The following final office action is in response to the reply filed September 30, 2025.
Drawings
The drawing correction filed September 30, 2025 has been approved.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because the applicant has improperly used different language to refer to the same element of the invention. For example, the applicant has referred to element 20 as a “raised area surface” on line 6 of the September 30, 2025 amendment to the specification and improperly referred to element 20 as a wall on line 9 of the September 30, 2025 amendment to the specification. It appears that a fourth wall which is not numbered defines the raised area surface and it appears that it is this wall the applicant is referring to on line 9 of September 30, 2025 amendment to the specification rather than the raised area surface.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because “said flat face” on line 6 of claim 8 brings the clarity of the claim into question because it lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 8 is objected to because “the vehicle body” on line 7 brings the clarity of the claim into question because the applicant has not clearly set forth that the applicant is claiming the vehicle body above. Although the applicant recites “a vehicle body mounted shuffle bumper” on line 2 of claim 8, the vehicle body is not clearly set forth as an element of the invention since “a vehicle body” on line 2 of claim 8 is referring to the type of shuffle bumper instead of setting forth a vehicle body.
Claim 9 is objected to because “the vehicle body” on line 3 brings the clarity of the claim into question because the applicant has not clearly set forth that the applicant is claiming the vehicle body above. Although the applicant recites “a vehicle body mounted shuffle bumper” on line 2 of claim 8, the vehicle body is not clearly set forth as an element of the invention since “a vehicle body” on line 2 of claim 8 is referring to the type of shuffle bumper instead of setting forth a vehicle body.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rejc et al. (US 2016/0176271) in view of Eynon (US 2021/0129404). Rejc et al. discloses a vehicle closure panel 18 for a vehicle body 14, the vehicle closure panel 18 having an inner panel 110 (fig. 6) for resting on the vehicle body 14 mounted shuffle bumper 370 comprising;
said inner panel including an integrally formed in shuffle bumper interface portion (labeled below) having a singular central flattened interface surface (labeled below) for providing a solid interference stop with the vehicle mounted shuffle bumper 370 attached to the vehicle body 14 when the vehicle closure panel 18 is in a closed position
(claim 1);
wherein said shuffle bumper interface portion is a raised area (labeled below) facing inward toward the vehicle body 14 for interference fit with the vehicle body mounted shuffle bumper 370 of the vehicle body 14 (claims 2 and 9);
wherein the singular central flattened interface surface (labeled below) is attached to the inner panel 110 by at least one structural wall member (labeled below) (claims 3 and 10);
wherein there are at least two walls (labeled below) which extend to support the central flattened interface surface (claims 4 and 11);
wherein the vehicle closure panel 18 is a liftgate, side door, frunk, hood, fuel door, or a deck lid (claims 5 and 12);
wherein the vehicle closure panel 18 is an inside panel 110 of a liftgate 18 (claims 6 and 13).
Rejc et al. is silent concerning the inner panel being molded from a thermoset structural plastic or a reinforced thermoplastic.
However, Eynon discloses manufacturing panels of lift gate by molding the panels from a thermoset structural plastic or a reinforced thermoplastic as set forth on lines 1-6 of paragraph 17 and line 6 of paragraph 30.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to manufacture at least the inner panel of the vehicle closure panel of Rejc et al. from a molded reinforced thermoplastic, as taught by Eynon, with a reasonable expectation of success to reduce the weight of the vehicle closure panel while maintaining the requisite strength of the inner panel.
With respect to claims 7 and 14, the vehicle closure panel of Rejc et al., as modified above, is injection molded since at least the inner panel 110 is injection molded. See line 6 of paragraph 17 of Eynon.
With respect to claim 8, the shuffle bumper interface portion of the vehicle closure panel of Rejc et al., as modified above, comprises a one-piece molding with the inner panel. See line 6 of paragraph 17 of Eynon which discloses the injection molding step while Rejc et al. discloses that the shuffle bumper interface portion is one piece with the inner panel 110.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 30, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that Rejc et al. fails to teach an inner panel having a shuffle bumper interface portion including a singular central flattened interface surface. This is not found to be persuasive because Rejc et al. discloses a central flattened interface surface labeled below. The interface surface is clearly flattened as shown in figure 6 and is central since it is positioned between the two portions of the inner panel labeled below. Rejc et al. further discloses that the central flattened surface is a singular interface surface since it is the only surface that is central, flattened and engages the interference stop. Thus, Rejc et al. discloses the applicant’s claimed singular central flattened interface surface.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GREGORY J STRIMBU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634