DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 16, this claim includes the limitation of “wherein the first set of time and frequency resources do not overlap with the first set of time and frequency resources” in lines 18-19. It is unclear how the first set of time and frequency resources do not overlap with itself. It appears that claim 16 should be amended to recite that the first set of time and frequency resources do not overlap with the second set of time and frequency resources.
Regarding claim 29, this claim includes the limitation of “wherein the first set of time and frequency resources do not overlap with the first set of time and frequency resources” in lines 14-15. It is unclear how the first set of time and frequency resources do not overlap with itself. It appears that claim 29 should be amended to recite that the first set of time and frequency resources do not overlap with the second set of time and frequency resources.
Claims 17-26 and 30 are rejected as indefinite due to being dependent upon rejected parent claims 16 and 29, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 13, 16, 20-21, 23, 25, 27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al. (US 2022/0400479 A1)(hereinafter “Cao ‘479”) in view of Cai et al. (US 2023/0371005 A1)(hereinafter “Cai”).
Regarding claim 1, Cao ‘479 discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 7, [¶0185]: UE 1554a), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 7, [¶0188]: processor 1576a);
memory coupled with the processor (Fig. 7, [¶0188]: memory 1578a); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to ([¶0188]: the communication module 1580a is implemented by the processor 1576a when the processor 1576a accesses and executes a series of instructions stored in the memory 1578a, the instructions defining the actions of the communication module 1580a.) :
identify a set of time and frequency resources reserved by one or more second UEs for one of sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to one or more third UEs, or sidelink transmissions by the first UE to one or more third UEs ([¶0171]: the UE could belong to a UE group and the transmission pattern pool could include a transmission pattern pool configured for the UE group. In these embodiments, the UE could identify a transmission pattern from among the transmission patterns of the transmission pattern pool for the UE group. [0022] Optionally, the at least one time-frequency resource is a pattern, and the reservation signal further indicates a periodicity of the pattern.);
select a first indicator and a second indicator for the reservation based at least in part on the reservation being for the one of the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs,…([¶0172]: identifying the transmission pattern at 1304 could involve the UE selecting the transmission pattern. Fig. 8, step 1602, the UE selects a sidelink (SL) transmission resource for use in making SL transmission to a target UE.); and
transmit a message that includes the first indicator and the second indicator, and includes an indication that the message is associated with the reservation for the one of the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to one or more third UEs ([¶0103]: there is provided a method comprising: transmitting, by a first user equipment (UE) to a second UE, a first reservation signal to indicate at least one time-frequency resource for transmitting sidelink data; transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, at least one sidelink data transmission using the at least one time-frequency resource indicated by the first reservation signal; wherein the first reservation signal is transmitted before the at least one sidelink data transmission signal so that a third UE may detect the first reservation signal and use the first reservation signal to avoid using the at least one time-frequency resource indicated in the first reservation signal. [¶0016]: optionally, the reservation signal is an SCI (sidelink control information).).
Cao ‘479 does not specifically disclose that the indicators of the reservation signal are a first indicator indicating a time resource and a second indicator indicating a frequency resource associated with the identified set of time and frequency resources for the reservation. However, Cai discloses the first indicator indicating a time resource and the second indicator indicating a frequency resource associated with the identified set of time and frequency resources for the reservation ([¶0339]: the terminal may determine, based on a time domain resource allocation field and a frequency domain resource allocation field that are included in SCI and a resource transmitted on a PSCCH, time domain and frequency domain resources for PSSCH transmission. The time domain resource allocation field indicates N resources and a slot offset of a resource in the N resources other than the first resource. N may be 1, 2, or 3. A slot in which the first resource is located is a slot in which the SCI is located. The slot offset of the resource other than the first resource is a slot offset relative to the first resource. The frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a quantity of consecutive sub-channels of each of the N resources, and a start sub-channel index of the resource other than the first resource. The N resources are used for N data transmissions. Accordingly, Cai discloses including of a time domain resource allocation field as “a first indicator indicating a time resource” and a frequency domain resource allocation field as “a second indicator indicating a frequency resource” within a SCI for reservation of a sidelink resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation signal including indicators of time-frequency resources, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include the time domain resource allocation field as “a first indicator indicating a time resource” and the frequency domain resource allocation field as “a second indicator indicating a frequency resource”, as taught by Cai. Doing so allows for more efficient time-frequency resource reservation by providing for independent indication of the time resource and the frequency resource within the reservation message.
