DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/23 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 12/27/23. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, the preamble of Claims 1-7 recite "Battery comprising...". The omission of an article at the dynamic start of an independent claim's preamble is grammatically improper and introduces structural ambiguity into the claim scope.
Similarly, the preamble of Claim 8 recites "Aircraft provided...". The omission of an article at the dynamic start of an independent claim's preamble is grammatically improper and introduces structural ambiguity into the claim scope.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090208829 A1 (US'829) in view of US 20210005943 A1 (US'943) and US 20190334134 A1 (US'134).
As to Claim 1: US’829 discloses a battery pack system comprising a plurality of battery cells (accumulators) (US’829 [0023]–[0028]); discloses that an evaporation section of a heat pipe is arranged to thermally contact a conducting plate (strip) of the battery pack that is in thermal contact with a plurality of battery cells (US’829 [0033]–[0037]); teaches that a thermal interface material (thermal pad) is disposed between each heat pipe and the conducting plate to improve the contact surface and ensure thermal conduction (US’829 [0037]); and teaches one or more heat pipes each having an evaporation section and a condensation section containing a working fluid (heat transfer fluid) ensuring the transport of thermal energy, wherein the condensation section is coupled to an external cold plate (heat exchanger) cooled by liquid circulation allowing to cool or heat the fluid loop (US’829 [0034]–[0041]).
However, US’829 does not explicitly disclose that the accumulator is in contact at one of its ends via a vertical layer stack featuring a separate, distinct structural thermal interface plate positioned downstream of the thermal pad, nor does it explicitly disclose that one end of the accumulator is maintained by an electrically insulating mechanical maintaining plate to avoid lateral sliding of the accumulator.
US’943 discloses a multi-layer end-cooling stack configuration that explicitly incorporates separate metal cooling plates (thermal interface plates) running directly between a thermal interface material layer and a primary heatsink loop (US’943 [0039]–[0045], [0048]–[0052]). Within this vertical interface layout, US’943 teaches that a heat transfer member (thermal pad) is positioned directly between the cell’s electrical bus bar (strip) and the separate cooling plate (thermal interface plate) in order to optimize boundary contact surfaces and maximize thermal conduction pathways (US’943 [0041]–[0045], [0050]–[0052]). Furthermore, US’134 discloses a modular battery housing that incorporates a dedicated cell holder (mechanical maintaining plate) positioned directly on the cell end faces. This cell holder features individual structural receptacles that receive the battery cells in a tight form-fit to secure them and completely prevent mechanical shifting or lateral sliding during operation. US’134 explicitly teaches that this cell holder acting as the end maintaining assembly is manufactured out of an inherently electrically insulating plastics material (US’134 [0027], [0030]–[0032]).
US’829, US’943, and US’134 are analogous arts because each reference belongs to the same field of endeavor, namely the electrical and mechanical engineering design field of multi-cell battery packs and associated structural containment enclosures configured for supporting, protecting, and actively managing the operational deployment and temperature regulation of secondary electrochemical cells (US’829 [0002]–[0004], [0021]–[0028], [0033]–[0041]; US’943 [0002]–[0020]; US’134 [0003]–[0022]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the primary end-cooling battery configuration of US’829 by introducing the separate metal cooling plates (thermal interface plates) taught by US’943 between the thermal pad and the flat heat pipe body to act as a rigid structural buffer that shields the thin vacuum envelope of the heat pipe from direct mechanical stresses while expanding thermal spreading pathways across the terminal interface (US’829 [0034]–[0037]; US’943 [0041]–[0045], [0050]–[0052]). It would have been further obvious to incorporate the plastic, electrically insulating end-face cell holder (mechanical maintaining plate) taught by US’134 to capture the cell ends in a secure form-fit configuration. A POSITA would be motivated to make these structural additions to create a highly streamlined mechanical containment design that completely arrests lateral cell sliding under heavy operational vibrations, while inherently utilizing the electrical insulation of the plastic material to prevent hazardous short-circuiting between adjacent high-voltage terminals and neighboring metallic cooling elements (US’134 [0027], [0030]–[0032], [0037]).
As to Claim 2:US’829 discloses a battery according to claim 1, see the rejection of claim 1; and teaches that a plurality of battery cells are organized inside a housing framework (US’829 [0002]–[0008], [0060]–[0062]).
However, US’829 does not explicitly disclose the core limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, and further fails to disclose that a mechanical maintaining plate is disposed at each end of an accumulator.
