DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Note
The Examiner acknowledges the amendment of claims 1, 4, 7, & 12, as well as the cancellation of claims 6 & 11. Claims 1 – 5, 7 – 10, & 12 – 15 are examined herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 6 – 9 & 11 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bornstein et al., in view of Garner et al. (US 2012/0040146 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Bornstein et al. teach methods of strengthening the edge surfaces of glass substrates (12 & 14), and particularly glass substrates contained within a display panel (10) (Applicant’s “glass substrate” and “substrate”) (paragraph [0003]) comprising a first surface, a second surface and an edge (32 & 34 of Fig. 2). The edge surfaces (of the glass substrate) (32a – 32d & 34a – 34d) may be protected by applying an edge surface coating (78) (i.e., “protecting device) using whatever edge coating material best meets the need for the particular application, typically a polymer coating material. The edge surface coating thickness may be in a range from about 50 – 75 µm (paragraph [0082] & Figs. 11D – 11D, 12B).
Bornstein et al. teach the protecting device comprises a polymer layer (paragraph [0082]), but do not explicitly teach the polymer layer has a total transmittance is equal to or greater than 87%. Furthermore, Bornstein et al. do not explicitly teach the protective layer (i.e., “the protecting device”) is configured to have a pencil hardness of HB or greater according to ASTM D3363.
Garner et al. teach thin glass substrates having mechanically durable edges formed by a polymeric edge coating. The polymeric edge coating (120) that prevents the creation of strength limiting defects along the edges of a glass substrate (abstract). Examples of the polymeric edge coating include UV curable optical adhesives, such as a siloxane-based polymer of Sylgard 184 (paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Garner et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to use a polysiloxane-based UV curable optical adhesive, such as Sylgard 184, as the polymeric edge coating of the glass substrate taught by Bornstein et al. in order to limit defects the edge of said glass substrate.
Applicant’s preferred embodiment of their protective device is also Sylgard 184 (see specification, paragraph [0096). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the same protective polymeric edge coating material and thickness (see discussion of claim 1 above) taught by both the prior art and Applicant’s preferred embodiment to have the same properties, such as a total transmittance of equal to or greater than 87%, an adhesive strength of 5B according to ASTM D3359, damage of the glass substrate of the substrate is not substantial when impact with a pressure of approximately 1.1 bar is added 3x – 50x to the protecting device to be directly contacted with a pin having a section that corresponds with a second of the groove part, and a pencil hardness of HB or greater according to ASTM D3363.
It has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
With regard to claim 2, Bornstein et al. teach the edge surfaces may comprise a curved or beveled portion (i.e., “a groove part”). Bornstein et al. do not teach the beveled portion extends to the first and second surface.
However, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art to form the beveled portion along the entire thickness of the edge surface (i.e., Applicant’s “groove part that penetrates the first and second surface toward an inner portion of the glass substrate”) (paragraph [0052]).
Bornstein et al. do not explicitly teach the protective coating is disposed in the beveled (groove) part.
However, as discussed above for claim 1, Bornstein et al. teach a protective coating applied to each of the edge surfaces, if desired (paragraph [0084]). Bornstein et al. also teach the application of an edge surface coating using an applicator pad is not dependent on edge surface profiles or glass shape, and thus an applicator pad will work for different edge surface profiles and glass shapes (paragraph [0082]). For example, the applicator pad can be “stepped” to coat recessed edge surface 34d of the second glass substrate (paragraph [0085]).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Bornstein et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to dispose the protective coating to the entire surface of the beveled (groove) part of the glass substrate for providing adequate protection to the entire substrate edge.
With regard to claim 7, Bornstein et al. do not explicitly teach the polymer layer is an elastic layer, and wherein the adhesive strength between the protecting device and the glass substrate is 5B according to ASTM D3359.
