CTNF 18/574,685 CTNF 87281 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Election/Restrictions 08-25 AIA Applicant's election with traverse of Group II (Claims 7-10) in the reply filed on 01/02/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that claims 1 and 7 have been amended to recite a common technical feature of “"a rotor of an axial flux motor, the rotor body comprising a rotor disc, a plurality of magnets, and a limiting ring sleeved on an outer periphery of the plurality of magnets" and "at least one film is kept on the plurality of magnets and the limiting ring” and Barton (US 2014/0368082) does not teach said common technical feature . This is not found persuasive because Patterson et al. (US 2014/0265700 A1) and Nakamasu et al. (US 2009/0273252 A1) both anticipated claims 7 and therefore, such newly amended common technical feature still known and does not make contribution over the prior arts (as noted below) . The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Therefore, claims 1-6 are withdrawn from further consideration and claims 7-20 remained pending. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following limitations must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. “a joint portion protruding from a surface of the at least one film, and the rotor disc is provided with another joint portion protruding from a surface of the rotor disc; and wherein one of the joint portion and the another joint portion is in a shape of grids, and the other of the joint portion and the another joint portion is in a shape of straight lines”, in claim 19, “the rotor disc comprises a plurality of layers of substrates, and the plurality of layers of substrates are laminated and hot-pressed to form the rotor disc”, in claim 20 06-22 Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-01 AIA The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-31-01 Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 19 recited: “the at least one film is provided with a joint portion protruding from a surface of the at least one film, and the rotor disc is provided with another joint portion protruding from a surface of the rotor disc; and wherein one of the joint portion and the another joint portion is in a shape of grids, and the other of the joint portion and the another joint portion is in a shape of straight lines”. However, the original disclosure (specification/drawing) does not describe or show in detail about how the joint portion being formed on film and/or surface of rotor disc. Therefore, the claim 19 contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art. 07-34-01 Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. 07-34-05 AIA Claim 17 recites the limitation " the middle " in line 3 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Patterson et al. (US 2014/0265700 A1) . RE claim 7, Patterson teaches a rotor 130 of an axial flux motor (Figs.1-5), comprising: a rotor body 134, wherein the rotor body 134 comprises a rotor disc 134 (Fig.3), a plurality of magnets 136 (142) and a limiting ring 148; the rotor disc 134 comprises a base plate (BP) (see annotated Fig.3) and a plurality of support plates 104, the plurality of support plates 104 are extended outward from a periphery of the base plate (BP), the plurality of magnets 136 are fixed to and extended outward from the base plate (BP), the plurality of magnets 136 and the plurality of support plates 104 are arranged in an alternating arrangement (Fig.3), and the limiting ring 148 is sleeved on an outer periphery of the plurality of magnets 136 to fix the plurality of magnets 136 between the base plate (BP) and the limiting ring 148; and at least one film 140, wherein the at least one film 140 is kept on the plurality of magnets 136 and the limiting ring 148 (Fig.4). [AltContent: textbox (Base plate (BP))] [AltContent: arrow] PNG media_image1.png 1228 732 media_image1.png Greyscale RE claim 8/7, Patterson teaches the at least one film 140 is kept on the plurality of magnets 136, the limiting ring 148, and the rotor disc 134 of the rotor body 134 (Fig.3) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 7-10 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Nakamasu et al. (US 2009/0273252 A1) . RE claim 7, Nakamasu teaches a rotor 1a (Fig.2) of an axial flux motor (¶ 1), comprising: a rotor body 3, wherein the rotor body 3 comprises a rotor disc 3 (Fig.2), a plurality of magnets 11 and a limiting ring (LR); the rotor disc 3 comprises a base plate (BP) (see annotated Fig.2) and a plurality of support plates (SP), the plurality of support plates (SP) are extended outward from a periphery of the base plate (BP), the plurality of magnets 11 are fixed to and extended outward from the base plate (BP), the plurality of magnets 11 and the plurality of support plates (SP) are arranged in an alternating arrangement (Fig.2), and the limiting ring (LR) is sleeved on an outer periphery of the plurality of magnets 11 to fix the plurality of magnets 11 between the base plate (BP) and the limiting ring (LR); and at least one film 21, 22, wherein the at least one film 21, 22 is kept on the plurality of magnets 11 and the limiting ring (LR) (Fig.6). [AltContent: textbox (Support plate (SP))] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (Limiting