DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the amendment filed on August 10, 2026. Claims 18-29 are pending, of which claims 1-17 have been canceled and claims 18, 22, 25, and 27-29 have been amended.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. In this instance claims 25-29 recite a generic place holder “unit” and “device” with recited functions such as receiving, displaying, sending, recognizing, and image pickup without any corresponding structure.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. According to the specification the device is a CCD or a CMOS. The receiving unit, display unit, sending unit, recognizing unit are interpreted as a program (e.g., application) implemented on user device (e.g., a tablet or smartphone).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 25-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
A patent may be obtained for “any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof.” 35 U.S.C. § 101. The Supreme Court has held that this provision contains an important implicit exception: laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas are not patentable. Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int’l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2354 (2014); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 67 (1972) (“Phenomena of nature, though just discovered, mental processes, and abstract intellectual concepts are not patentable, as they are the basic tools of scientific and technological work.”). Notwithstanding that a law of nature or an abstract idea, by itself, is not patentable, the application of these concepts may be deserving of patent protection. Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs., Inc., 132 S. Ct. 1289, 1293-94 (2012). In Mayo, the Court stated that “to transform an unpatentable law of nature into a patent eligible application of such a law, one must do more than simply state the law of nature while adding the words ‘apply it.” Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294 (citation omitted).
In Alice, the Supreme Court reaffirmed the framework set forth previously in Mayo “for distinguishing patents that claim laws of nature, natural phenomena, and abstract ideas from those that claim patent-eligible applications of these concepts.” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2355. The first step in the analysis is to “determine whether the claims at issue are directed to one of those patent-ineligible concepts.” Id. If the claims are directed to a patent-ineligible concept, then the second step in the analysis is to consider the elements of the claims “individually and ‘as an ordered combination” to determine whether there are additional elements that “transform the nature of the claim’ into a patent-eligible application.” Id. (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1298, 1297). In other words, the second step is to “search for an ‘inventive concept’-i.e., an element or combination of elements that is ‘sufficient to ensure that the patent in practice amounts to significantly more than a patent upon the [ineligible concept] itself.” Id. (brackets in original) (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1294). The prohibition against patenting an abstract idea “cannot be circumvented by attempting to limit the use of the formula to a particular technological environment or adding insignificant post-solution activity.” Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 610-11 (2010) (citation and internal quotation marks omitted). The Court in Alice noted that “[s]imply appending conventional steps, specified at a high level of generality,’ was not ‘enough’ [in Mayo] to supply an ‘inventive concept.” Alice, 134 S. Ct. at 2357 (quoting Mayo, 132 S. Ct. at 1300, 1297, 1294).
Examiners must perform a Two-Part Analysis for Judicial Exceptions. In Step 1, it must be determined whether the claimed invention is directed to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Claims 29 is directed to a non-transitory storage medium. As such, the claimed invention falls into the broad categories of invention. However, even claims that fall within one of the four subject matter categories may nevertheless be ineligible if they encompass laws of nature, physical phenomena, or abstract ideas. See Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. at 309.
In Step 2A, it must be determined whether the claimed invention is ‘directed to’ a judicially recognized exception. According to the specification, the invention includes “a learner can check at what timing a review needs to be performed. In this manner, with the sticky-note application 41, the learner can grasp timings for a review even when the book 3 is not close at hand.” (par. 78).
Independent claim 1 recites the following (with emphasis):
A non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to read information indicated by a sticky note for learning; wherein the sticky note for learning includes a sticky note including a sticky-note body and a plurality of separable portions that are coupled to the sticky-note body, the separable portions being separable one by one from the sticky-note body; the separable portions include indicating regions that are visible in a state where the sticky note is affixed to an adherend, the indicating regions each indicating a piece of timing information that shows a lapse time point from a start time point of learning; the indicating region of each separable portion indicates a piece of timing information that shows a timing later than a timing shown by a piece of timing information indicated by the indicating region of the separable portion that is to be separated earlier than the each separable portion; and the computer program causes the computer to function as: a receiving unit that receives an input of the pieces of timing information indicated by the indicating regions; and a display unit that displays the received pieces of timing information.