However, as discussed above for claim 1, Garner et al. teach a similar polymeric edge coating (protecting device disposed on at least a portion of the edge area). Therefore, the substrate taught by the combination of Bornstein et al. and Garner et al. inherently has the same impact protection properties, such as adhesive strength between the protecting device (edge coating) and the glass substrate is 5B according to ASTM D3359.
With regard to claim 8, Bornstein et al. do not explicitly teach damage of the glass substrate of the substrate is not substantial when impact with a pressure of approximately 1.1 bar is added three times (3x) to the protecting device to be directly contacted with a pin having a section that corresponds with a second of the groove part.
However, as discussed above for claim 1, Garner et al. teach a similar polymeric edge coating (protecting device disposed on at least a portion of the edge area). Therefore, the substrate taught by the combination of Bornstein et al. and Garner et al. inherently has the same impact protection properties, such as a glass substrate that will not have substantial damage when impacted with a pressure of ~1,1 bar is added three times (3x) to the protecting device (edge coating) to be directly contact with a pin having a section that corresponds with a section of the groove part.
With regard to claim 9, Bornstein et al. do not explicitly teach damage of the glass substrate of the substrate is not substantial when impact with a pressure of approximately 1.1 bar is added fifty times (50x) to the protecting device to be directly contacted with a pin having a section that corresponds with a second of the groove part.
However, as discussed above for claim 1, Garner et al. teach a similar polymeric edge coating (protecting device disposed on at least a portion of the edge area). Therefore, the substrate taught by the combination of Bornstein et al. and Garner et al. inherently has the same impact protection properties, such as a glass substrate that will not have substantial damage when impacted with a pressure of ~1,1 bar is added fifty times to the protecting device (edge coating) to be directly contact with a pin having a section that corresponds with a section of the groove part.
With regard to claim 12, Bornstein et al. teach the edge surface coating is a UV curable material (paragraph [0084]).
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bornstein et al. & Garner et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Urruti (US 9,130,016 B2).
With regard to claim 3, Bornstein et al. teach the glass substrate is configured to have a shape of a rectangle (i.e., “quadrangle” (paragraph [0052]). Electrically conducting terminal members (14) (Applicant’s “electrically conductive portion in at least a portion of the glass substrate”) position on the terminal portion of a first glass substrate (paragraph [0007), wherein the terminal members comprise electrical terminal elements (42) (paragraph [0053], Figs. 2 & 7). Furthermore, second major surface (22) of first glass substrate (12) may include an electrically functional layer (28) deposited thereon (Applicant’s “electrically conductive portion in at least a portion of the glass substrate”, Figs. 3 & 6), which may include one or more layers of silicon, metal and/or metal oxides (e.g., film transistors) (paragraph [0051]).
Bornstein et al. do not explicitly teach the glass substrate comprises through vias that penetrates from the first surface to the second surface.
Urruti teaches a method of manufacturing through-glass vias in a glass substrate for 3D microelectronic and MEMS structures. Through-glass vias in a glass substrate are used as electrical interconnects between the front side and back side of the substrates or wafers of the 3D structure (Col. 1, Lines 39 – 53).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Urruti, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to form through vias that penetrate the first surface and the second surface of the glass substrate taught by Bornstein for providing electrical interconnects between the first surface and the second surface of 3D microelectronic structures.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bornstein et al. & Garner et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mitsuharu (JP H09286638 A).
With regard to claim 4, Bornstein et al. do not teach the protecting layer (device) comprises a first protecting layer (device) and a second protecting layer (device) which are distinct from each other, the first protecting device is disposed in an edge area in contact with a first side of the first surface, the second protecting device is disposed in an edge area in contact with a second side of the first surface, and the first side and the second side oppose each other.
