Claims 1-25 are presented for examination.
The amendments and remarks filed on 08/05/2026 have been received and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 6, 10, 12 13, 18, 19, 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 12, 19 and 22 are indefinite in using improper Markush language. The use of the phrase "from the group consisting of" and using "and" instead of "or" at the end of the last sentence will overcome the rejection.
Claims 3, 10, 16 and 23 are indefinite as to the term “preferably”. Such term makes the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Claims 12 and 18 are indefinite as to the phrase “such as”. Regarding claims 13 and 18 the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 12 contains the trademark/trade name Polyter GTR or Agrobiogel®. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe lignin-based hydrogel and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claims dependent on the rejected claims are also rejected, since they have all the limitations of the rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-25 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rose (US 2012292346 submitted by the applicant) in view of Chen et al. (US 20120220454) and further in view of Traxler et al. (US 20170022117 submitted by the applicant) and Hattori et al. (EP 0373348 submitted by the applicant).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Rose teaches planting mix compositions that prepare seed for planting and methods of preparing such compositions. Such compositions comprise pelletized or ground coir, Seed, cornmeal or corn flour, a super-absorbent polymer (SAP) and/or charcoal. See the abstract and Para [0002]. Rose teaches in particular examples, such compositions include pelletized coir at least partially coated with a binder, seeds, charcoal, and optionally a SAP. In other examples, such compositions include a pelletized mixture that includes coir, cornmeal or corn flour, charcoal, a SAP, a fungicide, and seeds, wherein the seeds are encased within the pellets. See the abstract. Rose teaches that seed is mixed with the planting mix components and is embedded or encased in the pellet during formation of the pellet. See Para [0007]. Rose teaches the concentration of 11% for seeds. See Para [0044]. Rose teaches the use of superabsorbent polymers, such as crosslinked polyacrylamide. See Para [0059]. Rose teaches that the ratio of activated charcoal to seed is at least a 1:1 ratio by weight of charcoal to seed, for example at least a 2 to: 1, at least 5 to 1, at least 10:1 at least 15 to 1, at least 20 to 1, at least 25 to 1 or at least 30 to 1. See para [0061]. Rose does not specifically teach the use of the alternative option b., which comprises of biological polymers such as, cellulose, lignin hydrogel and natural rubber. Rose also does not teach the concentration of 50% by weight of coal. Rose does not also teach wherein the polymeric superabsorbent has a grain size of 50 um-400 um.
Chen et al. teach Coating compositions and methods of use, allowing for improved water and/or nutrient usage by seeds, plants, shrubs, and vegetation. See The abstract. Chen et al. teach that coating compositions comprising at least one seed and at least one layer coating all or part of the seed, the layer selected from the group consisting of guar, derivatized guar, polyacrylamide, poly(methacrylic acid), polyvinylpyrrolidone, poly(acrylic acid), polyacrylate, cellulose, hydroxy cellulose, hydroxyalkyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, a derivative of any of the foregoing and a combination of any of the foregoing. See Para [0013] and claim 1. Chen et al. teach examples of suitable cellulose include but are not limited to hydroxy celluloses, hydroxyalkyl cellulose, including hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose and other modified celluloses. See Para [0031]. Chen makes clear that the use of a biological polymer, such as cellulose individually or in combination with the claimed superabsorbent polymers in a coating composition of a seed as old and well known.
Hattori teaches the polyacrylamide is used as a water-retentive agent, and it is water-soluble. The form may be powder, fiber or the like. The polyacrylamide may be mixed uniformly with the soil or soil improver, or disposed around the plant or seed in a state mixed with or separated from the charcoal or activated carbon. When the polyacrylamide is disposed separately, it is preferable to dispose the charcoal or activated carbon on the plant side, i.e. to dispose the polyacrylamide on the outside. In view of working efficiency, the gelation of the polyacrylamide by water supply is preferably conducted after mixing it in a dry state with other components. Since the polyacrylamide greatly swells by absorbing water, the soil and soil improver of the invention is placed in a bag, container or the like in due consideration of the swelling volume. See page 3, lines 42-50. Hattori teaches the size of polymers, such as, polystyrene-divinylbenzene resins, acrylic resins, methacrylic resins and ethylenimine resins have the particle size of 0.1-5 mm. see page 3, line 1-10. The 0.1 mm is 100 um, which falls within the scope of the claimed grain size of 50 um-400 um. Furthermore, since polyacrylamide s taught by Rose, such polymer would inherently have the same grain size as polyacrylamide of the instant application in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Rose does not specifically teach the use of the alternative option b., which comprises of biological
polymers such as, cellulose, lignin hydrogel and natural rubber. Rose also does not teach the
concentration of 50% by weight of coal.
