DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-13 and 16-22 have been examined and are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 17, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by XIONG (US 20200128588 A1, cited in IDS received July 9, 2025).
In regards to claim 7, XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) teaches a power control method, comprising: receiving configuration signaling, wherein the configuration signaling is used for indicating L power control parameter sets associated with N synchronization signal block (SSB) sets, wherein N is a positive integer and L is a positive integer(XIONG teaches a network node sending configuration signaling, random access configuration, to a terminal, wherein the configuration signaling is used for indicating L control parameter sets, different transmit powers, associated with N SSB sets, different synchronization signal blocks, wherein N is a positive integer and L is a positive integer, “[0272] a terminal detects a downlink synchronization signal and selects an appropriate synchronization signal block according to a preset criteria; [0273] the terminal reads the broadcast channel of the selected synchronization signal block, and acquires configuration information in a main information block carried by the broadcast channel and configuration information in the system information block indicated by the primary information block;
[0274] the terminal computes the path loss of the selected synchronization signal block according to the power configuration information in the configuration information of the primary information block;
[0275] the terminal obtains the location of random access occasion time-frequency resources, and determines a required random access preamble, according to the random access configuration information contained in the configuration information in the system information; [0276] the terminal determines the transmit power for transmitting the random access preamble according to the computed path loss; and [0277] the terminal transmits the determined random access preamble, by using the computed transmit power of the random access preamble, on the determined random access occasion. [0278] wherein the random access configuration information at least comprises random access channel configuration information, which is used for indicating time-frequency resources of the random access occasion corresponding to different synchronization signal blocks. At the same time, the random access configuration information further includes the format information of the random access preamble, which is used for indicating the structure of the random access preamble and the structure of the random access occasion. The random access configuration information further includes power configuration information in the random access process, such as a target receiving preamble power, a power ramping interval, etc…[0357] Different synchronization signal blocks can adopt different transmit powers to be suitable for the coverage requirements in different directions. When the terminal transmits the random access preamble, it computes the path loss in the coverage area of the downlink beam based on the difference between the received reference signal receiving power of the synchronization signal block (such as the reference signal receiving power of the primary synchronization signal or the secondary synchronization signal) and the transmit power of the base station synchronization signal block, and then computes the transmit power of the random access preamble. Therefore, when different synchronization signal blocks adopt different transmit powers, the base station needs to configure and inform the transmit powers, thus the terminal is able to compute the path loss. Possible transmit power notification ways are as follows:”); and determining transmission power according to a power control parameter in the L power control parameter sets(“[0273] the terminal reads the broadcast channel of the selected synchronization signal block, and acquires configuration information in a main information block carried by the broadcast channel and configuration information in the system information block indicated by the primary information block; [0274] the terminal computes the path loss of the selected synchronization signal block according to the power configuration information in the configuration information of the primary information block;
[0275] the terminal obtains the location of random access occasion time-frequency resources, and determines a required random access preamble, according to the random access configuration information contained in the configuration information in the system information;
[0276] the terminal determines the transmit power for transmitting the random access preamble according to the computed path loss; and [0277] the terminal transmits the determined random access preamble, by using the computed transmit power of the random access preamble, on the determined random access occasion.”).
In regards to claim 17, XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) teaches a terminal, comprising a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, implements the power control method according to claim 7 (“[0263] Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides a user equipment, including: a processor; and, a memory configured to store machine-readable instructions which, when executed by the processor, enable the processor to execute the resource determination method described above.”).
In regards to claim 19, XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which is configured to store a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement the power control method according to claim 7(“[0263] Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides a user equipment, including: a processor; and, a memory configured to store machine-readable instructions which, when executed by the processor, enable the processor to execute the resource determination method described above.”).
In regards to claim 8, XIONG teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the power control parameter comprises at least one of following parameters: a partial path loss compensation factor associated with an SSB, physical random access channel (PRACH) target reception power associated with an SSB or a maximum power limit corresponding to a flying level associated with an SSB(XIONG teaches PRACH target reception power, target receiving preamble power, “[0278] wherein the random access configuration information at least comprises random access channel configuration information, which is used for indicating time-frequency resources of the random access occasion corresponding to different synchronization signal blocks. At the same time, the random access configuration information further includes the format information of the random access preamble, which is used for indicating the structure of the random access preamble and the structure of the random access occasion. The random access configuration information further includes power configuration information in the random access process, such as a target receiving preamble power, a power ramping interval, etc…”).
In regards to claim 9, XIONG teaches the method according to claim 8, wherein the PRACH target reception power is associated with following parameters: preamble initial received target power, a preamble format, a preamble power ramping step and a maximum number of preamble retransmissions (XIONG teaches a preamble initial received target power, target receiving preamble power, a preamble power ramping step, power ramping interval, a preamble format, DELTA_PREAMBLE ,and a maximum number of preamble retransmissions, power ramping counter/retransmissions times counter “[0278] wherein the random access configuration information at least comprises random access channel configuration information, which is used for indicating time-frequency resources of the random access occasion corresponding to different synchronization signal blocks. At the same time, the random access configuration information further includes the format information of the random access preamble, which is used for indicating the structure of the random access preamble and the structure of the random access occasion. The random access configuration information further includes power configuration information in the random access process, such as a target receiving preamble power, a power ramping interval, etc… [0284] It should be noted that when determining the random access occasion, the terminal can refer to the latest measurement result to determine an appropriate synchronization signal block. If the corresponding random access occasion has been determined, and the path loss is recomputed according to the transmit power configuration of the synchronization signal block and the measurement result of the synchronization signal block, the transmit power of the random access preamble is determined according to the transmit power configuration of the synchronization signal block. When determining the transmit power of the preamble, reference can also be made to the retransmission times counter or the power ramping counter to determine the transmit power of the random access preamble… [0410] In addition, the preamble target receiving power is computed as follows:
[0411] PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER=preambleInitialReceivedTargetPo wer_k+DELTA_PREAMBLE+(POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER-1)*powerRampingStep;
[0412] wherein PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER is the computed preamble target receiving power, preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower_k is the initial target preamble receiving power configured in the kth selected synchronization signal block, DELTA_PREAMBLE is the power control parameters related to the preamble format, POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER is the power ramping counter, which is used to record the number of power rampings, and powerRampingStep is the power ramping compensation, which is configured in the random access configuration information.”); and the L power control parameter sets further comprise at least one of the preamble initial received target power, the preamble format, the preamble power ramping step or the maximum number of preamble retransmissions (XIONG [Par. 278, Par. 284, and Par. 411-412] teach where the L power control parameter comprise at least one of the preamble initial received target power, the preamble format, the preamble power ramping step/maximum number of preamble retransmissions).