Regarding claim 6, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 also discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: generate the indication that the message is associated with the reservation for the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, the indication comprising a source identifier for the first UE and a destination identifier for the one or more second UEs ([¶0164]: SCI is a control channel that is associated with a specific SL data transmission, it usually contains information regarding the data transmission such as scheduling information, transmission parameters or source/destination ID.).
Regarding claim 13, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 also discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: generate the indication that the message is associated with the reservation for the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs, the indication comprising an identifier for the first UE ([¶0164]: SCI is a control channel that is associated with a specific SL data transmission, it usually contains information regarding the data transmission such as scheduling information, transmission parameters or source/destination ID.).
Regarding claim 16, Cao ‘479 discloses an apparatus for wireless communications at a second user equipment (UE) (Fig. 7, [¶0185]: UE 1554b), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 7, [¶0191]: processor 1576b);
memory coupled with the processor (Fig. 7, [¶0191]: memory 1578b); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to ([¶0191]: The UE 1554b includes the same components described above with respect to the UE 1554a. That is, UE 1554b includes communication subsystem 1570b, antennas 1572b and 1574b, processor 1576b, memory 1578b, and communication module 1580b.):
receive, from a first UE, a message for a reservation…, and that includes an indication that the message is associated with a reservation for one of sidelink transmissions to the first UE or to one or more third UEs, or sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs ([¶0103]: there is provided a method comprising: transmitting, by a first user equipment (UE) to a second UE, a first reservation signal to indicate at least one time-frequency resource for transmitting sidelink data; transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, at least one sidelink data transmission using the at least one time-frequency resource indicated by the first reservation signal; wherein the first reservation signal is transmitted before the at least one sidelink data transmission signal so that a third UE may detect the first reservation signal and use the first reservation signal to avoid using the at least one time-frequency resource indicated in the first reservation signal. [¶0016]: optionally, the reservation signal is an SCI (sidelink control information);
determine a first set of time and frequency resources for the reservation based at least in part on the first indicator, the second indicator, and the reservation being for one of the sidelink transmissions to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs ([¶0171]: the UE could belong to a UE group and the transmission pattern pool could include a transmission pattern pool configured for the UE group. In these embodiments, the UE could identify a transmission pattern from among the transmission patterns of the transmission pattern pool for the UE group. [0022] Optionally, the at least one time-frequency resource is a pattern, and the reservation signal further indicates a periodicity of the pattern.;
select, based at least in part on the determined first set of time and frequency resources for the reservation, a second set of time and frequency resources for one or more data messages to be transmitted, wherein the first set of time and frequency resources do not overlap with the first set of time and frequency resources ([¶0023]: according to another aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided method comprising: receiving, by a first user equipment (UE) from a second UE, a first reservation signal to indicate at least one time-frequency resource for at least one sidelink data transmission from the second UE to a third UE, the first reservation signal for the first UE to avoid using the at least one time-frequency resource; and transmitting, by the first UE, a second reservation signal indicating at least one time-frequency resource for at least one sidelink transmission from the first UE to another UE.); and
transmit the one or more data messages using at least a portion of the selected second set of time and frequency resources ([¶0023]: transmitting, by the first UE, a second reservation signal indicating at least one time-frequency resource for at least one sidelink transmission from the first UE to another UE.).
Cao ‘479 does not specifically disclose that the indicators of the reservation signal are a first indicator indicating a time resource and a second indicator indicating a frequency resource associated with the identified set of time and frequency resources for the reservation. However, Cai discloses receiving a reservation message that includes a first indicator of a time resource and a second indicator of a frequency resource ([¶0339]: the terminal may determine, based on a time domain resource allocation field and a frequency domain resource allocation field that are included in SCI and a resource transmitted on a PSCCH, time domain and frequency domain resources for PSSCH transmission. The time domain resource allocation field indicates N resources and a slot offset of a resource in the N resources other than the first resource. N may be 1, 2, or 3. A slot in which the first resource is located is a slot in which the SCI is located. The slot offset of the resource other than the first resource is a slot offset relative to the first resource. The frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a quantity of consecutive sub-channels of each of the N resources, and a start sub-channel index of the resource other than the first resource. The N resources are used for N data transmissions. Accordingly, Cai discloses including of a time domain resource allocation field as “a first indicator indicating a time resource” and a frequency domain resource allocation field as “a second indicator indicating a frequency resource” within a SCI for reservation of a sidelink resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation signal including indicators of time-frequency resources, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include the time domain resource allocation field as “a first indicator indicating a time resource” and the frequency domain resource allocation field as “a second indicator indicating a frequency resource”, as taught by Cai. Doing so allows for more efficient time-frequency resource reservation by providing for independent indication of the time resource and the frequency resource within the reservation message.