The underlined portions of claim generally encompass the abstract idea. Claim 29 further defines the abstract idea to include recognizing a state of progress of a review. Under prong 2, the claimed invention encompasses an abstract idea in the form of certain methods of organizing human activity and/or mental processes. The claims recite learning process by providing timing information for students to organize their review of material to be learning using notes, thereby organizing human activity of students because it is drawn to managing the personal behavior while learning. Furthermore, the method can be performed in the mind of a human and/or with the aid of pencil and paper.
The use of notes as a means of teaching, training, and learning knowledge is basic to the learning process. The CRM in the instant application simply seeks to automate this well-known activity to make the notes electronically available using generic computers recited at a high level of generality, and, therefore, the claims are directed to the abstract concept sub-grouping of "managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people" including teaching/learning.
In addition, the claims also recite a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, and judgments). But for the recitation of the recitation of computer readable medium storing a program implemented by a computer, nothing in the claimed method or operations precludes the recitations from practically being performed in the mind. For example, a user may look at and read information from a note indicated when to study/review material and may imagine that information in their mind (e.g., as is common with memorization). In addition, a user may look at and read information from a note and recognize (observe and evaluate) their state of progress. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of recitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas.
Therefore, under prong 2, the claimed invention encompasses an abstract idea in the form of mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity.
Under prong 2, the instant claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. In other words, the claims do not (1) improve the functioning of a computer or other technology, (2) effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition (3) are not applied with any particular machine, (4) do not effect a transformation of a particular article to a different state, and (5) are not applied in any meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim, as a whole, is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, the claims are directed to the judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea. See MPEP §§ 2106.05(a)-(c), (e)-(h).
While certain physical elements (i.e., elements that are not an abstract idea) are present in the claims, such features do not affect an improvement in any technology or technical field and are recited in generic (i.e., not particular) ways. Similarly, the abstract idea does not improve the functioning of these physical elements. In recent cases, the CAFC has made it clear that the term “practical application” means providing a technical solution to a technical problem in computers. To be patent-eligible, the claimed invention must improve the computer as a computer. Applicant’s invention does not meet these requirements. Applicant’s invention uses computers to read and process information. This does not improve the computer qua computer. Instead, Applicant’s invention uses generic computers as a tool to implement the abstract idea. As such, the claims are not eligible under Section 101.
Step 2B requires that if the claim encompasses a judicially recognized exception, it must be determined whether the claimed invention recites additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional elements or combination of elements other than the abstract idea per se amounts to no more than: a system having a computer and memory configured to perform the abstract idea.
The additional claimed elements are a computer, a computer readable medium, a program, and a display. The elements are not particular and are recited at a high level of generality. Moreover, nothing in Applicant’s specification indicates these computer components perform anything other than well understood, routine, and conventional functions, such as receiving, storing, processing, and storing data. See, Elec. Power Grp., LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1355 (ed. Cir. 2016) (“Nothing in the claims, understood in light of the [S]pecification, requires anything other than off-the-shelf, conventional computer, network, and display technology for gathering, sending, and presenting the desired information.”); see also Alice, 573 US. at 224—26 (receiving, storing, sending information over networks insufficient to add an inventive concept); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1340, 1355 (ed. Cir, 2014) (That a computer receives and sends the information over a network-—with no further specification—is not even arguably inventive.”). The additional element of an image recognition device for scanning notes is also recited at a high level of generality and the scanning and digitizing of data from a document (e.g., a note) has been found to be well-understood, routine and conventional computer activity, e.g., See Content Extraction & Transmission LLC v Wells Fargo Bank, Nat'! Ass'n, 776 F.3d 1343, 1348 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("[Content Extraction and Transmission] conceded at oral argument that the use of a scanner or other digitizing device to extract data from a document was well known at the time of filing [in 1991 ], as was the ability of computers to translate the shapes on a physical page into typeface characters"). At best, Applicant’s claimed subject matter simply uses generic processing circuitry to perform the abstract idea of converting input data from one form to another (e.g., image data from notes to digital display data). As noted above, the use of a generic computer system does not alone transform an otherwise abstract idea into patent-eligible subject matter. As our reviewing court has observed, “after Alice, there can remain no doubt: recitation of generic computer limitations does not make an otherwise ineligible claim patent-eligible.” DDR Holdings, 773 F.3d at 1256 (citing Alice, 573 U.S. at 223).