US’134 discloses a modular battery module design where cell contact points are situated on opposite longitudinal sides or end faces of the respective battery module, and explicitly teaches providing a cell holder acting as an insulating mechanical maintaining plate at an end face of the cell assembly (US’134 [0015], [0021], [0027]). Furthermore, US’134 in view of US’943 discloses a balanced bilateral enclosure design wherein structural components—such as opposite end cases, cell holders, or bus bar housing frames—are symmetrically mirrored and disposed at each opposite end of an accumulator cell module to provide total mechanical containment and longitudinal stability (US’134 [0015], [0021], [0027], [0037]–[0038]; US’943 [0010]–[0015], [0038]–[0045], [0075]–[0084]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the primary battery configuration of US’829 as modified by the thermal stack and insulating end-plate features of US’943 and US’134 as applied to claim 1, and to further duplicate and dispose the insulating mechanical maintaining plate (cell holder) at each end of the accumulator cell. A POSITA would be motivated to provide this bilateral maintaining plate configuration based on the balanced double-sided housing layouts taught by US’134 and US’943 to secure comprehensive structural stabilization of individual cells against multi-directional operational shock and heavy vibrations, while predictably ensuring safe physical containment and robust electrical isolation of high-voltage terminal poles at both longitudinal extremities of the cell module (US’134 [0015], [0021], [0027], [0037]–[0038]; US’943 [0010]–[0015], [0038]–[0045], [0075]–[0084]).
As to Claim 3: US’829 discloses a battery according to claim 1, see the rejection of claim 1; and discloses that battery cells have a positive terminal and a negative terminal located at opposite ends (US’829 [0003], [0060]–[0062], [0078]). However, US’829 does not explicitly disclose the core limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, and further fails to disclose that an assembly of a heat pipe, a strip, a thermal pad, and a thermal interface plate is disposed at each end of an accumulator.
US’943 discloses a dual-sided symmetric cooling profile for a battery module where a bus bar assembly (comprising a connection bus bar and a heat transfer member) and a cooling plate are mounted to both side surfaces of the battery cells (US’943 [0010]–[0015], [0035]–[0045], [0050]–[0052]). Specifically, US’943 teaches providing duplicate sets of these thermal layers symmetrically at each longitudinal extremity of the battery cells to interface with a corresponding pair of upper and lower heatsinks to effectively manage cell temperatures uniformly (US’943 [0075]–[0084]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the primary battery configuration of US’829 as modified by the thermal stack and insulating end-plate features of US’943 and US’134 as applied to claim 1, and to further duplicate and dispose the cooling assembly—comprising the heat pipe, strip, thermal pad, and thermal interface plate—at each end of the accumulator cell. A POSITA would be motivated to deploy this bilateral symmetric cooling stack configuration based on the dual upper/lower heatsink design taught by US’943 to effectively prevent severe cooling temperature deviations inside individual cells, thereby significantly reducing thermal gradients across the length of the accumulators to maximize overall battery module energy capacity and delay cell aging (US’943 [0050]–[0054], [0075]–[0084]; US’134 [0027]–[0032], [0037]).
As to Claim 4: US’829 discloses a battery according to claim 3, see the rejection of the claim that this claim is depended on; and teaches that a plurality of battery cells are arranged inside a housing framework (US’829 [0058]–[0062]). However, US’829 does not explicitly disclose the core limitations of claim 1 and claim 3 as set forth in the rejections of claims 1 and 3, and further fails to disclose a maintaining rod, means for maintaining under tension, and two stacks of a strip, a thermal pad and a thermal interface plate, the first stack being in contact with one end of the accumulator and the second stack being in contact with the other end of the accumulator, the maintaining rod being disposed through the two stacks and being associated with the means for maintaining under tension allowing to maintain the accumulator under tension between the two stacks.