Mitsuharu teaches a plate glass (1) comprising opposing chamfered peripheral edge portions (2 & 3) and first edge protector (4) and second edge protector (5) (i.e., “first protecting device” and “second protecting device”) that are distinct from each other (Fig. 1), such that the edge protectors face each other and are in contact with a first side of a first surface and a second side of a first surface where strong external force is expected to be applied (paragraph [0012] & Fig. 3).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Mitsuharu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to form a plurality of distinct edge layers along different regions of the glass substrate edge, such as facing each other, based on where external forces are expected to be applied to the edge of the glass substrate taught by Kashiwabara et al.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bornstein et al. & Garner et al., as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (TW 201731206 A).
With regard to claim 5, Bornstein et al. do not teach the groove part comprises a first groove part and a second groove part which are distinct from each other, and wherein the first groove part and the second groove part are disposed to face each other with the first surface between them.
Lin et al. teach a solar cell module array comprising a glass substrate wherein a notch/concave edge (51a, 121a, 121b, 121c, 121d, 431a, 431b, 431c, 431d) may symmetrically disposed (i.e. “disposed to face each other with the first surface between them”) in the substrate (pg. 4 & figures below). be different shapes as long as collecting line areas 111 can be formed. Collecting line areas allow collection of wires (ribbons/bus bars) (3) to pass from the bottom surface of the glass substrate to the top surface of the glass substrate (pg. 4 & figures below).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Lin et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to form first groove part and a second groove part which are distinct from each other, and wherein the first groove part and the second groove part are disposed to face each other with the first surface between them to provide for electrical wires to pass from the first surface and the second surface of the glass substrate taught by Bornstein et al. as needed for use in an electrical device.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bornstein et al. & Garner et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Flemming et al. (US 2011/0217657 A1).
With regard to claim 13, Bornstein et al. do not explicitly teach the glass substrate comprises a cavity unit disposed in a portion of the glass substrate, and wherein a thickness between a first surface of the cavity unit and a second surface of the cavity unit is thinner than a thickness between the first surface of the glass substrate and the second surface of the glass substrate.
Flemming et al. teach photosensitive glass wherein a depression (recess/cavity) is formed in the surface of a glass substrate for electrical conduction in a device (‘657 abstract & claim 16, paragraphs [0103] – [0105], Figs. 22 – 24).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Flemming et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to form a cavity in the surface portion of the glass substrate taught by Bornstein et al. in the case of when the glass substrate would be used as a support for electrical components in an electrical device.
Claim(s) 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bornstein et al. & Garner et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsuan et al. (US 2006/0065976 A1).
* Semiconductor Engineering Website (semiengineering.com)
With regard to claim 14, Bornstein et al. teach an additional layer of material (30), such as metal oxide (e.g., ITO), on the first surface and under the second surface of the glass substrate (10), as best seen in Figs. 3 & 6 (paragraphs [0051] & [0056]).
With regard to claim 15, Bornstein et al. do not teach a semiconductor substrate, comprising the substrate according to claim 1 and a semiconductor element mounted on the substrate.
Hsuan et al. teach a method of manufacturing a wafer level chip scale package structure for semiconductor packaging (i.e., “semiconductor substrate”), wherein a semiconductor wafer is connected to the top surface of a glass substrate (paragraph [0009]). The glass substrate may be pre-treated to form a redistribution layer on the back surface. The redistribution layer can be formed by sputtering an ITO film or electroplating a copper film on the back surface of the glass substrate (paragraph [0030]).
As evidenced by Semiconductor Engineering Website (semiengineering.com), a redistribution layer is defined as interconnects that electrically connect one part of a semiconductor package to another.
Therefore, based on the teachings of Hsuan et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to use both first and second surfaces of the glass substrate taught by Bornstein et al. as a support for a redistribution layer in a semiconductor packaging, wherein the glass the redistribution layers formed of ITO on the first and second surface of the glass support electrically connect different parts of a semiconductor chip (wafer).
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 7 – 10, & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwabara et al. (JP 2015-131741 A), in view of Bornstein et al. (US 2015/0198838 A1) and Garner et al. (US 2012/0041046 A1).
*Jiangmen Jiuguansong Polymer Material Co. Ltd.
