DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group 2, Claims 1 and 6-17, in the response of 5 January, 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant traverses the restriction on the basis that unity of invention is unbroken by Christiansen (EP 3903660) and on the basis that the groups outlined do not satisfy the conditions for distinctiveness in MPEP 806.05 (j).
In regards to the unity of invention argument:
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
The common technical feature uniting groups 1-3 together is the text of claim 1.
This element cannot be a special technical feature under PCT rule 13.2 because the element is shown in the prior art. Christensen (EP 3903660) discloses an endoscope knob device, comprising:
a housing [116, Figs.3-4, para.103] defining a mounting hole [116b, Fig.4, para.103] that communicates inside and outside of the housing;
a first cable pulley [102b, d, Fig.3] defining a first perforation [interior of 102b, d, Figs.3, 8-10], the first cable pulley being rotatably mounted in the housing [para.105, 125, 131, 133] and extending out of the housing through the mounting hole [Figs.3-4], the first cable pulley comprising a first matching portion [one of 113a, Figs.8-9] and a first latching portion [the other of 113a, Figs.8-9, para.125], which are located outside the housing [Fig.3];
a second cable pulley [102a, c, Figs.3-5, para.105] rotatably mounted in the housing [para.105, 126] and extending out of the housing through the first perforation [Figs.3-4], the second cable pulley comprising a second matching portion [one of 112a, Figs.3-7] and a second latching portion [the other of 112a, Figs.3-7], which are located outside the housing; and
a first knob [101a, Figs.3-4, 8-10] and a second knob [101b, Figs.3-7] that are both located outside the housing, wherein the first knob and the second knob are sleeved over the first cable pulley and the second cable pulley [Fig.3], respectively,
the first knob comprises a third matching portion [one of 113b, Figs.8-10, para.125] and a third latching portion [the other of 113b, Figs.8-10] latch-fitted with the first latching portion [Figs.3, 10, para.125], the third matching portion cooperates with the first matching portion [Fig.10, para.125-126], so that the first knob drives the first cable pulley to rotate [para.125: “the second snap connection 113 axially and rotationally fixes the second shaft unit 102d to the second control wheel unit 101b.”],
the second knob comprises a fourth matching portion [one of 112b, Fig.7] and a fourth latching portion [the other of 112b, Fig.7] latch-fitted with the second latching portion [Fig.7, para.126-127], and the fourth matching portion cooperates with the second matching portion [Fig.7], so that the second knob drives the second cable pulley to rotate [para.105, 126: “like the second snap connection 113, the first snap connection 112 axially and rotationally fixes the first shaft unit 102c to the first control wheel unit 101a.”].
Note that this is a different interpretation of Christiansen than provided in the restriction requirement of 5 November, 2025.
As part of this argument, Applicant further indicates as these connections cause axial and rotational fixation, they do not enable the knobs to drive the cable pulleys [applicant’s arguments of 5 January, 2026, page 10].
However, rotationally fixing a wheel to a pulley, as discussed in para.125-126, allows rotational movement of a wheel to be transmitted to its respective pulley. The applicant’s proposed interpretation of Christiansen would render the device of Christiansen unworkable.
Further, the applicant has not claimed that the matching portions are particularly linked with the first knob driving the first cable pulley, or the second knob driving the second cable pulley. See the claim interpretation section hereinbelow.
As such, this argument is found to be unconvincing.
In regards to the distinctiveness argument:
MPEP 1893.03 (d) reads “…unity of invention analysis (not an independent and distinct analysis) is applicable in national stage applications submitted under 35 U.S.C. 371.” Further, the applicant has quoted MPEP 806.05 (j), which relates to distinctiveness testing for the particular “related products; related processes” relatedness test not performed in this action.
As such, this argument is found to be unconvincing.
The restriction requirement is hereby made FINAL. Claims 2-5, 18 and 20-21 are withdrawn, and claims 1 and 6-17 are examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file. Accordingly, the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) is obtained.
Claim Interpretation
In regards to claim 1, the claim reads “a third latching portion latch-fitted with the first latching portion, the third matching portion cooperates with the first matching portion, so that the first knob drives the first cable pulley to rotate” [lines 12-14] and “a fourth latching portion latch-fitted with the second latching portion, the fourth matching portion cooperates with the second matching portion, so that the second knob drives the second cable pulley to rotate [lines 15-17]. Here, there is a very broad relationship between the latching and matching portions cooperation, and the knob driving the first cable pulley to rotate. No particular causal relationship is set forth. Given the applicant’s probable intended scope this should be amended.
