DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because in Fig. 6 the “generating module 320” should be changed to the “sending module 320” as described in paragraph [0070] of the specification.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [0087] of the specification, “reporting module 4” should be changed to “reporting module”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11-15, 17, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng (US 2020/0077310 A1)(hereinafter “Cheng”).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng discloses a cell indication method, comprising:
generating Downlink Control Information (DCI), wherein the DCI is used for indicating information of a target cell ([¶0084]: the network connection failure indication could be transmitted from a gNB-remote/DU to a UE by using a DCI. The DCI may indicate information of a candidate target cell.); and
sending the DCI to a terminal device ([¶0075]: in step S906, the first gNB-remote/DU transmits the network connection failure indication which includes the DCI to a UE.).
Regarding claim 3, Cheng discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the DCI comprises at least one of: a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message; Media Access Control Control Element (MAC- CE) information; or Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) DCI ([¶0083]: in step S906, the network connection failure indication could be transmitted by means including MAC CE, DCI, and RRC message. [¶0085]: the DCI could be a DCI for PDCCH or PDSCH.).
Regarding claim 4, Cheng discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the information of the target cell comprises at least one of: a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the target cell ([¶0079]: the information of at least one candidate target cell may include, for example, cell identity associated with the candidate target cell. The cell identity could be, for example, a physical cell ID (PCI)); a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) of the target cell ([¶0085]: the DCI could be scrambled by cell-RNTI (C-RNTI)); a target cell set ([¶0060]: the indication of the target cell could be a bitmap used to indicate multiple candidate target cells.); or an index of the target cell.
Regarding claim 5, Cheng discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the PCI comprises a PCI field value or a PCI index ([¶0079]: the information of at least one candidate target cell may include, for example, cell identity associated with the candidate target cell. The cell identity could be, for example, a physical cell ID (PCI). The PCI is inherently comprised of a value within a field.).
Regarding claim 6, Cheng discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the C-RNTI comprises a C-RNTI field value or a C-RNTI index ([¶0085]: the DCI could be scrambled by cell-RNTI (C-RNTI). The C-RNTI is inherently comprised of a value within a field.).
Regarding claim 7, Cheng discloses all features of claim 4 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the target cell set is sent through an RRC message or a MAC CE message ([¶0083]: in step S906, the network connection failure indication including the information of the at least one candidate target cell could be transmitted by means including MAC CE, DCI, and RRC message.); and
the RRC message is an existing information element or a newly added information element ([¶0060]: The identity associated with the candidate target cell could be configured via a downstream node specific RRC message before the occurrence of the network connection failure. [¶0084]: the DCI may indicate information of a candidate target cell by including, for example, the identity associated with the candidate target cell which may be configured via a UE/downstream node specific RRC message before the occurrence of the network connection failure as each candidate target cell is associated with an identity which is unique for each gNB-remote. The RRC message is inherently either an existing information element or a newly added information element.).
Regarding claim 9, Cheng discloses a cell handover method, comprising:
receiving Downlink Control Information (DCI), wherein the DCI is used for indicating information of a target cell ([¶0084]: The network connection failure indication could be transmitted from a gNB-remote/DU to a UE by using a DCI. The DCI may indicate information of a candidate target cell. [¶0075]: in step S906, the first gNB-remote/DU transmits the network connection failure indication which includes the DCI to a UE.); and
performing a handover from a serving cell to the target cell according to the DCI ([¶0076]: in step S908, after receiving the network connection failure indication from the first gNB-remote/DU, the downstream node would perform a connection change. The downstream node may apply an indication provided in the network connection failure indication to perform a handover procedure to change its connection from the first gNB-remote/DU to a candidate target cell (e.g. second gNB-remote/DU) assuming that the configuration for the UE to change to the candidate target cell remains valid.).
Regarding claim 11, Cheng discloses all features of claim 9 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the DCI comprises at least one of: a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message; Media Access Control Control Element (MAC- CE) information; or Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) DCI ([¶0083]: in step S906, the network connection failure indication could be transmitted by means including MAC CE, DCI, and RRC message. [¶0085]: the DCI could be a DCI for PDCCH or PDSCH.).
Regarding claim 12, Cheng discloses all features of claim 9 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the information of the target cell comprises at least one of: a Physical Cell Identifier (PCI) of the target cell ([¶0079]: the information of at least one candidate target cell may include, for example, cell identity associated with the candidate target cell. The cell identity could be, for example, a physical cell ID (PCI)); a Cell-Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI) of the target cell ([¶0085]: the DCI could be scrambled by cell-RNTI (C-RNTI)); a target cell set ([¶0060]: the indication of the target cell could be a bitmap used to indicate multiple candidate target cells.); or an index of the target cell.
Regarding claim 13, Cheng discloses all features of claim 12 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the PCI comprises a PCI field value or a PCI index ([¶0079]: the information of at least one candidate target cell may include, for example, cell identity associated with the candidate target cell. The cell identity could be, for example, a physical cell ID (PCI). The PCI is inherently comprised of a value within a field.).
Regarding claim 14, Cheng discloses all features of claim 12 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the C-RNTI comprises a C-RNTI field value or a C-RNTI index ([¶0085]: the DCI could be scrambled by cell-RNTI (C-RNTI). The C-RNTI is inherently comprised of a value within a field.).