With regard to claim 1, Kashiwabara et al. teach a display device (paragraph [0001]) comprising a glass substrate (14) that has a first surface (14A), a second surface (14B), and an end face (i.e., “edge area”) configured to connect the first surface and the second surface (Fig. 7). The substrate has an end face protective layer (16) (i.e., “protecting device”) formed on the end face including slots (142) (i.e., “through via”) and notches (144) (i.e., “grooves”) (paragraph [0030] & Figs. 7A – 7C shown below).
Kashiwabara et al. do not teach the minimum thickness of the protective layer (i.e., “protecting device”).
Bornstein et al. teach methods of strengthening the edge surfaces of glass substrates (12 & 14), and particularly glass substrates contained within a display panel (10) (Applicant’s “glass substrate” and “substrate”) (paragraph [0003]) comprising a first surface, a second surface and an edge (32 & 34 of Fig. 2). The edge surfaces (of the glass substrate) (32a – 32d & 34a – 34d) may be protected by applying an edge surface coating (78) (i.e., “protecting device) using whatever edge coating material best meets the need for the particular application, typically a polymer coating material. The edge surface coating thickness may be in a range from about 50 – 75 µm (paragraph [0082] & Figs. 11D – 11D, 12B).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Bornstein et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to achieve a polymer layer of sufficient thickness to protect the edges of a glass substrate when the protective layer has a thickness of about 50 – 75 µm. A minimum thickness of 50 µm is more than 5 µm, and therefore within Applicant’s claimed range of 5 µm or more.
Kashiwabara et al. teach the protective layer is made of an edge face protecting polymer, such as a UV curable optically transparent adhesive (paragraph [0026]). Kashiwabara et al. do not explicitly define the total transmittance value of the term “optically transparent.”
Applicant’s specification describes the total transmittance refers to the transmittance of visible rays (paragraph [0104]).
According to Jiangmen Jiuguansong Polymer Material Co. Ltd., one of ordinary skill in the art understands that “UV optical adhesive” (i.e., an optically transparent adhesive cured by UV light) has a total transmittance of over 95%. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude the optically transparent polymer material of the protective layer taught by Kashiwabara et al. has a total transmittance over 95%.
Kashiwabara et al. do not explicitly teach the protective layer (i.e., “the protecting device”) is configured to have a pencil hardness of HB or greater according to ASTM D3363.
Garner et al. teach thin glass substrates having mechanically durable edges formed by a polymeric edge coating. The polymeric edge coating (120) that prevents the creation of strength limiting defects along the edges of a glass substrate (abstract). Examples of the polymeric edge coating include UV curable optical adhesives, such as a siloxane-based polymer of Sylgard 184 (paragraph [0054]).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Garner et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to use a polysiloxane-based UV curable optical adhesive, such as Sylgard 184, as the polymeric edge coating of the glass substrate taught by Kashiwabara et al. in order to limit defects the edge of said glass substrate.
Applicant’s preferred embodiment of their protective device is also Sylgard 184 (see specification, paragraph [0096). One of ordinary skill in the art would expect the same protective polymeric edge coating material and thickness (see discussion of claim 1 above) taught by both the prior art and Applicant’s preferred embodiment to have the same properties, such as an adhesive strength of 5B according to ASTM D3359, damage of the glass substrate of the substrate is not substantial when impact with a pressure of approximately 1.1 bar is added 3x – 50x to the protecting device to be directly contacted with a pin having a section that corresponds with a second of the groove part, and a pencil hardness of HB or greater according to ASTM D3363.
It has been held that where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or are produced by identical or a substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness will be considered to have been established over functional limitations that stem from the claimed structure. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), In re Spada, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed products. In re Best, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
With regard to claim 2, as discussed above for claim 1, Kashiwabara et al. teach a notch (i.e., “groove part”) that penetrates the first surface and the second surface toward an inner portion of the glass substrate, wherein the protective layer (16) is disposed at the notch part (144) (Fig. 7 above).