It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to incorporate biological polymer, such as
cellulose to a seed coating composition, motivated by the teachings of Chen et al., which teach the use
of cellulose in a seed coating composition as old and well known. The determination of coal
concentration is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant's attention is drawn to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), where
the court states " Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the
patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such
concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the
prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
It would have also been obvious to use a polymeric superabsorbent at the claimed grain size, motivated by the teachings of Hattori, which teaches the polyacrylamide is used as a water-retentive agent, and it is water-soluble. The form may be powder, fiber or the like. The polyacrylamide may be mixed uniformly with the soil or soil improver, or disposed around the plant or seed in a state mixed with or separated from the charcoal or activated carbon. When the polyacrylamide is disposed separately, it is preferable to dispose the charcoal or activated carbon on the plant side, i.e. to dispose the polyacrylamide on the outside. In view of working efficiency, the gelation of the polyacrylamide by water supply is preferably conducted after mixing it in a dry state with other components. Since the polyacrylamide greatly swells by absorbing water, the soil and soil improver of the invention is placed in a bag, container or the like in due consideration of the swelling volume. The grain size of superabsorbent polymers is also taught by Hattori.
Regarding claim 3, Rose does not teach the presence of biochar being in the concentrations at least 60% by weight, at least 70% by weight, at least 95% by weight and at least 99% by weight. However, Traxler et al. teach a coated seed substantially surrounded by biochar. See claim 1. Traxler et al. teach where the one or more layers of biochar surrounding the seed further includes a binding substance that assists with the adhesion of the one or more layers of biochar to the seed. See claim 6. The use of cellulose and a polymer as binding agents is taught in claim 7. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to incorporate biochar to the composition of Rose, motivated by the teachings of Traxler et al., which teach biochar has been applied to seeds in combination with cellulose or polymer as a coating material in the agriculture.
Regarding claim 4, Rose does not teach the biological adhesive. However, Chen teaches a seed coating adhesive comprising a protein. See Para [0041]. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to incorporate a protein adhesive to the composition of Rose, motivated by the teachings of Chen, which teaches the use of protein as an adhesive in a seed coating composition as old and well known.
Regarding claim 5, the claim is directed the addition of auxiliary substance as optional ingredients, which indicates the claim might not have such ingredients. However, Rose teaches the use of soil based nutrients, compost, nitrogen, potassium, phosphorous, colorants, corn meal, corn flour, or combinations thereof. See Para [0006]. The components read on the auxiliary agents claimed herein.
Regarding claim 6, Rose teaches planting mix compositions that prepare seed for planting and methods of preparing such compositions. Such compositions comprise pelletized or ground coir, Seed, cornmeal or corn flour, a super-absorbent polymer (SAP) and/or charcoal. See the abstract and Para [0002]. Rose teaches in particular examples, such compositions include pelletized coir at least partially coated with a binder, seeds, charcoal, and optionally a SAP. In other examples, such compositions include a pelletized mixture that includes coir, cornmeal or corn flour, charcoal, a SAP, a fungicide, and seeds, wherein the seeds are encased within the pellets. See the abstract. Rose teaches that seed is mixed with the planting mix components and is embedded or encased in the pellet during formation of the pellet. See Para [0007]. Rose teaches the concentration of 11% for seeds. See Para [0044]. Rose teaches the use of superabsorbent polymers, such as crosslinked polyacrylamide. See Para [0059]. Rose does not teach the grain size of superabsorbent polymer. However, the determination of grain size is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 7, Rose teaches the use of soil based nutrients, compost, nitrogen, potassium, phosphorous, colorants, corn meal, corn flour, or combinations thereof. See Para [0006].
Regarding claim 8, Rose teaches growth hormones, soil-based nutrients, compost, nitrogen, potassium, phosphorous, colorants, corn meal, corn flour, or combinations thereof. See Para [0006].
Regarding claim 9, Rose teaches fertilizers, pesticides, fungicides, growth hormones, soil-based nutrients, compost, nitrogen, potassium, phosphorous, colorants, corn meal, corn flour, or combinations thereof. See Para [0006].
Regarding claim 10, Rose teaches 0.5-5% of superabsorbent polymer, which overlaps with 5-30% of the claimed amount. See Para [0059].
