DETAILED ACTION
Claim(s) 1-30 are presented for examination.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P.201.14(c), acknowledgement is made to applicant’s claim for priority based on application(s) PCT/CN2021/114227 submitted on August 24th, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on December 28th, 2023; May 23rd, 2025; and July 30th, 2025 follow the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant’s amendment to the specification of the disclosure filed December 28th, 2023 is being considered.
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claim(s) 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over GUAN et al. (US 2021/0153209 A1) hereinafter “Guan” in view of Rahman et al. (US 2021/0067979 A1) hereinafter “Rahman”.
Regarding Claims 1 and 21,
Guan discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [see fig. 14, pg. 33, ¶584 lines 1-8, a terminal device], comprising:
at least one processor [see fig. 14, pg. 33, ¶584 lines 1-8, a processing unit]; and
at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that [see fig. 14, pg. 33, ¶584 lines 1-8, a memory configured to store a computer program], when executed by the at least one processor [see fig. 14, pg. 33, ¶584 lines 1-8, during an implementation by the processing unit], is configured to cause the UE [see fig. 14, pg. 33, ¶584 lines 1-8, triggers the terminal device] to:
select [see fig. 11: Step(s) “903”/ “906”, pg. 32, ¶558 lines 1-3; ¶564 lines 1-3, the terminal device determines], as a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for a channel or reference signal (RS) in a bandwidth part (BWP) [see fig. 11: Step(s) “903”/ “906”, pg. 32, ¶558 lines 1-3; ¶564 lines 1-3, based on the transmission configuration indicator (TCI) and the mapping relationship determined based on the TCI state list of the first BWP on the first CC and the MAC CE], a TCI state associated with [see fig. 11: Step(s) “903”/ “906”, pg. 32, ¶558 lines 1-3; ¶564 lines 1-3, the TCI state related to]:
a TCI list received in a radio resource control (RRC) message for the BWP [see fig. 11: Step “901”, pg. 31, ¶539 lines 1-4, the terminal device receives the RRC message carrying a TCI state list configured for a first BWP on a first CC]; and
transmit or receive a communication using the selected TCI state [see fig. 11: Step(s) “908”/ “910”, pg. 33, ¶566 lines 1-3; ¶568 lines 1-5, the terminal device receives the downlink signal by using the receive beam based on the TCI state].
Although Guan discloses selecting a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for a channel or reference signal (RS) in a bandwidth part (BWP), Guan does not explicitly teach the TCI state associated with “a codepoint identifier (ID) activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) for the BWP”; or “a scheduling downlink control information (DCI) for the channel or RS, based at least in part on determining that the UE has not received an indication of the TCI state for the channel or RS, or quasi co-location (QCL) information that indicates the TCI state for the channel or RS”.
However Rahman discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication [see fig. 3, pg. 4, ¶57 lines 1-8, a user equipment (UE)], comprising:
at least one processor [see fig. 3, pg. 4, ¶57 lines 1-8, a processor]; and
at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that [see fig. 3, pg. 4, ¶57 lines 1-8, a memory including an operating system (OS) and one or more applications], when executed by the at least one processor [see fig. 3, pg. 4, ¶57 lines 1-8, during an implementation by the processor], is configured to cause the UE [see fig. 3, pg. 4, ¶57 lines 1-8, triggers the user equipment (UE)] to:
select [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 13, ¶181 lines 1-3, the UE determines], as a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for a channel or reference signal (RS) in a bandwidth part (BWP) [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 13, ¶181 lines 1-3, for a component carrier (CC) “i” in the list of component carriers (CCs) based on the activated N transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state IDs], a TCI state associated with [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 13, ¶181 lines 1-3, a TCI state Ti]:
a codepoint identifier (ID) activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) for the BWP [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 13, ¶180 lines 1-5; ¶185 lines 1-8, the UE receives an activation command via medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to activate N TCI state IDs (mapped to codepoints of a TCI field) from K TCI state IDs, wherein N<K and the activation command is common across the list of CCs]; and
transmit or receive a communication using the selected TCI state [see fig. 14: Step “1408”, pg. 13, ¶182 lines 1-4, the UE transmits an uplink (UL) transmission or receives a downlink (DL) transmission for the CC “i” based on a QCL-Info included in the determined TCI state Ti].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the TCI state associated with “a codepoint identifier (ID) activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) for the BWP”; or “a scheduling downlink control information (DCI) for the channel or RS, based at least in part on determining that the UE has not received an indication of the TCI state for the channel or RS, or quasi co-location (QCL) information that indicates the TCI state for the channel or RS” as taught by Rahman in the system of Guan to support new applications and deployments, and improve radio interface efficiency and coverage to meet the high growth in mobile data traffic [see Rahman, pg. 1, ¶3 lines 1-10].