Regarding claim 20, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 does not disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: add the first indicator of the time resource to a third indicator of a second time resource to determine the second time resource of the second set of time and frequency resources based at least in part on the reservation being for one of the sidelink transmissions to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs. However, Cai discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: add the first indicator of the time resource to a third indicator of a second time resource to determine the second time resource of the second set of time and frequency resources based at least in part on the reservation being for one of the sidelink transmissions to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs ([¶0339]: the terminal may determine, based on a time domain resource allocation field and a frequency domain resource allocation field that are included in SCI and a resource transmitted on a PSCCH, time domain and frequency domain resources for PSSCH transmission. The time domain resource allocation field indicates N resources and a slot offset of a resource in the N resources other than the first resource. N may be 1, 2, or 3. A slot in which the first resource is located is a slot in which the SCI is located. The slot offset of the resource other than the first resource is a slot offset relative to the first resource. The frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a quantity of consecutive sub-channels of each of the N resources, and a start sub-channel index of the resource other than the first resource. The N resources are used for N data transmissions. Accordingly, Cai discloses adding a third indicator in the form of an offset value to a first indicator of a first slot to produce a time resource of other resources.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation signal including indicators of time-frequency resources, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include adding an included offset value, as taught by Cai. Doing so allows for more efficient time-frequency resource reservation by providing for signaling offset values rather than full values.
Regarding claim 21, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 also discloses wherein the instructions to receive the message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the indication that the message is associated with the reservation for the sidelink transmissions to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, the indication comprising a source identifier for the first UE and a destination identifier for the second UE ([¶0164]: SCI is a control channel that is associated with a specific SL data transmission, it usually contains information regarding the data transmission such as scheduling information, transmission parameters or source/destination ID.).
Regarding claim 23, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 21 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 does not disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select a device identifier for the second UE; and transmit a scheduling request to the first UE, the scheduling request comprising an indication of the device identifier for the second UE, wherein the device identifier for the second UE is received in the message for the reservation. However, Cai discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: select a device identifier for the second UE; and transmit a scheduling request to the first UE, the scheduling request comprising an indication of the device identifier for the second UE, wherein the device identifier for the second UE is received in the message for the reservation ([¶0150]: the terminal 100 performs data transmission with the network device in a radio resource control (radio resource control, RRC) connected mode. In this case, the network device communicating with the terminal 100 may schedule, for the terminal 100, a sidelink resource used to transmit sidelink service data. For example, the terminal 100 sends a scheduling request (scheduling request, SR) and a sidelink buffer status reporting (buffer status reporting, BSR) to the network device. The sidelink BSR is used to determine a sidelink communication data volume of the terminal 100. The network device may determine, based on the sidelink BSR, the sidelink communication data volume of the terminal 100, and schedule, for the terminal 100, the sidelink resource required for transmitting the sidelink service data.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the resource reservation procedure, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include sending of a scheduling request from a UE, as taught by Cao ‘174. Although, Cai specifically discloses sending a scheduling request to a network device, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the claimed invention that the scheduling request could be sent to another UE.
Doing so allows for the UE to provide an indication to a scheduling entity of the need for resource allocation to the UE.
Regarding claim 25, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 also discloses wherein the instructions to receive the message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the indication that the message is associated with the reservation for the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs, the indication comprising an identifier for the first UE ([¶0164]: SCI is a control channel that is associated with a specific SL data transmission, it usually contains information regarding the data transmission such as scheduling information, transmission parameters or source/destination ID.).
