DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 01/28/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-8 and 11-19 are currently pending. Claims 18-19 are withdrawn.
Claims 9-10 are cancelled. Claims 1, 11-12, and 14-15 are currently amended.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-17 objected to because of the following informalities: Claims must be listed with the appropriate status identifiers. Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 2 (Hong reference), filed 01/28/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regards to the controller, Clayton states that the controller can display an Add Garment button which would only be activated during a state in which laundry can be added, and the controller can perform the laundry addition process when the Add Garment button is manipulated by the user (paragraphs [0101]-[0106]).
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Kim-501 reference is only relied upon for the drainage and not relied upon for the multi-function button being pressed. It would be obvious to one skilled in the art that if laundry were to be added during a progress of the course, to drain any excess water to prevent water in the tub from overflowing when the door is opened.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 11-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayton et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0263342 (henceforth referred to as Clayton) in view of Kim et al. KR20180048501 (henceforth referred to as Kim-501).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Clayton teaches a laundry treating apparatus comprising:
a cabinet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0028] cabinet 12);
a tub disposed in the cabinet (FIG. 1 paragraph [0029] the drum 16 is provided within the tub 14) and configured to receive water therein (paragraph [0033] water can be supplied through an inlet conduit 46 directly to the tub 14);
a drum rotatably disposed in the tub and configured to accommodate laundry therein (FIG. 1 paragraph [0029] drum 16 rotates and defines a treating chamber 18 for receiving laundry);
a manipulator disposed on the cabinet and manipulated by a user to generate a manipulation signal (paragraph [0048] controller 95);
a screen outputter disposed on the cabinet and configured to output a screen for providing information to the user (paragraph [0048] user interface 96 can include one or more knobs, dials, switches, displays, touchscreens, and the like for communicating with the user), wherein the manipulator comprises a multi-function button disposed at the screen outputter and configured to be manipulated by the user to generate the manipulation signal (FIG. 18 paragraph [0102] the Add Garment button 362 can be a selectable feature on the touchscreen 150 via tapping, pressing, or other input gestures by a user. The Add Garment button is disposed at the screen outputter); and
a controller configured to control rotation of the drum and to perform a course for treating the laundry (FIG. 2 paragraph [0052] controller 95 can be operably coupled with the motor 88 to drive the drum),
wherein, during execution of the course for treating the laundry, the screen outputter is configured to output a course progress screen configured to display execution information of the course (paragraph [0048] controller 95 can be configured to send a text message to the user, send an electronic mail to the user, or provide audio information to the user),
wherein the multi-function button is configured to be activated to an activated state in at least some of a plurality of processes performed in the course (paragraph [0101] Add Garment button 362 will be displayed if a garment can be added to the treating chamber 18. If a garment cannot or should not be added, the Add Garment button 362 will not be displayed), and
wherein the controller is configured to:
determine, for each of a plurality of courses, whether a laundry addition process for additionally inputting laundry is able to be applied during a progress of the course (paragraph [0099] controller 95 can also be configured to determine when a garment can be added to the treating chamber 18 during the cycle of operation; the determination can be based on any suitable factor, including factors which result from utilizing received output from the washing machine sensors S),
activate the multi-function button during the process of the course in which the laundry addition process is able to be applied (paragraph [0101] Add Garment button 362 will be displayed if a garment can be added to the treating chamber 18),
based on the multi-function button being manipulated by the user in the activated state, perform the laundry addition process while the course is in progress (paragraphs [0103]-[0105] Upon selecting the Add Garment button 362, the controller 95 can pause the current cycle of operation, so that garments can be added).
Clayton differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the controller is configured to perform a draining process for discharging water in the tub to an outside of the cabinet based on the laundry addition process being performed.
Kim-501 teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0014] washing machine 1). Kim-501 teaches the controller is configured to perform a draining process of discharging water in the tub to the outside of the cabinet based on the laundry addition process being performed (paragraphs [0147]-[0151] the control unit 110 stops the rotational operation of the drum 30 and determines whether the drum 30 has stopped through the current sensor 106 at step 420. At step 420, if the control unit 110 determines that the operating condition is such that the main door 70 can be opened, and before unlocking the main door 70, the water in the tub 20 is drained. When the main door 70 is unlocked, the user can load additional laundry through the main door 70. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Clayton with a controller that drains the water when the laundry addition process is performed as taught by Kim-501. It would be obvious to drain any excess water to prevent water in the tub from overflowing when the door is opened (paragraph [0149]).
