DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election of Group I (claims 1-18) in the reply filed on 8/18/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 19-33 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected election, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 14-16 recite “wherein the polymer includes poly(alkyl aldehyde)s that are longer than 15 kDa”, “…50 kDa”, and “…100 kDa”, respectively. It is not clear if the recited kDa values are number average molecular weight nor weight average molecular weight, or anything else. For the purpose of further examination, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation, any form of molecular weight will be considered meeting these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gillies et al (US 20170073452 A1).
Regarding claims 1-5, Gillies teaches a polyglyoxylate polymer having the structure of formula (A) [0020]:
wherein n is between 10 and 2,000; R can be H, optionally substituted C1-20 linear or branched alkyl, etc.; Cap is not a hydrogen but a structure such as [0062]
The examiner submits that the polyglyoxylate polymer reads on the claimed end-capped poly(acetal).
The recited “wherein a differential scanning calorimetry process exhibits no endothermic peaks for monomers for a first heat cycle of a heat-cool process applied to the reagent end-capped poly(acetal)s and for a second heat cycle of the heat-cool process, wherein the first heat cycle and the second heat cycle extend to a temperature at which hydrogen end-capped poly(acetal)s thermally depolymerize, and wherein a cooling cycle of the heat-cool process extends to −180° C”, “wherein the first heat cycle reaches a temperature in the range of 100° C. to 150° C”, “wherein the first heat cycle reaches a temperature that is at least 5° C. higher than the temperature at which hydrogen end-capped poly(acetal)s thermally depolymerize”, “in which the cooling cycle extends to between −80° C. and −180° C”, and “wherein the cooling cycle extends to at least −100° C” are properties of the product. According to the applicant, a non-hydrogen end-capped poly(acetal) should meet the recited properties. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited properties are expected to be present. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 17, the recited “atactic, syndiotactic, or isotactic” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
Regarding claim 18, the recited “wherein the end caps of the reagent end-capped polymer reacts to at least one non-ambient stimuli selected from the group consisting of base, acid, oxidizing agent, reducing agent, non-ionizing radiation, ultrasound, acid derived from a photoacid, ultraviolet light, infrared light, visible light, extreme ultraviolet radiation, and heat, wherein the non-ambient stimuli causes cleavage of the end cap from a terminus of the polymer” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-12 and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kato (US 20160222202 A1).
Regarding claims 1-5, Kato teaches polyoxymethylene compositions comprising polyacetals which are end-capped by esterification or etherification with hydroxyl terminal groups [0037].
The examiner submits that the polyacetals read on the claimed end-capped poly(acetal).
The recited “wherein a differential scanning calorimetry process exhibits no endothermic peaks for monomers for a first heat cycle of a heat-cool process applied to the reagent end-capped poly(acetal)s and for a second heat cycle of the heat-cool process, wherein the first heat cycle and the second heat cycle extend to a temperature at which hydrogen end-capped poly(acetal)s thermally depolymerize, and wherein a cooling cycle of the heat-cool process extends to −180° C”, “wherein the first heat cycle reaches a temperature in the range of 100° C. to 150° C”, “wherein the first heat cycle reaches a temperature that is at least 5° C. higher than the temperature at which hydrogen end-capped poly(acetal)s thermally depolymerize”, “in which the cooling cycle extends to between −80° C. and −180° C”, and “wherein the cooling cycle extends to at least −100° C” are properties of the product. According to the applicant, a non-hydrogen end-capped poly(acetal) should meet the recited properties. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited properties are expected to be present. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claims 11-12, Kato teaches that the polyoxymethylene composition further comprises calcium carbonate [0081], which meets the claimed acid scavenger; and formaldehyde scavenger [0082].
Regarding claim 17, the recited “atactic, syndiotactic, or isotactic” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
Regarding claim 18, the recited “wherein the end caps of the reagent end-capped polymer reacts to at least one non-ambient stimuli selected from the group consisting of base, acid, oxidizing agent, reducing agent, non-ionizing radiation, ultrasound, acid derived from a photoacid, ultraviolet light, infrared light, visible light, extreme ultraviolet radiation, and heat, wherein the non-ambient stimuli causes cleavage of the end cap from a terminus of the polymer” is a property of the product. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. “When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990)). See MPEP 2112.01. Since the prior art teaches the same product as the current invention, the recited property is expected to be present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US 20160222202 A1).
Regarding claims 14-16, Kato teaches the polyacetal in claim 1.
Kato teaches that the polyoxymethylenes have a number average molecular weight of at least 10,000 [0087], which overlaps the claimed longer than 15 kDa, longer than 50 kDa, and longer than 100 kDa. A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of Hebel et al (US 20140182485 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kato teaches the polyacetal in claim 11 as stated above. Kato teaches formaldehyde scavengers but does not specify that the scavengers include amines, hydrazines, or 2-aminobenzamide.
In the same field of endeavor, Hebel teaches end-capped polyoxymethylene polymer composition comprising formaldehyde scavengers such as hindered amines [0128].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select any hindered amines as the formaldehyde scaverger in Kato’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Dependent claims 6-7 and 9-10 are directed to the polymers according to claim 1, wherein the polymers comprise polymerized residues of a formula recited in claim 6. There is no prior art that teaches or makes obvious the aforementioned limitations as claimed.
The closest prior art is the disclosure of Gillies et al (US 20170073452 A1). Gillies teaches a polyglyoxylate polymer having the structure of formula (A) [0020]:
wherein n is between 10 and 2,000; R can be H, optionally substituted C1-20 linear or branched alkyl, etc.; Cap is not a hydrogen but a structure such as [0062]
The examiner submits that the Cap differs from the claimed R1 and R2.
Dependent claim 8 is directed to the polymers according to claim 1, wherein the reagent end-capped poly(acetal)s includes silicon-oxygen bonds between terminal oxygens of the reagent end-capped poly(acetal)s and silicones of end caps of the reagent end-capped poly(acetal)s.
The closest prior art is the disclosure of Gillies et al (US 20170073452 A1). Gillies teaches a polyglyoxylate polymer having the structure of formula (A), which does not include silicon-oxygen bonds between terminal oxygens of the reagent end-capped poly(acetal)s and silicones of end caps of the reagent end-capped poly(acetal)s.
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762