DETAILED ACTION
The preliminary amendment filed April 29, 2026, canceling claims 1-39 and adding new claims 40-59, is acknowledged.
Claims 40-59 are pending and will be examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 24, 2024, August 18, 2025, February 17, 2026 and June 17, 2026 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 40-45, 47-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mihalcioiu et al. (US PgPub 20140154799; June 2014).
With regard to claim 40, Mihalcioiu teaches a method for preparing a sample containing circulating tumor cells derived from a subject for analysis without nucleic acid amplification and/or proliferation by culture, the method comprising the steps of:
isolating monocytes from peripheral blood mononuclear cells collected from the subject using apheresis, wherein an apheresis condition for performing the apheresis includes a circulating tumor cell enrichment condition (paragraph 49);
isolating circulating tumor cells from the peripheral blood mononuclear cells from which the monocytes have been isolated, by removing cells adherent to a container so as to remove monocytes;
optionally, confirming a purity of the circulating tumor cells required for the analysis; and
optionally, performing pretreatment for the analysis on the circulating tumor cells, wherein the sample is for identifying a neoantigen possessed by the subject by performing the analysis, and
wherein the isolating of the circulating tumor cells comprises performing flow cytometry analysis and sorting a fraction containing the circulating tumor cells (Example 1, paragraph 123-124, 129-130, where circulating tumor cells are isolated from apheresis product; see also paragraph 66 and 85).
With regard to claim 41, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 40, wherein the apheresis condition includes subjecting a spillover volume and/or a buffy coat volume to the circulating tumor cell enrichment condition (paragraph 47-50 and Example 1, where circulating cancer cells are isolated from apheresis product).
With regard to claim 42, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 40, wherein the apheresis condition includes a spillover volume of about 9 to about 12 ml and/or a buffy coat volume of about 7 to about 10 ml (paragraph 47-50 and Example 1, where circulating cancer cells are isolated from apheresis product).
With regard to claim 43, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 40, wherein a number of the circulating tumor cells is about 1x104 or more, and the removal of the monocytes from the peripheral blood mononuclear cells is performed by seeding the peripheral blood mononuclear cells onto a dish and removing cells attached to the dish (paragraph 49).
With regard to claim 44, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 40, wherein a number of the peripheral blood mononuclear cells is about 1 x107 or more, and the removal of the monocytes from the peripheral blood mononuclear cells is performed by seeding the peripheral blood mononuclear cells onto a dish and removing cells attached to the dish (see paragraph 133 where cells are seeded).
With regard to claim 45, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 40, further comprising a step of freezing the circulating tumor cells (paragraph 130, where fractions are collected and preserved at ultra low temperatures).
With regard to claim 47, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 40, further comprising a step of extracting DNA, RNA, or protein from the circulating tumor cells (paragraph 82, 99 or 108).
With regard to claim 48, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 47, wherein the DNA or RNA is extracted at least in an amount of about 100 pg (paragraph 82, 99 or 108).
With regard to claim 49, Mihalcioiu teaches a method for identifying a neoantigen possessed by a subject by analyzing circulating tumor cells derived from the subject without nucleic acid amplification and/or proliferation by culture,
the method comprising the steps of:
isolating monocytes from peripheral blood mononuclear cells collected from the subject using apheresis, wherein an apheresis condition for performing the apheresis includes a circulating tumor cell enrichment condition (paragraph 49);
isolating circulating tumor cells from the peripheral blood mononuclear cells from which the monocytes have been isolated, by removing cells adherent to a container so as to remove monocytes, wherein the isolating of the circulating tumor cells comprises performing flow cytometry analysis and sorting a fraction containing the circulating tumor cells (Example 1, paragraph 123-124, 129-130, where circulating tumor cells are isolated from apheresis product; see also paragraph 66 and 85); and
performing analysis using the circulating tumor cells.
With regard to claim 50, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 49, wherein the apheresis condition includes subjecting a spillover volume and/or a buffy coat volume to the circulating tumor cell enrichment condition, and/or wherein the apheresis condition includes a spillover volume of about 9 to about 12 mt and/or a buffy coat volume of about 7 to about 10 ml (paragraph 47-50 and Example 1, where circulating cancer cells are isolated from apheresis product).
With regard to claim 51, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 49, wherein a number of the circulating tumor cells is about 1 x104 or more, and/or a number of the peripheral blood mononuclear cells is about 1x107 or more, wherein the removal of the monocytes from the peripheral blood mononuclear cells is performed by seeding the peripheral blood mononuclear cells onto a dish and removing cells attached to the dish, and/or further comprising a step of freezing the circulating tumor cells (see paragraph 133 where cells are seeded; paragraph 130, where fractions are collected and preserved at ultra low temperatures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 46, 52-59 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mihalcioiu et al. (US PgPub 20140154799; June 2014) as applied over claims 40-45 and 47-51 and further in view of Ang et al. (US PgPub 20220282217; September 2022).
With regard to claim 56, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 55, wherein the apheresis condition includes subjecting a spillover volume and/or a buffy coat volume to the circulating tumor cell enrichment condition, and/or wherein the apheresis condition includes a spillover volume of about 9 to about 12 ml and/or a buffy coat volume of about 7 to about 10 ml (paragraph 47-50 and Example 1, where circulating cancer cells are isolated from apheresis product).