As to claim 2, (Original) Clayton further teaches the course progress screen includes a function display area configured to indicate that the multi-function button is activated and the laundry addition process is able to be performed (FIGS. 18-19 paragraph [0101] Add garment button 362 is either displayed or not displayed on status screen 351. If the add garment button is present, the button is activated. If the add garment button is not present, the button is not activated).
As to claim 3, (Original) Clayton further teaches the course progress screen further includes an executed course display area configured to display a currently performed course, an execution time display area configured to display time information of the currently performed course, an executed process display area configured to display information on a process currently performed in the course, and an execution completion level display area configured to display a completion level of the currently performed course (FIGS. 17-18 paragraph [0100] the status screen 351 can display a variety of indicators 360, including parameters such as temperature, spin speed, cycle duration, or time remaining until the current cycle of operation is completed).
As to claim 4, (Original) Clayton further teaches the course progress screen is configured to remove the function display area while a process where the laundry addition process is not able to be applied among the plurality of processes is in progress (paragraph [0101] upon determination that a garment cannot or should not be added, the controller 95 can be further configured to not display the button 362).
As to claim 5, (Original) Clayton further teaches the screen outputter is switched to a pause screen configured to display a paused state of the course when the multi- function button activated in the course progress screen is manipulated (paragraph [0103] upon selecting the Add Garment button 362, the controller 95 can also be configured to both pause the current cycle of operation).
As to claim 6, (Original) Clayton further teaches the screen outputter is configured to output the pause screen after outputting a laundry addition guidance screen illustrating the laundry addition process on the course progress screen (FIG. 19 paragraph [0104] while the cycle of operation is paused, the controller 95 can be further configured to present the user with a confirmation screen 351C on the touchscreen 150).
As to claim 7, (Original) Clayton further teaches the laundry addition guidance screen is output in a pop-up form for a preset time on the pause screen (FIG. 19 the confirmation screen 351C is a pop-up screen. Paragraph [0106] the controller 95 can automatically restart the cycle of operation if the user fails to press the start button 364 after a given time duration such as 3 minutes. This indicates that the laundry addition guidance screen is on the screen for a preset time.).
As to claim 8, (Original) Clayton further teaches the screen outputter is configured to return to the course progress screen from the pause screen when the laundry addition process is ended (paragraph [0105] after the addition of a garment or garments to the treating chamber 18, the user can close the door and press the start button 364 to resume or restart the cycle of operation. Paragraph [0100] the status screen 351 can be displayed during the cycle of operation. ).
As to claim 11, (Currently Amended) Kim-501 further teaches the controller is configured to discharge water in the tub in the draining process such that an amount of water in the tub is equal to or smaller than a predetermined reference water amount (paragraph [0008] a control unit controls the locking devices to be in a state of preventing the opening of the main door and/or the auxiliary door, so that at least one of the main door and the auxiliary door can be opened based on a detected water level acquired from a water level sensor. The reference water level is characterized in that it is lower than an installation position of the auxiliary door. The control unit will unlock the main door or auxiliary door when it is determined that the detected water level is lower than a preset reference water level).
As to claim 12, (Currently Amended) Clayton and Kim-501 further teach the cabinet has a laundry inlet defined therein in communication with an inside of the drum (Clayton paragraph [0029] the drum 16 includes an access opening 15 and defining at least a portion a laundry treating chamber 18 for receiving a laundry load for treatment) and a laundry door configured to open and close the laundry inlet (Clayton Fig, 1 paragraph [0030] door 24), wherein the controller is configured to perform a door release process of releasing a locked state of the laundry door when the draining process is ended in the laundry addition process (Kim-501 paragraph [0150] after draining the water from the tub 20, the control unit 110 unlocks the main door 70).
As to claim 13, (Original) Clayton further teaches the manipulator further includes an execution button for instructing the controller to perform the course, wherein the controller is configured to resume the course when the execution button is manipulated after the door release process in the laundry addition process (FIG. 19 paragraph [0104] Start button 364 restarts the cycle of operation once the garment has been added).