US’943 discloses a multi-layer clamping arrangement for a battery module featuring two stacks of bus bars and cooling plates at opposite ends of the battery cells (US’943 [0040]–[0045], [0050]–[0052], [0075]–[0084]). Specifically, US’943 teaches integrating a plurality of elongated module structural screws or tie bolts (maintaining rod) that extend completely through holes or ports in the module assembly profile and are fixed to a structural base to exert continuous clamping pressure (means for maintaining under tension) (US’829 [0064], [0067]). This tensioning layout passes directly through the opposite end stack layers, allowing the tie bolts to hold the battery cell module securely clamped and maintained under tight compressive tension between the two stacks (US’829 [0064], [0067]; US’943 [0075]–[0084]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the primary battery configuration of US’829 as modified by the thermal stack, insulating end-plate, and double-sided structural cooling features of US’943 and US’134 as applied to claims 1 and 3, and to further incorporate the module structural screws or tie bolts (maintaining rod) and structural compression base fastening assembly (means for maintaining under tension) taught by US’943 (US’829 [0064], [0067]; US’943 [0040]–[0045], [0050]–[0052], [0075]–[0084]; US’134 [0018]–[0022], [0027], [0037]). A POSITA would be motivated to pass these maintaining rods through the opposing end stacks to apply a continuous, uniform clamping tension across the multi-layer sandwich module, which predictably squashes the compressible thermal pads against the face of the electrical strips and interface plates to significantly minimize interfacial thermal contact resistance, prevent structural gapping from material thermal expansion or contraction, and enhance the overall torsional stiffness and mechanical load capacity of the entire battery pack (US’829 [0064], [0067]–[0070]; US’134 [0014], [0018]–[0019], [0027], [0037]).
As to Claim 7:US’829 discloses a battery according to claim 1, see the rejection of the claim that this claim is depended on; and discloses a cooling arrangement where flat heat pipes are coupled to an external cold plate cooled by active liquid circulation to transport heat away from the cells (US’829 [0068]–[0071]). However, US’829 does not explicitly disclose the core limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, and further fails to disclose that a thermal interface plate is provided with a cooling channel in fluid contact with a heat pipe.
US’943 discloses a thermal management design where a pair of separate cooling plates (thermal interface plates) are integrated into a fluid circuit. Specifically, US’943 teaches providing a perimeter tube that at least partially surrounds each cooling plate, wherein the perimeter tube contains an internal flow path (cooling channel) through which liquid coolant flows to place the channel in direct fluid and thermal contact with the cooling plate assembly and communicate with a primary heatsink fluid loop (US’943 [0057]–[0068]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the primary battery configuration of US’829 as modified by the thermal stack, insulating end-plate, and separate cooling plate features of US’943 and US’134 as applied to claim 1, and to further provide the cooling plate (thermal interface plate) with an internal flow path channel in fluid contact with the fluid circuit as taught by US’943. A POSITA would be motivated to integrate this direct fluid cooling channel into the interface plate profile based on the perimeter tube design of US’943 to carry liquid coolant directly along the heat-spreading plane of the module, thereby minimizing thermal contact resistance, accelerating heat dissipation away from localized hot spots near cell terminals, and maintaining a highly compact, space-efficient fluid layout (US’943 [0048]–[0054], [0057]–[0068]; US’134 [0028]–[0032]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090208829 A1 (US'829) in view of US 20210005943 A1 (US'943) and US 20190334134 A1 (US'134), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of EP 2993435 A1 (EP’435).
As to Claim 5:US’829 discloses a battery according to claim 1, see the rejection of the claim that this claim is depended on; and discloses a flat heat pipe configured adjacent to a conducting plate layout (US’829 [0068]–[0071]).
However, US’829 does not explicitly disclose the core limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, and further fails to disclose that a heat pipe and a thermal interface plate are comprised in the same plane.
EP’435 discloses a heat exchange plate comprising stamped first and second sheets defining internal fluid channels or conduit loop paths integrated flushly within the outer surface profile of the plate structure, thereby teaching a configuration wherein the internal fluid routing lines and the structural interface plate body are comprised in the same plane to maximize available surface contact area and maintain a flat outer mating face (EP’435 p. 1; EP’435 p. 3; EP’435 p. 4); and US’943 and US’134 disclose the missing thermal interface plate, electrical strip, pad, and insulating sliding maintainer limitations of claim 1, see the rejection of claim 1 (US’943 [0039]–[0045], [0050]–[0052]; US’134 [0027]–[0032]).
US’829, US’943, US’134, and EP’435 are analogous arts because each reference belongs to the same field of endeavor, namely the electrical and mechanical engineering field of multi-cell battery systems and accompanying modular containment frames designed for supporting, nesting, and actively managing the operational temperature of battery cells (US’829 [0002]–[0007]; US’943 [0002]–[0020]; US’134 [0003]–[0022]; EP’435 p. 1–3).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the primary end-cooling battery configuration of US’829 as modified by the thermal stack and insulating end-plate features of US’943 and US’134 as applied to claim 1, and to further adapt the flat stamped integration layout taught by EP’435 by co-embedding or integrating the flat heat pipe structures of US’829 directly within the interior flat profile of the separate cooling plates (thermal interface plates) of US’943 (US’829 [0068]–[0071]; US’943 [0044]–[0052]; EP’435 p. 3–4). A POSITA would be motivated to arrange the heat pipe and the thermal interface plate within the same plane to achieve an ultra-low profile, space-saving battery assembly while ensuring a flush outer profile that eliminates localized uneven pressure zones and optimizes the uniform distribution of thermal energy across the cell terminal interface (US’943 [0050]–[0054]; EP’435 p. 2–4).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090208829 A1 (US'829) in view of US 20210005943 A1 (US'943) and US 20190334134 A1 (US'134), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of CN 110581325 A (CN’325).