Regarding Claims 2 and 22,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the UE of claim 1.
Guan further discloses wherein the TCI state associated with the TC list is a first TCI state in the TCI list or a TCI state with a lowest TCI state ID in the TCI list [see pg. 10, ¶150 lines 1-5, each Ti occupies one bit, and i corresponds to an ith TCI state in the TCI state list configured by using the “tci-StatesToAddModList” in the RRC message. For example, i is equal to a value of a TCI-state ID].
Regarding Claims 3 and 23,
Guan discloses the UE of claim 1.
Guan does not explicitly teach “the codepoint ID corresponds to a first codepoint with a TCI state activated by the MAC CE”.
However Rahman discloses wherein the codepoint ID corresponds to a first codepoint with a TCI state activated by the MAC CE [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 13, ¶180 lines 1-5; ¶185 lines 1-8, the UE receives an activation command via medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to activate N TCI state IDs (mapped to codepoints of a TCI field) from K TCI state IDs, wherein N<K and the activation command is common across the list of CCs].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the codepoint ID corresponds to a first codepoint with a TCI state activated by the MAC CE” as taught by Rahman in the system of Guan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claims 4 and 24,
Guan discloses the UE of claim 1.
Guan does not explicitly teach “the codepoint ID is a lowest codepoint ID activated by the MAC CE”.
However Rahman discloses the codepoint ID is a lowest codepoint ID activated by the MAC CE [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 13, ¶180 lines 1-5; ¶185 lines 1-8, the UE receives an activation command via medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to activate N TCI state IDs (mapped to codepoints of a TCI field) from K TCI state IDs, wherein N<K and the activation command is common across the list of CCs].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the codepoint ID is a lowest codepoint ID activated by the MAC CE” as taught by Rahman in the system of Guan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 5,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the UE claim 1.
Guan further discloses wherein a scheduling time offset for the scheduling DCI is greater than a beam switching time for the UE [see pg. 11, ¶153 lines 1-5, the network device indicates a selected TCI state by using a TCI field in physical layer signaling (for example, downlink control information (DCI)) … for scheduling a physical downlink resource].
Regarding Claim 6,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the UE of claim 1.
Guan further discloses wherein the selected TCI state is a unified TCI state that indicates a common beam for at least one downlink channel or RS and at least one uplink channel or RS [see pg. 33, ¶566 lines 1-3, the terminal device determines, based on the TCI state, a receive beam used to receive a downlink signal].
Regarding Claim 7,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the UE of claim 1.
Guan further discloses wherein the selected TCI state is a unified TCI state that indicates a common beam for more than one downlink channel or RS or more than one uplink channel or RS [see pg. 33, ¶566 lines 1-3, the terminal device determines, based on the TCI state, a receive beam used to receive a downlink signal].
Regarding Claim 8,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the UE of claim 1.
Guan further discloses wherein the selected TCI state is for a downlink channel or RS and is separate from a TCI state for an uplink channel or RS [see pg. 33, ¶567 lines 1-3; ¶568 lines 1-5, the network device sends the downlink signal by using the transmit beam (determined, based on the TCI state). Correspondingly … the terminal device receives the downlink signal by using the receive beam].
