Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: It is unclear where in figures 1 and 2 figures 3 and 4 correspond to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-10 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 9, the metes and bounds of the terms “hollow” and “blended” are unclear.
Claim 16 recites antecedent basis issues with regards to “a hollow.”
Claim 17 is generally indefinite. It is unclear how the skirt may simultaneously be overlapping and “inside” the hollow. Also, the metes and bounds of “level” are unclear. Furthermore, the indefiniteness of applicant’s “hollow” further render these limitations unclear. The term “hollow” is not further defined in applicant’s specification and known to those with ordinary skill in the art to mean “a hole.” Applicant’s figures 3-4 appear to show the flap with varying thicknesses but not a hollow that the skirt is provided “inside” of.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 9-10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1&2) as being anticipated by Friedson US 6,332,307.
Regarding claim 9, Friedson discloses a saddle for horseback riding, comprising:
a supporting frame (tree 12a/12b) connected to at least one covering body designed to form a sitting region (12) for a user,
said supporting frame having a front region, which comprises a gullet, and a rear region, which comprises at least one rear cantle (clearly shown in the figures),
said saddle for horseback riding having, laterally to said sitting region, respective flaps (17 figure 2) and respective skirts (13 and 14 figure 2) which are at least partially superimposed on a respective portion of said flaps (as shown throughout the figures),
wherein each one of said flaps forms, at at least one portion of a region of overlap with the respective skirt, an accommodation hollow for a portion of the respective skirt (figures 5-6 show a shape of flap 17 comprising an accommodation hollow provided below the skirt when assembled, see annotated figure 6 below), said portion of the respective skirt overlapping said accommodation hollow (figure 1),
wherein an outward-facing surface of said saddle for horseback riding formed at said skirt is substantially blended with an outward-facing surface formed at the respective flap and arranged in a position that is adjacent to the lower edge of said skirt (as shown in figures 1 and 5-6, and as at the region indicated in annotated figure 6 below).
Regarding claim 10, Friedson discloses the saddle for horseback riding according to claim 9, wherein said skirt has a lower edge and said accommodation hollow is formed at least at a region that faces a lower edge of said skirt (as shown between figures 1-2 and 5-6, as best understood by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 17, Friedson discloses the saddle for horseback riding according to claim 9, wherein said portion of the respective skirt is contained inside said accommodation hollow such that the outward-facing surface of said saddle formed at said skirt is at the same level of the outward-facing surface formed at the respective flap (as previously described, where at least “pressing” on the portion of skirt that overlaps the accommodation hollow may provide such an arrangement, as best understood by the Examiner in light of the 112(b) rejections above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Friedson.
Regarding claim 12, Friedson teaches the saddle for horseback riding according to claim 9, wherein said flap comprises a leather layer that is directed outward and is coupled, at a region arranged externally with respect to said overlap region, by a layer of adhesive, to a leather sheet element (this appears to describe the traditional arrangement of the flap),
but does not specify said leather layer being coupled, at said overlap region, by a layer of adhesive, to a sheet element made of inextensible material which is connected to an upper edge of said leather sheet element.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide various arrangements of known materials, in order to achieve various design preferences, for extending the lifespan of the saddle, etc.; since it has been held that a prima facie obviousness exists where the selection of a known material is based on its suitability for its intended use and all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in the respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention; as best understood by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 13, Friedson teaches the saddle for horseback riding according to claim 12, wherein said sheet element made of inextensible material is connected to the upper edge of said leather sheet element at an inward-facing surface thereof (see claim 12 rejection as best understood by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 14, Friedson teaches the saddle for horseback riding according to claim 12, wherein said sheet element made of inextensible material is connected to the upper edge of said leather sheet element at an outward-facing surface (see claim 12 rejection, as best understood by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 15, Friedson teaches the saddle for horseback riding according to claim 12, wherein said skirt comprises a leather layer which is directed outward and is coupled, by a layer of adhesive, to the leather sheet element (see claim 12 rejection, as best understood by the Examiner).
Regarding claim 16, Friedson teaches the saddle for horseback riding according to claim 12, wherein said sheet element made of inextensible material is connected to the upper edge of said leather sheet element to provide a hollow or a step (see claim 12 rejection, as best understood by the Examiner).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments directed towards the drawing objections of figures 3-4 are not persuasive at least because no arguments were presented for these figures.
Applicant’s arguments directed towards the 102 rejection of claim 9 are not convincing at least because applicant has not explained why the cutout of flap 17 shown in figures 5-6 does not teach the hollow as recited as described in the rejection above, etc.
Conclusion
/JESSICA B WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644