DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. The term “ substantially ” in claim 24 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ substantially ” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what is encompassed by the limitation "a substantially planar lower surface" . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 1-3 , 5-6 , 9, 11-16 , and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Bartfeld (US 20120141341 A1) in view of Belfance (US 20130256329 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Bartfeld discloses a sample collection container configured to be removably mounted to a blood collection device (specimen collection container 30 ; paragraph 0038 - 0042 -- may be adapted to provide a sufficiently wide opening to allow standard diagnostic and sampling probes, needles, and/or similar extraction or deposition devices to enter the open top end 38 and access the interior 44 for the purpose of depositing a specimen therein or withdrawing a specimen therefrom ), the collection container comprising: a container body defining an interior (outer body 34 which defines an interior, Fig . 1, 8) configured to receive a sample provided from the blood collection device (paragraph 0042), the container body comprising an upper portion (upper portion of 34, Fig 8) comprising an open top (open top 46, Fig 9) and a lower portion comprising a closed bottom (lower portion of 34 comprising a closed bottom, Fig 8); and a lid ( collection cap 86, Fig 1 , 8-9 ; paragraph 0052) comprising: a lid body ( top surface 88 and annular shoulder 92, Fig 3 , 8-9 ); in which the lid covers the open top of the upper portion (closed position of lid 86 covering the open top 46, Fig 9), and an open position, where the open top of the upper portion is uncovered (when the lid 86 is not placed on the collection container the open top 46 is uncovered, Fig 4); a pierceable septum mounted to the lid body (septum 96 mounted to annular shoulder 92, Fig 3; paragraph 0053) that seals the upper portion open top when the lid is in the closed position (septum 96 seals the open top 46 in the closed position, Fig 9; paragraph 0056 -- septum 96 contacts and forms a barrier seal 122 with a portion of the interior 44 of the inner tube 32 ); and a latch extending from the lid body (90A extending from the body of similar cap 86A, Fig 14; paragraph 0060 -- specimen collection cap 86A is adapted for use with the inner tube 32 and/or the outer tube 34 as described herein, and is substantially similar to the specimen collection cap 86 ) that engages a catch on the upper portion of the container body to secure the lid in the closed position (90A includes portions 138 and 140 to engage a portion 74 of the outer tube 34, Fig 14 ; paragraph 0060). However, Bartfeld fails to teach a flexible connection between the lid body and the upper portion of the container body that moves the lid between the closed position and open position. Belfance , in the same field of endeavor teaches a resealable collection container (see container 100, Fig 2; paragraph 0001 -- resealable containers such as vials ) comprising a collection container body (body 104, Fig 2) comprising an upper open top (open top 134, Fig 2) and a lid (lid 102, Fig 1) comprising a lid body (body 122, Fig 1) , teaches a flexible connection between the lid body and the upper portion of the container body (hinge 128 between lid body 122 and upper portion 134, Fig 2; paragraph 0053 -- hinge 128 of thin material to permit bending) that moves the lid between a closed position and open position (hinge 128 allows the lid 102 to be pivotably moved from a closed position to open position, paragraph 0053) and including a latch on the lid body (see latch aperture 136 and recess 138, Fig 5) that engages a catch on the upper portion of the container body to secure the lid in the closed position (136 and 138 engage a claw 140 on the upper portion 134 to maintain the lid in a closed position, Fig 7 ; paragraph 0059) in order to provide mechanism for allowing the cap to remain attached to the container body while still properly positioning the cap to close and seal the container (paragraph 0003). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the collection container of Bartfeld to include a flexible connection between the lid body and upper portion of the container body as taught by Belfance in order to predictably improve the container by maintaining the cap attached to the container body even while the container is open so that the lid cannot be dropped or lost . Regarding claim 2 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 1. Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the latch comprises a frame ( strengthening member 140 , Fig. 14) formed from a first material (strengthening member 140 must be formed of a first material) and a cushion (sealing band 138, Fig. 14) formed from a second material (sealing band 138 must be formed of a second material ; paragraph 0060—sealing band 138 is deformable… ) that is less rigid than the first material (paragraph 0060 --strengthening member 140 adjacent the sealing band 138 for providing additional rigidity NOTE: that the material of the sealing band 138 must be less rigid than the material of strengthening member 140 because of its description as deformable in contrast with the description of the strengthening member as providing rigidity ). Regarding claim 3 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 2 . Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the cushion is positioned proximate to a leading edge of the frame of the lid ( sealing band 138 is positioned proximate to the bottom leading edge of strengthening member 140, Fig 14) and is configured to restrict the latch from being disengaged from the catch (paragraph 0062 -- may include a corresponding resistance recess for accommodating the resistance protrusion therein NOTE: the sealing band is configured to restrict the latch from being disengaged from the protrusion/catch by incorporating the resistance recess ). Regarding claim 5 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 2. Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the container body comprises a first material ( paragraph 0049-- inner tube 32 and the outer tube 34 may be formed of the same material, such as polypropylene and/or polyethylene ), and wherein the septum comprises the second material ( paragraph 0053--septum 96 is fo r med from a thermoplastic elastomer) . However, Bartfeld is silent as to the material of the lid body and the flexible connection. Belfance further teaches wherein the lid body, flexible connection, and container body are all formed of a first material ( paragraph 0051-- lid 102 and container body 104 formed from polypropylene; body 104 and lid 102 are integral hence the hinge 128 is also polypropylene, paragraph 0053). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the container of Bartfeld to use the same first material of polypropylene for lid body, flexible connection and container body in order to simplify the manufacturing process and provide rigidity and strength to the structural components of the container . Regarding claim 6 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 2. Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the first material is a semi rigid plastic (paragraph 0049 -- polypropylene), and the second material is a thermoplastic elastomer (paragraph 0053 -- thermoplastic elastomer). Regarding claim 9 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 1 . Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the septum comprises an inwardly facing surface that faces the interior of the container body (bottom surface of 96 faces the interior of container 34, Fig 9) and an outwardly facing surface opposite the inwardly facing surface (opposite top surface of 96 faces the exterior of container 34, Fig 9), the outwardly facing surface comprising a recess or well (the top surface comprises a well 100, Fig 3) positioned to collect any fluid that escapes from the interior of the container body during retraction of a needle through the septum ( paragraph 0053-- 100 is a concave receiving surface for directing a needle hence also is configured to collect any fluid that escapes from the interior during retraction of the needle). Regarding claim 11 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 1. Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the septum comprises an inwardly facing surface that faces the interior of the container body when the lid is in the closed position (bottom surface of 96 faces the interior of container 34 when the lid is closed, Fig 9), the inwardly facing surface of the septum comprising a chamfered peripheral edge (tapered peripheral edge of the bottom of 96, Fig 9). Regarding claim 1 2 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 1 1. Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the inwardly facing surface of the septum defines a central cavity (the bottom surface of 96 defines a centrally located cavity, Fig 9; cavity 106, Fig 3), which enhances radial deformation of the septum during centrifugation ( paragraph 0053-- the septum 96 is a thermoplastic elastomer hence configured to radially deform during centrifugation; the tapered bottom cavity of 96 is shaped to enhance deformation radially outward towards the wall of the inner tube 32 during centrifugation, Fig 9). Regarding claim 1 3 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 1 2 . Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the central cavity comprises a tapered annular surface (the bottom central cavity of 96 comprises a tapered outer annular surface, Fig 9). Regarding claim 1 4 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 1 2 . Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the upper portion open top comprises an annular chamfered edge (see an annular tapered portion of the upper sidewall of 32 near the bottom of septum 96, Fig 9) positioned to contact a chamfered peripheral edge of the septum (tapered peripheral edge of the bottom of 96, Fig 9) as the lid moves to the closed position (the tapered portions of 32 and 96 are configured to mate as the lid moves to the closed position, Fig 9). Regarding claim 1 5 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 1 4 . Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the annular chamfered edge of the upper portion deforms the septum when the lid is in the closed position, thereby sealing the interior of the container body (paragraph 0054 -- the annular interior wall hence including the tapered portion contacts the pierceable septum; paragraph 0056 -- the septum 96 contacts and forms a barrier seal with the interior of the inner tube 32; paragraph 0053-- the pierceable septum 96 is formed from a thermoplastic elastomer such that deforms as it contacts the interior wall of the container). Regarding claim 1 6 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 1 5 . Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the septum is configured to radially expand during centrifugation (paragraph 0053 -- the septum 96 is a thermoplastic elastomer hence configured to radially expand during centrifugation), thereby enhancing the sealing of the interior of the container body (paragraph 0056 -- the septum 96 contacts the inner wall to form a barrier seal hence radially expanding during centrifugation enhances the seal). Regarding claim 27 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 1. Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the flexible connection comprises a hinge (paragraph 0053 -- the connection 128 is an integrally formed hinge to permit bending). Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Bartfeld in view of Belfance, further in view of Frei (US 20110119859 A1) . Regarding claim 4 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 2. Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the frame (90a including portions 138 and 140) comprises an opening that receives the catch (portion 74) of the upper portion when the lid is in the closed position a latch extending from the lid body ( A recess or opening of sealing ring 138 engage s a portion 74 of the outer tube 34, Fig 14 ; paragraph 0060). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein the cushion is positioned on the frame between the opening and the leading edge of the frame. Frei, in analogous art of a latch arrangement for connecting a lid to a container (Abstract), teaches a latch element for securing a lid to a container (paragraph 0029 -- latch arrangement 1 for releasably securing a lid 2 to a container 3 ), wherein the latch comprises a cushion member positioned on the frame between the opening and the leading edge of the frame (flange 35 between magnetic element 6 and a bottom leading edge of latch 4, Fig 6; paragraph 0041-- the latch element 4 is composed of a flexible thermoplastic elastomer … allows the latch 4 to comply with distortions … hence portion 35 is a cushioning member ; paragraph 0039-- flange 35 acts to retain the latch element 4 against movement). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the latch of Bartfeld such that the cushion member is positioned on the frame between the opening and the leading edge of the rigid frame as taught by Frei in order to use the cushioning member to predictably improve the seal of the lid against the container by providing a cushion which can prevent distortions of jostling of the lid from dislodging the lid (see paragraph 0041 of Frei) and can predictably use the cushioning member to better retain the latch against movement (see Paragraph 0039 of Frei) . Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Bartfeld in view of Belfance, further in view of Aljefri (US 20200305781 A1) . Regarding claim 7 , the combination of Bartfeld and Belfance teach the collection container of claim 6 . Bartfeld additionally teaches wherein the first material is polypropylene (paragraph 0049 -- polypropylene), and the second material is a flexible (paragraph 0053 -- thermoplastic elastomer). However, Bartfeld does not explicitly disclose the second material is at least one of liquid silicone rubber, urethane rubber, and latex rubber. Aljefri, in the same field of endeavor of a blood collection tube, teaches a septum may be made of a n elastomer material such as liquid silicone rubber, urethane rubber, and latex rubber (Paragraph 0075, 0082-- The sealing member or septum may be made of a rubber material such as natural rubber, isoprene rubber, chloroprene rubber and silicone rubber, and a resin such as a thermoplastic elastomer, for instance, styrene-butadiene-styrene (SBS) block copolymer. Other materials described for the elastomeric sleeve 14 may also be used for the sealing member or septum ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the container of Bartfeld via a simple substitution for a different elastomer material as described in Aljefri as it is known in the art (see Aljefri, paragraph 0075, 0082) that these materials include similar properties and would be capable of functioning similarly as the septum to seal the opening. Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Ivosevic (US 20190216380 A1) in view of Bartfeld, further in view of Fedoruk (US 20190307382 A2) . Regarding claim 1 , Ivosevic discloses a sample collection container configured to be removably mounted to a blood collection device (collector portion 74 is removably mounted to portion 72 of a collection device 10, Fig 8; paragraph 0080 -- a collection container 16 that is removably connectable to the port 26 of the holder 12. The collection container 16 defines a collection cavity 70 for receiving a blood sample 18, a container engagement portion 72, a blood collector portion 74, and a cap or septum 76 ), the collection container comprising: a container body (body of collector portion 74, Fig 8) defining an interior configured to receive a sample provided from the blood collection device ( collector portion 74 defines an interior 70 for receiving a blood sample, Fig 8 ; paragraph 0080), the container body comprising an upper portion comprising an open top (upper open top of collector portion 74 which is connected to 72, Fig 8) and a lower portion comprising a closed bottom (lower closed bottom of collector portion 74, Fig 8); and a lid (lid 76, Fig 8) comprising: a lid body (outer body of lid 76, Fig 8); a flexible connection between the lid body and the upper portion of the container body ( lid 76 is connected to the upper portion of 74, Fig 8; lid 76 pivots to cover the opening of 74 demonstrating that the connection is flexible, Fig 25-26) that moves the lid between a closed position, in which the lid covers the open top of the upper portion ( c losed position of the lid 76 which covers the open top of 74, Fig 26; paragraph 0080, 0110 -- the blood collector portion 74 is sealed by the cap 76 once removed from the collection device 10), and an open position, where the open top of the upper portion is uncovered ( paragraph 0080 -- The blood collector portion 74 is sealed via the