In regards to claim 13, XIONG teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein the configuration signaling is broadcasted and received through a system information block (SIB) or a master information block (MIB) (“[0272] a terminal detects a downlink synchronization signal and selects an appropriate synchronization signal block according to a preset criteria; [0273] the terminal reads the broadcast channel of the selected synchronization signal block, and acquires configuration information in a main information block carried by the broadcast channel and configuration information in the system information block indicated by the primary information block; [0274] the terminal computes the path loss of the selected synchronization signal block according to the power configuration information in the configuration information of the primary information block; [0275] the terminal obtains the location of random access occasion time-frequency resources, and determines a required random access preamble, according to the random access configuration information contained in the configuration information in the system information;”).
In regards to claim 11, XIONG teaches the method according to claim 7, wherein determining the transmission power according to the power control parameter comprises: selecting a target SSB through beam polling or determining a target SSB through signaling switching (“[0287] Step 2002, determining a target synchronization signal block according to the reference signal receiving power, and acquiring configuration information carried in the target synchronization signal block. [0288] Wherein the step of determining the target synchronization signal block according to the reference signal receiving power comprises any one of the following: [0289] selecting a synchronization signal block corresponding to the reference signal receiving power with the largest value among the reference signal receiving powers as a target synchronization signal block; or, [0290] selecting synchronization signal blocks corresponding to multiple reference signal receiving powers higher than a first preset threshold among the reference signal receiving powers, and randomly selecting one synchronization signal block as a target synchronization signal block with an the equivalent probability among the selected synchronization signal blocks; selecting a synchronization signal block corresponding to the reference signal receiving power with the largest value as a target synchronization signal block, if there is no reference signal receiving power higher than the first preset threshold in the reference signal receiving powers; or, [0291] computing the path loss of each synchronization signal block according to each of the reference signal receiving powers and the transmit power indicated in the configuration information carried in the corresponding synchronization signal block, and selecting the target synchronization signal block according to the path loss.”), and accessing a network through a beam to which the target SSB is mapped (“[0022] For multi-beam operating system operated in high frequency band, the beam selection of initial access needs to be completed by searching for synchronization signal blocks. Specifically, there are multiple synchronization signal blocks in the system, and each synchronization signal block uses the same or different downlink transmit beams to transmit downlink signals. The terminal selects the appropriate synchronization signal block according to the reference signal received power (RSRP) of the synchronization signal block by adopting a preset criteria, and completes the downlink synchronization process.”); and determining the transmission power according to a power control parameter associated with the target SSB (“(“[0273] the terminal reads the broadcast channel of the selected synchronization signal block, and acquires configuration information in a main information block carried by the broadcast channel and configuration information in the system information block indicated by the primary information block; [0274] the terminal computes the path loss of the selected synchronization signal block according to the power configuration information in the configuration information of the primary information block;
[0275] the terminal obtains the location of random access occasion time-frequency resources, and determines a required random access preamble, according to the random access configuration information contained in the configuration information in the system information;
[0276] the terminal determines the transmit power for transmitting the random access preamble according to the computed path loss; and [0277] the terminal transmits the determined random access preamble, by using the computed transmit power of the random access preamble, on the determined random access occasion.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 16, 18, 20, and 21, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) in view of LEE (US 20220183076 A1).