These elements amount to generic, well-understood and conventional computer components. The use of computers to process received data to output a result represents well-understood, routine, conventional activity previously known to the industry as indicated by the Supreme Court in Alice and/or constitutes extra-solution activity, such as data gathering necessary to perform the abstract concept. As demonstrated by Berkheimer v. HP, such computer functions cannot save an otherwise ineligible claim under §101. In short, each step does no more than require a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are not particular and are recited at a high level of generality.
Considered as an ordered combination, only generic computer components are present. Viewed as a whole, the claims simply recite the concept of making judgments by a generic computer. The claims do not, for example, purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself. Nor do they effect an improvement in any other technology or technical field. Instead, the claims at issue amount to nothing significantly more than an instruction to apply the abstract idea using some unspecified, generic computer. Under relevant court precedents, that is not enough to transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention.
As a result, claims 25-29 are not patent eligible
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Publication No. JP 2001180171 by Abe (“Abe”).
In re claim 18, Abe discloses a sticky note for learning [Fig. 3, #11, ¶¶7,8 describe sticky note 11], comprising: a sticky note including a sticky-note body and a plurality of separable portions that is coupled to the sticky-note body, the separable portions being separable one by one from the sticky-note body [Figs. 2, 3, ¶¶12-16, among others, describe regions (e.g., sections S1-S6) which may be separated one at a time]; wherein the separable portions include indicating regions that are visible in a state where the sticky note is affixed to an adherend, the indicating regions each indicating a piece of timing information that shows a lapse time point from a start time point of learning [Figs. 2,3 ¶¶12-16, among others, show sticky notes 11 stuck to papers in a book with the separable sections visible, the sections including unique indicia, such as numbers 1-6, these number can indicate time, such as days. In addition, it is noted that any limitation to the specific indicia of a region is directed to non-functional descriptive material that does not further limit the structure of the claim1]; and the indicating region of each separable portion indicates a piece of timing information that shows a lapse time point later than a lapse time point shown by a piece of timing information indicated by the indicating region of the separable portion that is to be separated earlier than the each separable portion [Figs. 2, 3 ¶¶12-16, among others, show sticky notes 11 with sections including unique indicia, such as numbers 1-6, these number can indicate time, such as days. As these sections are removed, e.g., section with printed #6 is removed leaving #1-#5. The numbers can indicate timing information, such as number of days remaining (e.g., 5). In addition, it is noted that any limitation to specific indicia (such as timing information) is directed to non-functional descriptive material (see note above). The limitation that is to be separated earlier than each separable portion is directed to intended use that does not further limit the structure of the claim2].
In re claim 19, Abe discloses the separable portions are arranged in order in a longitudinal direction of the sticky note for learning, and a length of the sticky note for learning is shortened as the separable portions are separated one by one [Figs 2, 3, ¶¶6-8, 16, describe arrangement of sections in longitudinal direction, which as they are separated, shorten the length of the note].
In re claim 20, Abe discloses the separable portions are each separable with a perforation [Figs 2, 3, ¶¶6-8, 16, describe perforations between sections S1-S6].
In re claim 21, Abe discloses a plurality of the sticky notes for learning, wherein the sticky notes for learning are arranged being visible and each have the indicating regions indicating the pieces of timing information that show timings different from one another [Figs. 2, 3 ¶¶12-16, among others, describe a set (figs. 1 and 3) including a plurality of sticky notes adhered to pages of a book with different sections with indicia visible which appear different from one another. Moreover, this limitation is directed to intended use of the sticky notes that does not further limit the claim (see footnote 2 above). In addition, it is noted that any limitation to specific indicia (timing information) is directed to non-functional descriptive material and/or intended use that does not further limit the structure of the claim (see footnote 1 above)].
