DETAILED ACTION
The action is in response to the application filed on 12/27/2023. Claims 1-20 are pending and examined below.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 1, “means for obtaining an electrical response signal from the target area” is electrodes as described in paragraph [0061] in the PGPub US 20240382139 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 7, 10, 15, and 18, and claims dependent thereof, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “herein the device additionally comprises a heating system, optionally a heating laser, that is configured to elevate the temperature of the target area”. The phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “wherein the intervals and/or durations are between 10 and 200 ms, advantageously between 20 and 70 milliseconds”. The phrase "advantageously" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 10, the claim recites “wherein the longest interval and/or duration is 10 to 150%, advantageously 40 to 100%, longer than the shortest interval and/or duration”. The phrase "advantageously" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 15, the claim recites “wherein the device additionally comprises a heating system, optionally a heating laser, that is configured to elevate the temperature of the target area, wherein the processor is further configured to additionally determine at least one parameter indicative of a change in temperature of the retinal tissue based on determined ERG responses”. The phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites “wherein the method comprises determining a temperature elevation of the retina per unit of heating power and optionally controlling a heating power used for retinal heating based on the determined temperature elevation of the retina per unit of heating power”. The phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2020240092 A1 (cited in IDS; hereinafter referred to as “Kaikkonen”).
Regarding claim 1, Kaikkonen, a method and device for determining changes in retinal and/or brain temperature, teaches a device (100/150; page 15, lines 12 to page 16, line 2; Figure 3) for obtaining retinal ERG signals from a target area of the retina (page 15, line 26-30),
the device comprising means for obtaining an electrical response signal from the target area (114, 115 ERG electrodes; page 15, line 24 to page 16, line 2; Figure 3),
the device additionally comprising at least one light source (106, 107; page 15, lines 12-26; Figure 3) configured to provide a stimulus beam towards the target area (106a, 107a; page 15, lines 12-26; Figure 3), wherein the stimulus beam is modulated to provide a plurality of single pulses of light, where consecutive single pulses are separated by predetermined intervals of which at least a portion differ from each other (claim 3) and/or wherein at least a portion of the single pulses of light comprise predetermined durations of which at least a portion differ from each other.
Regarding claim 2, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the device additionally comprises a heating system, optionally a heating laser, that is configured to elevate the temperature of the target area (“The method can be used, for example, to monitor temperature changes in the retinal pigment epithelium and the retina during temperature change, e.g. heating treatment, by near-infrared radiation directed to the eye from e.g. lasers or light emitting diodes“; page 10, lines 19-25; “105 used for heating a retinal tissue inside an eye”; page 15, lines 12-26; Figure 3).
Regarding claim 3, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the intervals and/or durations are selected to provide an ERG signal exhibiting selected overlap of electrical responses that are related to consecutive single pulses (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the selected overlap comprises overlap of consecutive electrical responses in essentially different phases (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the selected overlap provides a selected waveform for a determined ERG response obtained from an ERG signal comprising a plurality of overlapped electrical responses through an averaging method, such as cross-correlation between the ERG signal and a stimulus series used to modulate the stimulus beam (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 6, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the selected waveform essentially corresponds to the electrical responses or differs from them by under a threshold amount or wherein the selected waveform essentially corresponds to an obtained reference ERG response or differs from said reference ERG by under a threshold amount (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 7, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the intervals and/or durations are between 10 and 200 ms, advantageously between 20 and 70 milliseconds (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 8, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the intervals and/or durations are selected such that minimized or reduced signal contribution is provided at or near a mains frequency, such as 50 or 60 Hz, and/or its harmonic frequencies in the frequency band where the ERG signal has spectral content (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 9, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the intervals and/or durations and/or an order of the single pulses and associated intervals and/or durations are selected to provide a stimulation pulse train with broad spectral content (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 10, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the longest interval and/or duration is 10 to 150%, advantageously 40 to 100%, longer than the shortest interval and/or duration (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 11, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the intervals and/or durations are approximately evenly spaced between the shortest and the longest interval and/or duration (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 12, Kaikkonen teaches wherein a first set of single pulses of light is provided and an ordering of the single pulses and respective intervals and/or durations is varied at least once to provide at least a second set of single pulses, further wherein said at least second set of single pulses is provided following said first set of single pulses to provide at least one extended set of single pulses of light (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 13, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the single pulses are impulse-like pulses of light or wherein the single pulses are non-impulse-like pulses of light (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3).
Regarding claim 14, Kaikkonen teaches the arrangement comprising the device of claim 1 and at least one processor, the processor being configured to determine a denoised ERG response from an obtained ERG signal comprising overlapping ERG responses (page 19, lines 16-25).
Regarding claim 15, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the device additionally comprises a heating system, optionally a heating laser, that is configured to elevate the temperature of the target area, wherein the processor is further configured to additionally determine at least one parameter indicative of a change in temperature of the retinal tissue based on determined ERG responses (“The method can be used, for example, to monitor temperature changes in the retinal pigment epithelium and the retina during temperature change, e.g. heating treatment, by near-infrared radiation directed to the eye from e.g. lasers or light emitting diodes“; page 10, lines 19-25; “105 used for heating a retinal tissue inside an eye”; page 15, lines 12-26; Figure 3).
Regarding claim 16, Kaikkonen teaches A method for determining an ERG response (page 15, lines 12 to page 16, line 2; Figure 3), the method comprising
directing a stimulus light beam towards a target area of the retina (page 15, lines 12 to page 16, line 2; Figure 3),
modulating the stimulus beam to provide a plurality of single pulses of light, wherein consecutive single pulses are separated by predetermined intervals, of which at least a portion differ from each other and/or wherein at least a portion of the single pulses of light comprise predetermined durations of which at least a portion differ from each other (claim 3, page 15, lines 12 to page 16, line 2; Figure 3),
obtaining at least one ERG signal related to an electrical response of the retina (page 15, lines 12 to page 16, line 2; Figure 3),
determining an ERG response of the retina comprising a response of the retinal tissue essentially corresponding to the response of the tissue to at least one of the single pulses based on the ERG signal (page 15, lines 12 to page 16, line 2; Figure 3).
Regarding claim 17, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the method additionally comprises directing a heating beam to at least the target area and obtaining at least two measured signals related to an ERG signal of the retina (“105 used for heating a retinal tissue inside an eye”; page 15, lines 12-26; Figure 3) and determining at least one parameter indicative of a change in temperature of the retinal tissue based on the determined ERG responses (page 8, lines 5-30).
Regarding claim 18, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the method comprises determining a temperature elevation of the retina per unit of heating power and optionally controlling a heating power used for retinal heating based on the determined temperature elevation of the retina per unit of heating power (page 19, lines 9-15).
Regarding claim 19, Kaikkonen teaches wherein the method additionally comprises removing or reducing artifacts from the obtained ERG signal based on one or more artifact-rejection criteria (claim 5, 21).
Regarding claim 20, Kaikkonen teaches wherein, when the intervals and/or durations of the single pulses have been selected such that minimized or reduced signal contribution is provided at or near a mains frequency, such as 50 or 60 Hz, and/or its harmonic frequencies in the frequency band where the ERG signal has spectral content, the method additionally comprises removing from the determining of an ERG response or weighting differently also ERG signal data that would otherwise be considered suitable for the analysis such that the contribution of noise in mains-related frequencies is minimized or sufficiently reduced (page 5, lines 23 to page 6, line 2; page 16, line 6-12; page 18, line 20 to page 19, line 8; claim 3; page 9, lines 10-16).
Conclusion
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791