Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/06/2025, 03/04/2026 and 04/17/2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 and 12-13 in the reply filed on 04/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-11 and 14-24 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “wherein said characteristic peaks are selected from a group consisting of 6.4 …” A degree of variation is not defined by the claim.
Para. [0096] of the specification states:
It is clear that a “certain degree of variability” is present, but the specification offers both +/- 0.2 degrees and +/- 0.5 degrees of variability as interpretations. Accordingly, it is unclear what degree of variability, if any, is present in the peaks of claim 3 which is therefore indefinite. The broadest reasonable interpretation is +/- 0.5 degrees of variability and is applied herein for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1)/(a)(2)) as being anticipated by US4812561A to Hamashima et al. as evidenced by PubChem CID 5282242.
Hamashima et al. discloses a crystalline form of ceftibuten (see PubChem CID 5282242 structure and p. 9, 2.4.2, which shows that the compound referred to as 7432-S by Hamashima et al. at Col. 1, line 8 is equivalent to ceftibuten of the instant claims) with characteristic peaks at at least 10.15, 15.65 and 16.25 degrees 2-theta. See Table 2, Col. 2. At least these peaks lie within the ranges of peaks 10.2, 15.5 and 16.1 degrees 2-theta +/- 0.5 degree 2-theta recited in claims 2 and 3. Note that even if the narrower interpretation suggested by instant Para. [0096] of +/- 0.2 degrees 2-theta were applied, the peaks would still lie within the range of those claimed. With respect to claims 4-6, Col. 2, lines 43-48 describe the crystalline hydrate as containing 96 to 100% (especially 99.0 to 99.8%) of the cis-geometric isomer. The crystalline hydrate comprising a portion of the cis isomer necessarily includes other components and therefore reads on the pharmaceutical composition of claims 4-6. With respect to claim 7, the form is referred to as a hydrate at at least Col. 2, line 21. With respect to claim 12, Example 11 discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising the hydrate with crystalline cellulose and other excipients (Col. 8-9, lines 62-8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US4812561A to Hamashima et al. as evidenced by PubChem CID 5282242.
Hamashima et al. discloses a crystalline form of ceftibuten (see PubChem CID 5282242 structure and p. 9, 2.4.2, which shows that the compound referred to as 7432-S by Hamashima et al. at Col. 1, line 8 is equivalent to ceftibuten of the instant claims) with characteristic peaks at at least 10.15, 15.65 and 16.25 degrees 2-theta. See Table 2, Col. 2. At least these peaks lie within the range of peaks 10.2, 15.5 and 16.1 degrees 2-theta +/- 0.5 degree 2-theta recited in claims 2 and 3. Note that even if the narrower interpretation suggested by instant Para. [0096] of +/- 0.2 degrees 2-theta were applied, the peaks would still lie within those claimed. With respect to claims 4-6, Col. 2, lines 43-48 describe the crystalline hydrate as containing 96 to 100% (especially 99.0 to 99.8%) of the cis-geometric isomer. The crystalline hydrate comprising a portion of the cis isomer necessarily includes other components and therefore reads on the pharmaceutical composition of claims 4-6. With respect to claim 7, the form is referred to as a hydrate at at least Col. 2, line 21. With respect to claim 12, Example 11 discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising the hydrate with crystalline cellulose and other excipients (Col. 8-9, lines 62-8).
Hamashima et al. does not disclose the combination of the crystalline form with a beta-lactamase inhibitor as required by claim 13.
Stewart et al. teaches “Novel cephalosporin/β-lactamase inhibitor combinations have been developed and demonstrate good in vitro activity against ESBL-producing isolates. A pooled analysis of in vitro activity of existing oral cephalosporin/clavulanate combinations in ESBL-producing Enterobacteriaceae has shown MIC50s of 0.5–1, 0.125–1 and 0.25 mg/L for cefpodoxime, ceftibuten and cefixime, respectively. A novel cyclic boronic acid β-lactamase inhibitor, QPX7728, was able to produce MIC50 values of 0.5 and ≤0.06 mg/L when paired with cefpodoxime and ceftibuten, respectively. Other novel combinations, cefpodoxime/ETX0282 and ceftibuten/VNRX7145, have also demonstrated excellent activity against ESBL producers. Clinical trials are now awaited.” Because a combination of ceftibuten and QPX7728 has been shown to produce an MIC50 value of ≤0.06 mg/L and a combination of ceftibuten and VNRX7145 has demonstrated “excellent activity against ESBL producers”, it would have been obvious to a PHOSITA to combine the crystal form of ceftibuten taught by Hamashima et al. with one of the beta-lactamase inhibitors taught by Stewart et al. such as QPX7728 or VNRX7125. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success that the combination would show similar efficacy given that the active ingredients are the same and a specific polymorph such as that taught by Hamashima et al. would be expected to have the same or similar biological activity.
Conclusion
Claims 1-7 and 12-13 are rejected.
Claims 8-11 and 14-24 are withdrawn.
/JED A KUCHARCZK/ Examiner, Art Unit 1623
/VALERIE RODRIGUEZ-GARCIA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1621