Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/28/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments, filed 11/06/2025, with respect to prior claim objections and 112 rejections of claims have been fully considered and are persuasive. The claim objections and 112 rejections of claims has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 11/06/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Schauwecker lacks “electrical isolation” and does not disclose a shim system connected to a different circuit.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Schauwecker explicitly teaches separate current and independent operation of shim coils including operation with different currents, further teaches that the out shim coil is decoupled from superconducting current paths in the magnet system, thus teaching a shim system connected to a different electrical circuit/current path as claimed (col. 6).
Applicant further argues there is “no hint at any electrical isolation between the partial coils S1, S2”. Examiner respectfully states that Schauwecker expressly teach separate super conducting paths requiring independent switches (col. 6).
Applicant further argues Schauwecker does no teach compensation coils connected in series with solenoid. Examiner respectfully disagrees, as claim does not require a particular label, but rather coils that generate correcting homogeneous filed components. Schauwecker’s outer shim coil set generates such homogenous compensation fields and counteracts disturbances, and therefore reasonably corresponds to the claimed compensation coil structure (col. 2).
Applicant further argues office action improperly treats shim coil set Sa as the claimed solenoid. Examiner respectfully disagrees, the rejection is not based on the coil system producing the homogenous working volume field and corrective components, not on terminology. Schauwecker discloses an actively shielded superconducting magnet system with shim coil sets arranged and axially about the working volume (col. 1).
Applicant further argues the present invention places compensation coils and shim coils closer to the target region within the bore, producing stronger correction. Examiner respectfully states that Schauwecker already teach shim coils must be wound within the magnet windings for effectiveness (col. 1).
Applicant further argues that Schauwecker does not teach two sets of coils, one series connected and one electrically disconnected.
Examiner respectfully states that Schauwecker expressly teaches separate shim coil circuits operated with different currents and separate switches (col. 6), which satisfies or render obvious claimed electrical separation.
Applicant further argues that Schauwecker does not explicitly teach <10 ppm homogeneity requirement. Examiner respectfully states that Schauwecker expressly teaches measuring static magnetic field inhomogeneity and repeatedly evaluating correction fields to reduce inhomogeneity (abstract).
Applicant further argues that Schauwecker teaches away from coupling coils. Examiner respectfully states that Schauwecker decoupling relates to reducing induced currents and improving stability, while still allowing different currents separate paths (col. 6).
Applicant further argues that Schauwecker provides no guidance for decreasing magnetic size. Examiner respectfully states that Schauwecker expressly identifies compactness and reducing wasted winding space as an advantage (col. 1).
Applicant further argues that Sakakibara does not discloses the electrical circuit features. Examiner respectfully states that Sakakibara is relied upon homogeneity adjustment motivation [0008-19], while Schauwecker teaches the shim circuit separation (col. 6). The combination remains proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 12-13, 16-22, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauwecker (U.S. Patent 6265960) in view of Sakakibara (U.S. Publication 20170089992).
Regarding claim 1, Schauwecker teaches a magnet system for generating a homogeneous magnetic field in a target region (fig. 1 “a superconducting magnet system for magnetic resonance spectrometers, wherein the magnet system comprises an actively shielded superconducting magnet for generating a homogeneous magnetic field H.sub.0 along a z-axis in a working volume” col. 1 lines 7-15), the magnet system comprising:
a first magnet having a first solenoid formed from superconductor material wound (“the radially inner and outer shim coil sets can be connected not only superconductingly but also resistively which makes the shims easier to manufacture” col. 9 lines 64-66) so as to define a bore and a central axis, wherein the geometrical center of the first solenoid defines a center point on the central axis (fig. 1 Sa “outer shim coil set S.sub.a comprising the partial coil S.sub.3 which are integrated in a superconducting magnet system consisting of a magnet M.sub.1 comprising several sections and an active stray field shielding coil M.sub.2” col. 5 lines 58-64, inherently coils wound around bore in MRI);
a set of one or more pairs of compensation coils (fig. 1 (S2)), each pair of compensation coils being disposed coaxially upon the central axis and symmetrically positioned with an axial offset about [[the]] a geometrical center point so as to define an annular volume within the bore between the set of compensation coils, wherein a first pair of compensation coils in the set is connected in electrical series with the first solenoid (fig. 1 (compensation coils S2 connected in series with Sa (solenoid) “the two shim coil sets S.sub.i and S.sub.a are also superconductingly connected in series” col. 6 lines 33-36, inherently coils wound around bore following an annular region in MRI)); and
a shim system disposed within the annular volume and comprising one or more superconducting shim coils, the shim system operable when in use to shim the magnetic field in the target region (fig 1 coils set S1 of the shim coil set Si “the shim is divided into a shim coil set S.sub.i, decoupled from the magnet, comprising partial coils S.sub.1 and S.sub.2 for generating the gradient field C.sub.2 *z.sup.2 +.DELTA.H.sub.0 and shim coil set S.sub.a” col. 2 lines 20-25,) wherein the shim system is connected to a different electrical circuit from the set of one or more pairs of compensation coils; (fig. 8 shows Si connected to SW2 switch and Sa connected to SW1 switch);
Schauwecker does not explicitly teach wherein the system is arranged when in use such that the magnetic field in the target region has a homogeneity of less than 10 parts per million, wherein the target region is a 1 cm diameter spherical volume centered on the center.