In re claim 22, Abe discloses a sticky note for learning [Fig. 3, #11, ¶¶7,8 describe sticky note 11], comprising: a sticky note that includes a plurality of indicating regions that is visible in a state where the sticky note is affixed to an adherend, the indicating regions each indicating a piece of timing information that shows a lapse time point from a start time point of learning [Figs. 2, 3, ¶¶12-16, among others, describe sticky notes 11 stuck to papers in a book with the separable sections visible, regions (e.g., sections S1-S6), including unique indicia, such as numbers 1-6, these number can indicate timing info, such as days. In addition, it is noted that any limitation to specific indicia is directed to non-functional descriptive material and/or intended use that does not further limit the structure of the claim (see footnote 1 above)]; wherein the indicating regions are demarcated by guides for folds, such that by folding the sticky note downward sequentially along the folds, the indicating regions are made invisible one by one accordingly [Figs. 2,3 ¶¶12-16, among others, describe perforations may be provided a boundary of sections so that the sections S1 to S6 can be separated or folded back from each other]; and each indicating region indicates a piece of timing information that shows a lapse time point later than a lapse time point shown by a piece of timing information indicated by the indicating region that is to be made invisible earlier than the each indicating region [Figs. 2, 3 ¶¶12-16, among others, show sticky notes 11 with sections including unique indicia, such as numbers 1-6, these number can indicate time, such as days. As these sections are removed, e.g., section with printed #6 is removed leaving #1-#5. The numbers can indicate timing information, such as number of days remaining (e.g., 5). In addition, it is noted that any limitation to specific indicia (such as timing information) is directed to non-functional descriptive material (see footnote 1 above). The limitation that is to be separated earlier than each separable portion is directed to intended use that does not further limit the structure of the claim (see footnote 2 above)].
In re claim 23, Abe discloses the indicating regions are arranged in order in a longitudinal direction of the sticky note for learning; and a length of the sticky note for learning is shortened as the sticky note is folded downward sequentially along the folds [Figs 2, 3, ¶¶6-8, 16, describe arrangement of sections in longitudinal direction, which as they are folded, shorten the length of the note].
In re claim 24, Abe discloses a set of a plurality of the sticky notes for learning, wherein the sticky notes for learning are arranged being visible and each have the indicating regions indicating the pieces of timing information that show timings different from one another [Figs. 2, 3 ¶¶12-16, among others, describe a set (figs. 1 and 3) including a plurality of sticky notes adhered to pages of a book with different sections with indicia visible which appear different from one another. Moreover, this limitation is directed to intended use of the sticky notes that does not further limit the claim. In addition, it is noted that any limitation to specific indicia (timing information) is directed to non-functional descriptive material and/or intended use that does not further limit the structure of the claim (see note above)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25-27 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2008/0136833 by Taniguchi et al. (“Taniguchi”) in view of Abe.
In re claim 25, Taniguchi discloses a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program that causes a computer to read information indicated by a sticky note for learning [Fig. 2, ¶¶37,126 describe storage medium with program for scanning sticky notes]; wherein the sticky note for learning includes a sticky note including a sticky-note body and a plurality of separable portions that are coupled to the sticky-note body, the separable portions being separable one by one from the sticky-note body [Fig. 9 and ¶¶9-12 describe a sticky note. Sticky notes are formed from paper and therefore include regions which may be separated (cut or torn)]; the separable portions include indicating regions that are visible in a state where the sticky note is affixed to an adherend, the indicating regions each indicating a piece of timing information that shows a lapse time point from a start time point of learning [Fig. 9 shows a sticky note the sticky note includes a date and time, the time can be when the note was taken, e.g., a start time, and are visible ¶¶9-12, 45, 60, 91-96]; the indicating region of each separable portion indicates a piece of timing information that shows a timing later than a timing shown by a piece of timing information indicated by the indicating region of the separable portion that is to be separated earlier than the each separable portion [Fig. 9 ¶¶9-12, 45, 60, 91-96 describe note with timing information which can be separated]; and the computer program causes the computer to function as: a receiving unit that receives an input of the pieces of timing information indicated by the indicating regions [Fig. 2, ¶¶9-12, 45, 60, 91-96 describe image reading device 112 and image reading unit 102a]; and a display unit that displays the received pieces of timing information [Fig. 2, ¶¶9-12, describe display device 114 and display controlling unit 102b].