Regarding claim 11, Rose does not teach the ratio of the diameter of the seed unit to the diameter of materials in layer (3). However, the determination of optimum proportions or amounts are considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 12, Rose does not teach the polymeric superabsorbent being biological polymer. However, Chen et al. teach that coating compositions comprising at least one seed and at least one layer coating all or part of the seed, the layer selected from the group consisting of guar, derivatized guar, polyacrylamide, poly(methacrylic acid), polyvinylpyridine, polyvinylpyrrolidone, poly(acrylic acid), polyacrylate, cellulose, hydroxy cellulose, hydroxyalkyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, a derivative of any of the foregoing and a combination of any of the foregoing. See Para [0013] and claim 1. Chen et al. teach examples of suitable cellulose include but are not limited to hydroxy celluloses, hydroxyalkyl cellulose, including hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose and other modified celluloses. See Para [0031]. Chen makes clear that the use of a biological polymer, such as cellulose individually or in combination with the claimed superabsorbent polymers in a coating composition of a seed as old and well known.
It would have been obvious to incorporate biological polymer, such as cellulose to a seed coating composition, motivated by the teachings of Chen et al., which teaches the use of cellulose in a seed coating composition as old and well known.
Regarding claim 13, Rose in combination with Chen teach all the components of claim 13. The determination of optimum proportions or amounts are considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 14, Rose in combination with Chen teach all the components of claim 14. The determination of optimum proportions or amounts are considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary. There are optional ingredients in claim 14, which are not included in the rejection, considering that their presence is optional.
Regarding claim 15, Rose teaches compositions that prepare seed for planting and methods of preparing such compositions. Such compositions comprise pelletized or ground coir, Seed, cornmeal or corn flour, a super-absorbent polymer (SAP) and/or charcoal. See the abstract and Para [0002]. Rose teaches in particular examples, such compositions include pelletized coir at least partially coated with a binder, seeds, charcoal, and optionally a SAP. In other examples, such compositions include a pelletized mixture that includes coir, cornmeal or corn flour, charcoal, a SAP, a fungicide, and seeds, wherein the seeds are encased within the pellets. See the abstract. Rose teaches that seed is mixed with the planting mix components and is embedded or encased in the pellet during formation of the pellet. See Para [0007]. Rose teaches the concentration of 11% for seeds. See Para [0044]. Rose teaches the use of superabsorbent polymers, such as crosslinked polyacrylamide. See Para [0059]. Rose teaches that the ratio of activated charcoal to seed is at least a 1:1 , at least a 2 to: 1, at least 5 to 1, at least 10:1 at least 15 to 1, at least 20 to 1, at least 25 to 1 or at least 30 to 1. See para [0061].
Rose does not specifically teach the use of the alternative option b., which comprises biological polymers such as, cellulose, lignin hydrogel and natural rubber. Rose also does not teach the concentration of 50% by weight of coal.
Chen et al. teach Coating compositions and methods of use, allowing for improved water and/or nutrient usage by seeds, plants, shrubs, and vegetation. See The abstract. Chen et al. teach that coating compositions comprising at least one seed and at least one layer coating all or part of the seed, the layer selected from the group consisting of guar, derivatized guar, polyacrylamide, poly(methacrylic acid), polyvinylpyrrolidone, poly(acrylic acid), polyacrylate, cellulose, hydroxy cellulose, hydroxyalkyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, a derivative of any of the foregoing and a combination of any of the foregoing. See Para [0013] and claim 1. Chen et al. teach examples of suitable cellulose include but are not limited to hydroxy celluloses, hydroxyalkyl cellulose, including hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose and other modified celluloses. See Para [0031]. Chen makes clear that a biological polymer, such as cellulose individually or in combination with the claimed superabsorbent polymers in a coating composition of a seed as old and well known.
It would have been obvious to incorporate biological polymer, such as cellulose to a seed coating composition, motivated by the teachings of Chen et al., which teaches the use of cellulose in a seed coating composition as old and well known. The determination of coal concentration is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary. Applicant's attention is drawn to In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), where the court states " Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation."
Regarding claim 16, Rose does not teach the presence of biochar being in the concentrations at least 60% by weight, at least 70% by weight, at least 95% by weight and at least 99% by weight. However, Traxler et al. teach a coated seed substantially surrounded by biochar. See claim 1. Traxler et al. teach where the one or more layers of biochar surrounding the seed further includes a binding substance that assists with the adhesion of the one or more layers of biochar to the seed. See claim 6. The use of cellulose and a polymer as binding agents is taught in claim 7. It would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art to incorporate biochar to the composition of Rose, motivated by the teachings of Traxler et al., which teach biochar has been applied to seeds in combination with cellulose or polymer as a coating material in the agriculture.
