DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 4-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/574306 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claim 4 recites a coated tool with base body and coating layer of cubic crystal of at least one element and Al, Si, and at least one of C and N with a (200) plane and intensity in a positive pole figure and a I1max between 0-90° of a (111) plane of the cubic crystal and an angle region Θ1F 85% or greater of I1max occupies 90% or more in a region of 30-90°. This is patentably indistinct of claim 1 of the ‘306 application which recites a coated tool with base body and coating layer of cubic crystal of at least one element and Al, Si, and at least one of C and N with a I1max between 0-90° of a (111) plane of the cubic crystal and an angle region Θ1F 85% or greater of I1max occupies 90% or more in a region of 30-90°. Instant claim 4 and claim 1 of the ‘306 application recite overlapping (111) features and the courts have held that where claimed regions overlap or lie inside a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Instant claim 5 recites (111) features overlapping claim 2 of the ‘306 application. Instant claim 6 recites an inflection point overlapping claim 3 of the ‘306 application. Instant claim 7 recites a I12min overlapping claim 4 of the ‘306 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “the I12min” and this phrase lacks antecedent basis. This rejection may be overcome by amending the dependency to claim 5.
Claim 9 recites “rod-like” where the term “-like” renders the claim indefinite as this is an approximate term and the public is not properly notified as to the metes and bounds of the claim. See MPEP 2173.05(III).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shibata (US 2012/0128971) and claim 9 is rejected further in view of Onodera (US 2015/0075338).
Considering claim 1, Shibata teaches a coating film for cutting tools (abstract; Paragraph 1). The tool comprises a substrate with a cubic metallic compound hard film thereon (Paragraph 7). The coating film comprises at least one element of Groups 4-6 of the periodic table, A, Si, etc. and at least one of C, N, and O having a maximum intensity of an α-angle in the range of 60-80° for a (200) plane in a pole figure measurement (Paragraph 8) and specific compounds of (AlTiSi)N, etc. are disclosed (Paragraph 30). Fig. 4 (reproduced below) depicts the pole figure of the (200) plane (Paragraphs 13 and 25) having a maximum value at about 70° and a difference between 70° (e.g. I2max) and 75° (e.g. I23min) on the higher angle side (e.g. a third region) is smaller than a difference between the maximum at 70° minimum value at about 25° (e.g. I24min) on the lower angle side (e.g. a fourth region) where the intensity of the 75° peak (~37) is about 97% of the intensity of the 75° peak (~38) based upon the scale of the figure.
While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed coated tool with elemental materials and (200) plane features this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Shibata as this is considered a conventionally known combination of coating materials with (200) features known to afford hard films with improved wear resistance and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success. Further, the ranges disclosed by Shibata overlap those which are claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 2, Fig. 4 of Shibata above depicts where the minimum at ~25° has an intensity of about 17 and is about 44% of the intensity of the 75° peak (~38) based upon the scale of the figure. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 3, Fig. 4 of Shibata above depicts the maximum at about 75°. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 4, Fig. 3 of Shibata (reproduced below) depicts the pole figure for the (111) plane of the hard film (Paragraph 12) has a maximum (e.g. I1max) at about 60° with an intensity just below 24.5 and where 85% of this value encompasses the large majority of the region overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 5, Fig.3 of Shibata above depicts where the difference between the maximum at 60° and the minimum from the higher angle side at 90° (e.g. a first region) is smaller than the difference the maximum at 60° and the minimum at 20° on the lower angle side (e.g. a second region) and the higher side region is about 85% of the maximum overlapping that which is claimed. See MPEP 2144.05.
Considering claim 6, Fig. 3 of Shibata above depicts and inflection point between about 75-80°.
Considering claim 9, Shibata teaches cutting inserts for tools (Paragraphs 1 and 37), but does not teach the claimed holder structure.
In a related field of endeavor, Onodera teaches cutting tools (abstract) including a cutting insert (Paragraph 29) with a coating thereon (Paragraph 30). The tool comprises a holder with a length (e.g. a rod-like holder) with a pocket at the end where the insert is fixed to the pocket (Paragraphs 81-82).
As both Shibata and Onodera teach cutting tools they are considered analogous. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the tool of Shibata and to include the tool holder taught by Onodera as this is considered a combination of a conventionally known insert and tool holder known to make cutting tools and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 may be placed in condition for allowance if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, if the 112(b) rejection were overcome, and if the requisite terminal disclaimer were filed over copending 18/574306.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Fig.3 of Shibata above is the closest prior art to claims 7-8 and differs in that Shibata teaches a (111) lower side minimum (e.g. 15°) and a maximum (e.g. 60°) well outside of instant claim 8 and the ratio of the intensities of 15°/60° is about 61% significantly outside that which is recited in instant claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. He et al. (US 2021/0138557) and Murakami (US 11,400,520) teach cutting tools similar to that which is claimed.
SETH DUMBRIS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1784
/SETH DUMBRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784