Regarding claim 27, Cao ‘479 discloses a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) (Fig. 7, [¶0185]: UE 1554a), comprising:
identifying a set of time and frequency resources reserved by one or more second UEs for one of sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to one or more third UEs, or sidelink transmissions by the first UE to one or more third UEs ([¶0171]: the UE could belong to a UE group and the transmission pattern pool could include a transmission pattern pool configured for the UE group. In these embodiments, the UE could identify a transmission pattern from among the transmission patterns of the transmission pattern pool for the UE group. [0022] Optionally, the at least one time-frequency resource is a pattern, and the reservation signal further indicates a periodicity of the pattern.);
selecting a first indicator and a second indicator for the reservation based at least in part on the reservation being for the one of the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs, … ([¶0172]: identifying the transmission pattern at 1304 could involve the UE selecting the transmission pattern. Fig. 8, step 1602, the UE selects a sidelink (SL) transmission resource for use in making SL transmission to a target UE.); and
transmitting a message that includes the first indicator and the second indicator, and includes an indication that the message is associated with the reservation for the one of the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to one or more third UEs ([¶0103]: there is provided a method comprising: transmitting, by a first user equipment (UE) to a second UE, a first reservation signal to indicate at least one time-frequency resource for transmitting sidelink data; transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, at least one sidelink data transmission using the at least one time-frequency resource indicated by the first reservation signal; wherein the first reservation signal is transmitted before the at least one sidelink data transmission signal so that a third UE may detect the first reservation signal and use the first reservation signal to avoid using the at least one time-frequency resource indicated in the first reservation signal. [¶0016]: optionally, the reservation signal is an SCI (sidelink control information).
Cao ‘479 does not specifically disclose that the indicators of the reservation signal are a first indicator indicating a time resource and a second indicator indicating a frequency resource associated with the identified set of time and frequency resources for the reservation. However, Cai discloses the first indicator indicating a time resource and the second indicator indicating a frequency resource associated with the identified set of time and frequency resources for the reservation ([¶0339]: the terminal may determine, based on a time domain resource allocation field and a frequency domain resource allocation field that are included in SCI and a resource transmitted on a PSCCH, time domain and frequency domain resources for PSSCH transmission. The time domain resource allocation field indicates N resources and a slot offset of a resource in the N resources other than the first resource. N may be 1, 2, or 3. A slot in which the first resource is located is a slot in which the SCI is located. The slot offset of the resource other than the first resource is a slot offset relative to the first resource. The frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a quantity of consecutive sub-channels of each of the N resources, and a start sub-channel index of the resource other than the first resource. The N resources are used for N data transmissions. Accordingly, Cai discloses including of a time domain resource allocation field as “a first indicator indicating a time resource” and a frequency domain resource allocation field as “a second indicator indicating a frequency resource” within a SCI for reservation of a sidelink resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation signal including indicators of time-frequency resources, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include the time domain resource allocation field as “a first indicator indicating a time resource” and the frequency domain resource allocation field as “a second indicator indicating a frequency resource”, as taught by Cai. Doing so allows for more efficient time-frequency resource reservation by providing for independent indication of the time resource and the frequency resource within the reservation message.
Regarding claim 29, Cao ‘479 discloses a method for wireless communications at a second user equipment (UE) (Fig. 7, [¶0185]: UE 1554b), comprising:
receiving, from a first UE, a message for a reservation…, and that includes an indication that the message is associated with a reservation for one of sidelink transmissions to the first UE or one or more third UEs, or sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs ([¶0103]: there is provided a method comprising: transmitting, by a first user equipment (UE) to a second UE, a first reservation signal to indicate at least one time-frequency resource for transmitting sidelink data; transmitting, by the first UE to the second UE, at least one sidelink data transmission using the at least one time-frequency resource indicated by the first reservation signal; wherein the first reservation signal is transmitted before the at least one sidelink data transmission signal so that a third UE may detect the first reservation signal and use the first reservation signal to avoid using the at least one time-frequency resource indicated in the first reservation signal. [¶0016]: optionally, the reservation signal is an SCI (sidelink control information);
determining a first set of time and frequency resources for the reservation based at least in part on the first indicator, the second indicator, and the reservation being for one of the sidelink transmissions to the first UE or the one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs ([¶0171]: the UE could belong to a UE group and the transmission pattern pool could include a transmission pattern pool configured for the UE group. In these embodiments, the UE could identify a transmission pattern from among the transmission patterns of the transmission pattern pool for the UE group. [0022] Optionally, the at least one time-frequency resource is a pattern, and the reservation signal further indicates a periodicity of the pattern.;
selecting, based at least in part on the determined first set of time and frequency resources for the reservation, a second set of time and frequency resources for one or more data messages to be transmitted to the second UE, wherein the first set of time and frequency resources do not overlap with the first set of time and frequency resources ([¶0023]: according to another aspect of the present disclosure, there is provided method comprising: receiving, by a first user equipment (UE) from a second UE, a first reservation signal to indicate at least one time-frequency resource for at least one sidelink data transmission from the second UE to a third UE, the first reservation signal for the first UE to avoid using the at least one time-frequency resource; and transmitting, by the first UE, a second reservation signal indicating at least one time-frequency resource for at least one sidelink transmission from the first UE to another UE.); and
transmitting the one or more data messages to the first UE using at least a portion of the selected second set of time and frequency resources ([¶0023]: transmitting, by the first UE, a second reservation signal indicating at least one time-frequency resource for at least one sidelink transmission from the first UE to another UE.).
