Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 9, and combinations thereof is indefinite. If the claim requires them all “and” then combinations make no sense as it is a combination already. If it is in the alternative then “and” should be “or”. For the purpose of examination it is taken to be “or”.
With regards to claim 10, “mixture of aldaric, uronic acids” is indefinite. The use of a comma sets up the claim like it will be a list of 3 or more items but only two are recited. Thus it is unclear if the list is complete or not. For the purpose of examination it is taken to be “aldaric and uronic”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swanson et al. (WO 2021/025957) in view of Kajikawa et al. (US 2016/0272924).
Regarding claim 1, Swanson discloses a corrosion inhibitor (Para. [0014], the present disclosure provides methods and compositions for the removal of contaminants from produced waters (e.g., blackwater) and the generation of beneficial end use waters. Herein such compositions for the treatment of produced water are termed produced water treatment compositions and designated PWTC; Para. (0031], In one or more aspects, a PWTC may also function to sequester metals (e.g., iron) and reduce or prevent the formation of iron sulfide species. As known to one of ordinary skill in the art, a range of iron sulfides, of varying stoichiometry and crystalline forms, may cause operational problems in many well-servicing situations. Iron sulfide precipitation in the formation matrix, tubulars and associated equipment may result in losses in production, reduced injectivity and inhibit well intervention by wireline. Iron sulfide films on steel surfaces may cause under-deposit corrosion and promote hydrogen damage. Also, because iron sulfide particulates stabilize oil/water emulsions, and therefore impede separation, they may initiate environmental problems by causing oily water emissions), the corrosion inhibitor comprising: a biochelant (Para. [0014], In an aspect, a PWTC for use in the present disclosure comprises a chelant, an oxidizing agent, a surfactant, and optionally a solvent; Para. [0015], In an aspect, the chelant is a biochelant. As used herein, the prefix "bio" indicates that the chemical is produced by a biological process such as through the use of an enzyme catalyst); and a solvent (Para. [0014], a PWTC for use in the present disclosure comprises ... optionally a solvent; Claim 25, A composition for purifying produced water comprising: ... (iv) a solvent).
Swanson fails to explicitly disclose a corrosion inhibitor for a surface comprising copper or alloys thereof, and a primary corrosion inhibitor.
Kajikawa et al. is in the field of cleaning agent for a semiconductor substrate having a copper wiring film or a copper alloy (Kajikawa et al., Abstract; Para. (0019]) and teaches a corrosion inhibitor for a surface comprising copper or alloys thereof (Abstract, The present invention relates to a cleaning agent for a semiconductor substrate having a copper wiring film or a copper alloy wiring film, and a cobalt containing film to be used in a post-process of a chemical mechanical polishing process, comprising (A) an organic acid ... (B) amines selected from the group consisting of (B-1) diamines, (B-2) amidines, (B-3) azoles ... (C) a hydroxylamine derivative; Paras. [0019]-[0020], In a conventional semiconductor substrate, even if a part of copper (I) oxide and cobalt (II) oxide is corroded, caused by generation of bimetallic corrosion (galvanic corrosion), it has not been a serious problem, because line width of the wiring and the barrier metal were not so fine ... it has been understood that corrosion of the barrier metal, caused by bimetallic corrosion (galvanic corrosion), raises a serious problem ... Under such background, a development of such a cleaning agent has been desired ... The present invention has been made in view of the above-described circumstances, and an object of the present invention is to provide a cleaning agent to be used for a semiconductor substrate having a copper wiring film or a copper alloy wiring film), and a primary corrosion inhibitor (Para. [0033], By using the cleaning
agent for the semiconductor substrate of the present invention ... a semiconductor substrate having high time course stability of the copper wiring film or the copper alloy wiring film can be obtained, and thus such a semiconductor substrate can be obtained that little generates short circuit between the copper wiring or the copper alloy wiring, because corrosion caused by bimetallic corrosion (galvanic corrosion) can be suppressed; Abstract, The present invention relates to a cleaning agent....comprising ... (B) amines selected from the group consisting of (B-1) diamines, (B-2) amidines, (B-3) azoles, and (B-4) pyrazines or pyrimidines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Swanson with the copper surface corrosion inhibitor teaching of Kajikawa et al. for the purpose of providing a composition with improved corrosion inhibition which is achieved by suppressing the bimetallic or galvanic corrosion of copper or alloys thereof (Kajikawa et al., Para. [00331).
