DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 10-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/10/2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/27/2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: on p.33, line 11, the specification recites “shaft 110;” elsewhere the shaft is 101 and the frame 110.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DAI (US 20180250107) in view of BOSMAN (US 20200069404).
Regarding claim 1, DAI discloses a transducer device for a personal clean-and-care appliance (abstract), comprising:
a transducer 130 including a transducer frame (124/125/126), magnets (116/117) attached to said transducer frame (124/125/126) (Fig. 5), an elastic assembly (122/123) attached to said transducer frame (124/125/126), and a driving shaft 111, wherein said driving shaft 111 has a proximal end and a distal end, and said driving shaft 111 is fixedly attached to said transducer frame (124/125/126) (Fig. 5), wherein said driving shaft 111 defines a longitudinal axis which extends through a median plane, and said median plane is substantially perpendicular to a cleaning action force applied on said clean-and-care appliance (Fig. 2 and 5); and
driving coils 114 arranged opposite to said magnets (116/117) of said transducer 130, and said transducer 130 is movable relative to said driving coils 114 (para [0007]),
wherein said elastic assembly (122/123) includes at least one proximal elastic member,
wherein said proximal elastic member has a first edge and a second edge (Fig. 5), said first edges are fixedly coupled to said driving shaft 111 to move with said driving shaft 111 (para [0120]), said second edges form fixed edges when said proximal elastic member is elastically deformed, and respective planes of said proximal elastic member substantially extend radially outward from said longitudinal axis (Fig. 5).
However, DAI does not disclose at least one distal elastic member which is arranged offset [from the proximal elastic member] along said longitudinal axis, and said proximal elastic member is closer to said proximal end of said driving shaft than said distal elastic member, wherein said distal elastic member each has a first edge and a second edge, said first edges are fixedly coupled to said driving shaft to move with said driving shaft, said second edges form fixed edges when said distal elastic member is elastically deformed, and respective planes of said distal elastic member substantially extend radially outward from said longitudinal axis.
BOSMAN teaches a transducer device for a personal clean-and-care appliance (abstract) with at least one distal elastic member 60’ which is arranged offset [from a proximal elastic member 60”] along a longitudinal axis [of shaft 48], and said proximal elastic member 60” is closer to a proximal end of said driving shaft 48 than said distal elastic member 60’, wherein said distal elastic member 60’ has a first edge and a second edge, said first edges are fixedly coupled to said driving shaft to move with said driving shaft, said second edges form fixed edges when said distal elastic member is elastically deformed, and respective planes of said distal elastic member substantially extend radially outward from said longitudinal axis (Fig. 3A and 3B).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the device of DAI with at least one distal elastic member which is arranged offset [from the proximal elastic member] along said longitudinal axis, and said proximal elastic member is closer to said proximal end of said driving shaft than said distal elastic member, wherein said distal elastic member each has a first edge and a second edge, said first edges are fixedly coupled to said driving shaft to move with said driving shaft, said second edges form fixed edges when said distal elastic member is elastically deformed, and respective planes of said distal elastic member substantially extend radially outward from said longitudinal axis, similar to BOSMAN.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to effectively cancel vibration communicated to the handle of the personal care device, as taught by BOSMAN (para [0006] and [0007])
Regarding claim 2, DAI in view of BOSMAN teaches the transducer device according to claim 1, wherein BOSMAN teaches a distance between center lines of respective widths of said proximal elastic member 60” and said distal elastic member 60’ along said longitudinal axis is at least 3.5 mm (i.e., the disclosed apparatus is a handle and the members are at opposite ends of the length thereof; para [0039]).
Regarding claim 3, DAI in view of BOSMAN teaches the transducer device according to claim 1, wherein BOSMAN teaches said plane of said proximal elastic member 60” forms a first angle relative to said median plane, and said plane of said distal elastic member 60’ forms a second angle relative to said median plane, wherein said first angle and said second angle are greater than or equal to 10 degrees and less than or equal to 90 degrees (Fig. 3A and 3B).
Regarding claim 4, DAI in view of BOSMAN teaches the transducer device according to claim 1, wherein BOSMAN teaches said proximal elastic member 60” and said distal elastic member 60’ are located on two opposite sides of said median plane or on same side of said median plane, and said proximal elastic member 60” and said distal elastic member 60’ are located on two opposite sides or the same side of a perpendicular plane that is perpendicular to said median plane and includes said longitudinal axis,
or said proximal elastic member 60” and said distal elastic member 60’ are disposed along a direction of said perpendicular plane (Fig. 3A and 3B).