In regards to claims 6-14 and 16-17, the claims read “are configured” [claims 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, 16], and multiple times in claims 14 and 16. For example claim 6 reads “wherein at least two first latching portions and at least two third latching portions are configured”. In each and every one of these instances, the applicant has not positively claimed the related structure, because the named structures are not indicated to be part of the endoscope knob device, and are not claimed by inference. Further, for example, the “at least two first latching portions” of claim 6 is broadly set forth such that it is not necessarily related to the latching portion of claim 1.
This means that the at least two first latching portions, at least two second latching portions, at least two second latching portions, at least two fourth latching portions, at least two first matching portions, at least two third matching portions, at least two second matching portions, and at least two fourth matching portions, and the items that these comprise, are not positively set forth in these claims.
To positively claim these features, claim 6 for example could instead read:
“The endoscope knob device according to claim 1,
the first latching portion comprises at least two first latching portions, the at least two first latching portions arranged separated by intervals along a circumferential direction of the first cable pulley,
the third latching portion comprises at least two third latching portions,
wherein the at least two third latching portions and the at least two first latching portions are arranged in one-to-one correspondence.”
While not unclear, the claims are unusual and these issues found seem to result from translation issues. Extensive rewriting should be done by someone familiar with the subject matter and fluent in Chinese and English.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Christiansen (EP 3903660).
In regards to Claim 1, Christiansen discloses an endoscope knob device, comprising:
a housing [116, Figs.3-4, para.103] defining a mounting hole [116b, Fig.4, para.103] that communicates inside and outside of the housing;
a first cable pulley [102b, d, Fig.3] defining a first perforation [interior of 102b, d, Figs.3, 8-10], the first cable pulley being rotatably mounted in the housing [para.105, 125, 131, 133] and extending out of the housing through the mounting hole [Figs.3-4], the first cable pulley comprising a first matching portion [one of 113a, Figs.8-9] and a first latching portion [the other of 113a, Figs.8-9, para.125], which are located outside the housing [Fig.3];
a second cable pulley [102a, c, Figs.3-5, para.105] rotatably mounted in the housing [para.105, 126] and extending out of the housing through the first perforation [Figs.3-4], the second cable pulley comprising a second matching portion [one of 112a, Figs.3-7] and a second latching portion [the other of 112a, Figs.3-7], which are located outside the housing; and
a first knob [101a, Figs.3-4, 8-10] and a second knob [101b, Figs.3-7] that are both located outside the housing, wherein the first knob and the second knob are sleeved over the first cable pulley and the second cable pulley [Fig.3], respectively,
the first knob comprises a third matching portion [one of 113b, Figs.8-10, para.125] and a third latching portion [the other of 113b, Figs.8-10] latch-fitted with the first latching portion [Figs.3, 10, para.125], the third matching portion cooperates with the first matching portion [Fig.10, para.125-126], so that the first knob drives the first cable pulley to rotate [para.125: “the second snap connection 113 axially and rotationally fixes the second shaft unit 102d to the second control wheel unit 101b.”],
the second knob comprises a fourth matching portion [one of 112b, Fig.7] and a fourth latching portion [the other of 112b, Fig.7] latch-fitted with the second latching portion [Fig.7, para.126-127], and the fourth matching portion cooperates with the second matching portion [Fig.7], so that the second knob drives the second cable pulley to rotate [para.105, 126: “like the second snap connection 113, the first snap connection 112 axially and rotationally fixes the first shaft unit 102c to the first control wheel unit 101a.”].
In regards to claim 6, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 1, wherein at least two first latching portions and at least two third latching portions are configured [these are not positively set forth: see the claim interpretation section hereinabove], the at least two first latching portions are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the first cable pulley [these could be arranged in this configuration: note that as set forth here this does not require connection between the latching portions and the first cable pulley], and the at least two third latching portions and the at least two first latching portions are arranged in one-to-one correspondence [these could be arranged in this configuration].
In regards to claim 7, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 6, wherein each first latching portion comprises a first latching block, each third latching portion comprises a first latching groove that matches with the first latching block, one of the first latching blocks comprises a first alignment portion, and a wall of one of the first latching grooves comprises a second alignment portion that matches with the first alignment portion [latching portions with these parts could be arranged at intervals as required in claim 6].
In regards to claim 8, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 1, wherein at least two second latching portions and at least two fourth latching portions are configured [these are not positively set forth: see the claim interpretation section hereinabove], the at least two second latching portions are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the second cable pulley [these could be arranged in this configuration], and the at least two fourth latching portions and the at least two second latching portions are arranged in one-to-one correspondence [these could be arranged in this configuration].
In regards to claim 9, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 8, wherein each second latching portion comprises a second latching groove, each fourth latching portion comprises a second latching block that matches with the second latching groove, a wall of one of the second latching grooves comprises a third alignment portion, and one of the second latching blocks comprises a fourth alignment portion that matches with the third alignment portion [latching portions with these parts could be arranged at intervals as required in claim 8].