Taniguchi describes the sticky note includes timing information (e.g., See, Fig. 9, with date 11/21 and date and time 12/3 10:00) in regions of the note which are scanned by the system and displayed. The sticky note is made of paper and therefore the region displaying the timing information can be separated by tearing or cutting. In addition, the claim is directed to a computer a non-transitory storage medium storing a computer program. The limitations of the sticky note appear in the preamble and are not further recited in the body of the claimed units. In addition, the indicia of time information are directed to non-functional descriptive material and/or intended use of the sticky note that does not further limit the claimed program as these recitations do not appear outside of the preamble. Therefore, Taniguchi anticipates claim 25.
However, to the extent Taniguchi fails to provide these limitations, Abe teaches a sticky note with separable regions with numbers in descending order that can provide timing information, including a range of timing, e.g., Fig. 3, 6 followed by 5 followed by 4, etc.
Taniguchi and Abe are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sticky notes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Taniguchi and include the sticky note with separable regions and indicia, as taught by Abe, in order to improve user convenience, for example, by provide customized notes such as classification according to the needs of the user without having to purchase different notes, see, e.g., 6.
In re claim 26, Taniguchi discloses an image pickup device [Fig. 2, shows image reading device 112]; and the receiving unit receives the input by reading, using the image pickup device, the pieces of timing information indicated by the indicating regions [Fig. 2 shows image reading unit 102].
In re claim 27, Taniguchi discloses a sending unit that sends the received pieces of timing information to an external device [¶¶54, 64, 65, among other describe information may be presented on external display 114, such as a monitor or home television set, or send to external system 200, such as a web server, through network 300].
In re claim 29, Taniguchi discloses wherein the receiving unit repeatedly receives an input of the pieces of timing information [Fig. 21, ¶¶87, 89, 119, describe a history including a plurality of notes, therefore, as a second note is scanned the image reading unit 102(b) receives repeated inputs]; and the computer program further causes the computer to function as a recognizing unit that recognizes a state of progress of a review based on a plurality of the received pieces of timing information [¶¶60, 91-104, among others, describe altering the display of the electronic sticky note according to the progress of timing, for example, that indicates a proximity to time, such as a reminder or grace period, to convey urgency to the user].
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Taniguchi in view of Abe and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,558,467 to Simon et al. (“Simon”).
In re claim 28, Taniguchi lacks, but Simon teaches an image processing system for capturing and storing information associated with sticky notes on a whiteboard [Fig. 3, col. 3, ll. 25-42, col. 8, l.66-col. 9, l. 19] wherein the receiving unit further receives an input of adherend information that is indicated by the adherend, and the display unit displays the received adherend information in an associated manner with the pieces of timing information [col. 4, ll. 1-34, among others describe capturing lines drawing on board connecting the sticky notes (adherend information), col. 5 l. 15-19 describe timing related semantics].
Taniguchi and Simon are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of capturing information from sticky notes. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Taniguchi and recognition of adherend information, as taught by Simon, in order to improve user experience, for example, to reduce the manual burden involved in recognizing and transforming a manually-sketched model on an adherend (whiteboard platform) to a digitized model provide, see, e.g., col. 3, ll. 20-24, 60-67.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed August 10, 2026 have been considered.
The objection to the drawings is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s remarks.
The objection to the specification for informalities is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the specification and remarks.
The objection to claims 18, 22, and 25 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims and remarks.