In regards to claim 1, XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) teaches a power control method, comprising:
sending configuration signaling, wherein the configuration signaling is used for indicating L power control parameter sets associated with N synchronization signal block (SSB) sets, wherein N is a positive integer and L is a positive integer (XIONG teaches a network node sending configuration signaling, random access configuration, to a terminal, wherein the configuration signaling is used for indicating L control parameter sets, different transmit powers, associated with N SSB sets, different synchronization signal blocks, wherein N is a positive integer and L is a positive integer, “[0272] a terminal detects a downlink synchronization signal and selects an appropriate synchronization signal block according to a preset criteria; [0273] the terminal reads the broadcast channel of the selected synchronization signal block, and acquires configuration information in a main information block carried by the broadcast channel and configuration information in the system information block indicated by the primary information block;
[0274] the terminal computes the path loss of the selected synchronization signal block according to the power configuration information in the configuration information of the primary information block;
[0275] the terminal obtains the location of random access occasion time-frequency resources, and determines a required random access preamble, according to the random access configuration information contained in the configuration information in the system information; [0276] the terminal determines the transmit power for transmitting the random access preamble according to the computed path loss; and [0277] the terminal transmits the determined random access preamble, by using the computed transmit power of the random access preamble, on the determined random access occasion. [0278] wherein the random access configuration information at least comprises random access channel configuration information, which is used for indicating time-frequency resources of the random access occasion corresponding to different synchronization signal blocks. At the same time, the random access configuration information further includes the format information of the random access preamble, which is used for indicating the structure of the random access preamble and the structure of the random access occasion. The random access configuration information further includes power configuration information in the random access process, such as a target receiving preamble power, a power ramping interval, etc…[0357] Different synchronization signal blocks can adopt different transmit powers to be suitable for the coverage requirements in different directions. When the terminal transmits the random access preamble, it computes the path loss in the coverage area of the downlink beam based on the difference between the received reference signal receiving power of the synchronization signal block (such as the reference signal receiving power of the primary synchronization signal or the secondary synchronization signal) and the transmit power of the base station synchronization signal block, and then computes the transmit power of the random access preamble. Therefore, when different synchronization signal blocks adopt different transmit powers, the base station needs to configure and inform the transmit powers, thus the terminal is able to compute the path loss. Possible transmit power notification ways are as follows:”); and
(“[0273] the terminal reads the broadcast channel of the selected synchronization signal block, and acquires configuration information in a main information block carried by the broadcast channel and configuration information in the system information block indicated by the primary information block; [0274] the terminal computes the path loss of the selected synchronization signal block according to the power configuration information in the configuration information of the primary information block;
[0275] the terminal obtains the location of random access occasion time-frequency resources, and determines a required random access preamble, according to the random access configuration information contained in the configuration information in the system information;
[0276] the terminal determines the transmit power for transmitting the random access preamble according to the computed path loss; and [0277] the terminal transmits the determined random access preamble, by using the computed transmit power of the random access preamble, on the determined random access occasion.”).
XIONG differs from claim 1, in that XIONG in that while XIONG discloses transmitting a random access preamble, wherein transmission power of the random access preamble is determined by a terminal according to the configuration signaling, XIONG does not explicitly recite receiving the random access preamble, wherein transmission power of the random access preamble is determined by a terminal according to the configuration signaling, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 1. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving initial network access. LEE (US 20220183076 A1) teaches where a network node, base station, receives a random access preamble from a terminal/UE (“[0025] In another aspect, there is provided a method of performing, by a base station, a random access procedure in a wireless communication system, the method comprising transmitting configuration information related to the random access procedure, receiving a random access preamble and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and transmitting a random access response (RAR) message.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of LEE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify initial access feature of XIONG, by having the network node receive the random access preamble to thus arrive at claim 1, in order to provide a benefit of facilitating the completion of the initial access procedure.
In regards to claim 16, XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) teaches a network node, comprising a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor, wherein the processor, when executing the computer program, implements the following steps (“[0262] Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides a network equipment, including: a processor; and, a memory configured to store machine-readable instructions which, when executed by the processor, enable the processor to execute the resource configuration method described above. The network equipment may be specifically a base station equipment, a network access point equipment, a network repeater or more”): sending configuration signaling, wherein the configuration signaling is used for indicating L power control parameter sets associated with N synchronization signal block (SSB) sets, wherein N is a positive integer and L is a positive integer(XIONG teaches a network node sending configuration signaling, random access configuration, to a terminal, wherein the configuration signaling is used for indicating L control parameter sets, different transmit powers, associated with N SSB sets, different synchronization signal blocks, wherein N is a positive integer and L is a positive integer, “[0272] a terminal detects a downlink synchronization signal and selects an appropriate synchronization signal block according to a preset criteria; [0273] the terminal reads the broadcast channel of the selected synchronization signal block, and acquires configuration information in a main information block carried by the broadcast channel and configuration information in the system information block indicated by the primary information block;
[0274] the terminal computes the path loss of the selected synchronization signal block according to the power configuration information in the configuration information of the primary information block;
[0275] the terminal obtains the location of random access occasion time-frequency resources, and determines a required random access preamble, according to the random access configuration information contained in the configuration information in the system information; [0276] the terminal determines the transmit power for transmitting the random access preamble according to the computed path loss; and [0277] the terminal transmits the determined random access preamble, by using the computed transmit power of the random access preamble, on the determined random access occasion. [0278] wherein the random access configuration information at least comprises random access channel configuration information, which is used for indicating time-frequency resources of the random access occasion corresponding to different synchronization signal blocks. At the same time, the random access configuration information further includes the format information of the random access preamble, which is used for indicating the structure of the random access preamble and the structure of the random access occasion. The random access configuration information further includes power configuration information in the random access process, such as a target receiving preamble power, a power ramping interval, etc…[0357] Different synchronization signal blocks can adopt different transmit powers to be suitable for the coverage requirements in different directions. When the terminal transmits the random access preamble, it computes the path loss in the coverage area of the downlink beam based on the difference between the received reference signal receiving power of the synchronization signal block (such as the reference signal receiving power of the primary synchronization signal or the secondary synchronization signal) and the transmit power of the base station synchronization signal block, and then computes the transmit power of the random access preamble. Therefore, when different synchronization signal blocks adopt different transmit powers, the base station needs to configure and inform the transmit powers, thus the terminal is able to compute the path loss. Possible transmit power notification ways are as follows:”); and the terminal reads the broadcast channel of the selected synchronization signal block, and acquires configuration information in a main information block carried by the broadcast channel and configuration information in the system information block indicated by the primary information block; [0274] the terminal computes the path loss of the selected synchronization signal block according to the power configuration information in the configuration information of the primary information block;
[0275] the terminal obtains the location of random access occasion time-frequency resources, and determines a required random access preamble, according to the random access configuration information contained in the configuration information in the system information;
[0276] the terminal determines the transmit power for transmitting the random access preamble according to the computed path loss; and [0277] the terminal transmits the determined random access preamble, by using the computed transmit power of the random access preamble, on the determined random access occasion.”).
