DETAILED ACTION
Claims 18-20, 22-26, and 28-39 are pending. Claims 1-17 and 21 were previously cancelled.
Claims 18, 24, 28, 30, and 38 have been amended. Claim 27 has been cancelled.
Claim 39 is new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 01/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
In response to the argument that the cited references do not teach a shielding surface disposed above the top surface of the mounting panel, a connection surface that connects the shielding surface to the mounting panel, and a support surface that defines an end of the connection surface facing the corner of the mounting panel, the support surface being in contact with and supported by the mounting panel, Examiner has further clarified the claimed features.
Regarding the shielding surface disposed above the top surface of the mounting panel, Lee’s control panel 14 has multiple surfaces, all of which are disposed above the top surface of the front panel 10F (FIG. 2).
Regarding the connection surface and the support surface, see the following figures of Lee.
[AltContent: textbox (This defines a support surface that defines an end of the connection surface facing the corner of the mounting panel, the support surface being in contact with and supported by the mounting panel)][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: oval][AltContent: textbox (This defines a connection surface that connects the shielding surface to the mounting panel)]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20, 22, 30-32, and 37-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR20080093345 (henceforth referred to as Lee) in view of Lim et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0256984 (henceforth referred to as Lim) and Roose et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0025214 (henceforth referred to as Roose).
As to claim 18, (Currently Amended) Lee teaches a laundry treatment apparatus comprising:
a cabinet comprising (i) a cabinet body having an open surface (FIG. 2 page 6 main frame 10M has an opening on the front), (ii) a cover panel that defines a top surface of the cabinet body (FIG. 2 page 6 upper panel 10U), (iii) a mounting panel that is coupled to the cabinet body (FIG. 2 page 6 front panel 10F covers the front side of the open main frame 10M), and that defines a panel inlet (FIG. 2 page 5 inlet 10a), and (vi) a panel support that is disposed between the mounting panel and the cabinet body and couples the mounting panel to the cabinet body (see following Figure 2 for panel support);
a drum rotatably disposed inside the cabinet and configured to receive laundry, the drum defining a drum inlet that faces the panel inlet (FIGS. 1-2 page 5 laundry is fed through inlet 10a into the rotating drum 12); and
a shielding part comprising (i) a shielding body that blocks an upper part of the mounting panel from being exposed to an outside of the cabinet (FIG. 2 control panel 14, which reads on the claimed shielding part, blocks a space between the mounting panel and the cabinet body), (ii) a panel fastening portion that couples the shielding body to the mounting panel (FIG. 3 page 7 catch hooks 14c are provided on the lower surface of the control panel 14 to hook into the installation holes 10e on the upper surface of front panel 10F),
wherein the mounting panel has (i) a top surface, (ii) a front surface, and (iii) a corner that connects the top surface of the mounting panel to the front surface of the mounting panel, the corner having a preset curvature (FIG. 2 page 6 front panel has an upper edge and a front surface. The upper edge and the front surface are connected by a corner which has a preset curvature),
wherein the shielding body comprises:
a shielding surface disposed above the top surface of the mounting panel (FIG. 2 page 6 control panel 14 is installed on the upper side of the front panel 10F. The surfaces of control panel 14 are above the top surface of the front panel 10F),
a connection surface that connects the shielding surface to the mounting panel (FIGS. 1-2 there is a connection surface that connects control panel 14 to the front panel 10F), and
a support surface that defines an end of the connection surface facing the corner of the mounting panel, the support surface being in contact with and supported by the mounting panel (FIG. 1 page 6 the lower surface of the control panel 14 is installed by being secured to the upper surface of the front panel 10F),
wherein the connection surface comprises (i) an inclined surface that is inclined with respect to the mounting panel toward the shielding surface or (ii) a curved surface having a preset curvature (FIG. 2 the edge that connects the front surface of control panel 14 and the lower surface of control panel 14 has a preset curvature), and
wherein the corner of the mounting panel and the support surface of the shielding body contact each other and define a single boundary line (FIG. 1 the control panel 14 is connected to the corner of the front panel 10F and define a single boundary line).
Lee differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a mounting panel not covered by a cover panel and an extension fastening portion that couples the shielding body to the panel support.
Lim teaches a similar laundry treatment apparatus (paragraph [0012] washing or drying machine). Lim teaches a mounting panel not covered by a cover panel (FIGS. 2 or 16 the mounting panel is not covered by a cover panel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Lee with a mounting panel not covered by a cover panel as taught by Lim. It is known in the art for the cover panel to not extend above the mounting panel (Lim FIGS. 2, 7, 8, etc.) as it is a common configuration for a laundry treatment apparatus.