Regarding claim 15, Cheng discloses all features of claim 12 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the target cell set is sent through an RRC message or a MAC CE message ([¶0083]: in step S906, the network connection failure indication including the information of the at least one candidate target cell could be transmitted by means including MAC CE, DCI, and RRC message.); and
the RRC message is an existing information element or a newly added information element ([¶0060]: The identity associated with the candidate target cell could be configured via a downstream node specific RRC message before the occurrence of the network connection failure. [¶0084]: the DCI may indicate information of a candidate target cell by including, for example, the identity associated with the candidate target cell which may be configured via a UE/downstream node specific RRC message before the occurrence of the network connection failure as each candidate target cell is associated with an identity which is unique for each gNB-remote. The RRC message is inherently either an existing information element or a newly added information element.).
Regarding claim 17, Cheng discloses all features of claim 9 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein performing a handover from a serving cell to the target cell according to the DCI comprises:
performing a handover from an uplink serving cell and a downlink serving cell to the target cell within a specified time according to the DCI; or
performing a handover from a downlink serving cell to the target cell within a specified time according to the DCI (Claim 18: wherein the pre-configured handover configuration is associated with a predetermined time limit, and performing the handover procedure based on the pre-configured handover configuration further comprising connecting to the candidate target cell in response to the pre-configured handover configuration being within the predetermined time limit. The handover is preformed to a candidate target cell based on the candidate target cell information received in the DCI. Therefore, the handover is “according to the DCI”.).
Regarding claim 20, Cheng discloses a serving node (Fig 7, [¶0052]: network access node), comprising a memory ([¶0052]: non-transitory storage medium 703), a processor ([¶0052]: processor 701), and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to carry out a cell indication method ([0052]: the exemplary network access node would include not limited to a processor 701 electrically connected to a transceiver 702 and a non-transitory storage medium 703 and configured to and configured at least for implementing the connection re-direction method used by a remote access node as well as its exemplary embodiments and alternative variations.), comprising:
generating Downlink Control Information (DCI), wherein the DCI is used for indicating information of a target cell ([¶0084]: the network connection failure indication could be transmitted from a gNB-remote/DU to a UE by using a DCI. The DCI may indicate information of a candidate target cell.); and
sending the DCI to a terminal device ([¶0075]: in step S906, the first gNB-remote/DU transmits the network connection failure indication which includes the DCI to a UE.).
Regarding claim 21, Cheng discloses all features of claim 9 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses a terminal device (Fig. 5, [¶0040]: a UE), comprising a memory (non-transitory storage medium 503), a processor ([¶0040]: processor 501), and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to carry out the cell handover method of claim 9 ([¶0040]: The exemplary UE would include not limited to a processor 501 electrically connected to a transceiver 502 and a non-transitory storage medium 503 and configured at least for implementing the connection re-direction method described in FIG. 4 as well as its exemplary embodiments and alternative variations.).
Regarding claim 22, Cheng discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([¶0052]: non-transitory storage medium 703), storing a computer program which, when executed by a processor ([¶0052]: processor 701), causes the processor to carry out the cell indication method of claim 1 ([0052]: the exemplary network access node would include not limited to a processor 701 electrically connected to a transceiver 702 and a non-transitory storage medium 703 and configured to and configured at least for implementing the connection re-direction method used by a remote access node as well as its exemplary embodiments and alternative variations.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Tang et al. (US 2018/0213457 A1)(hereinafter “Tang”).
Regarding claim 2, Cheng discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Cheng does not disclose wherein the DCI is generated according to measurement information reported by the terminal device. However, Tang discloses wherein the DCI is generated according to measurement information reported by the terminal device (Fig. 1, [¶0005]: a UE completes neighboring cell measurement information according to a configuration of a source eNB and feeds back a measurement report to the source eNB. The source eNB determines whether handover should be performed according to a signal strength of a neighboring cell and a signal strength of a local cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate the DCI, as taught by Cheng, according to measurement information reported by a terminal device for the purpose of determining whether handover should be performed, as taught by Tang. Doing so allows for handover to a cell having an improved signal strength (Tang: [¶0005]).
Regarding claim 10, Cheng discloses all features of claim 9 as outlined above.
Cheng does not disclose reporting measurement information, wherein the DCI is generated according to the measurement information. However, Tang discloses reporting measurement information, wherein the DCI is generated according to the measurement information (Fig. 1, [¶0005]: a UE completes neighboring cell measurement information according to a configuration of a source eNB and feeds back a measurement report to the source eNB. The source eNB determines whether handover should be performed according to a signal strength of a neighboring cell and a signal strength of a local cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to generate the DCI, as taught by Cheng, according to measurement information reported by a terminal device for the purpose of determining whether handover should be performed, as taught by Tang. Doing so allows for handover to a cell having an improved signal strength (Tang: [¶0005]).
Claims 8 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng in view of Park et al. (US 2012/0327904 A1)(hereinafter “Park”)(submitted with IDS filed 8/14/2025).
Regarding claims 8 and 16, Cheng discloses all features of claims 3 and 11 as outlined above.
Cheng also discloses wherein the PDCCH DCI is configured to have 1 bit, 2 bits, or 3 bits through higher layer ([¶0033]: The DCI may consist of one or more bits. The DCI could be a DCI for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) or physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH)). Cheng does not specifically disclose wherein the PDCCH DCI is used for indicating an index of the target cell. However, Park discloses wherein the DCI is used for indicating an index of the target cell ([¶0040]: the DCI format 1C scrambled with the C-RNTI according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention includes a CoMP cell index of the target cell to instruct the cell reselection/HO to the target cell.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the PDCCH DCI indicating information of a target cell consisting of one or more bits, as taught by Cheng, to indicate an index of the target cell, as taught by Park. Doing so allows for assigning a unique identifier to the target cell to provide for more efficient handover signaling (Park: [¶0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yuan et al. (US 2023/0354117 A1) – Cell Handover Method and Apparatus.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463