However, Sakakibara teaching Static magnetic field inhomogeneity is reduced by measuring inhomogeneity of a static magnetic field distribution in an imaging space teaches wherein the system is arranged when in use such that the magnetic field in the target region has a homogeneity of less than 10 parts per million, wherein the target region is a 1 cm diameter spherical volumecentered on thecenter point (“a magnetic field distribution in a static magnetic field homogeneous space after completing static magnetic field adjustment and reaching a specification value. A static magnetic field homogeneity in this case indicates 15 ppm (peak-to-peak value) on a 50 cm spherical surface” [0111]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate magnetic field homogeneity process of Sakakibara in Schauwecker to gain the advantage of effectively adjust generated the homogeneous magnetic field required for a desired space for to provide a system that can reduce time and cost required for the magnetic field adjustment.
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that static magnetic field homogeneity can be readjusted based on the design choice (Please see MPEP 2144 .04 VI.C.).
Regarding claim 2, Schauwecker as modified further teaches wherein the first pair of compensation coils is disposed at a radial position which is less than that of the first solenoid (“a radially inner shim coil set S.sub.i, consisting of a partial coil S.sub.1 with negative polarity and a partial coil S.sub.2 with positive polarity axially surrounding the partial coil S.sub.1 as well as a radially outer shim coil set S.sub.a comprising the partial coil S.sub.3 which are integrated in a superconducting magnet system consisting of a magnet M.sub.1 comprising several sections and an active stray field shielding coil M.sub.2” col. 5 lines 55-62).
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 16, Schauwecker as modified further teaches wherein the first solenoid and the first pair of compensation coils are formed from low-temperature superconductor material, preferably niobium-tin (superconducting coils are inherently used as low temperature in MRI).
One of the ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to make this modification such that low temperature coils can be selected based on the design choice (Please see MPEP 2144 .04 VI.C.).
Regarding claim 4, Schauwecker as modified further teaches A magnet system according to any of the preceding claims, further comprising a second magnet having one or more solenoids formed from superconductor material and arranged coaxially with the first magnet such that the solenoids of the first and second magnets have a common geometricalcenter point on the central axis, wherein the second magnet is located within the bore such that the annular volume is positioned between the first and second magnets (fig. 1 coil of M1 internal also “The system comprises a radially inner shim coil set S.sub.i, consisting of a partial coil S.sub.1 with negative polarity and a partial coil S.sub.2 with positive polarity axially surrounding the partial coil S.sub.1 as well as a radially outer shim coil set S.sub.a comprising the partial coil S.sub.3 which are integrated in a superconducting magnet system consisting of a magnet M.sub.1 comprising several sections” where internal coils wrapped around those magnets).
Regarding claim 5, Schauwecker as modified further teaches wherein a second pair of compensation coils in the set is connected in electrical series with the second magnet (fig. 1 (compensation coils S2 connected win series with Sa (solenoid) “the two shim coil sets S.sub.i and S.sub.a are also superconductingly connected in series” col. 6 lines 33-36, inherently coils wound around bore following an annular region in MRI, similar connected internal to M1)).
Regarding claim 12, Schauwecker as modified further teaches wherein the first magnet comprises a plurality of solenoids formed from superconductor material wound about the central axis and outside of the bore, wherein each said solenoid is disposed at respective radial position (fig. 1 Si around M1 “Since the individual shim coils are usually thin-walled solenoids” col. 8 lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 17, Schauwecker as modified further teaches wherein the shim system is centered on a plane extending through the center point in a direction perpendicular to the central axis (fig. 1 Si around M1 “Since the individual shim coils are usually thin-walled solenoids” col. 8 lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 18, Schauwecker as modified further teaches wherein the first magnet, the set of one or more compensation coils and the shim system are arranged such that said plane forms a plane of symmetry (fig. 1 Si and Sa, M1/M2).
Regarding claim 19, Schauwecker as modified further teaches wherein each said compensation coil has an inner axial end forming an edge of the annular volume and an outer axial end opposite to the inner axial end (fig. 1 opposite sides of Si).
Regarding claim 20, Schauwecker as modified further teaches wherein each said compensation coil is mounted inside the first magnet to a support member provided at the outer axial end of the compensation coil (“the winding portions are formed as follows. Initially, an odd number (e.g., five) of helical layers are wound about a cylindrical bobbin portion 51 to form winding portion 44. The last turn of winding portion 44 is on the outermost layer of the winding portion 44, adjacent second face 79” col. 7 lines 61-67).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate magnetic field homogeneity process of Sakakibara in Schauwecker to gain the advantage of effectively adjust generated the homogeneous magnetic field required for a desired space for to provide a system that can reduce time and cost required for the magnetic field adjustment.