Roose teaches a similar laundry treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0037] laundry washing appliance 1). Roose teaches an extension fastening portion that couples the shielding body to the panel support (FIG. 4 paragraph [0045] corner bracket 31 reads on the claimed extension fastening portion).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Lee with an extension fastening portion as taught by Roose. It would have been obvious to use the extension fastening portion in order to secure the control panel to the front cabinet (paragraph [0045]).
As to claim 19, (Previously Presented) Lee further teaches the top surface of the mounting panel faces the shielding surface (FIGS. 1-2 the upper edge of front panel 10F faces the shielding surface (control panel 14)), and the front surface of the mounting panel defines the panel inlet (FIG. 2 page 6 front panel 10F has the inlet 10a).
As to claim 20, (Previously Presented) Lee further teaches the connection surface is convex in a direction away from the top surface of the mounting panel (FIG. 1 control panel 14 has a connection surface that is convex and extends past the top surface of front panel 10F, which reads on a direction away from the top surface away from the mounting panel).
As to claim 22, (Previously Presented) Lee further teaches a distance between the support surface and the cabinet body is less than a distance between the cabinet body and a surface of the mounting panel having the panel inlet (FIG. 1 the distance between the lower surface of control panel 14 and the main frame 10M is less than the distance between the main frame 10M and the front surface of the front panel 10F).
As to claim 30, (Currently Amended) Roose further teaches the shielding part further comprises a reinforcing rib that protrudes from the shielding body toward the mounting panel and provides a rigidity of the shielding body (FIG. 4 paragraph [0045] top flange 41 of the L bracket reads on the claimed reinforcing rib. Top flange 41 has a hole for a screw attachment, which would provide a rigidity of the shielding body).
As to claim 31, (Previously Presented) Roose further teaches the reinforcing rib extends from the extension fastening portion in a direction away from the panel support (FIG. 4 the top flange 41 extends from corner bracket 31 and extends in a direction that is above the panel support).
As to claim 32, (Previously Presented) Lee and Roose further teach the cabinet defines a panel through-hole that passes through the mounting panel (Lee FIG. 2 page 6 front panel 10F has the inlet 10a), and wherein the laundry treatment apparatus further comprises:
a first circuit board disposed inside the cabinet (Roose FIG. 10 paragraph [0051] PCB 58 is disposed inside the cabinet); and
an encoder (Roose paragraph [0039] rotary encoder) comprising
(i) a fixed part fixed to the first circuit board (Roose paragraph [0039] rotary encoder may be mounted on a PCB surface),
(ii) a rotary part rotatably coupled to the fixed part (Roose FIGS. 6 and 10 paragraph [0039] a central shaft of the main control knob 9 is connected to the shaft 14 of a rotary encoder), and
(iii) a signal generator configured to generate an electrical signal based on rotation of the rotary part (Roose paragraph [0039] illumination elements 13 are arrayed about the control knob 9 to provide visual indication of a particular operation selection corresponding to the knob position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Lee with a circuit board and encoder as taught by Roose. It is known in the art to use circuit boards to provide structure to electronic components. Additionally, it is known in the art to use a rotatable knob to input an operational setting for a laundry treatment apparatus and to indicate the setting that was chosen with a signal.
As to claim 37, (Previously Presented) Lee further teaches the shielding surface is spaced apart from the top surface of the mounting panel (FIG. 2 control panel 14 is spaced apart from front panel 14 (i.e. it is separable from front panel 14)), and the connection surface extends forward from the shielding surface toward the front surface of the mounting panel (FIG. 1 the connection surface extends forward from the shielding surface toward the front surface of the of front panel 10F), and
wherein a front portion of the connection surface is curved down to the top surface of the mounting panel (FIG. 1 the front portion of control panel 14 is curved down to the top surface of front panel 10F), the connection surface being disposed rearward relative to the front surface of the mounting panel (FIG. 1 the connection surface of control panel 14 is rearward relative to the front surface of front panel 10F).
As to claim 38, (Currently Amended) Lee further teaches the single boundary line extends horizontally across the front surface of the mounting panel in a width direction of the cabinet (FIG. 2 the single boundary line extends horizontally across the front surface of the mounting plate in a width direction of the cabinet).