XIONG differs from claim 16, in that XIONG in that while XIONG discloses transmitting a random access preamble, wherein transmission power of the random access preamble is determined by a terminal according to the configuration signaling, XIONG does not explicitly recite receiving the random access preamble, wherein transmission power of the random access preamble is determined by a terminal according to the configuration signaling, as arranged with the remaining elements of claim 16. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving initial network access. LEE (US 20220183076 A1) teaches where a network node, base station, receives a random access preamble from a terminal/UE (“[0025] In another aspect, there is provided a method of performing, by a base station, a random access procedure in a wireless communication system, the method comprising transmitting configuration information related to the random access procedure, receiving a random access preamble and a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH), and transmitting a random access response (RAR) message.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of LEE it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify initial access feature of XIONG, by having the network node receive the random-access preamble to thus arrive at claim 16, in order to provide a benefit of facilitating the completion of the initial access procedure.
In regards to claim 18, XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which is configured to store a computer program, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to implement the power control method according to claim 1 (“[0262] Another embodiment of the present disclosure provides a network equipment, including: a processor; and, a memory configured to store machine-readable instructions which, when executed by the processor, enable the processor to execute the resource configuration method described above. The network equipment may be specifically a base station equipment, a network access point equipment, a network repeater or more”):
In regards to claim 2, XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the L power control parameter sets comprise at least one of following parameters: a partial path loss compensation factor associated with an SSB, physical random access channel (PRACH) target reception power associated with an SSB or a maximum power limit corresponding to a flying level associated with an SSB (XIONG teaches PRACH target reception power, target receiving preamble power, “[0278] wherein the random access configuration information at least comprises random access channel configuration information, which is used for indicating time-frequency resources of the random access occasion corresponding to different synchronization signal blocks. At the same time, the random access configuration information further includes the format information of the random access preamble, which is used for indicating the structure of the random access preamble and the structure of the random access occasion. The random access configuration information further includes power configuration information in the random access process, such as a target receiving preamble power, a power ramping interval, etc…”).
In regards to claim 20, XIONG teaches the network node according to claim 16, wherein the L power control parameter sets comprise at least one of following parameters: a partial path loss compensation factor associated with an SSB, physical random access channel (PRACH) target reception power associated with an SSB or a maximum power limit corresponding to a flying level associated with an SSB(XIONG teaches PRACH target reception power, target receiving preamble power, “[0278] wherein the random access configuration information at least comprises random access channel configuration information, which is used for indicating time-frequency resources of the random access occasion corresponding to different synchronization signal blocks. At the same time, the random access configuration information further includes the format information of the random access preamble, which is used for indicating the structure of the random access preamble and the structure of the random access occasion. The random access configuration information further includes power configuration information in the random access process, such as a target receiving preamble power, a power ramping interval, etc…”).
In regards to claim 3, XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) teaches the method according to claim 2, wherein the PRACH target reception power is associated with following parameters: preamble initial received target power, a preamble format, a preamble power ramping step and a maximum number of preamble retransmissions (XIONG teaches a preamble initial received target power, target receiving preamble power, a preamble power ramping step, power ramping interval, a preamble format, DELTA_PREAMBLE ,and a maximum number of preamble retransmissions, power ramping counter/retransmissions times counter “[0278] wherein the random access configuration information at least comprises random access channel configuration information, which is used for indicating time-frequency resources of the random access occasion corresponding to different synchronization signal blocks. At the same time, the random access configuration information further includes the format information of the random access preamble, which is used for indicating the structure of the random access preamble and the structure of the random access occasion. The random access configuration information further includes power configuration information in the random access process, such as a target receiving preamble power, a power ramping interval, etc… [0284] It should be noted that when determining the random access occasion, the terminal can refer to the latest measurement result to determine an appropriate synchronization signal block. If the corresponding random access occasion has been determined, and the path loss is recomputed according to the transmit power configuration of the synchronization signal block and the measurement result of the synchronization signal block, the transmit power of the random access preamble is determined according to the transmit power configuration of the synchronization signal block. When determining the transmit power of the preamble, reference can also be made to the retransmission times counter or the power ramping counter to determine the transmit power of the random access preamble… [0410] In addition, the preamble target receiving power is computed as follows:
[0411] PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER=preambleInitialReceivedTargetPo wer_k+DELTA_PREAMBLE+(POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER-1)*powerRampingStep;
[0412] wherein PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER is the computed preamble target receiving power, preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower_k is the initial target preamble receiving power configured in the kth selected synchronization signal block, DELTA_PREAMBLE is the power control parameters related to the preamble format, POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER is the power ramping counter, which is used to record the number of power rampings, and powerRampingStep is the power ramping compensation, which is configured in the random access configuration information.”); and the L power control parameter sets further comprise at least one of the preamble initial received target power, the preamble format, the preamble power ramping step or the maximum number of preamble retransmissions (XIONG [Par. 278, Par. 284, and Par. 411-412] teach where the L power control parameter comprise at least one of the preamble initial received target power, the preamble format, the preamble power ramping step/maximum number of preamble retransmissions).
