DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-14, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (JP-6854959-B1).
Regarding claim 1, Tanaka teaches an abnormality determination device comprising a processor (“CPU” Para [0041]) configured to execute operations comprising:
detecting an appearance feature of an object (“subject”) near a person (“The type of subject is represented by information that can identify the subject based on at least one of its shape and color, such as a canned drink, knife, or shopping basket,” Para [0029]) and an appearance of the person (“The person detection unit 132 detects the attributes of a person by determining whether or not the person is an employee based on, for example, the pattern or color of the work clothes or uniform,” Para [0052]), person region information of a region representing the person (“The person detection unit 132 detects the position of a person included in a captured image, and further detects the movement of the person whose position has been detected,” Para [0051]), and object region information of a region representing the object (“The subject detection unit 133 detects the position of a subject included in a captured image,” Para [0053]) from video data representing a motion of the person (“The image acquisition unit may acquire multiple captured image data created in chronological order,” Para [0010]);
extracting a motion (“movement”) feature of a motion of the person based on the video data and the person region information (“a person detection unit that detects the movement of a person included in the captured image,” Para [0006]);
extracting a relational feature (“relative relationship”) indicating a relationship between the object and the person based on the object region information and the person region information (“When person M picks up object P2 and then puts object P2 into bag B, the behavior estimation device 10 determines the relative relationship as "person M's hand in contact with object P2 is close to bag B" based on the distance between person M's hand and the subject,” Para [0030]); and
determining whether the motion of the person is abnormal (the person is “shoplifting”) based on the appearance feature (“subject types”), the motion feature, and the relational feature (“based on the identified relative relationship and the combination of the subject types of canned drink and handbag, and thereby estimates that person M's behavior is shoplifting,” Para [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Tanaka teaches the device of claim 1, and wherein the appearance feature includes a feature of appearance of each of the objects (“The subject detection unit detects a first subject and a second subject included in the captured image,” Para [0013]) and a feature of appearance of the person (“The person detection unit 132 detects the attributes of a person by determining whether or not the person is an employee based on, for example, the pattern or color of the work clothes or uniform,” Para [0052]), which are obtained when an object type is determined (“The type of subject is represented by information that can identify the subject based on at least one of its shape and color, such as a canned drink, knife, or shopping basket,” Para [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Tanaka teaches the device of claim 1, and wherein the motion feature is a feature extracted by a motion recognition model (“person detection unit”) for recognizing a motion represented by video data (“The person detection unit 132 detects the position of a person included in a captured image, and further detects the movement of the person whose position has been detected,” Para [0051]).
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Tanaka teaches the device of claim 1, and wherein the relational feature includes a distance between the person and each of the objects (“the relationship determination unit 135 determines the distance between the person and the shelf, which is an example of a first relative relationship, and the distance between the person and the product, which is an example of a second relative relationship,” Para [0083]).
Claim 7 is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 3 due to the claims reciting the same subject matter.
Claim 8 is rejected for the same reasoning as claim 4 due to the claims reciting the same subject matter.
Claims 5-6, 10-14, and 16-19 are method and computer-readable non-transitory recording medium claims that correspond to device claims 1-4 and 7-8. Therefore, these claims are rejected for the same reasons as claims 1-4 and 7-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka (JP-6854959-B1) as applied to claims 1 and 5 above, and further in view of Bruckschen et al., "Detection of Generic Human-Object Interactions in Video Streams", M. A. Salichs et al. (Eds.): ICSR 2019, LNAI 11876, pp. 108–118, 2019, hereinafter referred to as Bruckschen.
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated herein. Tanaka teaches the device of claim 3, but fails to teach the following limitations as further claimed. Bruckschen, however, further teaches wherein the motion recognition model is based on a machine learning model (“our system computes for each found interaction the likelihood that it really occurs by tracking it over subsequent frames” and “Our method detects relevant objects inside each frame using regional convolutional neural networks (R-CNNs) [3] and estimates humans and their body pose using the OpenPose system,” pg. 109), and the machine learning model detects an object with a bounding box (pg. 109, Fig. 1(a), the bounding box around the coffee machine) and determines an object type (pg. 109, Fig. 1(b), “Coffee Machine” label).
Bruckschen is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of the detection and tracking of human-object interactions in videos. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have incorporated the teachings of Bruckschen into Tanaka for the benefit of more accurate and real-time reviewing of the videos, especially as more data is fed into the system.
Claims 15 and 20 are method and computer-readable non-transitory recording medium claims that correspond to device claim 9. Therefore, these claims are rejected for the same reason as claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Liu et al., “Detecting human–object interaction with multi-level pairwise feature network”, Computational Visual Media, 7. 1-11 10.1007/s41095-020-0188-2, October 2020, describes a method for detecting human-object interaction in an image using a pairwise feature network.
Gupta et al., “Observing Human-Object Interactions: Using Spatial and Functional Compatibility for Recognition”, IEEE Transactions On Pattern Analysis And Machine Intelligence, Vol. 31, No. 10, October 2009, teaches a method for detecting human-object interactions using two computational models.
/Rachel Anne Ometz/Examiner, Art Unit 2668 12/31/25
/VU LE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668