With regard to claim 3, Kashiwabara et al. teach the glass substrate is configured to have a shape of a rectangle (i.e., “quadrangle”) and comprises slots (142) (i.e., “through via”) that penetrates the first surface to the second surface (Fig. 7).
Kashiwabara et al. do not teach the glass substrate comprises at least one of an electrically conductive wire and an electrically conductive layer in at least a portion of the glass substrate.
Bornstein et al. teach a display device comprising electrically conducting terminal members (14) (Applicant’s “electrically conductive portion in at least a portion of the glass substrate”) positioned on the terminal portion of a first glass substrate (paragraph [0007), wherein the terminal members comprise electrical terminal elements (42) (paragraph [0053], & Figs. 2 & 7). Additionally, the second major surface (22) of first glass substrate (12) may include an electrically functional layer (28) deposited thereon (Applicant’s “electrically conductive portion in at least a portion of the glass substrate”, Figs. 3 & 6), which may include one or more layers of silicon, metal and/or metal oxides (e.g., film transistors) (paragraph [0051]).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Bornstein et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to form electrically conducting terminal members of a glass substrate when said substrate is used as a support for electrical components in a display device.
With regard to claim 7, Kashiwabara et al. & Bornstein et al. do not explicitly teach the polymer layer is an elastic layer, and wherein the adhesive strength between the protecting device and the glass substrate is 5B according to ASTM D3359.
However, as discussed above for claim 1, Garner et al. teach a similar polymeric edge coating (protecting device disposed on at least a portion of the edge area). Therefore, the substrate taught by the combination of Kashiwabara et al. and Garner et al. inherently has the same impact protection properties, such as the adhesive strength between the protective device (edge coating) and the glass substrate is 5B according to ASTM D3359.
With regard to claim 8, Kashiwabara et al. do not explicitly teach damage of the glass substrate of the substrate is not substantial when impact with a pressure of approximately 1.1 bar is added three times (3x) to the protecting device to be directly contacted with a pin having a section that corresponds with a section of the groove part.
However, as discussed above for claim 1, Garner et al. teach a similar polymeric edge coating (protecting device disposed on at least a portion of the edge area). Therefore, the substrate taught by the combination of Kashiwabara et al. and Garner et al. inherently has the same impact protection properties, such as a glass substrate that will not have substantial damage when impacted with a pressure of ~1,1 bar is added 3x to the protecting device (edge coating) to be directly contact with a pin having a section that corresponds with a section of the groove part.
With regard to claim 9, Kashiwabara et al. do not explicitly teach damage of the glass substrate of the substrate is not substantial when impact with a pressure of approximately 1.1 bar is added fifty times (50x) to the protecting device to be directly contacted with a pin having a section that corresponds with a second of the groove part.
However, as discussed above for claim 1, Garner et al. teach a similar polymeric edge coating (protecting device disposed on at least a portion of the edge area). Therefore, the substrate taught by the combination of Kashiwabara et al. and Garner et al. inherently has the same impact protection properties, such as a glass substrate that will not have substantial damage when impacted with a pressure of ~1,1 bar is added fifty times to the protecting device (edge coating) to be directly contact with a pin having a section that corresponds with a section of the groove part.
With regard to claim 10, as shown in Fig. 7 above, Kashiwabara et al. teach the groove part has a shape that corresponds to a circle. Applicant’s claim 10 does not define the location of “a first point.” Therefore, any point along the groove may be reasonably interpreted to be “a first point.” The thickness of the glass substrate, and thus the distance from the edge of the groove part at the first surface to the edge of the groove part at the second surface, is a distance of 1 mm or less (paragraph [0018]), which overlaps with Applicant’s claimed range of 1 mm to 15 mm.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regard to claim 12, as discussed above for claim 6, Kashiwabara et al. teach an exemplary protective layer is a polymer cured by ultraviolet light.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwabara et al., Bornstein et al., & Garner et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mitsuharu (JP H09286638 A).