As to Claim 6:US’829 discloses a battery according to claim 1, see the rejection of the claim that this claim is depended on; and discloses a cooling layout configuration where flat heat pipes are arranged adjacent to a conducting plate layout (US’829 [0068]–[0071]).
However, US’829 does not explicitly disclose the core limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, and further fails to disclose that a heat pipe is disposed passing all the way through with respect to a thermal interface plate.
CN’325 discloses a structural cooling frame layout where a fluid conduit pipe is directly inserted into and through aligned mounting holes formed in matching frame pieces (“the said hole pipe is inserted in each of the frame”) to pass completely through the interior profile of the component assembly (CN’325 p. 2–6); and US’943 and US’134 disclose the missing thermal interface plate, electrical strip, pad, and insulating sliding maintainer limitations of claim 1, see the rejection of claim 1 (US’943 [0039]–[0045], [0050]–[0052]; US’134 [0027]–[0032]).
US’829, US’943, US’134, and CN’325 are analogous arts because each reference belongs to the same field of endeavor, namely the mechanical and electrical engineering field of multi-cell electrochemical battery pack systems and accompanying modular structural containment frames designed for securely mounting, supporting, and actively regulating the operational temperature of battery cells (US’829 [0002]–[0007]; US’943 [0002]–[0020]; US’134 [0003]–[0022]; CN’325 p. 2–4).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the primary end-cooling battery configuration of US’829 as modified by the thermal stack and insulating end-plate features of US’943 and US’134 as applied to claim 1, and to further adapt the structural routing layout of CN’325 by routing the phase-change heat pipe of US’829 directly through matching aligned apertures or passages formed through the separate cooling plates (thermal interface plates) of US’943. A POSITA would be motivated to arrange the heat pipe passing all the way through the thermal interface plate to create a rigid, mechanically interlocking component alignment that securely fixes the fluid conduits in place without external fasteners, resists displacement or shifting under heavy operational vibrations, and optimizes internal boundary surface contact to enhance heat transfer away from the accumulator cells (US’829 [0068]–[0071]; US’943 [0044]–[0052]; US’134 [0027]–[0032]; CN’325 p. 4–6).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20090208829 A1 (US'829) in view of US 20210005943 A1 (US'943) and US 20190334134 A1 (US'134), as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Applicant’s Admitted Prior Art (AAPA).
As to Claim 8:US’829 discloses a battery according to claim 1, see the rejection of the claim that this claim is depended on; and teaches that high-capacity secondary battery packs are configured to supply electrical power to transport and vehicular loads (US’829 [0002]–[0008], [0060]–[0062]).
However, US’829 does not explicitly disclose the core structural limitations of claim 1 as set forth in the rejection of claim 1, and further fails to disclose an aircraft provided with the battery.
AAPA discloses that battery pack modules are standardly and conventionally utilized in the aeronautical field within aircraft to meet electric operational requirements (AAPA, p. 1); and US’943 and US’134 teach the missing structural thermal interface plate, electrical strip, pad, and insulating mechanical maintaining plate elements of claim 1, see the rejection of claim 1 (US’943 [0039]–[0045], [0050]–[0052]; US’134 [0027]–[0032]).
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the primary battery configuration of US’829 as modified by the thermal stack and insulating end-plate features of US’943 and US’134 as applied to claim 1, and to further provide this optimized active thermal management battery pack within an aircraft as admitted by AAPA. A POSITA would be motivated to deploy this active heat-pipe stack cooling configuration within an aircraft to solve the acknowledged aeronautical defect on Page 1 of the specification where passive conduction loops introduce severe cell degradation, thereby predictably stabilizing accumulator operating temperatures to maximize charge capacities, delay battery cell aging, and prevent catastrophic thermal runaway propagation events during flight movement (AAPA, p. 1; US’943 [0048]–[0054]; US’134 [0028]–[0032]).
Conclusion
/JIMMY VO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1723
/JIMMY VO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723