With regard to claim 57, Mihalcioiu teaches a method according to claim 55, wherein a number of the circulating tumor cells is about 1x104or more, and/or wherein a number of the peripheral blood mononuclear cells is about 1x107or more, and wherein the removal of the monocytes from the peripheral blood mononuclear cells is performed by seeding the peripheral blood mononuclear cells onto a dish and removing cells attached to the dish (see paragraph 133 where cells are seeded).
With regard to claim 55, Mihalcoiu teaches isolating monocytes from peripheral blood mononuclear cells collected from the subject using apheresis,
wherein an apheresis condition for performing the apheresis includes a circulating tumor cell enrichment condition;
isolating circulating tumor cells from the peripheral blood mononuclear cells from which the monocytes have been isolated, by removing cells adherent to a container so as to remove monocytes,
wherein the isolating of the circulating tumor cells comprises performing flow cytometry analysis and sorting a fraction containing the circulating tumor cells; extracting DNA or RNA from the circulating tumor cells to create a DNA/RNA sequence library (paragraph 47-50 and Example 1, where circulating cancer cells are isolated from apheresis product).
Regarding claims 46, 52-59, while Mihalcioiu teaches a method of isolation of circulating tumor cells and further analysis, Mihalcioiu does not teach whole exome analysis or producing a cell for dendritic cell therapy.
With regard to claim 46, Ang teaches a method according to claim 40, wherein the analysis further includes whole exome analysis, whole genome analysis, RNA-Seq, single cell RNA-Seq, proteome analysis, and/or transcriptome analysis (paragraph 258, where whole exome sequencing is described; paragraph 274, where whole exome, whole transcriptome or methylome analysis is described).
With regard to claim 52, Ang teaches a method according to claim 49, wherein the analysis further includes whole exome analysis, whole genome analysis, RNA-Seq, single cell RNA-Seq, proteome analysis, and/or transcriptome analysis (paragraph 258, where whole exome sequencing is described; paragraph 274, where whole exome, whole transcriptome or methylome analysis is described).
With regard to claim 53, Ang teaches a method according to claim 49, further comprising a step of extracting DNA, RNA, or protein from the circulating tumor cells, and further comprising the steps of:
creating a DNA/RNA sequence library from the DNA or RNA; and identifying a neoantigen based on mutation information in the sequence library (Example 1),
wherein the circulating tumor cells have a purity of at least about 20%,
wherein the analysis includes a whole exome analysis of the DNA (paragraph 258, where whole exome sequencing is described; paragraph 274, where whole exome, whole transcriptome or methylome analysis is described),
and/or wherein the DNA or RNA is extracted at least in an amount of about 100 pg (paragraph 90, where RNA is isolated from cancer cells).
With regard to claim 54, Ang teaches a method according to claim 53, wherein the analysis further includes a proteome analysis of the circulating tumor cells (paragraph 90, where RNA is isolated from cancer cells).
With regard to claim 55, Ang teaches a method for producing a cell for dendritic cell therapy using a neoantigen possessed by a subject and monocytes, the method comprising the steps of:
identifying a neoantigen based on mutation information in the sequence library; and
introducing the neoantigen into dendritic cells (paragraph 185, paragraph 300-307, where dendritic cells include neoantigens as described in antigen presenting cells).
With regard to claim 58, Ang teaches a method according to claim 55, further comprising a step of freezing the circulating tumor cells, and/or wherein the DNA or RNA is extracted at least in an amount of about 100 pg (paragraph 90, where RNA is isolated from cancer cells).
With regard to claim 59, Ang teaches a method according to claim 55, wherein the dendritic cells are obtained from the subject by the apheresis, or are derived from the monocytes, and/or the method further comprising a step of inducing the dendritic cells from the monocytes (paragraph 185, paragraph 300-307, where dendritic cells include neoantigens as described in antigen presenting cells).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have adjusted the teachings of Mihalcioiu to include further analysis of isolated circulating tumor cells and development of dendritic cell based treatment as described by Ang to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success. Ang teaches “Provided herein is an adoptive T cell therapy where T cells primed and responsive against curated pre-validated, shelved, antigenic peptides specific for a subject's cancer is administered to the subject. Provided in this example is a method of bypassing lengthy sequencing, identification and manufacture of subject specific neoantigen peptides and thereafter generating T cells having the subject specific TCRs for cancer immunotherapy, at least for the time when a subject undergoes a process of such evaluation and preparations for the personalized therapy (Example 1, paragraph 336)”. Ang also teaches “Advantage of this process is that it is fast, targeted and robust. As shown in FIG. lA, patient identified with a cancer or tumor can be administered T cells that are activated ex vivo with warehouse curated peptides having selected, prevalidated collection of epitopes generated from a library of shared antigens known for the identified cancer. The process from patient selection to the T cell therapy may require less than 6 weeks” (Example 1, paragraph 336). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have adjusted the teachings of Mihalcioiu to include further analysis of isolated circulating tumor cells and development of dendritic cell based treatment as described by Ang to arrive at the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation for success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dillman et al. (Melanoma Manag, 2019, 6:2, p 1-18). Yamamoto et al. (Nature Med, 2019, vol. 25, p. 1488-1499)
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. All claims stand rejected.
/STEPHANIE K MUMMERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1681