Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed June 11, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-9, 15 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koichi et al. (JP H1142698A, English translation provided), further in view of Spurr et al. (US 4,140,464).
Regarding claim 1, Koichi discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 3, a resin container manufacturing device comprising:
an injection molding part (e.g., preform 24 (page 8, line 462)) configured to injection-mold a first number of bottomed resin preforms (e.g., two rows of 16 preforms 24 are injection molded (page 6, line 337)) by using an injection molding mold (e.g., injection molding device 28 (page 8, line 462)), the injection molding mold comprising an injection core mold (e.g., injection core mold 42 (page 4, line 210)) and an injection cavity mold (e.g., injection cavity mold 40 (page 4, line 210));
a temperature adjustment part (e.g., cooling station 14 and heating station 16 (page 4, line 224)) comprising a housing member (e.g., preform transfer mechanism 20 (page 8, lines 461-462)) configured to receive the preforms demolded from the injection core mold in a high-temperature state, the temperature adjustment part being configured to perform temperature adjustment on the preforms (page 4, [0038], [0039]); and
a blow molding part configured to receive the preforms from the temperature adjustment part and blow-mold the preforms into resin containers (page 4, [0040] (e.g., the stretch blow molding station 18)),
wherein the injection core mold is configured to reciprocate between an injection molding position of the preforms and a demolding position of the preforms (page 6, [0055], lines 337-339 (e.g., in the injection molding station 12 (as shown in Fig. 3), two rows of 61 preforms 24 are injection-molded, and when the upper mold clamping platen 36 is lifted and the preforms 24 are released from the injection cavity mold 40)), and
As illustrated in Fig. 2 or 3, Koichi discloses that, the preform transfer mechanism 20 includes a take-out mechanism 84 and the take-out mechanism 84 with respect to a support base 100 (page 5, [0043], lines 247-248).
As illustrated in Fig. 3, Koichi discloses that, after the gripping mechanism 120 holds the neck portion of the preform 24, the elevating cylinder 132 raises the elevating table 155, and the two horizontal rotating cylinders 122 with the preform 24 completely pulled out from the placing member 98 (page 7, [0057], lines 370-372).
Thus, at this location (as shown in Fig. 3), the take-out mechanism totally finished the demolding of the preforms. Thus, Koichi discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 3, the injection molding position is in the injection molding station 12 and the completely demolding of the preform is finished in the preform transfer mechanism 20 which is located in a different position from the injection molding station 12.
wherein the temperature adjustment part is configured to perform the temperature adjustment by dividing the preforms housed in the housing member into a third number of groups, each of the third number of groups comprising a second number of preforms that is smaller than the first number (e.g., as illustrated in Fig. 2, in the cooling station 14, two sets of four cylindrical rotary mounting members 142 are arranged in the transport direction A (page 6, [0052], lines 318-319). Thus, these two sets of four housing members for transporting the preforms in the temperature adjustment unit(s) are considered as the third number and the second number of groups/preforms which is smaller than the first number of preforms (i.e., 16 pieces in total)).
However, Koichi does not explicitly teach that ‘the injection core mold is configured to reciprocate between an injection molding position of the preforms and a demolding position of the preforms, the injection molding position and the demolding position differing in position in a plane according to a horizontal plane, wherein the preforms are injection-molded at the injection molding position and the preforms are demolded from the injection core mold at the demolding position’.
In the same field of endeavor, formation of bottles, Spurr discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 2, the parison forming section includes a stationary mold die plate 22 (col. 4, lines 14-15). Neck rings 24 which support parisons 21 are attached to neck ring carriage 25 (col. 4, lines 20-21). Neck ring carriage 25 is slidable on carriage slide bar 26 to allow the neck ring to be moved back and forth with respect to parison molds 22 and storage area 40. The core rod die plate 27 (with the core rods 29) is the main movable platten of the parison forming press and applied the force to the mold components (col. 4, lines 26-32). It is noticed that, the injection molding position and the demolding position are different in a plane according to a horizontal plane.
It would have been obvious to use the apparatus of Koichi to have the resin container manufacturing device as Spurr teaches that it is known to have the injection core mold is configured to reciprocate between an injection molding position of the preforms and a demolding position of the preforms, the injection molding position and the demolding position differing in position in a plane according to a horizontal plane, wherein the preforms are injection-molded at the injection molding position and the preforms are demolded from the injection core mold at the demolding position. It has been held that the combination of known technique to improve similar device is likely to be obvious when it does not more than yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007) (See MPEP 2143- exemplary rationales).