Cao ‘479 does not specifically disclose that the indicators of the reservation signal are a first indicator indicating a time resource and a second indicator indicating a frequency resource associated with the identified set of time and frequency resources for the reservation. However, Cai discloses receiving a reservation message that includes a first indicator of a time resource and a second indicator of a frequency resource ([¶0339]: the terminal may determine, based on a time domain resource allocation field and a frequency domain resource allocation field that are included in SCI and a resource transmitted on a PSCCH, time domain and frequency domain resources for PSSCH transmission. The time domain resource allocation field indicates N resources and a slot offset of a resource in the N resources other than the first resource. N may be 1, 2, or 3. A slot in which the first resource is located is a slot in which the SCI is located. The slot offset of the resource other than the first resource is a slot offset relative to the first resource. The frequency domain resource allocation field indicates a quantity of consecutive sub-channels of each of the N resources, and a start sub-channel index of the resource other than the first resource. The N resources are used for N data transmissions. Accordingly, Cai discloses including of a time domain resource allocation field as “a first indicator indicating a time resource” and a frequency domain resource allocation field as “a second indicator indicating a frequency resource” within a SCI for reservation of a sidelink resource.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation signal including indicators of time-frequency resources, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include the time domain resource allocation field as “a first indicator indicating a time resource” and the frequency domain resource allocation field as “a second indicator indicating a frequency resource”, as taught by Cai. Doing so allows for more efficient time-frequency resource reservation by providing for independent indication of the time resource and the frequency resource within the reservation message.
Claims 2-3, 17, 28, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao ‘479 in view of Cai and further in view of Cao et al. (US 2021/0282174 A1)(hereinafter “Cao ‘174”).
Regarding claim 2, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose wherein the instructions to select the first indicator are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify an offset value for the time resource based at least in part on the reservation being for the one of the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs; and select the first indicator for the reservation based at least in part on the offset value for the time resource. However, Cao ‘174 discloses wherein the instructions to select the first indicator are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: identify an offset value for the time resource based at least in part on the reservation being for the one of the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs; and select the first indicator for the reservation based at least in part on the offset value for the time resource ([¶0144]: the transmission patterns 300, 302 of FIG. 3A also include an offset, which indicates the starting location of the transmission patterns, and could be a slot index or identifier or an offset from a particular slot or the start of a frame for example. The transmission pattern 302 also includes a periodicity, which defines a time gap between starting locations of two adjacent transmission patterns where the transmission patterns may periodically occur over time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation signal including indicators of time resources, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include an offset value to indicate a starting time, as taught by Cao ‘174. Doing so allows for more efficient time resource reservation by providing for a reduced size in indicating the starting time of the time resource.
Regarding claim 3, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai and further in view of Cao ‘174 discloses all features of claim 2 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai fails to disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a base station, the one or more second UEs, or the one or more third UEs, an indication of the offset value for the time resource. However, Cai also discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a base station, the one or more second UEs, or the one or more third UEs, an indication of the offset value for the time resource ([¶0190]: transmission 604 from the BS or network 600 to UE1, whether in response to a request at 602 or otherwise, could include any of the examples of resource configuration signaling that have been described herein. The RRC signaling at 604 could include transmission pattern parameters such as a transmission pattern bitmap and offset or starting time location, and optionally periodicity of the transmission pattern. The RRC signaling at 604 may also include resource configuration in frequency domain and other domains in some embodiments. The transmission pattern may also define the time location of performing initial transmission and repetitions of a TB. Optionally, a transmission pattern may also be included in the configuration of SL control resources. This control transmission pattern may be the same as or different from the transmission pattern configured for SL data communication resources.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation signal including indicators of time resources, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include an offset value to indicate a starting time received from a base station, as taught by Cao ‘174. Doing so allows for more efficient time resource reservation by providing for a reduced size in indicating the starting time of the time resource.