In regards to claim 21, XIONG teaches the network node according to claim 20, wherein the PRACH target reception power is associated with following parameters: preamble initial received target power, a preamble format, a preamble power ramping step and a maximum number of preamble retransmissions(XIONG teaches a preamble initial received target power, target receiving preamble power, a preamble power ramping step, power ramping interval, a preamble format, DELTA_PREAMBLE ,and a maximum number of preamble retransmissions, power ramping counter/retransmissions times counter “[0278] wherein the random access configuration information at least comprises random access channel configuration information, which is used for indicating time-frequency resources of the random access occasion corresponding to different synchronization signal blocks. At the same time, the random access configuration information further includes the format information of the random access preamble, which is used for indicating the structure of the random access preamble and the structure of the random access occasion. The random access configuration information further includes power configuration information in the random access process, such as a target receiving preamble power, a power ramping interval, etc… [0284] It should be noted that when determining the random access occasion, the terminal can refer to the latest measurement result to determine an appropriate synchronization signal block. If the corresponding random access occasion has been determined, and the path loss is recomputed according to the transmit power configuration of the synchronization signal block and the measurement result of the synchronization signal block, the transmit power of the random access preamble is determined according to the transmit power configuration of the synchronization signal block. When determining the transmit power of the preamble, reference can also be made to the retransmission times counter or the power ramping counter to determine the transmit power of the random access preamble… [0410] In addition, the preamble target receiving power is computed as follows:
[0411] PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER=preambleInitialReceivedTargetPo wer_k+DELTA_PREAMBLE+(POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER-1)*powerRampingStep;
[0412] wherein PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER is the computed preamble target receiving power, preambleInitialReceivedTargetPower_k is the initial target preamble receiving power configured in the kth selected synchronization signal block, DELTA_PREAMBLE is the power control parameters related to the preamble format, POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER is the power ramping counter, which is used to record the number of power rampings, and powerRampingStep is the power ramping compensation, which is configured in the random access configuration information.”); and the L power control parameter sets further comprise at least one of the preamble initial received target power, the preamble format, the preamble power ramping step or the maximum number of preamble retransmissions(XIONG [Par. 278, Par. 284, and Par. 411-412] teach where the L power control parameter comprise at least one of the preamble initial received target power, the preamble format, the preamble power ramping step/maximum number of preamble retransmissions).
In regards to claim 6, XIONG teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration signaling is broadcasted and sent through a system information block (SIB) or a master information block (MIB) (“[0272] a terminal detects a downlink synchronization signal and selects an appropriate synchronization signal block according to a preset criteria; [0273] the terminal reads the broadcast channel of the selected synchronization signal block, and acquires configuration information in a main information block carried by the broadcast channel and configuration information in the system information block indicated by the primary information block; [0274] the terminal computes the path loss of the selected synchronization signal block according to the power configuration information in the configuration information of the primary information block; [0275] the terminal obtains the location of random access occasion time-frequency resources, and determines a required random access preamble, according to the random access configuration information contained in the configuration information in the system information;”).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) in view of Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1).
In regards to claim 10, XIONG is silent on the method according to claim 9, wherein the maximum power limit corresponding to the flying level is configured according to a power class associated with the SSB or a power offset associated with the SSB. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior at involving uplink power control.
Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) teaches a feature for uplink power control of an airborne terminal (i.e. aerial UE), where a maximum power limit, uplink transmission power, corresponding to a flying level, altitude, is configured according to a power class associated with a downlink reference signal or a power offset associated with the downlink reference signal, according to a compensation factor (“[0004] A method of power control for an aerial WTRU may comprise estimating a path loss from a serving cell; determining a path loss compensation factor, wherein the path loss compensation factor is dependent on an altitude of the WTRU; and setting an uplink transmission power based on the estimated path loss and the path loss compensation factor. The path loss compensation factor may be lower with higher altitude, and determining a path loss compensation factor may comprise estimating a path loss from at least one neighboring cell. Estimating a path loss comprises using measurements of a reference signal power, wherein the reference signal is a downlink reference signal. The method may further comprise dynamically blanking CRSs or reporting, by the aerial WTRU to the serving call, a cell-id of a neighboring cell and a path loss from the neighboring cell. The method may additionally comprise reporting, by the serving cell to the neighboring cell, the path loss from the neighboring cell, possibly through a backhaul connection. Alternatively, the method may comprise the aerial WTRU reporting, to the neighboring cell, path loss information from the neighboring cell. The power control may be for a RACH, and the method may comprise transmitting a concatenated Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence over the RACH. The serving cell may comprise an evolved Node B (eNB). The aerial WTRU may include an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). The UAV may be a drone.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention o modify the uplink power control feature of XIONG, such that the maximum power limit corresponding to a flying level (i.e. altitude) is configured according to a power class associated with a downlink reference signal (i.e. the SSB) or a power offset associated with the downlink reference signal (i.e. SSB), according to a compensation factor, as similarly seen in the uplink power control feature of Balasubramanian, to thus arrive at claim 10. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of support for aerial terminal(s)/UE(s).
Claim(s) 4 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) in view of in view of LEE (US 20220183076 A1) in view of Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1).
In regards to claim 4, XIONG in view of LEE is silent on the method according to claim 2, wherein the maximum power limit corresponding to the flying level is configured according to a power class associated with the SSB or a power offset associated with the SSB. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior at involving uplink power control.
Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) teaches a feature for uplink power control of an airborne terminal (i.e. aerial UE), where a maximum power limit, uplink transmission power, corresponding to a flying level, altitude, is configured according to a power class associated with a downlink reference signal or a power offset associated with the downlink reference signal, according to a compensation factor (“[0004] A method of power control for an aerial WTRU may comprise estimating a path loss from a serving cell; determining a path loss compensation factor, wherein the path loss compensation factor is dependent on an altitude of the WTRU; and setting an uplink transmission power based on the estimated path loss and the path loss compensation factor. The path loss compensation factor may be lower with higher altitude, and determining a path loss compensation factor may comprise estimating a path loss from at least one neighboring cell. Estimating a path loss comprises using measurements of a reference signal power, wherein the reference signal is a downlink reference signal. The method may further comprise dynamically blanking CRSs or reporting, by the aerial WTRU to the serving call, a cell-id of a neighboring cell and a path loss from the neighboring cell. The method may additionally comprise reporting, by the serving cell to the neighboring cell, the path loss from the neighboring cell, possibly through a backhaul connection. Alternatively, the method may comprise the aerial WTRU reporting, to the neighboring cell, path loss information from the neighboring cell. The power control may be for a RACH, and the method may comprise transmitting a concatenated Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence over the RACH. The serving cell may comprise an evolved Node B (eNB). The aerial WTRU may include an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). The UAV may be a drone.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention o modify the uplink power control feature of XIONG in view of LEE, such that the maximum power limit corresponding to a flying level (i.e. altitude) is configured according to a power class associated with a reference signal (i.e. the SSB) or a power offset associated with the reference signal (i.e. SSB), according to a compensation factor, as similarly seen in the uplink power control feature of Balasubramanian, to thus arrive at claim 4. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of support for aerial terminal(s)/UE(s).
In regards to claim 22, XIONG in view of LEE is silent on the network node according to claim 20, wherein the maximum power limit corresponding to the flying level is configured according to a power class associated with the SSB or a power offset associated with the SSB. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior at involving uplink power control.
Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) teaches a feature for uplink power control of an airborne terminal (i.e. aerial UE), where a maximum power limit, uplink transmission power, corresponding to a flying level, altitude, is configured according to a power class associated with a downlink reference signal or a power offset associated with the downlink reference signal, according to a compensation factor (“[0004] A method of power control for an aerial WTRU may comprise estimating a path loss from a serving cell; determining a path loss compensation factor, wherein the path loss compensation factor is dependent on an altitude of the WTRU; and setting an uplink transmission power based on the estimated path loss and the path loss compensation factor. The path loss compensation factor may be lower with higher altitude, and determining a path loss compensation factor may comprise estimating a path loss from at least one neighboring cell. Estimating a path loss comprises using measurements of a reference signal power, wherein the reference signal is a downlink reference signal. The method may further comprise dynamically blanking CRSs or reporting, by the aerial WTRU to the serving call, a cell-id of a neighboring cell and a path loss from the neighboring cell. The method may additionally comprise reporting, by the serving cell to the neighboring cell, the path loss from the neighboring cell, possibly through a backhaul connection. Alternatively, the method may comprise the aerial WTRU reporting, to the neighboring cell, path loss information from the neighboring cell. The power control may be for a RACH, and the method may comprise transmitting a concatenated Zadoff-Chu (ZC) sequence over the RACH. The serving cell may comprise an evolved Node B (eNB). The aerial WTRU may include an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV). The UAV may be a drone… [0095] A maximum transmit power for UAVs may be constrained, for example, compared to terrestrial WTRUs. This may reduce interference from UAVs (e.g. given LOS channel propagation compared to terrestrial WTRUs). Constraining transmission power may not make UAVs amenable to satellite access, which may require more, rather than less, transmission power. Power constraints may reduce target SINR, signal-to-interference ratio (SIR), and signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), which may reduce communication system reliability. Adapting a UAV's maximum transmit power, as opposed to limiting maximum transmit power to a fixed value, may improve performance.”).
Thus, based upon the teachings of Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the uplink power control feature of XIONG in view of LEE, such that the maximum power limit corresponding to a flying level (i.e. altitude) is configured according to a power class associated with a downlink reference signal (i.e. the SSB) or a power offset associated with the downlink reference signal (i.e. SSB), according to a compensation factor, as similarly seen in the uplink power control feature of Balasubramanian, to thus arrive at claim 22. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a modification in order to provide a benefit of support for aerial terminal(s)/UE(s).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) in view of Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) in view of SANGWOOK (EP 3606270 A1).
In regards to claim 12, XIONG is silent on the method according to claim 11, wherein the transmission power is a minimum value of a first parameter and a second parameter, wherein the first parameter is a maximum power limit corresponding to a flying level; and the second parameter is a sum of following two parameters: PRACH target reception power associated with a target SSB and a product of a partial path loss compensation factor associated with the target SSB and a downlink path loss estimation value. However, XIONG does teach the method according to claim 11, wherein the transmission power is a minimum value of a first parameter and a second parameter, wherein the first power parameter is the maximum power limit and the second parameter is a sum of the following two parameters: PRACH target reception power, preamble received target power, associated with a target SSB and a downlink path loss estimation value.
“[0414] P.sub.PRACH=min {P.sub.CMAX,PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER+PL.sub.k} [dBm]
[0415] wherein P.sub.CMAX is the maximum transmit power of the terminal and PL.sub.k is the computed path loss of the kth synchronization signal block.
[0416] It should be noted that the random access configuration information (including random access channel configuration information, preamble resources and initial target preamble receiving power configuration information) in this embodiment is transmitted in an Media Access Control (MAC) layer. After the MAC computes the receiving power of the target preamble, it is transmitted to the physical layer, and the physical layer computes the final transmit power for random access preamble transmitting.”