Regarding claim 17, Rose teaches the use of soil based nutrients, compost, nitrogen, potassium, phosphorous, colorants, corn meal, corn flour, or combinations thereof. See Para [0006]. The components read on the auxiliary agents claimed herein.
Regarding claim 18, Rose does not teach the polymeric superabsorbent being biological polymer. However, Chen et al. teach that coating compositions comprising at least one seed and at least one layer coating all or part of the seed, the layer selected from the group consisting of guar, derivatized guar, polyacrylamide, poly(methacrylic acid), polyvinylpyridine, polyvinylpyrrolidone, poly(acrylic acid), polyacrylate, cellulose, hydroxy cellulose, hydroxyalkyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, a derivative of any of the foregoing and a combination of any of the foregoing. See Para [0013] and claim 1. Chen et al. teach examples of suitable cellulose include but are not limited to hydroxy celluloses, hydroxyalkyl cellulose, including hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, carboxymethylcellulose and other modified celluloses. See Para [0031]. Chen makes clear that the use of a biological polymer, such as cellulose individually or in combination with the claimed superabsorbent polymers in a coating composition of a seed as old and well known.
It would have been obvious to incorporate biological polymer, such as cellulose to a seed coating composition, motivated by the teachings of Chen et al., which teaches the use of cellulose in a seed coating composition as old and well known.
Regarding claim 19, the determination of grain size of superabsorbent is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 20, Rose teaches the use of soil based nutrients, compost, nitrogen, potassium, phosphorous, colorants, corn meal, corn flour, or combinations thereof. See Para [0006]. The components read on the auxiliary agents claimed herein.
Regarding claim 21, Rose teaches the use of pesticides and fungicides in combination with superabsorbent polymer and charcoal. The fungicides and pesticides read on repellent as claimed herein.
Regarding claim 22, Rose does not teach the seeds such as, sugar beet and vegetable seeds as claimed herein. However, Traxler et al. teach the use of sugar beet and vegetable seeds, which can be coated with biochar and a polymer. See claim 9. The determination of the size of the seeds is considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 23, Rose teaches 0.5-5% of superabsorbent polymer, which overlaps with 5-30% of the claimed amount. See Para [0059].
Regarding claim 24, Rose in combination with Chen teach all the components of claim 13. The determination of optimum proportions or amounts are considered to be within the skill of artisan in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding Claim 25, Rose teaches compositions that prepare seed for planting and methods of preparing such compositions. Such compositions comprise pelletized or ground coir, Seed, cornmeal or corn flour, a super-absorbent polymer (SAP) and/or charcoal. See the abstract and Para [0002]. Rose also teaches the use of fertilizers, pesticides, fungicides, growth hormones, soil based nutrients, compost, nitrogen, potassium, phosphorous, colorants, corn meal, corn flour, or combinations thereof, which reads on the optional ingredients of claim 25. See Para [0006]. Rose does not teach the polymeric superabsorbent being biological polymer. However, Chen et al. teach that coating compositions comprising at least one seed and at least one layer coating all or part of the seed, the layer selected from the group consisting of guar, derivatized guar, polyacrylamide, poly(methacrylic acid), polyvinylpyrrolidone, poly(acrylic acid), polyacrylate, cellulose, hydroxy cellulose, hydroxyalkyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose, carboxymethyl hydroxyethyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, a derivative of any of the foregoing and a combination of any of the foregoing. See Para [0031].
Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks regarding 112 (b) have been noted. Applicant in his remarks argues that the “ A person of ordinary skill in the art (POSA) would have understood that the phrase "selected from" identifies alternative members of the class of biological polymeric superabsorbent and that each listed alternative, including the derivative of natural rubber, must satisfy that requirement.” It is the examiner’s position that in proper Markush language to show the claimed components are used in alternative the phrase “from the group consisting of” should be used. Also, to comply with such language “or” before the last Markush member should be changed to “and”. Applicant in his remarks regarding the obviousness rejection alleges criticality to the grain size of polymeric superabsorbent. However, Hattori teaches the size of polymeric superabsorbent in a seed coating composition within the scope of the claimed grain size. Furthermore, since Rose and Hattori teach the use of the same polymers in a seed coating, the grain size of such polymers is the inherent property of using the same polymer polymers in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZOHREH A FAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1617