Regarding Claim 9,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the UE of claim 1.
Guan further discloses wherein the selected TCI state is for an uplink channel or RS and is separate from a TCI state for a downlink channel or RS [see pg. 33, ¶567 lines 1-3; ¶568 lines 1-5, the network device sends the downlink signal by using the transmit beam (determined, based on the TCI state). Correspondingly … the terminal device receives the downlink signal by using the receive beam].
Regarding Claim 10,
Guan discloses the UE of claim 1.
Guan does not explicitly teach “to cause the UE to select the TCI state for the channel or RS, the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to select a TC state for the channel or RS from among TCI states that are used to transmit or receive communications using a transmit receive point (TRP) TD, a control resource set (CORESET) pool index, or a physical cell ID (PCI) associated with the channel or RS”.
However Rahman discloses to cause the UE to select the TCI state for the channel or RS [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 13, ¶181 lines 1-3, determining a TCI state Ti for a component carrier (CC) “i” in the list of component carriers (CCs) based on the activated N transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state IDs], the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to select a TC state for the channel or RS from among TCI states that are used to transmit or receive communications using a control resource set (CORESET) pool index associated with the channel or RS [see pg. 10, ¶131 lines 1-5, when such common activation is used for PDCCH, a UE is configured/indicated with only one MAC-CE activation command that activates a common (or same) DL TCI state ID (i.e., K2=1) for a CORESET for all active CCs/BWPs].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “to cause the UE to select the TCI state for the channel or RS, the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to select a TC state for the channel or RS from among TCI states that are used to transmit or receive communications using a transmit receive point (TRP) TD, a control resource set (CORESET) pool index, or a physical cell ID (PCI) associated with the channel or RS” as taught by Rahman in the system of Guan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claim 11,
Guan discloses the UE of claim 1.
Guan does not explicitly teach “the selected TCI state is for an uplink channel or RS, and the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE select power control parameters for transmission of the communication based at least in part on power control parameters associated with the selected TCI state and a type of the uplink channel”.
However Rahman discloses the selected TCI state is for an uplink channel or RS [see fig. 14: Step “1406”, pg. 13, ¶181 lines 1-3, determining a TCI state Ti for a component carrier (CC) “i” in the list of component carriers (CCs) based on the activated N transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state IDs], and the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE select power control parameters for transmission of the communication based at least in part on power control parameters associated with the selected TCI state and a type of the uplink channel [see pg. 8, ¶91 lines 1-9, for DL beam indication and measurement, the reference RS is NZP (non-zero power) CSI-RS and/or SSB (synchronization signal block, which includes primary synchronization signal, secondary synchronization signal, and PBCH)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the selected TCI state is for an uplink channel or RS, and the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE select power control parameters for transmission of the communication based at least in part on power control parameters associated with the selected TCI state and a type of the uplink channel” as taught by Rahman in the system of Guan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding Claims 12 and 25,
Guan discloses a base station for wireless communication [see fig. 15, pg. 35, ¶605 lines 1-7, a network device or base station], comprising:
at least one processor [see fig. 15, pg. 35, ¶605 lines 1-7, a processor]: and
at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that [see fig. 15, pg. 35, ¶605 lines 1-7, memory configured to store necessary instruction and data], when executed by the at least one processor [see fig. 15, pg. 35, ¶605 lines 1-7, during an implementation by the processor], is configured to cause the base station [see fig. 15, pg. 35, ¶605 lines 1-7, triggers the network device or base station] to:
select [see fig. 11: Step(s) “904”/ “907”, pg. 32, ¶560 lines 1-3; ¶565 lines 1-3, the network device determines], as a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state to be used by a user equipment (UE) for a channel or reference signal (RS) in a bandwidth part (BWP) [see fig. 11: Step(s) “904”/ “907”, pg. 32, ¶560 lines 1-3; ¶565 lines 1-3, based on the transmission configuration indicator (TCI) and the mapping relationship determined based on the TCI state list of the first BWP on the first CC and the MAC CE], a TC state associated with [see fig. 11: Step(s) “904”/ “907”, pg. 32, ¶560 lines 1-3; ¶565 lines 1-3, the TCI state]:
a TCI list transmitted to the UE in a radio resource control (RRC) message for the BWP [see fig. 11: Step “901”, pg. 31, ¶539 lines 1-4, the network device sends an RRC message, where the RRC message carries a TCI state list configured for a first BWP on a first CC]; and
transmit or receive a communication based at least in part on the selected TCI state [see fig. 11: Step(s) “909”/ “910”, pg. 33, ¶567 lines 1-3; ¶568 lines 1-5, the network device sends the downlink signal by using the transmit beam based on the TCI state].