As to claim 14, (Currently Amended) Clayton further teaches a plurality of different courses are stored in the controller (Clayton FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] controller 95 can be provided with a memory 98, which stores at least one user-selectable cycle of operation, such as wash, heavy duty wash, delicate wash, quick wash, pre-wash, refresh, rinse only, and timed wash),
wherein the screen outputter is configured to output a course selection screen where the plurality of courses are displayed and one of the plurality of courses is selected based on the manipulation signal (FIG. 15 paragraph [0092]controller 95 can be configured to selectively display a listing screen 280 which includes a list of favorite cycles 270 as well as a list of non-favorite cycles 271),
wherein the controller is configured to perform the course displayed on the course selection screen when the execution button is manipulated on the course selection screen (paragraph [0092] tapping or pressing the favorite image 275 can instruct the controller 95 to implement its associated cycle), and control the screen outputter to output the course progress screen (FIGS. 17-18 paragraph [0100] the status screen 351 can display a variety of indicators 360, including parameters such as temperature, spin speed, cycle duration, or time remaining until the current cycle of operation is completed).
As to claim 17, Clayton further teaches while the course progress screen is output on the screen outputter, the multi-function button is activated in a washing process of the course and is deactivated in a dehydration process of the course (paragraph [0099] during a spin-cycle, it can be non-optimal or unsafe to add garments. Therefore the controller 95 can also be configured to determine when a garment can be added to the treating chamber during the cycle of operation. If it is determined that a garment should not be added, the button 362 will not be displayed).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayton et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0263342 (henceforth referred to as Clayton) and Kim et al. KR20180048501 (henceforth referred to as Kim-501) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0321367 (henceforth referred to as Kim-367).
As to claim 15, (Currently Amended) Clayton and Kim-501 differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the multi- function button is configured to vary a function depending on the screen output on the screen outputter.
Kim-367 teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0029] washing apparatus). Kim-367 teaches the multi-function button is configured to vary a function depending on the screen output on the screen outputter (FIGS. 2 and 4 paragraph [0094] the single variable input unit 560 may allow the user to select one of input information data according to a selection point. In other words, one unit may be configured to perform more than two functions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Clayton and Kim-501 with a multi-function button that is configured to vary a function depending on the screen output as taught by Kim-367. Using a single variable input unit provides can simplify a user interface and result in an intuitive minimal user interface (paragraph [0093]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clayton et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0263342 (henceforth referred to as Clayton), Kim et al. KR20180048501 (henceforth referred to as Kim-501), and Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0321367 (henceforth referred to as Kim-367) as applied to claim 15 above, in further view of Park et al. U.S. Publication 2020/0146527 (henceforth referred to as Park).
As to claim 16, Clayton and Kim-367 further teach a plurality of different courses are stored in the controller (Clayton FIG. 2 paragraph [0050] controller 95 can be provided with a memory 98, which stores at least one user-selectable cycle of operation, such as wash, heavy duty wash, delicate wash, quick wash, pre-wash, refresh, rinse only, and timed wash), wherein the screen outputter is configured to output a course selection screen where the plurality of courses are displayed and one of the plurality of courses is selected based on the manipulation signal (Kim-367 FIG. 2 paragraph [0073] the display 540 may be configured to selectively display a course screen for a specific wash course selected through the rotary knob), wherein when the multi-function button is manipulated while the course selection screen is output (Kim-367 FIG. 2 paragraph [0099] the single variable input unit 560 can be manipulated as the course selection screen is output).
Clayton, Kim-501, and Kim-367 differ from the instant claim in failing to teach an option recommendation screen configured to display a recommended option combination for the course displayed on the course selection screen is output.
Park teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 10 paragraph [0141] the electronic device is mounted on a garment-related device such as a washing machine). Park teaches an option recommendation screen configured to display a recommended option combination for the course displayed on the course selection screen is output (FIGS. 11C-11D paragraph [0141] the electronic device may newly generate a recommended washing course).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Clayton, Kim-501, and Kim-367 with a recommended option combination for the course as taught by Park. It is known in the art to recommend a course in order to optimize the running time and/or minimize damage to the item being treated.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711