With regard to claim 4, Kashiwabara et al. & Bornstein et al. do not teach the protecting layer (device) comprises a first protecting layer (device) and a second protecting layer (device) which are distinct from each other, the first protecting device is disposed in an edge area in contact with a first side of the first surface, the second protecting device is disposed in an edge area in contact with a second side of the first surface, and the first side and the second side oppose each other.
Mitsuharu teaches a plate glass (1) comprising opposing chamfered peripheral edge portions (2 & 3) and first edge protector (4) and second edge protector (5) (i.e., “first protecting device” and “second protecting device”) that are distinct from each other (Fig. 1), such that the edge protectors face each other and are in contact with a first side of a first surface and a second side of a first surface where strong external force is expected to be applied (paragraph [0012] & Fig. 3).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Mitsuharu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to form a plurality of distinct edge layers along different regions of the glass substrate edge, such as facing each other, based on where external forces are expected to be applied to the edge of the glass substrate taught by Kashiwabara et al.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwabara et al., Bornstein et al., & Garner et al., as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (TW 201731206 A).
With regard to claim 5, Kashiwabara et al. & Bornstein et al. do not teach the groove part comprises a first groove part and a second groove part which are distinct from each other, and wherein the first groove part and the second groove part are disposed to face each other with the fist surface between them.
Lin et al. teach a solar cell module array comprising a glass substrate wherein a notch/concave edge (51a, 121a, 121b, 121c, 121d, 431a, 431b, 431c, 431d) may symmetrically disposed (i.e. “disposed to face each other with the first surface between them”) in the substrate (pg. 4 & figures below). be different shapes as long as collecting line areas 111 can be formed. Collecting line areas allow collection of wires (ribbons/bus bars) (3) to pass from the bottom surface of the glass substrate to the top surface of the glass substrate (pg. 4 & figures below).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Lin et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to form first groove part and a second groove part which are distinct from each other, and wherein the first groove part and the second groove part are disposed to face each other with the first surface between them to provide for electrical wires to pass from the first surface and the second surface of the glass substrate taught by Kashiwabara et al. as needed for use in an electrical device.
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwabara et al., Bornstein et al., & Garner et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Flemming et al. (US 2011/0217657 A1).
With regard to claim 13, Kashiwabara et al. & Bornstein et al. do not explicitly teach the glass substrate comprises a cavity unit disposed in a portion of the glass substrate, and wherein a thickness between a first surface of the cavity unit and a second surface of the cavity unit is thinner than a thickness between the first surface of the glass substrate and the second surface of the glass substrate.
Flemming et al. teach photosensitive glass wherein a depression (recess/cavity) is formed in the surface of a glass substrate for electrical conduction in a device (‘657 abstract & claim 16, paragraphs [0103] – [0105], Figs. 22 – 24).
Therefore, based on the teachings of Flemming et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to form a cavity in the surface portion of the glass substrate taught by Kashiwabara et al. in the case of when the glass substrate would be used as a support for electrical components in an electrical device.
Claim(s) 14 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kashiwabara et al., Bornstein et al., & Garner et al., as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hsuan et al. (US 2006/0065976 A1).
* Semiconductor Engineering Website (semiengineering.com)
With regard to claim 14, Kashiwabara et al. do not teach the glass substrate comprises an upper distribution layer on the first surface, and a lower redistribution layer under the second surface.
With regard to claim 15, Kashiwabara et al. do not teach a semiconductor substrate, comprising the substrate according to claim 1 and a semiconductor element mounted on the substrate.
Bornstein et al. teach an additional layer of material (30), such as metal oxide (e.g., ITO), on the first surface and under the second surface of the glass substrate (10), as best seen in Figs. 3 & 6 (paragraphs [0051] & [0056]).
Bornstein et al. do not explicitly teach the additional layers on the first surface and under the second surface of the glass substrate are redistribution layers.