Although Guan discloses selecting a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state for a channel or reference signal (RS) in a bandwidth part (BWP), Guan does not explicitly teach the TCI state associated with “a codepoint identifier (ID) activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) transmitted to the UE for the BWP”; or “a scheduling downlink control information (DCI) transmitted to the UE for the channel or RS, based at least in part on determining that the base station has not transmitted, to the UE, an indication of the TCI state for the channel or RS, or quasi co-location (QCL) information that indicates the TCI state for the channel or RS”.
However Rahman discloses a base station for wireless communication [see fig. 2, pg. 4, ¶47 lines 1-6, a network device, base station (BS), or gNB], comprising:
at least one processor [see fig. 2, pg. 4, ¶47 lines 1-6, a controller/processor]: and
at least one memory communicatively coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that [see fig. 2, pg. 4, ¶47 lines 1-6, a memory including an operating system (OS) and one or more applications], when executed by the at least one processor [see fig. 2, pg. 4, ¶47 lines 1-6, during an implementation by the processor], is configured to cause the base station [see fig. 2, pg. 4, ¶47 lines 1-6, triggers the user equipment (UE)] to:
select [see fig. 15: Step “1502”, pg. 13, ¶189 lines 1-7, the BS generates], as a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state to be used by a user equipment (UE) for a channel or reference signal (RS) in a bandwidth part (BWP) [see fig. 15: Step “1502”, pg. 13, ¶189 lines 1-7, configuration information including a list of component carriers (CCs) and at least K transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states], a TCI state associated with [see fig. 15: Step “1502”, pg. 13, ¶189 lines 1-7, where K>1 and each TCI state includes a TCI state identifier (ID) and a quasi co-location information (QCL-Info); the TCI state(s) related to]:
a codepoint identifier (ID) activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) transmitted to the UE for the BWP [see fig. 15: Step(s) “1504”/ “1508”, pg. 13, ¶190 lines 1-4; 192 lines 1-3; ¶196 lines 1-7, the BS generates an activation command to activate N TCI state IDs (mapped to codepoints of a TCI field) from K TCI state IDs, where N<K and the activation command is common across the list of CCs; and transmits the activation command via medium access control-control element (MAC-CE)]; and
transmit or receive a communication based at least in part on the selected TCI state [see fig. 15: Step “1510”, pg. 13, ¶193 lines 1-4, the BS receives an uplink (UL) transmission or transmits a downlink (DL) transmission for a CC “i” in the list of CCs based on a QCL-Info included in a TCI state Ti determined for the CC “i”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the TCI state associated with “a codepoint identifier (ID) activated by a medium access control control element (MAC CE) transmitted to the UE for the BWP”; or “a scheduling downlink control information (DCI) transmitted to the UE for the channel or RS, based at least in part on determining that the base station has not transmitted, to the UE, an indication of the TCI state for the channel or RS, or quasi co-location (QCL) information that indicates the TCI state for the channel or RS” as taught by Rahman in the system of Guan to support new applications and deployments, and improve radio interface efficiency and coverage to meet the high growth in mobile data traffic [see Rahman, pg. 1, ¶3 lines 1-10].