cap or septum 76 once removed from the collection device 10 to protectively seal the blood sample 18 within the collection cavity 70 such that the cap 76 is in an open position with the top of 74 uncovered prior to sealing it with the cap); Ivosevic teaches wherein the container body may comprise a pierceable septum to seal the opening (paragraph 0080 -- The blood collector portion 74 is sealed via the cap or septum 76 ). However, Ivosevic does not explicitly teach a pierceable septum mounted to the lid body that seals the upper portion open top when the lid is in the closed position; and a latch extending from the lid body that engages a catch on the upper portion of the container body to secure the lid in the closed position. Bartfeld, in the same field of endeavor of a sample collection container to be removably mounted to a blood collection device, teaches a pierceable septum mounted to the lid body (septum 96 mounted to annular shoulder 92, Fig 3; paragraph 0053) that seals the upper portion open top when the lid is in the closed position (septum 96 seals the open top 46 in the closed position, Fig 9; paragraph 0056 -- septum 96 contacts and forms a barrier seal 122 with a portion of the interior 44 of the inner tube 32 ) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Ivosevic, including a cap or a septum, to include a lid and a septum where the septum is connected to the lid as a pierceable septum in order to predictably improve the device by ensuring that a sample cannot be spilled or compromised by including a pierceable septum which enables secure collection of the sample in addition to a lid which prevents the septum from being contacted and thus contaminated or comprised unintentionally . Fedoruk , in the same field of endeavor of a collection container for securely collecting a bodily fluid such as blood, teaches a sample collection container (cup body 210, Fig 5; paragraph s 006 7-0069 ) comprising a lid (lid 220, Fig 5) connected by a flexible connection ( living hinge 230 connects lid 220 and body 210, Fig 5; paragraph 0068), further comprising a latch extending from the lid body (locking latch 240, Fig 5 ; paragraph 0071) that engages a catch on the upper portion of the container body (locking latch 240 engages locking hook 230 on the upper portion of container 210, Fig 5; paragraph 0071 -- The center portion 253 of the latch 240 is open to allow for reception of the hook 230 when the lid 220 is closed ) in order to secure the lid in the closed position ( paragraph 0072 -- Once the lid 220 is closed, the receptacle 200 is locked using a lock tag 260 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the lid of Ivosevic to further comprise a latch extending from the lid body that engages a catch on the upper portion of the container body as taught by Fedoruk in order to predictably improve the safety and security of the collected sample by locking the lid in the closed position and preventing spills or contamination . Regarding claim 8 , the combination of Ivosevic , Bartfeld and Fedoruk teaches the collection container of claim 1. Fedoruk additionally teaches wherein the catch on the upper portion of the container body comprises a sloped surface ( hook 230 includes a downwardly sloped surface, Fig 5; paragraph 0069 -- The cup body 210 further includes a locking hook 230 that can be in the form of a downwardly extending J-shaped hook with a slot or space 232 being defined therein ) positioned such that, as the lid transitions between the open position and the closed position, the latch deflects over the catch prior to engaging the catch (the slope of hook 230 is positioned such that as the latch 240 pivots with the transition of the lid between the open position and the closed position it deflects over the slope surface of hook 230 prior to engaging the hook 230 in the center aperture 253, Fig 5 ; paragraph 0071). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the lid of Ivosevic to further comprise a catch as taught by Fedoruk in order to predictably improve the safety and security of the collected sample by locking the lid in the closed position and preventing spills or contamination. Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Ivosevic in view of Bartfeld, further in view of Fedoruk, further in view of Burns (US 5494170 A) . Regarding claim 10 , the combination of Ivosevic , Bartfeld, and Fedoruk teaches the collection container of claim 1. However, the combination fails to disclose wherein the lid body comprises an annular flange defining an opening and wherein the septum is inserted through the opening with the annular flange received within an annular notch of the septum. Burns , in the same field of endeavor of a body fluid collection tube, teaches a lid (closure 110 including body 111, Fig 11) comprising a pierceable septum (sealing element 112 of closure 110, Fig 11 ; Col. 6, line 33 -- sealing element 112; Col. 8, line 1-3 -- sealing elements of thermoplastic elastomer material to be pierced by a needle) for sealing a collection tube (closure 110 with sealing member 112 is used to seal tube 1, Fig 11; Col. 7, line 51-52 -- sealing member seals the open end of the tube), wherein the lid body comprises an annular flange defining an opening (body 111 includes an annular flange with an opening for the septum 112, Fig 11) and wherein the septum is inserted through the opening with the annular flange received within an annular notch of the septum (septum 112 is inserted through the opening and a notch between portions 114 and 118 of the septum receives the annular flange, Fig 11) in order to secure the septum to the lid body ( Col. 6, line 35-38 -- the lower flange 114 and upper portion 118 securely hold the sealing element 112 within shield 111). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the lid body of Ivosevic to comprise an annular flange defining an opening and the septum to include an annular notch as taught by Burns in order to predictably improve safety and security of the device by allowing for a secure placement of the septum in the lid body which would enable the device to be sealed to prevent spills immediately upon withdrawal of a needle from the container . Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 1 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Ivosevic in view of Bartfeld, further in view of Smith (US 20030034323 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Ivosevic discloses a sample collection container configured to be removably mounted to a blood collection device (collector portion 74 is removably mounted to portion 72 of a collection device 10, Fig 8; paragraph 0080-- a collection container 16 that is removably connectable to the port 26 of the holder 12. The collection container 16 defines a collection cavity 70 for receiving a blood sample 18, a container engagement portion 72, a blood collector portion 74, and a cap or septum 76 ), the collection container comprising: a container body (body of collector portion 74, Fig 8) defining an interior configured to receive a sample provided from the blood collection device (collector portion 74 defines an interior 70 for receiving a blood sample, Fig 8; paragraph 0080), the container body comprising an upper portion comprising an open top (upper open top of collector portion 74 which is connected to 72, Fig 8) and a lower portion comprising a closed bottom (lower closed bottom of collector portion 74, Fig 8); and a lid (lid 76, Fig 8) comprising: a lid body (outer body of lid 76, Fig 8); a flexible connection between the lid body and the upper portion of the container body (lid 76 is connected to the upper portion of 74, Fig 8; lid 76 pivots to cover the opening of 74 demonstrating that the connection is flexible, Fig 25-26) that moves the lid between a closed position, in which the lid covers the open top of the upper portion (closed position of the lid 76 which covers the open top of 74, Fig 26; paragraph 0080, 0110--the blood collector portion 74 is sealed by the cap 76 once removed from the collection device 10), and an open position, where the open top of the upper portion is uncovered (paragraph 0080-- The blood collector portion 74 is sealed via the cap or septum 76 once removed from the collection device 10 to protectively seal the blood sample 18 within the collection cavity 70 such that the cap 76 is in an open position with the top of 74 uncovered prior to sealing it with the cap); Ivosevic teaches wherein the container body may comprise a pierceable septum to seal the opening (paragraph 0080-- The blood collector portion 74 is sealed via the cap or septum 76 ). However, Ivosevic does not explicitly teach a pierceable septum mounted to the lid body that seals the upper portion open top when the lid is in the closed position; and a latch extending from the lid body that engages a catch on the upper portion of the container body to secure the lid in the closed position. Bartfeld, in the same field of endeavor of a sample collection container to be removably mounted to a blood collection device, teaches a pierceable septum mounted to the lid body (septum 96 mounted to annular shoulder 92, Fig 3; paragraph 0053) that seals the upper portion open top when the lid is in the closed position (septum 96 seals the open top 46 in the closed position, Fig 9; paragraph 0056 -- septum 96 contacts and forms a barrier seal 122 with a portion of the interior 44 of the inner tube 32 ) . It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Ivosevic, including a cap or a septum, to include a lid and a septum where the septum is connected to the lid as a pierceable septum in order to predictably improve the device by ensuring that a sample cannot be spilled or compromised by including a pierc e able septum which enables secure collection of the sample in addition to a lid which prevents the septum from being contacted and thus contaminated or comprised unintentionally. Smith , in the same field of endeavor of a collection container, teaches a collection container (container comprising closure 20 and container 22, Fig 5) comprising a container upper portion open top (upper closure body 30 of closure 20 with open top 42, Fig 2) and a lid (lid 40, Fig 2), a flexible connection between the lid and the upper portion of the container body ( paragraph 0040 -- lid 40 may be tethered to the body 30 with a strap ), and a latch extending from the lid body ( anchor member 152 extending from the lid 40, Fig 4) that engages a catch on the upper portion of the container body to secure the lid in the closed position ( anchor member 152 engages a recess 62 in the upper portion 30, Fig 6; paragraph 0061 -- as the lid 40 is properly mounted on 30 the anchor members 152 are received within the channels 62) in order to provide a tamper-proof closure member which can be mounted on a container body ( paragraph 0018 -- improved closure system that is adapted to be mounted on a container; paragraph 0057 -- The tamper-evident feature involves cooperation between the lid 40 and closure body 30. As shown in FIG. 4, the tamper-evident feature includes at least one anchor member 152 which is initially connected to the lid 40 ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the collection container of Ivosevic to include a latch as taught by Smith in order to predictably improve the safety and security of the collected sample by locking the lid in the closed