DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention because:
The metes and bounds of Claim 1 are not clearly defined. Claim 1 sets forth the hollow particles must satisfy a condition 1 but do not set forth the units for the aerated bulk density (d2) used to calculate condition 1. Additionally, the values of 58 and 78 in the equation described as formula (I) would also appear to require units, as aerated bulk density is not a dimensionless quantity. For the purposes of examination, the aerated bulk density used to calculated condition 1 and resultant formula (I) values will be interpreted to be in units of g/cm3. However, applicant is advised that it is unclear if the instant specification provides support for this interpretation.
As Claims 2 – 13 depend from Claim 1 and do not remedy the deficiencies thereof, they are also rejected under this statute.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 – 7, 10, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0194415 to Tayagaki et al. (hereinafter Tayagaki).
Regarding Claim 1. Tayagaki teaches hollow resin particles comprising a thermoplastic resin shell and a hollow part surrounded by the shell [0052]. The hollow particles have a true specific gravity of 0.01 to 0.10 [0104]. In Example 16, the hollow resin particles prepared have a true specific gravity of 0.065 (Table 6).
Tayagaki is silent with respect to the hollow particles meeting instantly claimed condition 1. However, the hollow resin particles of Example 16 are prepared by substantially the same method as Inventive Example 1 of the instant specification. Specifically, the particles in both examples are prepared by feeding expandable microspheres at a rate of 0.5 kg/min, a flow rate of the hot airflow at 8.0 m3/min, and the temperature of the hot airflow at 270°C (see [0253] – [0254] of Tayagaki and [0176] of the PG-PUB of the instant application). In the instant application, the inventive examples differ from the comparative examples in that all of the instant claimed processing conditions are provided, except that the temperature of the comparative examples is 300°C and condition 1 is consequently not satisfied. On the other hand, the hollow particles of Example 16 of Tayagaki have a specific gravity in the instantly claimed range and are prepared by substantially the same process, including an identical hot airflow temperature to Example 1 (270°C) which is shown in the instant application to provide hollow particles which satisfy instantly claimed condition 1. It is consequently the Office’s position that it would be reasonably expected that the hollow particles of Tayagaki satisfy claimed condition 1.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding Claim 3. Tayagaki teaches the hollow particles of Claim 1 have a mean particle size of 64.1 microns (see Example 16 in Table 6).
Regarding Claims 4 and 10. Tayagaki teaches the hollow particles of Claims 1 and 3 are prepared from heat expandable microspheres 18 (Table 6). Heat expandable microspheres 18 contain a thermoplastic resin which is the polymer of a polymerizable component comprising acrylonitrile (Table 3), i.e. a nitrile monomer.
Regarding Claims 5, 12, and 13. Tayagaki teaches the hollow particles of Claim 1, 3, and 4 but is silent regarding the ability of the hollow particles to satisfy instantly claimed condition 2. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Tayagaki teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. hollow particles satisfying instantly claimed condition 2, would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 6. Tayagaki teaches a composition formed by combining the hollow particles of Claim 1 with a base component/material [0029].
Regarding Claim 7. Tayagaki teaches a formed product manufactured by forming the composition according to Claim 6 [0029].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8, 9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2019/0194415 to Tayagaki et al. (hereinafter Tayagaki), as applied to Claim 1 above.
Regarding Claim 2. Tayagaki teaches the hollow particles of Claim 1 but is silent regarding the ash content thereof in Example 16. However, in the general disclosure, Tayagaki teaches the ash content of the hollow particles of the present invention is preferably 2.5 weight percent or lower [0048]. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the hollow particles of Example 16 of Tayagaki with an ash content of 2.5 weight percent or less. The motivation would have been that the Tayagaki teaches hollow particles having an ash content of 2.5 weight percent or lower form an aggregate loosely cohered and isolable by weak external force to attain better effect of the disclosed invention [0048].
Regarding Claim 8. Tayagaki teaches the hollow particles of Claim 2 have a mean particle size of 64.1 microns (see Example 16 in Table 6).
Regarding Claim 9. Tayagaki teaches the hollow particles of Claim 2 are prepared from heat expandable microspheres 18 (Table 6). Heat expandable microspheres 18 contain a thermoplastic resin which is the polymer of a polymerizable component comprising acrylonitrile (Table 3), i.e. a nitrile monomer.
Regarding Claim 11. Tayagaki teaches the hollow particles of Claim 12 but is silent regarding the ability of the hollow particles to satisfy instantly claimed condition 2. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, Tayagaki, when modified in the manner proposed, teaches a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. hollow particles satisfying instantly claimed condition 2, would implicitly be achieved in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. See In Re Spada, 911, F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties in a product prepared from all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process.
Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 10,941,267 also pertains to hollow particles obtained from heat-expandable microspheres comprising thermoplastic resin shells based on nitrile monomers.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764