Regarding Claims 13 and 26,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the base station of claim 12.
Guan further discloses wherein the TCI state associated with the TCI list is a first TCI state in the TCI list or a TCI state with a lowest TCI state ID in the TCI list [see pg. 10, ¶150 lines 1-5, each Ti occupies one bit, and i corresponds to an ith TCI state in the TCI state list configured by using the “tci-StatesToAddModList” in the RRC message. For example, i is equal to a value of a TCI-state ID].
Regarding Claims 14 and 27,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the base station of claim 12.
Guan does not explicitly teach “the codepoint ID corresponds to a first codepoint with a TCI state activated by the MAC CE”.
However Rahman discloses wherein the codepoint ID corresponds to a first codepoint with a TCI state activated by the MAC CE [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 13, ¶180 lines 1-5; ¶185 lines 1-8, the UE receives an activation command via medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to activate N TCI state IDs (mapped to codepoints of a TCI field) from K TCI state IDs, wherein N<K and the activation command is common across the list of CCs].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the codepoint ID corresponds to a first codepoint with a TCI state activated by the MAC CE” as taught by Rahman in the system of Guan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding Claims 15 and 28,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the base station of claim 12.
Guan does not explicitly teach “the codepoint ID is a lowest codepoint ID activated by the MAC CE”.
However Rahman discloses the codepoint ID is a lowest codepoint ID activated by the MAC CE [see fig. 14: Step “1404”, pg. 13, ¶180 lines 1-5; ¶185 lines 1-8, the UE receives an activation command via medium access control-control element (MAC-CE) to activate N TCI state IDs (mapped to codepoints of a TCI field) from K TCI state IDs, wherein N<K and the activation command is common across the list of CCs].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide “the codepoint ID is a lowest codepoint ID activated by the MAC CE” as taught by Rahman in the system of Guan for the same motivation as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding Claim 16,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the base station of claim 12.
Guan further discloses wherein a scheduling time offset for the scheduling DCI is greater than a beam switching time for the UE [see pg. 11, ¶153 lines 1-5, the network device indicates a selected TCI state by using a TCI field in physical layer signaling (for example, downlink control information (DCI)) … for scheduling a physical downlink resource].
Regarding Claims 17 and 29,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the base station of claim 12.
Guan further discloses wherein the selected TCI state is a unified TCI state that indicates a common beam for at least one downlink channel or RS and at least one uplink channel or RS [see pg. 33, ¶566 lines 1-3, the terminal device determines, based on the TCI state, a receive beam used to receive a downlink signal].
Regarding Claims 18 and 30,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the base station of claim 12.
Guan further discloses wherein the selected TCI state is a unified TCI state that indicates a common beam for more than one downlink channel or RS or more than one uplink channel or RS [see pg. 33, ¶566 lines 1-3, the terminal device determines, based on the TCI state, a receive beam used to receive a downlink signal].
Regarding Claim 19,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the base station of claim 12.
Guan further discloses wherein the selected TCI state is for a downlink channel or RS and is separate from a TCI state for an uplink channel or RS [see pg. 33, ¶567 lines 1-3; ¶568 lines 1-5, the network device sends the downlink signal by using the transmit beam (determined, based on the TCI state). Correspondingly … the terminal device receives the downlink signal by using the receive beam].
Regarding Claim 20,
The combined system of Guan and Rahman discloses the base station of claim 12.
Guan further discloses wherein the selected TCI state is for an uplink channel or RS and is separate from a TCI state for a downlink channel or RS [see pg. 33, ¶567 lines 1-3; ¶568 lines 1-5, the network device sends the downlink signal by using the transmit beam (determined, based on the TCI state). Correspondingly … the terminal device receives the downlink signal by using the receive beam].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
United States Patent Application Publication: Nilsson et al. (US 2023/0319839 A1);
see fig. 22, pgs. 12-13, ¶193-¶206.
/RUSHIL P. SAMPAT/Primary Examiner- TC 2400, Art Unit 2469