As to claim 39, (New) Lee and Lim further teach the shielding surface is a top surface of the shielding part and disposed below the top surface of the cabinet body (Lee FIG. 1 the shielding surface, being a top surface of the shielding part, is disposed below the top surface of the upper panel 10U), and
wherein a rear end of the shielding part is disposed forward relative to a front end of the cover panel and is in contact with the front end of the cover panel (Lim FIG. 16 the rear end of the decorative place 327, is disposed forward relative to a front end of the upper portion of front surface of the cabinet 321 and is in contact with the cover panel).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR20080093345 (henceforth referred to as Lee), Lim et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0256984 (henceforth referred to as Lim), and Roose et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0025214 (henceforth referred to as Roose) in view of Kim et al. U.S. Publication 2009/0223256 (henceforth referred to as Kim-256).
As to claim 23, (Previously Presented) Lee further teaches the support surface being in contact with and supported by the corner of the mounting panel (FIG. 1 the support surface is in contact with and supported by the corner of the front panel 10F).
Lee, Lim, and Roose differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the support surface is parallel to the front surface of the mounting panel.
Kim-256 teaches a similar laundry treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0035] a drum type washing machine). Kim-256 teaches the support surface is parallel to the front surface of the mounting panel (FIGS. 1 and 2 show that display unit 220a and front plate 112 are parallel.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Lee, Lim, and Roose with a support surface is parallel to the front surface of the mounting panel as taught by Kim-256. Having a support surface parallel to the front surface of the mounting panel is merely a variation in shape in which the surfaces are connected.
Claim 24-26 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR20080093345 (henceforth referred to as Lee), Lim et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0256984 (henceforth referred to as Lim), and Roose et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0025214 (henceforth referred to as Roose) in view of Li et al. WO2020253595 (henceforth referred to as Li).
As to claim 24, (Currently Amended) Lee, Lim, and Roose differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the shielding body further comprises an extension surface that extends from the shielding surface toward the cover panel and blocks a space between the panel support and the cover panel from being exposed to the outside.
Li teaches a similar laundry treatment apparatus (FIGS. 1-2 paragraph [0078] drum washing machine). Li teaches the shielding body further comprises an extension surface that extends from the shielding surface toward the cover panel and blocks a space between the panel support and the cover panel from being exposed to the outside (FIGS. 6-7 paragraph [0060] top frame 106 has a horizontally positioned fixed-edge body 1060 and a first arc-shaped flange 1061 that extends from the shielding surface toward the cover panel. The first arc-shaped flange 1061 helps to reduce the size of the fitting gap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Lee, Lim, and Roose with an extension surface as taught by Li. Having the extension surface that extends from the shielding surface makes can help with reducing the size of the fitting gap, slow down the rate of water penetration, and increase the aesthetic appeal (paragraph [0060]).
As to claim 25, (Previously Presented) Li further teaches the extension surface is in contact with (FIGS. 6-7 top frame 106 is in contact with a corner of tabletop 109) and supported by a corner of the cover panel (FIGS. 6 and 10 paragraph [0063] a positioning post 1093 extends into the first positioning hole 1064. This would read that the extension surface is supported by a corner of the cover panel).
As to claim 26, (Previously Presented) Li further teaches one end of the extension surface contacts the cover panel and has a shape corresponding to the corner of the cover panel (FIGS. 6-7 the extension surface contacts the cover panel and has a shape corresponding to the corner of the cover panel).
As to claim 28, (Currently Amended) Lee, Lim, and Roose differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the extension fastening portion is disposed between the mounting panel and the panel support and connects the mounting panel to the panel support.
Li teaches a similar laundry treatment apparatus (FIGS. 1-2 paragraph [0078] drum washing machine). Li teaches the extension fastening portion is disposed between the mounting panel and the panel support and connects the mounting panel to the panel support (FIGS. 6-7 the inclined portion 1063 is located between the mounting panel and the panel support and connects the front panel 101 to the support edge 1105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Lee and Roose with an extension fastening portion as taught by Li. It would have been obvious to place the extension fastening portion between the mounting panel and the panel support as it would improve manufacturing and assembly efficiency (paragraph [0023]).
