Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 are CANCELED
Claims 16-30 are NEW based on preliminary amendment of 07/29/2026
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-21, 26, 27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurz ( DE 102019007858) in view of Hokfelt (US 2013/0309022).
Regarding claim 16, Kurz teaches a modular foundation system for road furniture (see Fig. 1-8), the system comprising: a base structure defining a cabling void (see 4.1, 8.1 and 8.2; Fig. 1); a raising frame element connected or connectable to an upper portion of the base structure and having an adapter coupling and a perimetric flange (see 34 and 61; Fig. 6 ), the perimetric flange being seated on a top of the base structure, and the adapter coupling extending upwardly from the perimetric flange to form a top support member (see Fig. 6);
However Kurz does not disclose an adapter plate having a plate body, a cabling aperture therethrough and a plurality of mounting points on the plate body for onward connection to an item of road furniture, the adapter plate being releasably engageable with the adapter coupling when the plate body is directly mounted on the top support member of the adapter coupling to provide a foundation for said item of road furniture once installed; and a blanking cover releasably engageable with the adapter coupling, the adapter plate and blanking cover being selectably interchangeable, wherein at least part of the plate body extends laterally outwardly from the adapter coupling relative to an in-use vertical axis, said at least part of the plate body comprising the plurality of mounting points so as to overhang the adapter coupling.
Yet, Hokfelt teaches an adapter plate having a plate body (see 111 Fig. 8), a cabling aperture therethrough and a plurality of mounting points on the plate body for onward connection to an item of road furniture, the adapter plate being releasably engageable with the adapter coupling when the plate body is directly mounted on the top support member of the adapter coupling to provide a foundation for said item of road furniture once installed (see Fig. 8); and a blanking cover releasably engageable with the adapter coupling, the adapter plate and blanking cover being selectably interchangeable (see 24; Fig. 8), wherein at least part of the plate body extends laterally outwardly from the adapter coupling relative to an in-use vertical axis, said at least part of the plate body comprising the plurality of mounting points so as to overhang the adapter coupling (see Fig. 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurz with the teachings of Hokfelt having an adapter plate having a plate body, a cabling aperture therethrough and a plurality of mounting points on the plate body for onward connection to an item of road furniture, the adapter plate being releasably engageable with the adapter coupling when the plate body is directly mounted on the top support member of the adapter coupling to provide a foundation for said item of road furniture once installed; and a blanking cover releasably engageable with the adapter coupling, the adapter plate and blanking cover being selectably interchangeable, wherein at least part of the plate body extends laterally outwardly from the adapter coupling relative to an in-use vertical axis, said at least part of the plate body comprising the plurality of mounting points so as to overhang the adapter coupling in order to provide flexible installations that can accommodate several devices, providing easy swapping while still providing a strong support and safe coverage of essential equipment.
Regarding claim 17, the combination teaches the adapter plate is an electric-vehicle-charger adapter plate to provide a foundation for an electric vehicle charger once installed (see Fig. 3; Hokfelt).
Regarding claim 18, the combination teaches wherein the electric vehicle charger adapter plate comprises at least one locator which depends from the plate body (see Fig. 8; Hokfelt).
Regarding claim 19, the combination teaches wherein at least part of the electric-vehicle-adapter plate extends laterally outwardly from the perimetric flange of the raising frame element relative to an in-use vertical axis (see Fig. 3; Hokfelt).
Regarding claim 20, the combination teaches wherein the base structure
is formed from a plurality of inter-engage able base portions (see Fig. 3; Kurz).
Regarding claim 21, the combination teaches wherein the base portions
are stackable on top of one another (see Fig. 3; Kurz).
Regarding claim 26, the combination teaches wherein the adapter
coupling is formed having a rectilinear cross-section (see Fig. 3; Hokfelt).
Regarding claim 27, the combination teaches wherein the adapter coupling is formed having a tubular cross-section (see Fig. 6; Hokfelt).
Regarding claim 30, the combination teaches the modular electric vehicle charging system comprising a modular foundation system as claimed in claim 16, and an electric vehicle charger engageable with the adapter plate (see Fig. 2; Hokfelt).
Claims 22-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kurz and Hokfelt as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of ZHANG (CN 213449334U)
Regarding claim 22, the combination teaches the modular foundation system as claimed in claim 16.
Yet, the combination does not disclose further comprises a base member having an anchoring connector thereon; and a securing element connectable with the anchoring connector and connectable to the raising frame element to clampingly secure the base portions between the base member and the raising frame element.
However, Zhang in the same filed teaches a base member having an anchoring connector thereon; and a securing element connectable with the anchoring connector and connectable to the raising frame element to clampingly secure the base portions between the base member and the raising frame element (see Fig. 1)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kurz and Hokfelt with the teachings of Zhang having a base member having an anchoring connector thereon; and a securing element connectable with the anchoring connector and connectable to the raising frame element to clampingly secure the base portions between the base member and the raising frame element in order to provide high stability, load distribution while providing a secure locking mechanism .
Regarding claim 23, the combination teach the base structure comprising an inner wall and an outer wall, wherein the inner and outer walls define a securing element channel for receiving the securing element (see Location where screw is introduced, Fig. 1, Zhang).
Regarding claim 24, the combination teaches wherein the securing element and the anchoring connector screw-threadingly inter-engage with one another (see 5, 6; Fig. 1; Zhang).
Regarding claim 25, the combination teaches, wherein the base member comprises at least one locator for locating at least one base portion thereon (see Fig.2; Hokfelt).
Regarding claim 28, the combination teaches wherein the raising frame element comprises a plurality of receivers engageable with fastening elements through the blanking cover (see 15 and holes for 15, Fig, 6).
Regarding claim 29, the combination teaches wherein the plurality of receivers are each positioned laterally inward of the adapter coupling relative to the perimetric flange (see Fig. 3;Hokfelt or Fig. 3; Kurz).
Conclusion
/ELIM ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836