The interpretation of claims 1, 4-11, and 14-24 under section 112(f) is maintained. Applicant did not dispute this interpretation in their remarks.
The rejection of claims 25-29 under 112(b) is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments to the claims and remarks.
The rejection of claims 25-29 under 35 U.S.C. 101 is maintained for the reasons given above. Applicant’s remarks have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “The actual subject matter of claim 25 (as amended) includes a computer program stored on a non-transitory storage medium that, when executed, causes the computer to perform operations that include: ‘receiving, by a receiving unit, an input of the pieces of timing information indicated by the indicating regions; and displaying, by a display unit, the received pieces of timing information.’ The claimed subject matter therefore does not include the actions of the learner, or their understanding of the learning process. Rather, claim 25 is directed to a storage media that encodes a useful program that, when executed on a computer, provides a useful tool for learning.” Regardless of whether the claim recites a computer program or storage medium, the claim recites an abstract concept. The rejection asserts the claims recites a mental process can be performed in the mind of a human and/or with the aid of pencil and paper. The claims also recite a mental process (e.g., observations, evaluations, and judgments). But for the recitation of the recitation of computer readable medium storing a program implemented by a computer, nothing in the claimed method or operations precludes the recitations from practically being performed in the mind. For example, a user may look at and read information from a note indicated when to study/review material and may imagine that information in their mind (e.g., as is common with memorization). In addition, a user may look at and read information from a note and recognize (observe and evaluate) their state of progress. If a claim, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of recitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Applicant does not traverse this assertion in their comments. The comments appear to be directed solely to organizing human activity. Therefore, regardless of whether the claims recite organizing a human activity they recite an abstract concept of mental processes. In addition, Applicant asserts the claims recites “a useful program that, when executed on a computer, provides a useful tool for learning” and that the recited “functions are not abstract concepts, but concrete operations that, when carried out as claimed, provide a technical improvement to the review or learning process for a learner.” Therefore, the claims would also appear to recite organizing human activity.
Applicant continues “The computer program stored on the storage medium of claim 25, when executed, carries out the recited functions using an existing computer, such as reading timing information recorded on a sticky note, receiving that timing information at a receiving unit, and displaying the received pieces of timing information. These functions are not abstract concepts, but concrete operations that, when carried out as claimed, provide a technical improvement to the review or learning process for a learner. Claim 25 provides an improved tool for learning, and recites the components of that tool and how it functions, but the claim is not directed to the learning process itself.” However, an “improvement” to the review and learning process of a learning is not directed towards a technical improvement (e.g., a better function of a computer or program) but rather to an abstract improvement of learning. Moreover, Applicant has not explained what the improvement is or why it is technical.
Applicant asserts that in carrying out step one of the Alice/Mayo test (i.e. step 2A of the Subject Matter Eligibility Test) the subject matter of claim 25 was improperly characterized. “The storage medium of claim 25 falls within the ambit of patent-eligible subject matter because it provides a specific technical solution to an existing problem. While the claim should be considered in light of the specification, it is improper to replace the clear language of the claim with a statement of intended use extracted from the specification, when that intended use is not itself recited by the claim language.” Again, Applicant provides the assertion of “a specific technical solution to an existing problem” without explain what the problem is, why it is a technical problem, and in what way the claims provide a technical solution to the problem. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
The rejection of claims 18-24 under 35 U.S.C. 102 is maintained for the reasons given above. Applicant’s remarks have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “The disclosure of Abe fails to describe the labeling of the plurality of sections of sticky note with any specific information or label. More specifically, Abe fails to disclose or suggest that the plurality of sections of the sticky note may be labeled with timing information related to a review or learning process. Abe further fails to disclose or suggest that such timing information be displayed such that each indicating region includes a piece of timing information that shows a lapse time point later than the lapse time point shown in indicating regions of that sticky note that would be separated earlier, as recited by claim 18.” The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Abe shows all of the structural elements of Applicant’s claim including a sticky note with a plurality of separable sections (S1-S6) with indicia such as numbers (1-6) with numbers ascending or descending order depending on the reading or interpretation of the numbers by viewer as shown below. The numbers are capable of conveying timing information, e.g., days of week, days left until an event (e.g., 6 days when full, 5 days when 6 has been separated for a week’s worth of days).