ring (LR))] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: arrow] [AltContent: textbox (Base plate (BP))] PNG media_image2.png 1014 742 media_image2.png Greyscale RE claim 8/7, Nakamasu teaches the at least one film 21, 22 is kept on the plurality of magnets 11, the limiting ring (LR), and the rotor disc 3 of the rotor body 3 (Fig.2). RE claim 9/7, Nakamasu teaches the number of the at least one film 21, 22 is at least two, and the at least two films are kept on both sides of the rotor body 3 in an axial direction (Fig.6). RE claim 10/9, Nakamasu teaches one side of the plurality of magnets 11 is coated by one of the at least two films 21, 22, and the other side of the plurality of magnets 11 is partially exposed out of another one of the at least two films 21, 22 (see Fig.10). RE claim 12/17, Nakamasu teaches the at least one film 21 has an inner edge 212 (Fig.9) and an outer edge 211 opposite to the inner edge 212, the inner edge 212 is arranged on the base plate 3 (Fig.9), and the outer edge 211 is arranged on the limiting ring (LR), to coat the plurality of magnets 11 with the at least one film 21 (Fig.9). RE claim 13/8, Nakamasu teaches the plurality of magnets 11 are partially exposed from the at least one film 21 (Fig.10). RE claim 14/7, Nakamasu teaches the at least one film 21 has an inner edge (radial edge) and an outer edge 211 opposite to the inner edge (radial edge), the inner edge is arranged on the plurality of support plates (SP) and the plurality of magnets 11, and the outer edge 211 is arranged on the limiting ring (LR) (Fig.9). RE claim 15/12, Nakamasu teaches the outer edge 211 of the at least one film 21 is located between inner 211a and outer end faces of the limiting ring (see Fig.11). RE claim 16/7, Nakamasu teaches the number of the at least one film 21 is plural (Figs.2, 8), and the plurality of films 21 are in one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of magnets 11; each of the plurality of films 21 matches a shape of an outer contour of the corresponding magnet 11, and connection positions between the multiple magnets 11 and the base plate (BP), between the multiple magnets 11 and the multiple support plates (SP), and between the multiple magnets 11 and the limiting ring are all coated by the plurality of films (Fig.17) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamasu et al. (US 2009/0273252 A1) . RE claim 11, Nakamasu teaches the at least one film 21 is fixed to the plurality of magnets 11 and the limiting ring (LR). Nakamasu does not teach the product-by-process of hot melting. However, while Nakamasu is silent to the process, the final product of the claim invention was anticipated by Nakamasu. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. It has been held that: "[E]ven though product-by- process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). RE claim 20/7, Nakamasu teaches the rotor disc 3 comprises a plurality of layers of substrates 3a, 3b (Fig.11), and the plurality of layers of substrates are laminated (Fig.3a, 3b) to form the rotor disc 3. Nakamasu does not teach the product-by-process of hot-pressed. However, while Nakamasu is silent to the process, the final product of the claim invention was anticipated by Nakamasu. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. It has been held that: "[E]ven though product-by- process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamasu et al. (US 2009/0273252 A1) in view of Pavlovich et al. (US 5892307) . RE claim 17/16, Nakamasu has been discussed above. Nakamasu does not teach each of the plurality of films is hollowed out in the middle, to expose a middle portion of the corresponding magnet for heat dissipation. Pavlovich teaches film 10 is hollowed out in the middle (Fig.1), to expose a middle portion of the corresponding magnet for heat dissipation (col.5: 35-40). All of the above factors combine to produce a more reliable motor of simpler design (col.10: 30-35). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamasu by having each of the plurality of films is hollowed out in the middle, to expose a middle portion of the corresponding magnet for heat dissipation, as taught by Pavlovich, for the same reasons as discussed above. Claim 18/7 is rejected for same reason as claims 17/16. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to THOMAS TRUONG whose telephone number is (571)270-5532. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9AM-6PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Seye Iwarere can be reached at (571) 270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /THOMAS TRUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/574,685 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/574,685 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/574,685 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/574,685 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/574,685 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/574,685 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/574,685 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/574,685 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/574,685 Page 10 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/574,685 Page 11 Art Unit: 2834