position and preventing spills or contamination. Regarding claim 17 , the combination of Ivosevic , Bartfeld, and Smith teaches the collection container of claim 1. However, Ivosevic fails to explicitly disclose wherein the lower portion of the container body and the upper portion of the container body are separable and removably attached together . Smith additionally teaches wherein the lower portion of the container body and the upper portion of the container body are separable and removably attached together ( paragraph 0036 -- the dispensing system 20 (NOTE: comprising the upper portion, closure body 30) is a separate one-piece or multi-piece unit (e.g., a closure) which is adapted to be removably or non-removably mounted to a previously manufactured container 20 (equivalent to a lower portion) which has an opening 28 to the container interior ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the container of Ivosevic to include separable upper and lower portions as taught by Smith in order to predictably improve the versatility of the container by permitting, for instance, the connection of differently sized lower portions in order to enable the upper portion including the lid and flexible connection to be utilized for different volumes of collection. Regarding claim 1 8 , the combination of Ivosevic , Bartfeld and Smith teaches the collection container of claim 1 7 . However, Ivosevic does not explicitly disclose wherein the upper portion is sized to be press fit over the lower portion and, when fully seated on the lower portion, the upper portion is restricted from rotation relative to the lower portion. Smith additionally teaches wherein the upper portion is sized to be press fit over the lower portion ( paragraph 0045-0046 -- the closure skirt 90 could be provided with some other container connecting means, such as a snap-fit bead or groove (not illustrated) in place of the thread 92 for engaging a container neck groove or bead (not illustrated) ) and, when fully seated on the lower portion, the upper portion is restricted from rotation relative to the lower portion ( paragraph 0046, 005 0 -0052 -- the closure skirt 90 could be provided with some other container connecting means, such as a snap-fit bead or groove (not illustrated) … ). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the container of Ivosevic to include separable upper and lower portions as taught by Smith in order to predictably improve the versatility of the container by permitting, for instance, the connection of differently sized lower portions in order to enable the upper portion including the lid and flexible connection to be utilized for different volumes of collection. Regarding claim 1 9 , the combination of Ivosevic , Bartfeld and Smith teaches the collection container of claim 1. Ivosevic teaches wherein the lower portion of the container body comprises the lower portion closed bottom (lower closed bottom of collector portion 74, Fig 8) . However, Ivosevic does not explicitly disclose a lower portion open top, and a lower portion annular sidewall extending therebetween, and wherein the upper portion of the container body comprises an upper portion open bottom inserted over the lower portion open top of the container body, the upper portion open top, and an upper portion annular sidewall extending therebetween . Smith additionally teaches wherein the lower portion of the container body comprises the lower portion closed bottom (the lower portion comprises container 22 which has an unshown closed bottom, Fig 5; paragraph 0037 -- container 22 which contains a product hence has a closed bottom), a lower portion open top ( opening 28 of container 22, Fig 5), and a lower portion annular sidewall extending therebetween (annular sidewall between the bottom of container 22 and the opening/top 28, Fig 5), and wherein the upper portion of the container body comprises an upper portion open bottom inserted over the lower portion open top of the container body ( ring 100 of closure body 30 includes an opening , Fig 3; ring 100 is inserted over 28, Fig 5), the upper portion open top (open top 42, Fig 5), and an upper portion annular sidewall extending therebetween (annular sidewall 90 extending between 42 and 100, Fig 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the container of Ivosevic to include separable upper and lower portions such that the container includes a lower portion open top, and a lower portion annular sidewall extending therebetween, and wherein the upper portion of the container body comprises an upper portion open bottom inserted over the lower portion open top of the container body, the upper portion open top, and an upper portion annular sidewall extending therebetween as taught by Smith in order to predictably improve the versatility of the container by permitting, for instance, the connection of differently sized lower portions in order to enable the upper portion including the lid and flexible connection to be utilized for different volumes of collection. Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Ivosevic in view of Bartfeld, further in view of Smith, further in view of Zhou (US 20130020275 A1) . Regarding claim 20 , the combination of Ivosevic , Bartfeld and Smith teaches the collection container of claim 1 9 . However, Ivosevic fails to explicitly disclose wherein the lower portion of the container body comprises an annular flange extending radially outwardly from an outer surface of the lower portion annular sidewall, and wherein, when the upper portion is inserted onto the lower portion, the upper portion open bottom contacts the annular flange of the lower portion to restrict rotation of the upper portion relative to the lower portion . Smith teaches wherein the lower portion of the container body comprises an annular flange extending radially outwardly from an outer surface of the lower portion annular sidewall ( paragraph 0046 -- the upper container neck comprises a radially outward extending bead), and wherein, when the upper portion is inserted onto the lower portion, the upper portion open bottom contacts the annular flange of the lower portion ( paragraph 0046 -- the closure skirt 90 of the upper portion has a snap-fit groove for engaging the container bead) but does not explicitly teach restricting rotation of the upper portion relative to the lower portion through these elements . Zhou , in the same field of endeavor of a container having a secure lid, teaches a secure container cap assembly ( Abstract -- bottle with a secure ca p ) comprising a container body (container body 1 , Fig 2 ; paragraph 0033-- bottle 1 is a container for holding liquid) and a cap that is separable from the container body (cap 7, Fig 5 ; paragraph 0013, 0036-- the cap is very difficult to remove), wherein the cap is sized to be press fit over the container body (bottle 1 includes protrusions 5, Fig 2; cap 7 includes recesses 17 to press fit with the protrusions of the bottle, Fig 4 ; paragraph 0039-0040 -- the bottle 1 is inserted into the cap 7 with protrusions 5 engaging with recesses 17; paragraph 0010 -- push-on cap fitted over the neck), and when fully seated on the container body, the cap is restricted from rotation relative to the container body ( paragraph 0040-0041 -- when fully seated protrusions 5 abut ribs 16 and the cap is securely retained such that it is unable to rotate) in order to provide a cap in which it is difficult for an average person to remove the cap from the bottle ( paragraph 0012-0013 -- the present invention aims to prevent the cap from being removed so that it is very difficult for an average person to remove it). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the press fit configuration of the container body relative to the cap of the modified Ivosevic such that when fully seated on the container body, the cap is restricted from rotation relative to the container body as taught by Zhou in order to predictably improve the security of the cap by making it difficult to accidentally remove the cap by jostling or incidental movement . Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 21-23 and 25-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Ivosevic in view of Bartfeld, further in view of Smith, further in view of Zhou, further in view of Jones (US 3710971 A) . Regarding claim 2 1 , the combination of Ivosevic , Bartfeld, Smith , and Zhou teaches the collection container of claim 20 . However, the combination fails to explicitly disclose wherein the annular flange extending from the lower portion and the upper portion open bottom comprise corresponding ramp surfaces configured to be axially aligned when the upper portion is inserted onto the lower portion. Jones further teaches an upper cap which is inserted over an open mouth of a lower container ( col . 1, line 3-4 -- safety cap for vials and other containers), wherein the lower container comprises an annular flange extending from the lower portion (lower container 10 comprises a flange 11, Fig 1; Col. 2, line 20-24 -- peripheral flange 11 of container 10) and the upper portion open bottom also comprises a flange (open bottom of cap 20 comprising flange 21, Fig 1; Col. 2, line 28-30 -- annular shoulder 21 formed as an inner flange of cap 20), with corresponding ramp surfaces configured to be axially aligned (ramp 13 of flange 11 and ramp 23 of flange 21, Fig 1; Col. 2, line 26-27 -- ramp 13 immediately below 11; Col. 2, In 30-31 -- ramp 23 integral with flange 21; Col. 1, line 34-50 -- the two flanged wall portions carry a pair of coacting ramps which are positively interlocked to reassemble the container and its cap) . I t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the collection container of modified Ivosevic to further comprise corresponding ramp surfaces on the annular flange extending from the lower portion and the upper portion open bottom configured to be axially aligned when the upper portion is inserted onto the lower portion as taught by Jones in order to predictably improve the ease of use of the device by enabling easier exchange of parts when desired (see Jones, col . 1, line 41-45 -- the ramps exert a camming affect to more lift the cap off the container when desired ) . Regarding claim 2 2 , the combination of Ivosevic , Bartfeld, Smith, Zhou, and Jones teaches the collection container of claim 2 1 . Jones additionally teaches wherein rotation of the upper portion relative to the lower portion causes the ramp surface of the upper portion to slide along the ramp surface of the annular flange of the lower portion, thereby lifting the upper portion off of the lower portion ( Col. 1, line 41-47 -- in the uncapping rotational position of the upper cap portion relative to the lower portion the two ramps exert a radial camming affect upon the wall portions to enable lifting of the cap from the container). I t would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the collection container of modified Ivosevic to further comprise corresponding ramp surfaces on the annular flange extending from the lower portion and the upper portion open bottom configured to be axially aligned when the upper portion is inserted onto the lower portion as taught by Jones in order to predictably improve the ease of use of the device by enabling easier exchange of parts when desired (see Jones, col . 