DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Processing Device” in claim 1. The first processing device 15 and second processing device 70 are both described as performing a processing function. For the purposes of examination, the corresponding structure will be interpreted as the structure for these devices: first processing device (“first processing device 15 includes a first detection device 16” in combination with “As the first detection device 16, a near-infrared moisture meter using near-infrared rays can be employed” [0027]) and second processing device (“The second processing device 70 includes a hopper 71, the sediment feeder 72, a sieve 73, and the discharge belt conveyor 74 to sieve an excavated object.” [0050])
Examiner notes that applicant has amended “processing device” in claim 1 to recite that the processing device comprises “a mechanical member”. This change is not sufficient to avoid the previous 112(f) interpretation. The term “member” is recognized as a generic placeholder (see MPEP 2181(I)(A) ) and the word “mechanical” does not define structure.
“Change Mechanism” in claim 3 and claim 6. The first change device 17 is described as performing a change function (“first change device 17 changes a rate of water” [0029]). For the purposes of examination, the corresponding structure is interpreted as the first change device 17 (“first change device 17 uses a liquid supply device that supplies liquid such as water to the excavated object. The liquid supply device includes a liquid tank 18 that stores water, and a pump, a nozzle, a pipe, and the like” [0029])
“Detection device” in claim 7. The first detection device 16 is described as performing a detection function (“first detection device 16 that detects a property of the excavated object” [0027]). For the purposes of examination, the corresponding structure is described as the first detection device 16 (“As the first detection device 16, a near-infrared moisture meter using near-infrared rays can be employed” [0029]).
“First conveyance mechanism” and “Second conveyance mechanism” in claim 8. The Working device 60 (“working device 60 conveys the excavated object” [0091]), Sediment Feeder 72 (“sediment feeder 72 conveys an excavated object” [0053]), Discharge Belt Conveyor 74 (“discharge belt conveyor 74 conveys to a dump truck” [0055]) and Discharge Member 75 (“discharge member 75 may be configured to convey” [0112]) are each described as performing a conveying function. For the purpose of examination, the corresponding structure will be interpreted as the structure for any two of these four devices: Working device 60 (“working device 60 includes the boom 53, a boom cylinder 54, an arm55, an arm cylinder 56, a bucket 57, and a bucket cylinder 58.” l[0043]), Sediment Feeder 72 (“sediment feeder 72 includes a belt 72a, the pair of frames 72b, and a support portion 72c” [0053]), Discharge Belt Conveyor 74 (“discharge belt conveyor 74 includes a belt 74a, the pair of frames 74b, and a support portion 74c [0055]) and Discharge Member 75 (shown to be an inclined plane in Fig. 7).
“Folding portion” in claim 9. The hinge portion 72d and a motor (“hinge portion 72d foldable toward the lower main body device 40b and a motor (not illustrated) that drives the hinge portion 72d” [0099]) and hinge portion 74d and a motor (“hinge portion 74d foldable toward the lower main body device 40b and a motor (not illustrated) that drives the hinge portion” [0099]) are described as performing folding. For the purpose of examination, the corresponding structure will be interpreted as a combination of a hinge and a motor.
“First working device” and “second working device” in claim 10. The Working device 60 (“working device 60 conveys the excavated object” [0091]) is described as performing a work function. For the purpose of examination, the corresponding structure is interpreted as a multiple working devices (“working device 60 includes the boom 53, a boom cylinder 54, an arm55, an arm cylinder 56, a bucket 57, and a bucket cylinder 58.” [0043]).
“Crushing device” in claim 11. The rotary crushing device 80 is described as performing a crushing function. For the purpose of examination, corresponding structure will be interpreted as the rotary crushing device 80 (“The rotary crushing device 80 includes a motor 81, a driving pulley 82, a belt 83, a driven pulley 84, a rotating shaft 85, and a crushing unit 86.” [0122])
“Mass Body that corrects” in claim 13. The counter mass 43 is described as performing a correcting function. For the purposes of examination, corresponding structure will be interpreted as the counter mass 43 (counter mass shown in Figs. 1 and 5)
“Revolving device” in claim 14. The revolving device 30 is described a performing a revolving function (“The revolving device 30 revolves” [0032]). For the purpose of examination, the corresponding structure is interpreted as the revolving device 30 (“The revolving device 30 includes a bearing (not illustrated) and a revolving motor 31” [0032]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigter (EP 658,500) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Uetake et. al. (US2018/0258608), hereinafter referred to as “Uetake” and Monteleone (DE4426608).