Regarding claim 17, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose wherein the instructions to determine the first set of time and frequency resources are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: apply an offset value to the first indicator of the time resource to determine a time interval between the message and the time resource of the first set of time and frequency resources. However, Cai also discloses wherein the instructions to determine the first set of time and frequency resources are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: apply an offset value to the first indicator of the time resource to determine a time interval between the message and the time resource of the first set of time and frequency resources ([¶0144] the transmission patterns 300, 302 of FIG. 3A also include an offset, which indicates the starting location of the transmission patterns, and could be a slot index or identifier or an offset from a particular slot or the start of a frame for example. The transmission pattern 302 also includes a periodicity, which defines a time gap between starting locations of two adjacent transmission patterns where the transmission patterns may periodically occur over time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation signal including indicators of time resources, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include an offset value to be applied to indicate a starting time, as taught by Cao ‘174. Doing so allows for more efficient time resource reservation by providing for a reduced size in indicating the starting time of the time resource.
Regarding claim 28, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 27 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose identifying an offset value for the time resource based at least in part on the reservation being for the one of the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs; and selecting the first indicator for the reservation based at least in part on the offset value for the time resource. However, Cao ‘174 discloses wherein selecting the first indicator comprises: identifying an offset value for the time resource based at least in part on the reservation being for the one of the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, or the sidelink transmissions by the first UE to the one or more third UEs; and selecting the first indicator for the reservation based at least in part on the offset value for the time resource ([¶0144]: the transmission patterns 300, 302 of FIG. 3A also include an offset, which indicates the starting location of the transmission patterns, and could be a slot index or identifier or an offset from a particular slot or the start of a frame for example. The transmission pattern 302 also includes a periodicity, which defines a time gap between starting locations of two adjacent transmission patterns where the transmission patterns may periodically occur over time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation signal including indicators of time resources, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include an offset value to indicate a starting time, as taught by Cao ‘174. Doing so allows for more efficient time resource reservation by providing for a reduced size in indicating the starting time of the time resource.
Regarding claim 30, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 29 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose wherein determining the first set of time and frequency resources comprising: applying an offset value to the first indicator of the time resource to determine a time interval between the message and the time resource of the first set of time and frequency resources. However, Cai also discloses wherein determining the first set of time and frequency resources comprises: applying an offset value to the first indicator of the time resource to determine a time interval between the message and the time resource of the first set of time and frequency resources ([¶0144] the transmission patterns 300, 302 of FIG. 3A also include an offset, which indicates the starting location of the transmission patterns, and could be a slot index or identifier or an offset from a particular slot or the start of a frame for example. The transmission pattern 302 also includes a periodicity, which defines a time gap between starting locations of two adjacent transmission patterns where the transmission patterns may periodically occur over time.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation signal including indicators of time resources, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include an offset value to be applied to indicate a starting time, as taught by Cao ‘174. Doing so allows for more efficient time resource reservation by providing for a reduced size in indicating the starting time of the time resource.
Claims 7-8, 14, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao ‘479 in view of Cai and further in view Lee et al. (US 2022/0330281 A1)(hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 7, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 6 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: perform a negotiation procedure with the one or more second UEs to determine the source identifier and the destination identifier. However, Lee discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: perform a negotiation procedure with the one or more second UEs to determine the source identifier and the destination identifier ([¶0158]: in the case of the connection oriented groupcast, the transmitting UE and one or more receiving UEs may exchange their configuration with each other. For example, the configuration may include AS layer configuration(s) or UE capability. In this case, the transmitting UE and one or more receiving UEs may exchange their IDs with each other. Herein, the ID may be at least one of a layer 2 (L2) source ID or an L2 destination ID. Under this assumption, the receiving UE may receive groupcast control information, a data message, etc. from the transmitting UE, and the receiving UE may determine whether or not to perform HARQ feedback by determining whether the previously exchanged ID matches a layer 1 (L1) source ID and/or an L1 destination ID obtained through a PSCCH (e.g., SCI on the PSCCH) transmitted by the transmitting UE. For example, the L1 source ID and/or the L1 destination ID may be referred to as a partial source ID and/or a partial destination ID.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of source identifier for the first UE and the destination identifier for the one or more second UEs, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include a negotiation procedure between the UEs to determine the source identifier and the destination identifier, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for more efficient resource reservation by allowing direct communication between UEs without requiring interaction with a base station.
Regarding claim 8, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 6 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not specifically disclose wherein the source identifier comprises a device identifier for the first UE and the destination identifier comprises a device identifier for the one or more second UEs. However, Lee discloses wherein the source identifier comprises a device identifier for the first UE and the destination identifier comprises a device identifier for the one or more second UEs ([¶0158]: the ID may be at least one of a layer 2 (L2) source ID or an L2 destination ID. Examiner submits that a layer 2 ID is a device identifier.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the source identifier for the first UE and the destination identifier for the one or more second UEs, as taught by Cao ‘479, to comprise a device identifier, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for unique identification of the UEs within the network.
