Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 6/16/2026 are entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-16, 18-20, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito (JP 3018684 U) in view of Laloyaux (LALOYAUX et al., "Temperature-Responsive Polymer Brushes Switching from Bactericidal to Cell-Repellent,” Advanced Materials, Vol. 22, No. 44, pp. 5024-5028 (2010).).
Regarding claim 1, Saito teaches a flame producing assembly (“In FIG. 2, A is a filter, 1 is a pipe body, 2 is a cigarette insertion port for smoking”, the assembly is used for producing a flame by holding a flammable cigarette in place) with an antibacterial coating (abstract, the antibacterial properties of the surface of the pipe mouthpiece) and a heat conductive layer in thermal contact with the antibacterial coating (claim 1, FIG. 2, the pipe consists of a layered filter A in contact with the antibacterial pipe body 1, see FIG. A below), wherein the antibacterial coating is configured to at least partially destroy and/or inactivate pathogens on the antibacterial coating (abstract), and wherein the heat conductive layer is configured to transfer thermal energy to the antibacterial coating (claim 1, FIG. 2, the pipe consists of a layered filter A in contact with the antibacterial pipe body 1, which, as a material, would transfer heat from the smoke passing through the filter A to the pipe body 1).
FIG. A
Saito fails to teach a bactericidal component and an antifoulinq component.
However, Laloyaux teaches a bactericidal component (title, the bactericidal component of the brushes) and an antifoulinq component (title, the cell-repellent component of the brushes).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Saito by making the coating switch between antibacterial and cell-repellent states, as taught by Laloyaux, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Saito with these aforementioned teachings of Laloyaux with the motivation of having the pipe kill germs when below a certain temperature, and only repel cells when above that temperature (e.g., when the pipe is operating and a user may be inhaling nearby, preventing them from inhaling a harmful antibacterial).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the antibacterial coating is further configured to at least partially destroy and/or inactivate pathogens on the antibacterial coating below a first transition temperature (Laloyaux, page 1, column 1).
The combination of Saito and Laloyaux fails to teach that the first transition temperature is between about 300C to about 50C.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the transition temperature between 300 and 50C, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Page 1, column 2 of Laloyaux discloses a transition temperature between 22and 40C), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that transition temperature is a result effective variable because it affects the scenarios where the substance would be useful (i.e., transitioning between medical procedures and storage, or between lighting a cigarette and storage). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the transition temperature between 300 and 50C, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the antibacterial coating is further configured to at least partially repel pathogens and/or remnants thereof (page 1, column 1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the antibacterial coating is further configured to at least partially destroy and/or inactivate pathogens on the antibacterial coating below a second transition temperature (page 1, column 1).
The combination of Saito and Laloyaux fails to teach that the second transition temperature is between about 300C to about 50C.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to make the transition temperature between 300 and 50C, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (Page 1, column 2 of Laloyaux discloses a transition temperature between 22 and 40C), discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves (MPEP 2144.05 II. A) only routine skill in the art.
In addition, it is observed that transition temperature is a result effective variable because it affects the scenarios where the substance would be useful (i.e., transitioning between medical procedures and storage, or between lighting a cigarette and storage). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to make the transition temperature between 300 and 50C, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the bactericidal component comprises a bactericidal agent comprising an antibiotic, an antimicrobial peptide, a polycationic polymer, metal ions (Saito, “an antibacterial agent, for example, Kanebo Chemical Co., Ltd. It is formed by mixing the product name "BACTEKILLER" and molding it.” Bactekiller contains a silver zinc zeolite powder, which contains metal ions), nitric oxide, a nanosized metal, a nanosized metal oxide, an antimicrobial enzyme, a quaternary ammonium salt, an N-halamine and/or a quorum sensing inhibitor.