Regarding claim 21, Schauwecker as modified further teaches wherein an electrical current flows into and out from each said compensation coil from the outer axial end of the compensation coil (“the outer shim coil set generates essentially a homogeneous field if the external disturbance induces a current” col. 2 lines 66-67).
Regarding claim 22, Schauwecker as modified further teaches A magnet system according to the second compensation coil of the pair within the annular volume (fig. 1 S2 on opposite sides of S1).
Regarding claim 24, Schauwecker as modified further teaches An NMR spectrometer comprising a magnet system (fig. 1 “A magnet system for magnetic resonance spectrometers comprising an actively shielded superconducting magnet” abstract).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauwecker (U.S. Patent 6265960) in view of Sakakibara (U.S. Publication 20170089992) as applied to the rejection of claim 5 above and further in view of Osamu (JP-4293341-B2).
Regarding claim 6, Schauwecker as modified by Sakakibara does not explicitly teach wherein the second pair of compensation coils is disposed at a radial position which is greater than that of the second magnet.
Osamu teaching superconducting magnet teaches wherein the second pair of compensation coils is disposed at a radial position which is greater than that of the second magnet (fig. 6 108).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Huang in Schauwecker as modified by Sakakibara to gain the advantage effectively improving the uniformity of magnetic field [Osamu [0005]].
Regarding claim 7, Schauwecker as modified by Sakakibara does not explicitly teach wherein the first pair of compensation coils is disposed at a radial position which is less than that of the first solenoid, wherein the compensation coils in one of the first and second pairs is radially adjacent to the compensation coils in the other of the first and second pairs,so as to define opposing axial ends of the annular volume.
Osamu teaching superconducting magnet teaches wherein the first pair of compensation coils is disposed at a radial position which is less than that of the first solenoid (fig. 6 (110 w.r.t 102)), wherein the compensation coils in one of the first and second pairs is radially adjacent to the compensation coils in the other of the first and second pairs, so as to define opposing axial ends of the annular volume. (fig. 6 shim coils on both ends between annular region).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Huang in Schauwecker as modified by Sakakibara to gain the advantage effectively improving the uniformity of magnetic field [Osamu [0005]].
Regarding claim 8, Schauwecker as modified by Sakakibara does not explicitly teach wherein the second pair of compensation coils and the second magnet is are formed from high- temperature superconductor material, preferably BSCCO.
Osamu teaching superconducting magnet teaches wherein the second pair of compensation coils and the second magnet is are formed from high- temperature superconductor material, preferably BSCCO (“the common reel is made of one or more materials of CFRP, GFRP, stainless steel alloy, aluminum alloy, and copper alloy. The conductor of the superconducting shim coils, at least one of a NbTi superconducting conductor, Nb .sub.3 Sn superconducting conductor, Nb .sub.3 Al superconducting conductor, a bismuth-based oxide superconductor, yttrium-based oxide superconductor, MgB .sub.2 superconductor” [0012]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Huang in Schauwecker as modified by Sakakibara to gain the advantage effectively improving the uniformity of magnetic field [Osamu [0005]].
Claims 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schauwecker (U.S. Patent 6265960), Sakakibara (U.S. Publication 20170089992), Osamu (JP-4293341-B2) as applied to the rejection of claim 8 above and further in view of Yoshida (U.S. Publication 20150340140).
Regarding claim 9, Schauwecker as modified by Sakakibara, Osamu does not explicitly teach wherein each compensation coil of the second pair of compensation coils is arranged as a pancake coil.
However, Yoshida teaching a superconductive electromagnet teaches wherein each compensation coil of the second pair of compensation coils is arranged as a pancake coil (“A high-temperature superconductive coil for forming the main coil 2 or the correction coil 4 may be a pancake coil” [0054]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the coil of Yoshida in Schauwecker as modified by Sakakibara, Osamu to gain the advantage of preventing performance from being degraded by the high-temperature superconductive coil being twisted [Yoshida [0054]].
Regarding claim 11, Schauwecker as modified by Sakakibara, Osamu does not explicitly teach wherein the first and second magnets are contained within a cryogenic vessel configured to cool the first and second magnets to a common temperature in use.
However, Yoshida teaching a superconductive electromagnet teaches wherein the first and second magnets are contained within a cryogenic vessel configured to cool the first and second magnets to a common temperature in use (“These coil groups are housed in a cryogenic container (not shown) to constitute a superconducting magnet device” [0005]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the coil of Yoshida in Schauwecker as modified by Sakakibara, Osamu to gain the advantage of preventing performance from being degraded by the high-temperature superconductive coil being twisted [Yoshida [0054]].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858