and 15)
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that being “anonymous” is not required and that being “visible” is an option as taught by Nezarati (see par. 189). Therefore, under broadest reasonable interpretation, “belong to a chat” covers the instance when the observer is visibly active in the original chat and is not anonymous.
2)Applicant argues even when taking the scenario mentioned in paragraph [0189] of Nezarati into consideration, which states "The observers may be visible to all participants and can become active participants in the business discussion," the observers under this mode are inherently participants of the original chat, and the business discussion corresponds to the original chat itself. Under such circumstances, there is NO side chat as defined (i.e., private and hidden, visible only to the initiator, with the other party of the original chat unaware of its existence). (see Response; page 15)
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Nezarati teaches inviting observers to the original chat (see par. 8). Examiner submits that inviting an observer teaches or suggests that the observer is not part of the original chat but added later in time after the original chat started. Therefore, there is no inherent participation by observers with the original chat participants. Thus, Nezarati teaches or suggests "in response to the second object collection being subordinate to the first object collection, all member objects comprised in the second object collection are member objects of the first object collection" as recited in amended claim 1.
3)Applicant argues by contrast, Nezarati only describes that the ability of the observer to view messages is controlled by participants of the original chat, which merely constitutes one type of permission restriction and is not equivalent to the observer lacking the permission to perform the message viewing operation. Nezarati completely fails to disclose the basic premise that the second object collection has no direct permission to perform the first operation. Furthermore, the present invention, as defined by amended claim 1, implements the first operation through identical member objects in the first object collection and synchronizes the operation result to the second object collection; the permission control in Nezarati is merely front-end display filtering, and it does not disclose the technical implementation route adopted by the present invention. (see Response; page 15)
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that observer does not have the permission to invite other observers or make observers visible participants. These types of first operations can only be performed by the original IM participants (see par. 195). Therefore, Nezarati does disclose a basic premise that the second object collection (e.g., observer) has no direct permission to perform the first operation. Based on broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), Examiner encourages Applicant to further amend “the first operation” to preclude more operations than just the message viewing operation of Nezarati.
For at least the foregoing reasons, the prior art rejections are maintained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
HENRY ORR
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2172
/HENRY ORR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2172