Regarding claims 7 and 22, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the antifouling component is hydrophobic or hydrophilic (Laloyaux, the material becomes hydrophylic or hydrophobic depending on temperature).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the antibacterial coating is disposed on an outer surface of the flame producinq assembly (FIG. A, the antibacterial pipe body is disposed on an exterior of the assembly), and the antibacterial coating is configured to expose the bactericidal component at the outer surface at temperatures below the first transition temperature and to expose the antifouling component at the outer surface at temperatures above the second transition temperature (Laloyaux, page 1, column 1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the bactericidal component or parts thereof are configured to undergo a conformation change when heated above the second transition temperature and to reverse the conformation change when cooling to a temperature below the first transition temperature (Laloyaux, page 1, column 1).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the bactericidal component is disposed on an outer surface of the flame producing assembly (FIG. A, the antibacterial pipe body is disposed on an exterior of the assembly) and is configured to be in an elongated state at temperatures below the first transition temperature, thereby extending from the outer surface, and wherein the bactericidal component is in a collapsed state at temperatures above the second transition temperature, thereby resting on the outer surface and/or retracting into the outer surface (Laloyaux, page 1, columns 1 and 2, the antibacterial).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the bactericidal component comprises a thermoresponsive polymer (Laloyaux, “Such systems are invariably based on thermoresponsive polymer coatings”).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the thermoresponsive polymer comprises poly(N-vinyl caprolactam), poly(N- isopropylacrylamide) and/or poly(N-isopropylacrylamide) co-polymer (Laloyaux, “a seminal example of such coatings are brushes of poly(N-isopropylacrylamide)”).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the first transition temperature is a lower critical solution temperature of the thermoresponsive polymer, wherein the lower critical solution temperature is between about 35C and 45C (Page 1, column 2 of Laloyaux discloses a transition temperature between 22and 40C).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the antifouling component forms an outer surface of the antibacterial coating, wherein the bactericidal component is bound to the antifouling component or parts thereof (Laloyaux, the two components are bound together and form an exterior coating).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Guo, Saito, and Laloyaux teaches that the first transition temperature and the second transition temperature are the same temperature (Laloyaux, page 1 column 1).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the antifouling component is hydrophobic or hydrophilic (Laloyaux, the material becomes hydrophylic or hydrophobic depending on temperature), and wherein the bactericidal component comprises a thermoresponsive polymer (Laloyaux, “Such systems are invariably based on thermoresponsive polymer coatings”).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches that the antibacterial coating is thermally conductive (Saito, the coating may conduct heat).
Regarding claim 19, Saito teaches a flame producing assembly (abstract, a cigarette lighter) with an antibacterial coating (abstract, the antibacterial properties of the surface of the pipe mouthpiece) and a heat conductive layer in thermal contact with the antibacterial coating (claim 1, FIG. 2, the pipe consists of a layered filter A in contact with the antibacterial pipe body 1, see FIG. A below), wherein the heat conductive layer is configured to transfer thermal energy to the antibacterial coating (claim 1, FIG. 2, the pipe consists of a layered filter A in contact with the antibacterial pipe body 1, which, as a material, would transfer heat from the smoke passing through the filter A to the pipe body 1), wherein the antibacterial coating is configured to at least partially destroy and/or inactivate pathogens on the antibacterial coating (abstract).
Saito fails to teach that the antibacterial coating comprises a bactericidal component and an antifouling component, wherein the antifouling component is hydrophobic and/or comprises poly(sulfobetaine methacrylate), and wherein the bactericidal component comprises a thermoresponsive polymer.
However, Laloyaux teaches that the antibacterial coating comprises a bactericidal component (title, the bactericidal component of the brushes) and an antifouling component (title, the cell-repellent component of the brushes), wherein the antifouling component is hydrophobic (Laloyaux, the material becomes hydrophylic or hydrophobic depending on temperature) and/or comprises poly(sulfobetaine methacrylate), and wherein the bactericidal component comprises a thermoresponsive polymer (Laloyaux, “Such systems are invariably based on thermoresponsive polymer coatings”).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Saito by making the coating switch between antibacterial and cell-repellent states (which are hydrophobic/hydrorepellant at different temperatures and are made of a thermoresponsive polymer coating), as taught by Laloyaux, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Saito with these aforementioned teachings of Laloyaux with the motivation of having the lighter kill germs when below a certain temperature, and only repel cells when above that temperature (e.g., when the pipe is operating and a user may be inhaling nearby, preventing them from inhaling a harmful antibacterial).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux teaches a process for manufacturing a flame producing assembly according to claim 1, wherein the process comprises: coating a pre-assembled flame producing assembly with a heat conductive layer; coating the pre-assembled flame producing assembly with an antifouling component; binding a bactericidal component to the antifouling component (the various layers of the combined assembly above must be formed and added together).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito and Laloyaux as applied to claims 1-4 and 6-20 above, and further in view of Borque (US 20230056079 A1).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Saito and Laloyaux fails to teach coating parts of the pre- assembled flame producing assembly with a thermochromic coating.
However, Borque teaches coating parts of the pre- assembled flame producing assembly with a thermochromic coating (paragraph 5, a chromatic coating may allow the surface to change colors responsive to heat).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Saito by including a thermochromic coating, as taught by Borque, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Saito with these aforementioned teachings of Borque with the motivation of giving the surface an interesting visual effect.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-16, and 18-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Specifically, the new language in the amendments that was not originally found in claim 17 has necessitated a restructuring of the rejection by the Examiner, as shown above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C WEINERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762