Furthermore, regarding the differences between XIONG and claim 12, similar features have been seen in other prior art involving uplink power control. Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) teaches a feature for uplink power control of an airborne terminal (i.e. aerial UE), a second parameter is a sum of the following two parameters: an uplink target reception power associated with a reference signal, “P0 may be a target SINR at a base station” and a product of a partial path loss compensation factor associated with the reference signal, “αi (i=1,2) may be a fractional power compensation factor (0≤α.sub.i≤1) for a WTRU and UAV, respectively; and M may be a number of PRBs assigned. A WTRU may (in LTE) compensate for path loss fully (α.sub.1=1) or partly (0≤α.sub.1<1), which may be signaled in SIB2 (LTE scheduling information).”
and a downlink path loss estimation value, “PLi(i=1,2 ) may be a path loss experienced by a WTRU and UAV, respectively”
“[0104] Altitude-based open loop power control may be used for UAVs, in some embodiments. Open loop power control may permit UAVs and WTRUs to coexist, despite different channel propagation environments. Interference levels generated by WTRUs and UAVs may be the same or similar, although a separate open loop power control may be provided for UAVs.
[0105] Open loop power control (e.g. in LTE) may be given in some embodiments by Eq. (1):
P.sub.i=min{P.sub.max, 10logM+P.sub.o+α.sub.iPL.sub.i} Eq. (1)
[0106] where P.sub.i(i=1,2 ) may be a transmit power of a WTRU and UAV, respectively; P.sub.max may be a maximum transmit power of a WTRU or UAV; P.sub.0 may be a target SINR at a base station; PL.sub.i(i=1,2 ) may be a path loss experienced by a WTRU and UAV, respectively; α.sub.i(i=1,2) may be a fractional power compensation factor (0≤α.sub.i≤1) for a WTRU and UAV, respectively; and M may be a number of PRBs assigned. A WTRU may (in LTE) compensate for path loss fully (α.sub.1=1) or partly (0≤α.sub.1<1), which may be signaled in SIB2 (LTE scheduling information).
[0107] Path loss (PL.sub.i) in Eq. (1) may be given in some embodiments by Eq. (2):
PL.sub.i≈10n.sub.ilogd.sub.i+constant Eq. (2)
[0108] where n.sub.i(i=1,2) may represent a path loss exponent for a WTRU and UAV, respectively; and d.sub.i(i=1,2) may represent a distance of a WTRU and UAV, from the eNB 803 respectively.
[0109] In the example of FIG. 8, where UAV 801 and terrestrial WTRU 802 were both attached to eNB 803, the path loss is PL.sub.i=PL(i=1,2). In some embodiments, full path loss compensation (α.sub.i=1) may be performed for both UAV 801 and WTRU 802. As described, UAV 801 may experience a free space channel propagation environment while WTRU 802 may experience a multi-path scenario, e.g., n.sub.1>n.sub.2. In some embodiments, n.sub.1≈3 (e.g. a suburban scenario), and n.sub.2≈2 (free space path loss). Eq. (2), may indicate (e.g. in an example where there may be constant path loss and a differing propagation environment) that d.sub.1<d.sub.2. In some embodiments, d.sub.i(i=1,2) may signify the interference level generated by WTRU 802 and UAV 801, respectively, for example, when they transmit in the uplink by compensating for the path loss. This may imply that an interference level generated by a UAV may be higher than interference generated by a WTRU, for example, when the same open loop power compensation may be performed for a UAV and a WTRU, which may be unacceptable for coexistence of UAVs and WTRUs.”
Thus based upon the teachings of Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feature of uplink power control for aerial UE(s)/terminal(s) suggested by XIONG, by utilizing a partial pathloss compensation factor to arrive at where the second parameter is a sum of following two parameters: the PRACH target reception power associated with the target SSB and a product of a partial path loss compensation factor associated with reference signal (i.e. the target SSB) and the downlink path loss estimation value, as similarly seen in Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1), in order to provide a benefit of support for uplink power control for aerial terminal(s)/UE(s).
The combined teachings of XIONG in view of Balasubramanian further differ from claim 12, in that the combined teachings are silent on wherein a first parameter in an uplink power control equation is the maximum power limit corresponding to the flying level. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving uplink power control.
SANGWOOK (EP 3606270 A1). SANGWOOK [Par. 253 – Par. 260] teaches a parameter in a uplink power control equation, where a maximum power limit corresponds to a flying level in order to provide a benefit of efficient uplink power control for aerial terminals/UEs.
Thus, based upon the teachings of SANGWOOK it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the uplink power control feature of XIONG in view of Balasubramanian by taking into account a flying level to arrive at wherein the first parameter is the maximum power limit corresponding to the flying level, as similarly seen in SANGWOOK to thus arrive at claim 12, in order to provide a benefit of support for aerial terminal(s)/UE(s).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over XIONG (US 20200128588 A1) in view of in view of LEE (US 20220183076 A1) in view of Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) in view of SANGWOOK (EP 3606270 A1).
In regards to claim 5, XIONG in view of LEE in view of Balasubramanian is silent on the method according to claim 2, wherein the transmission power of the terminal is a minimum value of a first parameter and a second parameter, wherein the first parameter is the maximum power limit corresponding to the flying level; and the second parameter is a sum of following two parameters: PRACH target reception power associated with a target SSB and a product of a partial path loss compensation factor associated with the target SSB and a downlink path loss estimation value. However, XIONG does teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the transmission power is a minimum value of a first parameter and a second parameter, wherein the first power parameter is the maximum power limit and the second parameter is a sum of the following two parameters: PRACH target reception power, preamble received target power, associated with a target SSB and a downlink path loss estimation value.
