DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14, lines 2-3, “engagement formations” and “pairs of interconnected telecommunications cables” are unclear to how these relate to engagement formation and pair of cables cited in claim 1.
Claims 15-17 are included in this rejection because of dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wahl (3325591).
Wahl discloses an enclosure (Figs 5-6) comprising: a housing (16, 17); and an engagement formation (18). It is noted that since the enclosure of Wahl comprises structure and material as claimed, it can be used for a pair of interconnected fiber optic telecommunications cables, each comprising a connector and a boot; and the engagement formation can be configured to receive each connector and each booth of the pair of interconnected fiber optic cables and to fasten fiber optic the cables to the housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wahl in view of Goodwin et al. (2005/0191903).
Re-claim 2, Wahl does not disclose the engagement formation comprising a booth engagement member for receiving each boot; and a connector engagement formation for receiving each connector. Goodwin et al. discloses an enclosure (1) comprising a housing and an engagement formation which is comprised of a boot engagement member for receiving a boot (not numbered, the formation in prolongation with connector engagement formation for receiving connector 35) and a connector engagement formation for receiving a connector (35). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the engagement formation of Wahl to comprise boot engagement member and connector engagement formation as taught by Goodwin et al. to further secure each cable pair within the housing.
Re-claim 3, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the boot engagement member extending in prolongation of the connector engagement formation.
Re-claim 4, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the booth engagement member and the connector engagement formation being aligned with one another.
Re-claim 5, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the engagement formation being provided as part of the housing.
Re-claim 6, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the engagement formation being integrally formed with the housing.
Re-claim 7, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the engagement formation being shaped and dimensioned so as to conform with shapes and dimensions of each of the connectors and the boots, see Goodwin, Fig. 2.
Re-claim 8, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the engagement formation comprising a channel.
Re-claim 9, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the engagement formation comprising a surface for preventing disconnection of the pair of interconnected telecommunications cables when the telecommunications cables are provided in the engagement formation.
Re-claim 10, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the housing comprising a complementary lid and a base (17, 16), wherein the engagement formation is formed of a first part arranged on the lid and a second part arranged on the base.
Re-claim 11, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the pair of interconnected telecommunications cables each comprise a cord extending from the boot, and wherein the engagement formation is further configured to receive and to fasten the cord, see Fig. 3 of Wahl.
Re-claim 12, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the engagement formation being in the form of at least one of a friction-fit engagement or a compression-fit engagement for the pair of interconnected telecommunications cables.
Re-claim 13, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the engagement formation extending along an entire length of the housing.
Re-claim 14, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the enclosure comprising a plurality (two) of engagement formations, thereby to fasten a plurality of pairs of interconnected telecommunications cables to the housing.
Re-claim 15, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose at least a portion of a given engagement formation of the plurality of engagement formations also forming at least a portion of another engagement formation that is adjacent to the given engagement formation of the plurality of engagement formations.
Re-claim 16, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the plurality of engagement formations being arranged parallel to one another.
Re-claim 17, Wahl and Goodwin et al. disclose the plurality of engagement formations lying in the same plane.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground of rejection.
Applicant argues that Wahl which was filed in 1965 is directed to an enclosure for electrical connections, not fiber optic telecommunications cables. Examiner would disagree. First, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “configured to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not consititute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138. Second, it has been held that apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does. Hewlett-Packard Co.v.Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Applicant argues that Goodwins’s disclosure directly contrasts with Wahl’s description of an enclosure for a connection between two electrical conductors. Examiner would disagree. Goodwin is relied upon only to suppor the position of an engagement formation comprising a boot engagement member and a connector engagement formation; therefore, Goodwin does not have to disclose a connection between two conductors.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CHAU N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841