Re Claim 1, Rigter discloses a construction machine comprising:
a main body device (carriage 1 and crane 2) that is movable (two wheels 24, 25 provide movability) by a moving device (wheels 24, 25), wherein the main body device includes a lower main body device (carriage 1) and an upper main body device (crane 2) that is configured to revolve with respect to the lower main body device (“The crane 2 is rotatable relative to the carriage 1 about the axis 21” Col. 2, Lines 44-45) by a revolving device (see Fig. 1, illustrated below);
a conveyance device (conveyor track 7, comprising conveyors 11, 13) having a frame (sides of conveyor track 7 shown in Fig. 1) to convey an excavated object excavated by a working device (arm 3) to an outside of the main body device via the main body device (Fig. 1); and
a processing device having a mechanical member that processes (cleaning bed 12) the excavated object in a space located below the revolving device (Fig. 1) device while the conveyance device conveys the excavated object (cleaning bed 12 and conveyors 11 and 13 function simultaneously).
Ritger does not disclose the moving device (wheels 24, 25) having a motor nor that the processing device processes an excavated object directly below the revolving device.
Uetake teaches a moving device (driving wheels 34D) having a motor (“The respective driving wheels 34 D are independently and separately driven. In the present embodiment, the excavation machine 30 is provided with travel motors for the respective driving wheels 34 D.” [0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ritger by incorporating the motors as taught by Uetake in order to drive the wheels of Ritger and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized a reasonable expectation success.
Monteleone teaches (Figs. 2-3) a processing device (nozzle 4) having a mechanical member (nozzle 4) that processes an excavated object (“Both the conveying and/or shredding device and the feed unit can be equipped with either spray water nozzles or dust extraction devices; these dampen the dust generated during the conveying and shredding of the often very dry residual materials due to storage” [0007]) in a space located directly below (nozzle 4 acts on material directly below the revolving device) the revolving device (feeder 1 is shown to revolve in Fig. 2) while the conveyance device (conveyor belt 31) conveys the excavated object (“The material is fed to a collection shaft 36 - in the example shown by a conveyor belt 33.” [0038]).
Rigter, in view of Uetake, and Monteleone includes each element claimed although not necessarily in a single reference with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Rigter, in view of Uetake, and Monteleone by rearranging conveyors 11, 13 and cleaning bed 12 of Rigter, in view of Uetake, such that the cleaning bed 12 is directly below the revolving device. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the results of this combination as predictable as each element merely performs the same function as it does separately.
Re Claim 2, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the processing device includes a sieve (cleaning bed 12) that selects the excavated object (cleaning bed 12 sieves the excavated object by “removing material adhering to bulk goods” Col. 3, Lines 41-42).
Re Claim 6, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the processing device comprises a change mechanism (cleaning bed 12) that changes a property of the excavated object selected by the sieve (cleaning bed 12 selects the excavated object by “removing material adhering to bulk goods” Col. 3, Lines 41-42).
Re Claim 7, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to disclose a detection device that detects a property of the excavated object.
Uetake further teaches a detection device (humidity sensor 42) that is provided to the main body device to detect a property of the excavated object (“a humidity sensor 42 for measuring ambient humidity… the humidity detected by the humidity sensor 42 becomes information indicating am amount of moisture of the rock mass” [0080])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, to incorporate the further teachings of Uetake by adding to detection device to measure the humidity of the excavated mass and a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that there was a reasonable expectation of success.
Re Claim 8, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), the conveyance device includes a first conveyance mechanism (conveyor 11) that conveys the excavated object excavated by the working device to the main body device, and a second conveyance mechanism that conveys to the outside of the main body device (conveyor 13) the excavated object conveyed to the main body device.
Re Claim 13, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein a mass body that corrects an unbalanced load acting on the main body device caused by driving the working device (arm 3) is provided in each of the upper main body device (see Fig. 1 illustrated below) and the lower main body device (supporting legs 22,23).
Fig. 1 of Rigter, illustrated
Re Claim 20, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the lower main body device (carriage 1) is a frame member having a shelf structure (Fig. 1) that holds the revolving device in a first stage (top side of carriage 1 holds the revolving device) of the shelf structure and holds the processing device in another stage of the shelf structure (bottom side of carriage 1 holds the cleaning bed 12).
Re Claim 21, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and further disclose that the construction machine is without a seat of a driver (Fig. 1 of Rigter does not disclose a seat of a driver), but fails to disclose that the construction machine is configured to operate by at least one of automatic operation or remote operation.
Uetake further teaches (Fig. 6) that the construction machine (excavation machine 30) is configured to be operated by at least one of automatic or remote operations (“The excavation machine 30 is operated by an operation device 20 . The operator OP operates a learning excavation machine 30 t and the learning excavation device 30 DMt, using the operation device 20 ” [0133]).
Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses a base construction machine upon which the claimed invention improves by allowing the construction machine to be operated by remote operation. Uetake further teaches controlling construction machines remotely. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the remote operation further taught by Uetake to the construction machine of Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that this would yield the predictable result of resulting in an improved system where one could operate the construction machine remotely.
Re Claim 22, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the working device is connected to the upper main body device (“a crane 2, projecting from the carriage 1, with an arm 3 and two scoops 4, 5, carried by the arm” [0010]) and processing device is connected to the lower main body device (Fig. 1).
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Atsumi (US2021/0403146).
Re Claim 3, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1, but fails to disclose a change mechanism that changes a property of the excavated object processed by the processing device.
Atsumi teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle capable of flying (aircraft 100) that are capable of spraying water ([0133]) and are discloses to be compatible with excavators (Atsumi teaches that the unmanned aerial vehicle can be used with “construction vehicle such as bulldozer or a excavator” [0212]).
Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, contains a construction machine upon which the invention of claim 3 could be seen as an improvement by adding a change mechanism, which is defined in the specification as a liquid supply device. Atsumi teaches an unmanned aerial vehicle capable of flying that is capable of being a liquid supply device, or an equivalent thereof, and is applicable to the device of Ritger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the unmanned aerial vehicle of Atsumi to the construction machine of Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, since the modification would predictably result in an improved system that could alter the water content of the excavated material by spraying more water on it.
Re Claim 4, Rigter, in view of Uetake, Monteleone and Atsumi, discloses the construction machine according to claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above), wherein the change mechanism is provided in an unmanned aerial vehicle capable of flying.
Re Claim 5, Rigter, in view of Uetake, Monteleone and Atsumi, discloses the construction machine according to claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above), and Atsumi further discloses that a number of the unmanned aerial vehicles is larger than a number of the working devices (“When multiple aircraft 100 are coupled side by side in the horizontal direction in a row, for example, it is possible to efficiently perform operations such as disinfect injection, water spraying” [0133]. Ritger only discloses one working device, so the multiple aircraft of Atsumi is a larger quantity of aircraft than the quantity of working devices).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, in view of Mallaghan (US2002/0124441) and Uetake et. al. (US2018/0258608).
Re Claim 9, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to disclose that the conveyance device includes a folding portion that rotatably supports the frame to fold the conveyance device, and the construction machine further includes a control device that comprises a CPU configured to control the positioning of the working device with respect to the folded-conveyance device when the conveyance device is folded.
Mallaghan teaches that the conveyance device includes a folding portion that rotatably supports the frame to fold the conveyance device (“When it is desired to transport the device by road, the conveyor 2 be folded laterally inwardly inside the wheel base of the excavator 1. It may also be folded longitudinally as is common in transportation of conveyors” [0023])
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, to incorporate the folding capability of Mallaghan to help transport the construction machine and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there is a reasonable chance of success.
Uetake teaches a control device (processing device 76) that comprises a CPU (“The processing device 76 is a microcomputer including a central processing unit (CPU)” [0105]) configured to control the positioning of the working device with respect to the folded-conveyance device (“The processing device 76 controls at least the operation of the excavation device” [0106]) when the conveyance device is folded.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Rigter, in view of Uetake, Monteleone and Mallaghan, to incorporate the control device of Uetake to automatically control the operations of the construction machine including the positioning of the working device and one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that there is a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ali et. al. (US2018/0234626), hereinafter referred to as “Ali”.
Re Claim 10, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), and further discloses that the working device includes a first working device connected to one side of the main body device (crane arm 3), but fails to disclose a second working device connected to the other side of the main body device.
Ali discloses a second working device (first implement 110) connected to the other side of the main body device (“The machine 100 may include a first implement 110 and a second implement 112” [0016] where the first implement is at a first end 114 of the construction machine [0016] and the second implement is at the second end 112 of the construction machine [0017]).
Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, contains a construction machine upon which the construction machine of claim 10 could be seen as improved by having two working devices on either side of main body device. Ali contains a construction machine that has been improved by having a first working device connected to one side of the main body device, and a second working device connected to the other side of the main body device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the second working device of Ali to the construction machine of Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, in a manner such that the first and second working devices are oriented in the manner they are in Ali for moving material with a loader bucket and a backhoe mechanism. The results of this combination would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, in view of Moriya et. al. (US2001/0054657), hereinafter referred to as “Moriya”.
Re Claim 11, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to disclose that the processing device includes a crushing device that comprises a crushing unit configured to crush the excavated object
Moriya teaches that the processing device includes a crushing device (cone type crusher 10) that comprises a crushing unit (cone type crusher 10) configured to crush the excavated object (“The cone type crusher 10 is structured such as to crush in accordance with a rotary power output from an input shaft 16” [0003]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, to incorporate the teachings of Moriya by including a crushing device so that the construction machine can have the additional functionality of crushing rocks (Moriya, “crusher for rocks” [0001]) and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mallaghan (US2002/0124441).
