Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 23 of page 7, “no less than less is than” is unclear. The examiner recommends that this be amended to “less than”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the dispersion of claim 1 comprising 0.5 to 40% of component (e), but claim 1 does not recite a component (e), and it is unclear what the component (e) is supposed to refer to. For the purposes of examination, any additional component is considered to meet the limitations of component (e).
Claims 10-11 recite a process comprising a “dispersing step through addition of water to form the prepolymer A) or transfer of the prepolymer A) to an aqueous receiver vessel”. It is therefore unclear whether the addition of water is necessary to form the prepolymer A), or whether the prepolymer A) is already obtained from the previous step(s) and is simply being dispersed in water.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Blum (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2008/0194775).
In paragraphs 9-14 Blum discloses aqueous UV-hardenable dispersions based on polyisocyanates. The dispersion comprises one or more polyisocyanates with an average functionality of at least 2.2, comprising an oligomeric polyisocyanate of hexamethylene diisocyanate with urethane, biuret, iminooxidiazindione and/or isocyanate structural units, meeting the limitations of component (a) of claims 1. The dispersion of Blum further comprises at least one monohydroxy-functional compound containing (meth)acryloyl groups, corresponding to component (b) of claim 1 when the (meth)acryloyl groups include at least one acryloyl group. The dispersion of Blum further comprises a component (c) which can be (c2), non-hydrophilically acting groups comprising at least one isocyanate reactive group, meeting the limitations of component (c) of claim 1. It is noted that the “and/or” language in paragraph 12 of Blum indicates that the ionic hydrophilizing group is not required, therefore meeting the proviso of claim 1 that the reaction product have no ionogenic or ionically hydrophilizing groups. The dispersion of Blum also comprises one or more difunctional and/or polyfunctional amines or hydroxyamines as a chain extender, and in paragraph 45 discloses various suitable diamines and diethylenetriamine meeting the limitations of component (d) of claim 1. Claim 1 is therefore anticipated by Blum.
In paragraphs 30-31 Blum discloses that the component (a) can comprise specific oligomeric polyisocyanates in the relative amounts recited in claims 3-4. In paragraphs 23 and 49-53 Blum discloses that the composition can comprise 0.5 to 40% by weight of a component (e), as recited in claim 5. In paragraphs 37-39 and 42 Blum discloses that the hydrophilizing components can be monohydric polyethylene oxide polyether oxides having a molecular weight of 500 to 1100, as recited in claim 6. In paragraphs 47-48 Blum discloses that the component (d) is preferably used to provide a degree of chain extension of 100 to 200%, as recited in claim 7. In paragraph 25 Blum discloses that the dispersions have an acid number of 0 to 26, within the range recited in claim 8. In paragraph 45 Blum discloses that the component (d) can be ethylenediamine, 1,6-hexamethylenediamine, hydrazine (hydrate), or diethylenetriamine, all as recited in claim 9.
In paragraph 62 Blum discloses a process for producing the dispersions where an isocyanate-functional prepolymer (A) is produced by reacting the components (a), (b), and (c) In one or more reaction steps with an excess of component (a), followed by a chain extension step by addition of component (d), followed by a dispersing step by addition of water to the prepolymer (A) and transfer of the prepolymer (A) to an aqueous receiver vessel, as recited in claim 10. In paragraph 63 Blum discloses a similar method where the dispersing step is performed prior to the chain extension step, as recited in claim 11. Since Blum provides the dispersion of claim 1, the method of claim 12 does not recite any additional steps other than providing the dispersion, and the glass fiber sizing of claim 13 does not require any additional components other than the dispersion, claims 12-13 are also met by Blum.
In light of the above, claims 1 and 3-13 are anticipated by Blum.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum.
The discussion of Blum in paragraph 7 above is incorporated here by reference. Blum discloses a dispersion meeting the limitations of claim 1. In paragraphs 17-22 Blum discloses that components (a), (b), and (d) are present in amounts matching or falling within the ranges recited for components (a), (b), and (d) of claim 2. Blum also discloses that component (c) is present in an amount of 1.5 to 19% by weight, overlapping the range recited for component (c) of claim 2. See MPEP 2144.05(I): “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976);” Claim 2 is therefore rendered obvious by Blum.
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rische (U.S. PG Pub. No. 2004/0195731) in view of Blum.
In paragraphs 9-14, Rische discloses a process for preparing glass fiber-reinforced plastics, comprising applying a sizing composition to the glass fiber, as in step (A) of claim 15, introducing the coated glass fiber into the plastic, as in step (B) of claim 15, and carrying out a thermal cure. The sizing composition of Rische comprises a polyurethane, and in paragraphs 8 and 15 Rische discloses that the polyurethane is in the form of an aqueous UV-curable dispersion. In paragraphs 15-16, 24, 26-30, and 51 Rische discloses that the polyurethanes can be prepared by the reaction of precursor polyisocyanates, nonionic hydrophilicizing agents, monohydroxy-functional acrylates, and diamines. Curing the dispersion of Rische will lead to at least some reaction of the acrylate groups with the groups of the plastic matrix to form covalent bonds as recited in step (C) of claim 15.
While the polyurethane dispersion in the sizing composition of Rische is similar to that of the currently presented claims, Rische does not specifically disclose the isocyanate functionality of the precursor isocyanate used to prepare the polyurethane dispersion.
The discussions of Blum in paragraphs 7 and 12 above are incorporated here by reference. Blum discloses a dispersion similar to that of Rische and which meets the limitations of the dispersion of claim 1, including an average functionality of at least 2.2, as disclosed in paragraph 9 of Blum. The inclusion of the dispersion of Blum as the polyurethane dispersion in the sizing composition of Rische therefore meets the limitations of the process for producing glass fiber-reinforced plastics of claim 15, the glass fiber-reinforced plastics of claims 16-17, the glass fibers of claims 13-14, and the method for producing glass fiber sizing of claim 12 for the case where the sizing comprising additional components beside the dispersion of claim 1.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the dispersion of Blum as the polyurethane dispersion in the sizing composition of Rische, since Blum teaches in paragraph 82 that it suitable for combining with blocked polyisocyanates (such as those disclosed in paragraph 10 of Rische) to form a coating agent.
Conclusion
/JAMES C GOLOBOY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771