Regarding claim 14, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 13 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not specifically disclose wherein the identifier comprises a device identifier for the first UE. However, However, Lee discloses wherein the identifier comprises a device identifier for the first UE ([¶0158]: the ID may be at least one of a layer 2 (L2) source ID or an L2 destination ID. Examiner submits that a layer 2 ID is a device identifier.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the identifier for the first UE, as taught by Cao ‘479, to comprise a device identifier, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for unique identification of the first UE.
Regarding claim 22, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 21 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: perform a negotiation procedure with the first UE to determine the source identifier and the destination identifier, wherein the source identifier comprises a device identifier for the first UE and the destination identifier comprises a device identifier for the second UE. However, Lee discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: perform a negotiation procedure with the first UE to determine the source identifier and the destination identifier ([¶0158]: in the case of the connection oriented groupcast, the transmitting UE and one or more receiving UEs may exchange their configuration with each other. For example, the configuration may include AS layer configuration(s) or UE capability. In this case, the transmitting UE and one or more receiving UEs may exchange their IDs with each other. Herein, the ID may be at least one of a layer 2 (L2) source ID or an L2 destination ID. Under this assumption, the receiving UE may receive groupcast control information, a data message, etc. from the transmitting UE, and the receiving UE may determine whether or not to perform HARQ feedback by determining whether the previously exchanged ID matches a layer 1 (L1) source ID and/or an L1 destination ID obtained through a PSCCH (e.g., SCI on the PSCCH) transmitted by the transmitting UE. For example, the L1 source ID and/or the L1 destination ID may be referred to as a partial source ID and/or a partial destination ID.), wherein the source identifier comprises a device identifier for the first UE and the destination identifier comprises a device identifier for the second UE ([¶0158]: the ID may be at least one of a layer 2 (L2) source ID or an L2 destination ID. Examiner submits that a layer 2 ID is a device identifier.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of source identifier for the first UE and the destination identifier for the one or more second UEs, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include a negotiation procedure between the UEs to determine the source identifier and the destination identifier as device identifiers, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for more efficient resource reservation by allowing direct communication between UEs without requiring interaction with a base station.
Claims 9-10, 15, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao ‘479 in view of Cai and further in view Li et al. (US 12047961 B1)(hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding claim 9, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: generate the indication that the message is associated with the reservation for the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, the indication comprising a first link identifier for a sidelink between the first UE and the one or more second UEs. However, Li discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: generate the indication that the message is associated with the reservation for the sidelink transmissions by the one or more second UEs to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, the indication comprising a first link identifier for a sidelink between the first UE and the one or more second UEs (Column 7, lines 42-55: when the destination information includes a link identifier or a connection identifier, the destination information may include a link identifier or a connection identifier of a sidelink of a transmitting terminal equipment for a destination terminal equipment and/or for a destination terminal equipment group and/or for broadcast. In order that the transmitting terminal equipment may determine sidelink transmission of a destination terminal equipment or destination terminal equipments to which a link identifier or a connection identifier indicated in the control information corresponds, the transmitting terminal equipment may know in advance a correspondence between the link identifier or connection identifier and the sidelink transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation message, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include a link identifier for sidelink communication between the UEs, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for identification of the communication link between UEs.
Regarding claim 10, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 9 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose wherein the first link identifier comprises a device identifier for the one or more second UEs. However, Li discloses wherein the first link identifier comprises a device identifier for the one or more second UEs (Column 7, lines 42-55: when the destination information includes a link identifier or a connection identifier, the destination information may include a link identifier or a connection identifier of a sidelink of a transmitting terminal equipment for a destination terminal equipment and/or for a destination terminal equipment group and/or for broadcast. In order that the transmitting terminal equipment may determine sidelink transmission of a destination terminal equipment or destination terminal equipments to which a link identifier or a connection identifier indicated in the control information corresponds, the transmitting terminal equipment may know in advance a correspondence between the link identifier or connection identifier and the sidelink transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation message, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include a link identifier as a device identifier for sidelink communication between the UEs, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for identification of the communication link between UEs.