Re Claim 15, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to disclose a drive system that is housed in the upper main body device, the drive system driving at least one of the moving device and the processing device.
Mallaghan teaches a drive system (engine 33) that is housed in the upper main body device (Fig. 4), the drive system driving at least one of the moving device (tracks 31) and the processing device
While Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses a moving device and a processing device, Ritger fails to disclose a drive system. Combined with Mallaghan, the prior art includes each element claimed although not in a single reference and the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is actual combination of elements in a single reference. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combine the references by putting the engine of Mallaghan in the crane of Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, and, in combination, each element performs the same function as they do individually. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that the results of this combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigter, in view of Uetake, Monteleone, and Mallaghan, as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Wutke et. al. (US2014/0083089), hereinafter referred to as “Wutke”.
Re Claim 16, Rigter, in view of Uetake, Monteleone, and Mallaghan, disclose the construction machine according to claim 15 (see rejection of claim 15 above), but fails to disclose that the drive system includes a fuel tank configured to store ammonia or hydrogen.
Wutke teaches a fuel supply that contains hydrogen gas ([0020]).
Rigter, in view of Uetake, Monteleone, and Mallaghan, teach a construction machine that does not disclose its fuel source. Wutke a similar machine (Wutke, Fig. 1) teaches a fuel supply that contains hydrogen gas. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied the fuel tank of Wutke to the drive system of Rigter, in view of Uetake and Mallaghan, for powering the engine and the results would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kruse (US2013/0255112) and Bullen (US2018/0248061).
Re Claim 17, Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to disclose a perovskite solar cell that is provided on the upper main body device.
Kruse teaches that a machine can be powered with a solar cell (“Power pack 106 can include one or more generators, one or more engines, one or more batteries, one or more solar panels, one or more compressors, one or more storage tanks or the like.” [0036]) that is provided on the upper main body device (Fig. 1).
Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, contained a construction machine upon which the claimed invention could be seen as improved upon by adding a solar cell that is provided on the upper main body device. Kruse teaches a solar cell that is provided on the upper main body that could be applied to the construction machine of Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that adding a solar cell on the upper main body of the construction machine of Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone, would achieve the predictable result of powering the construction machine and would improve the system by adding a power source.
Rigter, in view of Uetake, Monteleone, and Kruse, does not disclose making the solar cell of perovskite. Bullen teaches that perovskite solar cells use inexpensive components and are simple to process ([0003]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Rigter, in view of Uetake, Monteleone, and Kruse, to use the perovskite solar cell of Bullen because of their inexpensive components and simplicity in processing and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rigter, in view of Uetake, and Monteleone, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cowgill (WO2020/232082)
Re Claim 18, Rigter, in view of Uetake, discloses the construction machine according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), but fails to disclose that the upper main body device includes a take-off and landing portion where an unmanned aerial vehicle is able to take off and land.
Cowgill teaches that wherein the upper main body device includes a take-off and landing portion (“home device 33 operates as a base for the unmanned vehicle 36 and is optionally capable of acting as a power source, transmitter/receiver, base/hub, anchor, landing spot, garage, vehicle, connector, etc” [33]) where an unmanned aerial vehicle (unmanned vehicle 36) is able to take off and land portion.
Rigter, in view of Uetake, and Monteleone, discloses a construction machine upon which the claimed invention could be seen as an improvement by including an unmanned aerial vehicle and a portion of the upper main body device where the unmanned aerial vehicle can take off and land. The construction machine of Cowgill has been improved by including an unmanned aerial vehicle and a location on the upper main body where the unmanned aerial vehicle can take off and land. It would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an unmanned aerial vehicle and a take off and landing portion to the construction machine of Rigter, in view of Uetake, and Monteleone, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results would be predictable.
Re Claim 19, Rigter, in view of Uetake, Monteleone, and Cowgill, discloses the construction machine according to claim 18 (see rejection of claim 18 above), and Cowgill further teaches that the unmanned aerial vehicle includes an image capture device (sensor 31) that performs image capture (“electronic device 31 may be a surface characterization device, e.g., a camera” [29]) at the take-off and landing portion (there is no indication that the sensor 31 is inoperable at the home device 33).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pg. 6-7, filed September 16th, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Rigter, in view of Uetake, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rigter, in view of Uetake and Monteleone. Applicant further argued that the dependencies were allowable by virtue of depending upon an allowable claim. As claim 1 is rejected under the new grounds of rejection, the dependencies are likewise rejected under new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/W.D.D./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725