Hsuan et al. teach a method of manufacturing a wafer level chip scale package structure for semiconductor packaging (i.e., “semiconductor substrate”), wherein a semiconductor wafer is connected to the top surface of a glass substrate (paragraph [0009]). The glass substrate may be pre-treated to form a redistribution layer on the back surface. The redistribution layer can be formed by sputtering an ITO film or electroplating a copper film on the back surface of the glass substrate (paragraph [0030]).
As evidenced by Semiconductor Engineering Website (semiengineering.com), a redistribution layer is defined as interconnects that electrically connect one part of a semiconductor package to another.
Therefore, based on the teachings of Bornstein et al. & Hsuan et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date to use both first and second surfaces of the glass substrate taught by Kashiwabara et al. as a support for a redistribution layer in a semiconductor packaging, wherein the glass the redistribution layers formed of ITO on the first and second surface of the glass support electrically connect different parts of a semiconductor chip (wafer).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues, “Claims 4 and 7 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or the application subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“Reconsideration of the claims is respectfully requested in view of the forgoing amendments” (Remarks, Pg. 5).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: In light of the amendments of claims 4 & 7, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are withdrawn.
Applicant argues, “Applicant respectfully disagrees that Garner remedies the deficiencies of Bornstein, especially in view of the amended claim.
“Garner’s objective is to reduce edge-initiated fractures in ultra-thin display glass (¶ [0050], [0006]). Optical performance is never addressed. Paragraph [0054] merely lists UV-curable optical adhesives such as a siloxane-based polymer (Sylgard 184) as possible examples of coating materials, with no mention of visible-light transmittance or similar characteristics. A person of ordinary skill would understand ‘optical adhesive’ in this context to mean a light-curable adhesive and not necessarily one that is optically transparent at ≥ 87% total transmittance. Therefore, Garner does not teach or suggest the claimed optical threshold” (Remarks, Pg. 7).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Garner et al. teach the same protective device (Sylgard 184) as taught in Applicant’s specification. For the reasons given in the rejection, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the specific type of optical adhesive (Sylgard 184) (i.e., “protective device”) explicitly taught by Garner et al. Therefore, the transmittance properties of the polymer that forms the protective device must inherently be the same as claimed by Applicant’s because the type of protective device (Sylard 184) taught by Garner et al. is the same.
Applicant argues, “Garner is silent on hardness and, in fact, implies soft, compliant coatings, which is the opposite of Applicant’s recited HB hardness. Garner emphasizes that the polymer coating should be compliant to absorb strain and prevent crack initiation at the glass edge (¶ [0047]). The cited example ‘Sylgard 184’ is a two-part elastomeric silicone with a Shore hardness of ~45, corresponding to a pencil hardness well below HB. A compliant elastomer cannot simultaneously achieve the pencil-hardness requirement of amended claim 1. Thus, even the specific material invoked by the Office teaches away from the claimed hardness. See In re Gurly, 27 F.3d 551 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (a reference that suggests the opposite physical property teaches away)” (Remarks, Pgs. 7 – 8).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
First, Shore hardness of Sylgard 184 (asserted by Applicant) and pencil hardness of polymer in Sylgard 184 (recited in Applicant’s claim) are two distinctly different types of hardness properties applied in different contexts. Shore A hardness measures flexibility and resistance to indentation. HB pencil hardness is a measure of scratch resistance. See paragraphs [00102] – [00106] of Applicant’s specification. Therefore, contrary to Applicant’s assertion, Shore hardness and pencil hardness are not comparable.