As to claim 29, (Previously Presented) Lee, Roose, and Li further teach the panel fastening portion comprises:
a front fastening portion that protrudes from the shielding body toward the mounting panel (Lee FIG. 3 page 7 catch hooks 14c are provided on the lower surface of the control panel 14 to hook into the installation holes 10e on the upper surface of front panel 10F);
a rear fastening portion spaced apart from the front fastening portion toward the cabinet body (Roose FIG. 4 paragraph [0045] engaging hook 33); and
a side fastening portion spaced apart from the front fastening portion and the rear fastening portion (Li FIG. 10 paragraph [0068] side flange 1041 that bends inward is provided along the rear end of the side frames 104).
Claims 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR20080093345 (henceforth referred to as Lee), Lim et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0256984 (henceforth referred to as Lim), and Roose et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0025214 (henceforth referred to as Roose) as applied to claim 32 above, in further view of De Pellegrin et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0137991 (henceforth referred De Pellegrin).
As to claim 33, (Previously Presented) Roose further teaches an actuator, the actuator comprising:
a shaft inserted into the panel through-hole and coupled to the rotary part (FIGS. 6 and 10 paragraph [0039] a central shaft of the main control knob 9 goes through the panel through hole and is coupled to the rotary encoder), the shaft defining a shaft through-hole that passes through the shaft and receives the rotary part inserted thereinto control knob 9 has a shaft through-hole in order to connect to the shaft 14 of the rotary encoder); and
a handle fixed to the shaft and positioned outside of the cabinet (main control knob 9 is a handle), the shaft being configured to receive force for rotating the shaft (paragraph [0039] main control knob 9 is rotatable).
Lee, Lim, and Roose differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the handle has: an accommodation space that is defined inside the handle and in fluid communication with the shaft through-hole, and a handle through-hole that passes through a surface of the handle and fluidly connects the accommodation space with an outside of the handle.
De Pellegrin teaches a similar laundry treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0043] laundry treatment appliance 1). De Pellegrin teaches the handle (paragraph [0049] knob shell 88 reads on the claimed handle) has: an accommodation space that is defined inside the handle and in fluid communication with the shaft through-hole (FIG. 3 knob shell 88 has an accommodation space), and a handle through-hole that passes through a surface of the handle and fluidly connects the accommodation space with an outside of the handle (FIG. 3 paragraph [0049] knob shell 88 has a through-hole that connects the accommodation space with an outside).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Lee, Lim, and Roose with a handle as taught by De Pellegrin. The knob shell as described by De Pellegrin can provide protection of the circuit board (paragraph [0056]) and can allow for easy movement of the handle without moving the display window 80 (paragraph [0052]).
As to claim 34, (Previously Presented) De Pellegrin further teaches a display part, the display part comprising:
a fastening body (FIG. 3 paragraph [0050] snap teeth 106) inserted into the shaft through-hole and fixed to the fixed part;
an accommodation body fixed to the fastening body and disposed inside the accommodation space (FIG. 3 paragraph [0050] display window 80 has a body); and
a display that is fixed to the accommodation body (FIG. 3 paragraph [0050] the body of display window 80 has is imposed on a display support 68) and faces the handle through-hole (FIG. 3 display 70 faces the through-hole), the display being configured to display information (FIG. 3 paragraph [0047] display 70 displays information).
As to claim 35, (Previously Presented) De Pellegrin further teaches the display is configured to display preset information based on the electrical signal generated by the signal generator (paragraph [0047] display 70 displays information to the user regarding the selected laundry treatment program and/or parameters).
Claim 36 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. KR20080093345 (henceforth referred to as Lee), Lim et al. U.S. Publication 2008/0256984 (henceforth referred to as Lim), and Roose et al. U.S. Publication 2010/0025214 (henceforth referred to as Roose) in view of Kim et al. KR20200041463 (henceforth referred to as Kim-463).
As to claim 36, (Previously Presented) Lee, Lim, and Roose differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the mounting panel is made of a metal material, and wherein the shielding part is made of a synthetic resin material.
Kim-463 teaches a similar laundry treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0030] home appliance 1, which may be a washing machine). Kim-463 teaches the mounting panel is made of a metal material(FIG. 1 paragraph [0034] the housing 10 may be made of metal material), the shielding part is made of a synthetic resin material (FIG. 1 paragraph [0042] the control panel 20 may be made of synthetic resin).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treatment apparatus as taught by Lee, Lim, and Roose with a mounting panel made of metal and a shielding part made of resin as taught by Kim-463. It is known in the art to use metal for the mounting panel as it would provide a sturdy framing that can withstand heat. Additionally, if the shielding part needs to be replaced, it would be more cost effective if it was composed of synthetic resin.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711