Regarding claims 2, 3, 4, 5, Koichi discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 1, 2, 3, the housing member comprising:
a first housing member (e.g., one of two sets of gripping mechanism 120 having gripper member 124 (page 5, [0048], [0049], lines 292-293)) configured to move the housed preforms along a first route from the demolding position to a first transfer position at which the temperature adjustment is performed ([0048], [0049], [0050], [0051]); and
a second housing member (e.g., one of two sets of gripping mechanism 120 having gripper member 124 (page 5, [0048], [0049], lines 292-293)) configured to move housed preforms along a second route different from the first route from the demolding position to a second transfer position at which the temperature adjustment is performed ([0048], [0049], [0050], [0051]), and
wherein while the preforms housed in one of the first housing member and the second housing member are conveyed to the temperature adjustment part or the blow molding part, the other of the first housing member and the second housing member is disposed at the demolding position and waits for reception of the preforms to be injection-molded next (as shown in Fig. 2; page 6, [0051], [0052], [0053], [0055]).
As illustrated in Fig. 3, there are two rows of the injection core mold 42 corresponding with the respective injection cavity mold 40. One row of the injection core mold 42 is 8 pieces being considered as the first injection core mold and another row of the injection core mold 42 is 8 pieces being considered as the second injection core mold. When the upper mold clamping platen 36 is lifted and the preforms 24 are released from the injection cavity mold 40 (page 6l [0055], lines 337-338) (related to claim 4 (i.e., for demolding, respectively)). The released preforms 24 falls into the mounting members 98 while being guided by the injection core mold 42 (page 6, [55], lines 348-349). The griping mechanism 120 is exposed on the mounting member 98 from the upper retracted position by the elevating cylinder 132 and then the gripping member 124 is to hold the neck portion of the preform 24 (page 7, [0057], lines 365-372) (related to claim 3). Each gripping mechanism 120 is horizontally rotated by 90 degrees (page 7, [0057], lines 372-373). After confirming that the preform 24 has been completely pulled out from the placing member 98, the moving table 134 (it is noticed that, as illustrated in Fig. 3, the gripping mechanism 120 is mounted under the table 134) is moved along the horizontal drive rail 133 by the horizontal drive cylinder 135 (page 7, [0057], lines 376-377). It is noticed that, the two rows of the preforms 24 gripped by the gripper member 124 are entering the cooling zone 14 (i.e., the temperature adjustment zone) (related to claim 5).
Regarding claim 9, Koichi discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the heating station 16 has a heating box 64 having an infrared heater (page 4, [0039], lines 231-232).
Regarding claim 15, Koichi discloses that, as illustrated in Fig. 1, the housing member (item 20 in Fig. 1) containing a second number of preforms moves intermittently between the demolding position and a transfer position (i.e., as illustrated in Fig. 1, between the demolding station 12 and the transfer station 22, there are the heating station 16 and the cooling station 14 (page 7, [0060] and [0061], lines 405-410). The second number of preforms are moving inside them).
Claims 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Koichi et al. (JP H1142698A, English translation provided) and Spurr et al. (US 4,140,464) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Tsuchiya (WO 2020/158917, English version based on US 2022/0009145).
Regarding claims 6, 7, Koichi in the combination does not explicitly disclose that, in the temperature adjustment part, a temperature adjustment core member is applied to insert into the preform to perform the temperature adjustment and during the filling/injecting and cooling of the preforms, the cooling time is ½ or less of the filling time. In the same field of endeavor, injection blow-molding, Tsuchiya discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 3, 4, the temperature adjustment core mold 21 or the air introduction /discharge member 21a is inserted into the preform 1 ([0034], lines 12-14) and By contact with the temperature adjustment core mold 21 and the temperature adjustment cavity mold 22, the preform is cooled and is temperature-adjusted to a temperature suitable for blow molding ([0035], lines 1-7 from bottom). Tsuchiya discloses that, for example, preferably the cooling time is ½ or less of the injection/filling time ([0030], lines 1-3 from bottom) (related to claim 7).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination to incorporate the teachings of Tsuchiya to provide that the temperature adjustment core member is applied to insert into the preform to perform the temperature adjustment and during the filling/injecting and cooling of the preforms, the cooling time is ½ or less of the filling time. Doing so would be possible to manufacture a container of good quality where a molding cycle time is shortened, as recognized by Tsuchiya ([0008], [0009]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Koichi et al. (JP H1142698A, English translation provided) and Spurr et al. (US 4,140,464) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Yanagisawa (EP2599610).
Regarding claim 8, Koichi in the combination does not disclose an intermediate blow-molded part before obtaining the final resin containers. In the same field of endeavor, containers, Yanagisawa discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 2, 3, in a primary blow-molding station 140, an intermediate molded article 40 is produced first and in the final blow-molding station 230, the final container 10 is produced ([0028], [0029], [0030], [0031]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination to incorporate the teachings of Yanagisawa to provide the intermediate blow-molded part before obtaining the resin containers. Doing so would be possible to manufacture a container with a heat-resistant property at a relatively low cost, as recognized by Yanagisawa ([0010], [0011]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/11/2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s arguments (as amended) with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741