Second, Applicant specification teaches the following:
[0096] A quadrangle glass substrate 10 having a thickness of 500 pm was prepared. A groove part 14 having a half circle shaped section with a diameter of 1.5 mm was formed by etching through laser in a first edge of the glass substrate and a second edge opposite thereto as illustrated in FIG.6. SYLGARD 184 available from DOW CHEMICAL as a raw material composition comprising a polydimethylsiloxane prepolymer with a viscosity of 3500 cPs or less was evenly applied to be a thickness of 270 pm on the groove part, and thermal treatment thereof was performed for 10 minutes at a temperature of 150 °C. Thereafter, UV having a wavelength of 350 nm and an energy density of 1100 mJ/mm2 was irradiated to the applied portion for one minute to be treated by photocuring, and a protecting device 20 comprising polydimethylsiloxane (PDMS) was formed as illustrated in FIG.9.
Applicant’s only working embodiment of the claimed protective device of their invention taught in their specification was cured SYLGARD 184. According to paragraph [00102] – [00106], the working embodiment of a protective device composed of cured SYLGARD 184, when adhered to the edge of a glass substrate, meets the pencil hardness of Applicant’s claims.
Applicant’s argument that Sylgard 184 has a lower pencil hardness than the claimed value is a direct contradiction of the only working example of their specification.
Applicant argues, “Garner merely discloses a broad class of UV-curable polymers. Under In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252 (CCPA 1977), inherency requires identity of structure or process that results in the claimed property. The Office has not shown any Garner coating, whether Sylgard 184 or another polymer, necessarily exhibits ≥ 87% transmittance and ≥ HB hardness at the glass edge, which are independent compositions and cure-dependent variables” (Remarks, Pg. 8).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection is not based on a general UV-curable polymer, but on the explicit teaching of the same protective device as disclosed in Applicant’s specification. Applicant’s assertion that Sylgard 184, which is the protective device disclosed in their own specification, would not necessarily yield the claimed properties (transmittance & hardness), is illogical and contradicts the only working example of Applicant’s specification.
Applicant argues, “The combination of Bornstein’s edge-strengthening process with Garner’s compliant polymer edge coating is asserted solely ‘to limit defects at the edge.’ That rationale does not account for Applicant’s simultaneous optical and mechanical performance requirements. KSR demands an articular reasoning that a POSITA would have expected success in achieving claimed results. Here, no such expectation exists: the soft, compliant, low-modulus Sylgard 184 disclosed by Garner would reduce hardness below HB and may introduce delamination at the edge when scaled to ≥ 87 % optical transmittance” (Remarks, Pg. 8).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. First, Applicant’s recited light transmissive properties and pencil hardness are inherent properties of the materials used. Therefore, it is not necessary for a reference to explicitly teach optical and mechanical performance in the instance of those properties being inherent to the material used. The rejection clearly articulated a reason for a person of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to use said material, and therefore meets the requirements of KSR.
Second, the reason or motivation to modify the reference may often suggest what the inventor has done, but for a different purpose or to solve a different problem. It is not necessary that the prior art suggest the combination to achieve the same advantage or result discovered by applicant. See, e.g., In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 987, 78 USPQ2d 1329, 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2006) (motivation question arises in the context of the general problem confronting the inventor rather than the specific problem solved by the invention); Cross Med. Prods., Inc. v. Medtronic Sofamor Danek, Inc., 424 F.3d 1293, 1323, 76 USPQ2d 1662, 1685 (Fed. Cir. 2005) ("One of ordinary skill in the art need not see the identical problem addressed in a prior art reference to be motivated to apply its teachings."); In re Lintner, 458 F.2d 1013, 173 USPQ 560 (CCPA 1972) (discussed below); In re Dillon, 919 F.2d 688, 16 USPQ2d 1897 (Fed. Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 500 U.S. 904 (1991) (discussed below). See MPEP 2144.IV.
Applicant argues, “Dependent claims 2 – 5, 7 – 10, and 12 – 15 are in allowable condition, at least, based on their dependencies from allowable independent claim 1 and for the additional features they recite” (Remarks, Pg. 9).
EXAMINER’S RESPONSE: Applicant is directed to the discussion above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE T GUGLIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 1781
/FRANK J VINEIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1781