As explained above, the limitations directed to the indicia itself, such as “a piece of timing information that shows a lapse time point from a start time point of learning” is capable of being met by the indicia disclosed. Moreover, this limitation of the indicia is directed to non-functional descriptive material that does not further limit the claimed structure because the limitation is directed towards printed indicia conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the supporting structure, which only provides support and display for the indicia printed thereon, See MPEP 2111.05. It is noted that no tearing or separation of the structure is claimed. Similarly, the limitation “timing information that shows a lapse time point later than a lapse time point shown by a piece of timing information indicated by the indicating region of the separable portion” is met by the indicia of Abe “1-6.” Moreover, this also is non-functional descriptive material that does not further limit the structure of the claim. The limitation “that is to be separated earlier than the each separable portion” is directed to an intended use of the sticky note, and therefore, also does not further limit the structure of the claim. If Applicant desires for these elements to have patentable weight then perhaps the claims are better suited to a method of use or process than a structural apparatus. As Abe discloses all of the claimed structural limitations of the claim, Abe anticipates all elements of the claim directed towards patentability.
The rejection of claims 25-29 under 35 U.S.C. 102 is withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendments and remarks. The rejection of claims 25-29 under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained for the reasons given above. Applicant’s remarks have been considered but are not persuasive.
With regard to the rejection of claims 25-27 and 29, under 35 U.S.C. 103, Taniguchi teaches sticky notes with timing information as explained above. Abe teaches sticky notes with separable regions with indicia including numbers. Applicant argues “Abe fails to disclose or suggest labeling the plurality of sections of the sticky note specifically with timing information related to a review or learning process, or even with sequential numbers.” Abe is not relied on for teaching timing information related to review of learning process as this is taught by Taniguchi. Abe teaches the structural limitations of the sticky note. Applicant’s assertion that Abe doesn’t teach sequential numbering is incorrect as shown by the figure reproduced above, i.e., the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 in each section (which are sequential).
With regard to claim 28, Simon is provided as receiving obtaining information from an adherend of the sticky note (not the sticky note itself) and displaying the adherend information in relation to the sticky note (the timing information of the note being provided by Taniguchi). Applicant argues Simon therefore teaches away from the use of information recorded on the sticky notes themselves; however, Simon is not relied on to teach use of the information on the sticky note. In addition, Simon teaches multi-level image processing is performed on the image, the different levels corresponding to recognitions of (a) structures in the image corresponding to objects in the hand-drawn model, (b) object types for the identified structures, (c) text associated with the identified structures, and (d) connections between at least some of the identified structures. Moreover, Simon teaches performing the underlying image transformations and character recognition used to detect enterprise modeling relevant objects and shapes (e.g., sticky notes, connection lines and text) col. 15, ll. 9-17. Therefore, Simon can provide the processing functions of claim 28 (obtaining information from an adherend and displaying the adherend information) for sticky notes as taught by Taniguchi in view of Abe.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW BODENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715
1 Non-functional descriptive material does not further limit the claimed structure because the limitation is directed towards printed indicia conveying a message or meaning to a human reader independent of the supporting structure, which only provides support and display for the indicia printed thereon, See MPEP 2111.05. The fact that the content of the printed matter placed on the substrate (i.e., timing information on a sticky note) it does not alter the functional relationship. Mere support by the substrate for the printed matter is not the kind of functional relationship necessary for patentability. Thus, there is no novel and unobvious functional relationship between the printed matter and the substrate which is required for patentability. In addition, it has been held that when the claimed printed matter is not functionally related to the substrate it will not distinguish the invention from the prior art in terms of patentability. In re Gulack, 217 USPZ 401, (CAFC 1983).
2 A recitation of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987)