Regarding claim 15, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 13 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network, an indication of the identifier for the first UE. However, Li discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network, an indication of the identifier for the first UE (Column 7, lines 17-23: when the destination information includes the destination terminal equipment identifier, the destination information may include a destination ID of a destination terminal equipment provided by a V2X application layer, or a destination address or identifier of a destination terminal equipment configured by a core network, or a destination address or identifier of a destination terminal equipment configured by a base station, such as a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); however, it is not limited thereto.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of source identifier for the first UE, as taught by Cao ‘479, to receive the identifier from a network, as taught by Li. Doing so allows for centralized organization of UE identifiers.
Regarding claim 24, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 16 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose wherein the instructions to receive the message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the indication that the message is associated with the reservation for the sidelink transmissions to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, the indication comprising a first link identifier for a sidelink between the first UE and the second UE. However, Li discloses wherein the instructions to receive the message are executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive the indication that the message is associated with the reservation for the sidelink transmissions to the first UE or to the one or more third UEs, the indication comprising a first link identifier for a sidelink between the first UE and the second UE(Column 7, lines 42-55: when the destination information includes a link identifier or a connection identifier, the destination information may include a link identifier or a connection identifier of a sidelink of a transmitting terminal equipment for a destination terminal equipment and/or for a destination terminal equipment group and/or for broadcast. In order that the transmitting terminal equipment may determine sidelink transmission of a destination terminal equipment or destination terminal equipments to which a link identifier or a connection identifier indicated in the control information corresponds, the transmitting terminal equipment may know in advance a correspondence between the link identifier or connection identifier and the sidelink transmission.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reservation message, as taught by Cao ‘479, to include a link identifier for sidelink communication between the UEs, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for identification of the communication link between UEs.
Regarding claim 26, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai discloses all features of claim 25 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai does not disclose wherein the identifier comprises a device identifier for the first UE, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network, an indication of the identifier for the first UE. However, Li discloses wherein the identifier comprises a device identifier for the first UE, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, from a network, an indication of the identifier for the first UE (Column 7, lines 17-23: when the destination information includes the destination terminal equipment identifier, the destination information may include a destination ID of a destination terminal equipment provided by a V2X application layer, or a destination address or identifier of a destination terminal equipment configured by a core network, or a destination address or identifier of a destination terminal equipment configured by a base station, such as a radio network temporary identifier (RNTI); however, it is not limited thereto.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the indication of source identifier for the first UE, as taught by Cao ‘479, to receive the identifier from a network, as taught by Li. Doing so allows for centralized organization of UE identifiers.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao ‘479 in view of Cai and further in view of Li and Lee.
Regarding claim 11, Cao ‘479 in view of Cai in further view of Li discloses all features of claim 9 as outlined above.
Cao ‘479 in view of Cai in further view of Li fails to disclose wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: perform a negotiation procedure with the one or more second UEs to determine the first link identifier for the sidelink. However, Lee discloses wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: perform a negotiation procedure with the one or more second UEs to determine the first link identifier for the sidelink ([¶0158]: in the case of the connection oriented groupcast, the transmitting UE and one or more receiving UEs may exchange their configuration with each other. For example, the configuration may include AS layer configuration(s) or UE capability. In this case, the transmitting UE and one or more receiving UEs may exchange their IDs with each other. Herein, the ID may be at least one of a layer 2 (L2) source ID or an L2 destination ID. Under this assumption, the receiving UE may receive groupcast control information, a data message, etc. from the transmitting UE, and the receiving UE may determine whether or not to perform HARQ feedback by determining whether the previously exchanged ID matches a layer 1 (L1) source ID and/or an L1 destination ID obtained through a PSCCH (e.g., SCI on the PSCCH) transmitted by the transmitting UE. For example, the L1 source ID and/or the L1 destination ID may be referred to as a partial source ID and/or a partial destination ID.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the determining of the link identifier, as taught by Li, to include a negotiation procedure between the UEs to determine the identifier, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for identification of the communication link between UEs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Applicant is advised that if Applicant resolves all outstanding rejections and objections, then claims 18-19 would be potentially allowable if intervening subject matter is incorporated.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pan et al. (US 2024/0015755 A1) – Cast Type and Coordination Based Inter-UJE Operation For NR Sidelink.
Park et al. (US 2023/0363048 A1) – DRX Operation Method and Device In Wireless Communication System.
Hwang et al. (US 2023/0180216 A1) – Method and Device For Performing SL Communication On Basis Of Assistance Information In NR V2X.
Sarkis et al. (US 2021/0099918 A1) – Flexible Resource Reservation Indication In Sidelink.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463