1, line 41-45 -- the ramps exert a camming affect to more lift the cap off the container when desired ) . Regarding claim 2 3 , the combination of Ivosevic, Bartfeld, Smith, Zhou, and Jones teaches the collection container of claim 21 . Smith additionally teaches wherein the lower portion comprises an annular protrusion extending radially outward from the outer surface of the lower portion sidewall ( paragraph 0046 -- the lower portion comprises a radially outward bead), and wherein an inner surface of the upper portion sidewall comprises an annular recess that receives the annular protrusion of the lower portion ( paragraph 0046 -- the upper portion skirt 90 comprises a snap-fit groove for engaging the lower portion bead). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the container of Ivosevic to include separable upper and lower portions such that the container includes an annular protrusion extending radially outward from the outer surface of the lower portion sidewall, and wherein an inner surface of the upper portion sidewall comprises an annular recess that receives the annular protrusion of the lower portion as taught by Smith in order to predictably improve the versatility of the container by permitting, for instance, the connection of differently sized lower portions in order to enable the upper portion including the lid and flexible connection to be utilized for different volumes of collection. Regarding claim 2 5 , the combination of Ivosevic, Bartfeld, Smith, Zhou, and Jones teaches the collection container of claim 21. However, the combination does not teach wherein an inner surface of the lower portion sidewall comprises a tapered portion that tapers radially inwardly from the lower portion open top. Bartfeld further teaches a blood collection tube (see collection tube 32, Fig 5; paragraph 0038 -- tube 32 used for collection and containment of blood) with an inner surface sidewall tapered portion that tapers radially inward (see inner surface sidewall 58 which tapers radially inward, Fig 5) in order promote the flow of the sample into the bottom (paragraph 0042 -- the angled directing surface 58 helps promote the flow of the specimen into the interior). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the inner surface near the lower portion open top of modified Ivosevic to taper radially inward as taught by Bartfeld in order to predictably improve the flow of the sample into the bottom of the container (see Bartfeld paragraph 0042) . Regarding claim 2 6 , the combination of Ivosevic, Bartfeld, Smith, Zhou, and Jones teaches the collection container of claim 25. Smith additionally teaches wherein there is tapered interference fit between the outer surface of the lower portion sidewall and the inner surface of the upper portion sidewall (tapered interference fit between the outer surface of 22 and the inner surface of 90, Fig 5; para graph 0046 -- snap-fit connection). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the container of Ivosevic to include separable upper and lower portions such that the container includes tapered interference fit between the outer surface of the lower portion sidewall and the inner surface of the upper portion sidewall as taught by Smith in order to predictably improve the versatility of the container by permitting, for instance, the connection of differently sized lower portions in order to enable the upper portion including the lid and flexible connection to be utilized for different volumes of collection. Claim(s) FILLIN "Insert the claim numbers which are under rejection." \d "[ 1 ]" 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FILLIN "Insert the prior art relied upon." \d "[ 2 ]" Ivosevic in view of Bartfeld, further in view of Smith, further in view of Zhou, further in view of Jones, further in view of Neuner (US 20020079280) . Regarding claim 2 4 , the combination of Ivosevic, Smith, Zhou, and Jones teaches the collection container of claim 2 3 . However, the combination does not teach wherein the annular protrusion extending from the lower portion comprises a sloped upper surface, a substantially planar lower surface, and a cylindrical peripheral edge extending therebetween. Neuner further teaches a neck member for a container (neck member 30, Fig 4; paragraph 0027- 0028 -- neck member 30 for a vial-like container) which comprises an annular protrusion comprising a sloped upper portion, substantially planar lower portion, and a cylindrical peripheral edge (cap engaging means 37 comprising a sloped upper portion, substantially planar flat lower portion, and cylindrical peripheral edge, Fig 4; paragraph 0028 -- cap engaging means 37 such as a bead for receiving a snap cap) in order to provide a finely detailed structure to have a close tolerance with a cap suitable for an impermeable closure (the annular protrusions mate with cap 39, Fig 5; paragraph 0029 -- the cap engaging means are molded to have finely detailed structure to have a close tolerance for an impermeable closure with a cap 39). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the annular protrusion of Ivosevic combined with Smith to comprise a sloped upper surface, a substantially planar lower surface, and a cylindrical peripheral edge extending therebetween as taught by Neuner in order to predictably improve the safety and security of the device by providing more detailed structure to mate with corresponding features of a cap to provide a more closure that would prevent spills or contamination to the sample . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ANNA ROBERTS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-7912 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8:30-4:30 EST . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interv