In regards to claim 10, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 1, wherein at least two first matching portions and at least two third matching portions are configured [these are not positively set forth: see the claim interpretation section hereinabove], the at least two first matching portions are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the first cable pulley [these could be arranged in this configuration], and the at least two third matching portions and the at least two first matching portions are arranged in one-to-one correspondence [these could be arranged in this configuration].
In regards to claim 11, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 10, wherein each first matching portion comprises a first matching groove, each third matching portion comprises a first matching block that matches with the first matching groove, and the first matching groove extends along an axial direction of the first cable pulley [matching portions with these parts could be arranged at intervals as required in claim 10].
In regards to claim 12, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 1, wherein at least two second matching portions and at least two fourth matching portions are configured [these are not positively set forth: see the claim interpretation section hereinabove], the at least two second matching portions are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the second cable pulley [these could be arranged in this configuration], and the at least two second matching portions and the at least two fourth matching portions are arranged in one-to-one correspondence [these could be arranged in this configuration].
In regards to claim 13, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 12, wherein each second matching portion comprises a second matching groove, each fourth matching portion comprises a second matching block that matches with the second matching groove, and the second matching groove extends along an axial direction of the second cable pulley [matching portions with these parts could be arranged at intervals as required in claim 12].
In regards to claim 14, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 1, wherein at least two first latching portions and at least two third latching portions are configured [these are not positively set forth: see the claim interpretation section hereinabove], the at least two first latching portions are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the first cable pulley [these could be arranged in this configuration], and the at least two third latching portions and the at least two first latching portions are arranged in one-to-one correspondence [these could be arranged in this configuration];
at least two first matching portions and at least two third matching portions are configured [these are not positively set forth: see the claim interpretation section hereinabove], the at least two first matching portions are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the first cable pulley [these could be arranged in this configuration], and the at least two third matching portions and the at least two first matching portions are arranged in one-to-one correspondence [these could be arranged in this configuration];
the first knob defines a first through hole [“defines”, as set forth here, means there is an unknown relationship between this first through hole and the first knob, and the first through hole is not positively claimed] for the first cable pulley to pass through [such a hole could be defined], the at least two third matching portions are arranged at intervals and surround the first through hole [these could be arranged in this configuration], and the at least two third latching portions are arranged at intervals and surround the first through hole [these could be arranged in this configuration].
In regards to claim 15, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 14, wherein a first protrusion [110a, Figs.3-4, para.121] is disposed on a side of the first knob facing the housing, surrounding the first through hole [Fig.3: at least partially surrounding the hole], and the first protrusion is configured to cooperate with a first braking assembly for braking [para.121].
In regards to claim 16, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 1, wherein at least two second latching portions and at least two fourth latching portions are configured [these are not positively set forth: see the claim interpretation section hereinabove], the at least two second latching portions are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the second cable pulley [these could be arranged in this configuration], and the at least two fourth latching portions and the at least two second latching portions are arranged in one-to-one correspondence [these could be arranged in this configuration];
at least two second matching portions and at least two fourth matching portions are configured [these are not positively set forth: see the claim interpretation section hereinabove], the at least two second matching portions are arranged at intervals along a circumferential direction of the second cable pulley [these could be arranged in this configuration], and the at least two second matching portions and the at least two fourth matching portions are arranged in one-to-one correspondence [these could be arranged in this configuration]; and
the second knob defines a second through hole [hole in 101b through which 102c passes, Fig.7] for the second cable pulley to pass through, the at least two fourth matching portions are arranged at intervals and surround the second through hole [these could be arranged in this configuration], and the at least two fourth latching portions are arranged at intervals and surround the second through hole [these could be arranged in this configuration].
In regards to claim 17, Christiansen discloses the endoscope knob device according to claim 16, wherein a mounting groove for a second braking assembly to be mounted is defined [“defined” as set forth here means there is an unknown relationship between the mounting groove and the side of the second knob away from the first knob. As such, this mounting groove is not positively set forth] on a side of the second knob away from the first knob, a second protrusion is disposed on a wall of the mounting groove [as the mounting groove is not positively set forth, the second protrusion is not positively set forth either], surrounding the second through hole, and the second protrusion is configured to cooperate with the second braking assembly for braking [as the second protrusion and second braking assembly are not positively set forth, and what is being braked is not indicated].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ouchi et al. (US 4,461,282)
Takahashi (US 5,014,685)
Tulley (US 2011/0118550)
Hoshino (US 2014/0058323)
Fancher et al. (US 2022/0151463)
/AARON B FAIRCHILD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795