“[0414] P.sub.PRACH=min {P.sub.CMAX,PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER+PL.sub.k} [dBm]
[0415] wherein P.sub.CMAX is the maximum transmit power of the terminal and PL.sub.k is the computed path loss of the kth synchronization signal block.
[0416] It should be noted that the random access configuration information (including random access channel configuration information, preamble resources and initial target preamble receiving power configuration information) in this embodiment is transmitted in an Media Access Control (MAC) layer. After the MAC computes the receiving power of the target preamble, it is transmitted to the physical layer, and the physical layer computes the final transmit power for random access preamble transmitting.”
Furthermore, regarding the differences between XIONG and claim 5, similar features have been seen in other prior art involving uplink power control. Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) teaches a feature for uplink power control of an airborne terminal (i.e. aerial UE), a second parameter is a sum of the following two parameters: an uplink target reception power associated with a reference signal, “P0 may be a target SINR at a base station” and a product of a partial path loss compensation factor associated with the reference signal, “αi (i=1,2) may be a fractional power compensation factor (0≤α.sub.i≤1) for a WTRU and UAV, respectively; and M may be a number of PRBs assigned. A WTRU may (in LTE) compensate for path loss fully (α.sub.1=1) or partly (0≤α.sub.1<1), which may be signaled in SIB2 (LTE scheduling information).”
and a downlink path loss estimation value, “PLi(i=1,2 ) may be a path loss experienced by a WTRU and UAV, respectively”
“[0104] Altitude-based open loop power control may be used for UAVs, in some embodiments. Open loop power control may permit UAVs and WTRUs to coexist, despite different channel propagation environments. Interference levels generated by WTRUs and UAVs may be the same or similar, although a separate open loop power control may be provided for UAVs.
[0105] Open loop power control (e.g. in LTE) may be given in some embodiments by Eq. (1):
P.sub.i=min{P.sub.max, 10logM+P.sub.o+α.sub.iPL.sub.i} Eq. (1)
[0106] where P.sub.i(i=1,2 ) may be a transmit power of a WTRU and UAV, respectively; P.sub.max may be a maximum transmit power of a WTRU or UAV; P.sub.0 may be a target SINR at a base station; PL.sub.i(i=1,2 ) may be a path loss experienced by a WTRU and UAV, respectively; α.sub.i(i=1,2) may be a fractional power compensation factor (0≤α.sub.i≤1) for a WTRU and UAV, respectively; and M may be a number of PRBs assigned. A WTRU may (in LTE) compensate for path loss fully (α.sub.1=1) or partly (0≤α.sub.1<1), which may be signaled in SIB2 (LTE scheduling information).
[0107] Path loss (PL.sub.i) in Eq. (1) may be given in some embodiments by Eq. (2):
PL.sub.i≈10n.sub.ilogd.sub.i+constant Eq. (2)
[0108] where n.sub.i(i=1,2) may represent a path loss exponent for a WTRU and UAV, respectively; and d.sub.i(i=1,2) may represent a distance of a WTRU and UAV, from the eNB 803 respectively.
[0109] In the example of FIG. 8, where UAV 801 and terrestrial WTRU 802 were both attached to eNB 803, the path loss is PL.sub.i=PL(i=1,2). In some embodiments, full path loss compensation (α.sub.i=1) may be performed for both UAV 801 and WTRU 802. As described, UAV 801 may experience a free space channel propagation environment while WTRU 802 may experience a multi-path scenario, e.g., n.sub.1>n.sub.2. In some embodiments, n.sub.1≈3 (e.g. a suburban scenario), and n.sub.2≈2 (free space path loss). Eq. (2), may indicate (e.g. in an example where there may be constant path loss and a differing propagation environment) that d.sub.1<d.sub.2. In some embodiments, d.sub.i(i=1,2) may signify the interference level generated by WTRU 802 and UAV 801, respectively, for example, when they transmit in the uplink by compensating for the path loss. This may imply that an interference level generated by a UAV may be higher than interference generated by a WTRU, for example, when the same open loop power compensation may be performed for a UAV and a WTRU, which may be unacceptable for coexistence of UAVs and WTRUs.”
Thus based upon the teachings of Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1) it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the feature of uplink power control for aerial UE(s)/terminal(s) suggested by XIONG, by utilizing a partial pathloss compensation factor to arrive at where the second parameter is a sum of following two parameters: the PRACH target reception power associated with the target SSB and a product of a partial path loss compensation factor associated with reference signal (i.e. the target SSB) and the downlink path loss estimation value, as similarly seen in Balasubramanian (US 20200100187 A1), in order to provide a benefit of support for uplink power control for aerial terminal(s)/UE(s).
The combined teachings of XIONG in view of LEE in view of Balasubramanian further differ from claim 5, in that the combined teachings are silent on wherein a first parameter in an uplink power control equation is the maximum power limit corresponding to the flying level. Despite these differences similar features have been seen in other prior art involving uplink power control.
SANGWOOK (EP 3606270 A1). SANGWOOK [Par. 253 – Par. 260] teaches a parameter in an uplink power control equation, where a maximum power limit corresponds to a flying level in order to provide a benefit of efficient uplink power control for aerial terminals/UEs.
Thus, based upon the teachings of SANGWOOK it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the uplink power control feature of XIONG in view of LEE in view of Balasubramanian by taking into account a flying level to arrive at wherein the first parameter is the maximum power limit corresponding to the flying level, as similarly seen in SANGWOOK to thus arrive at claim 5, in order to provide a benefit of support for aerial terminal(s)/UE(s).
Conclusion
/TARELL A HAMPTON/Examiner, Art Unit 2476 /AYAZ R SHEIKH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2476