Regarding claim 5, DAI in view of BOSMAN teaches the transducer device according to claim 1, wherein BOSMAN teaches said proximal elastic member 60” is made of plastic or metal, and said distal elastic member 60’ is made of plastic or mainly made of plastic (para [0057]).
Regarding claim 6, DAI in view of BOSMAN teaches the transducer device according to claim 1, wherein DAI teaches said proximal elastic members are arranged in a pair symmetrically about the longitudinal axis, and said distal elastic members are arranged in a pair symmetrically about the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 7, DAI in view of BOSMAN teaches the transducer device according to claim 1, wherein BOSMAN teaches said elastic assembly further includes at least another elastic member 62 made of metal (para [0057]), which is arranged offset relative to said proximal elastic member and said distal elastic member along the longitudinal axis, and an angle between a plane of said metal elastic member 62 and the median plane is less than the angles between said planes of said proximal elastic member and said distal elastic member and said median plane (Figs 3A and 3B);
BOSMAN further teaches that arrangements of different spring constants can be used in a transducer device (see para [0050]), making the spring constants result effective variables, in order to improve net torque on the housing (see para [0050]).
Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to arrange the elastic modulus of the respective members according to the claimed spring constants between of an elastic modulus of said another elastic member is twenty or more times greater than an elastic modulus of said distal elastic member.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to improve the vibration characteristics of the transducer, as taught by BOSMAN (see para [0050]), and since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art See In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)
Regarding claim 8, DAI in view of BOSMAN teaches the transducer device according to claim 1, wherein DAI teaches said transducer frame (124/125/126) includes a transducer frame portion enclosing said driving shaft 111 and a pair of frame fastening arms 125,126 spaced radially from said driving shaft 111 (Fig. 5),
wherein said frame fastening arm 125 has an upper protrusion and a lower protrusion, said upper protrusion and said lower protrusion are arranged offset from each other on said frame fastening arm (Fig. 5),
said first edges are fixed to the transducer frame portion, and said second edges are respectively fixed to said upper protrusion and said lower protrusion of the frame fastening arm 125 (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, DAI in view of BOSMAN teaches the transducer device according to claim 1, wherein DAI teaches said driving coils 114 are arranged to have no relative movement relative to the housing of the clean-and-care appliance (para [0122]), and said driving coils 114 are arranged in a magnetic field generated by said magnets (116/117) (para [0122]), an angle between magnetic lines generated by said magnets (116/117) and the direction of current I in the driving coils 114 is approximately 90 degrees (para [0007]),
wherein the alternating current I with a frequency of fo passes through said driving coils 114, wherein said driving coils 114 interact with said magnets (116/117) to generate a reciprocating force couple with the longitudinal axis of the driving shaft 111 as an axis, and said reciprocating force couple drives the transducer 130 to perform harmonic vibration (para [0007]-[008]).
Regarding claim 18, DAI in view of BOSMAN teaches a clean-and-care appliance comprising the transducer device according to claim 1, DAI teaches the clean-and-care appliance comprises one of an electric toothbrush, an electric shaver, an electric facial cleaner and an electric shower and BOSMAN teaches a toothbrush or shaver.
Regarding claim 19, DAI in view of BOSMAN teaches the clean-and-care appliance according to claim 18, wherein DAI teaches said transducer 130 and a cleaning assembly of said clean-and-care appliance form a harmonic vibration body, said driving coils 114 and the magnets (116/117) interact to generate a reciprocating force couple with the longitudinal axis of the driving shaft 111 as an axis, said reciprocating force couple drives the harmonic vibration body to perform harmonic vibration, and a natural frequency fn of the harmonic vibration body is between 85% and 115% of the frequency fo of the reciprocating force couple (para [0007]-[008]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20030204924-A1 Grez discloses a clean and care device with radially extending elastic members; US-20110239383-A1 Nishiura discloses a clean and care device with proximal and distal elastic members; US-20190203775-A1 SOEMERS discloses a clean and care device with radially extending elastic members; US-20220258206-A1 DAI discloses a clean and care device with proximal and distal elastic members.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834