Regarding Claim 2, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the biochelant is a naturally-occurring molecule or derived from a monosaccharide or a polysaccharide (Para. [0017], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises a glucose oxidation product, a gluconic acid oxidation product, a gluconate i.e. a derivative of glucose which is a monosaccharide).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the biochelant comprises aldonic acid, uronic acid, aldaric acid, a salt thereof, a derivative thereof, or combinations thereof (Para. [0016], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises an aldonic acid, uronic acid, aldaric acid or combination thereof).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the biochelant comprises sodium gluconate, an oxidation product of sodium glucarate, one or more salts thereof, one or more derivatives thereof, or combinations thereof (Para. (0017], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises a glucose oxidation product, a gluconic acid oxidation product, a gluconate or combination thereof i.e. a derivative of glucose which is a monosaccharide; Para. (0033], A PWTC of the present disclosure may provide oxidation, chelating, and/or demulsifying functions in a single composition. Paras. [0049]-[0054], The oxidation-reduction potential (ORP) of compositions of the
type disclosed herein were investigated. Specifically, a first sample, designated C1 , was prepared using the indicated amount of a 34 wt.% H2O2 solution ... The effect of chloride on the ORP of compositions of the type disclosed herein was investigated. Specifically, samples were prepared using deionized water, 34% hydrogen peroxide, 8 wt.% sodium gluconate, 4 wt.% or 8 wt.% sodium chloride and 5 wt.%
NaOH ... Samples, designated Sample 7-9; were prepared by adding peroxide, DI water and sodium gluconate to a 250 ml flask to give the final amounts indicated in Table 7, The initial pH and ORP of the sample were recorded ... The ORP measurements were slightly higher with Sample 7 (hydrogen peroxide with sodium gluconate) as compared to Sample 8 (hydrogen peroxide with 4% sodium chloride)).
Regarding claim 5, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 4, wherein the biochelant further comprises n-keto acids and C2-C6 diacids in amounts of less than about 50 wt.% (Para. [0018], the biochelant comprises a mixture of gluconic acid and glucaric acid and further comprises a minor component species comprising n-keto-acids, C2-C5 diacids or combinations thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use less than about 50 wt.% of n-keto acids and C2-C6 diacids, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a biochelant which is effective in sequestering metals (Swanson, Para. [0031]).
Regarding Claim 6, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1. Swanson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the primary corrosion inhibitor comprises a thiazole, a triazole or combinations thereof.
Kajikawa et al. teaches wherein the primary corrosion inhibitor comprises a thiazole, a triazole or combinations thereof (Para. [0033], By using the cleaning agent for the semiconductor substrate of the present invention...a semiconductor substrate having high time course stability of the copper wiring film or the copper alloy wiring film can be obtained, and thus such a semiconductor substrate can be obtained that little generates short circuit between the copper wiring or the copper alloy wiring, because corrosion caused by bimetallic corrosion (galvanic corrosion) can be suppressed; Abstract, The present invention relates to a cleaning agent....comprising...(B) amines selected from the group consisting of (B-1) diamines, (B-2) amidines, (B-3) azoles, and (B-4) pyrazines or pyrimidines; Para. [0096], Among these azoles, for example, imidazole, 2-mercaptoimidazole, 2,2' -biimidazole, histamine, pyrazole, 1,2,4-triazole, 3-amino-1,2,4-triazole and 1,2,3-triazole are included as the preferable azoles).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Swanson with the azoles teaching of Kajikawa et al. for the purpose of providing an improved composition which is efficient in suppression of corrosion (Kajikawa et al., Para. [0096]).
Regarding Claim 7, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1. Swanson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the primary corrosion inhibitor comprises imidazole, pyrazole, 1,2,3 triazole, 1,2,4-triazole, tetrazole, oxazole, isoxazole, 1,2,4-oxadiazole, 1,3,4-oxadiazole, thiazole, 1,2,4-thiadiazole, mercaptobenzothiazole, mercaptobenzimidazole, butyl benzotriazole 1,3,4- thiadiazole, benzotriazole, tolytriazole, (2-pyrrole carbonyl) benzotriazole, (2- thienyl carbonyl)-benzotriazole, amino-1,2,4-triazole, diamino-1,2,4-triazole, mercapto-1 H-1,2,4-triazole, methyl-2-phenyl-imidazole,
amino-3-hydrazino-5- mercapto-1,2,4-triazole, phenyl-1 -H-tetrazole, derivatives thereof, or combinations thereof.
Kajikawa et al. teaches wherein the primary corrosion inhibitor comprises imidazole, pyrazole, 1,2,3-triazole, 1,2,4-triazole, tetrazole, oxazole, isoxazole, 1,2,4-oxadiazole, 1,3,4-oxadiazole, thiazole, 1,2,4-thiadiazole, mercaptobenzothiazole, mercaptobenzimidazole, butyl benzotriazole 1,3,4- thiadiazole, benzotriazole, tolytriazole, (2-pyrrole carbonyl) benzotriazole, (2- thienyl carbonyl)-benzotriazole, amino-1,2,4-triazole, diamino-1,2,4-triazole, mercapto-1 H-1,2,4-triazole, methyl-2-phenyl-imidazole, amino-3-hydrazino-5-mercapto-1,2,4-triazole, phenyl-1 -H-tetrazole, derivatives thereof, or combinations thereof (Para. [0033], By using the cleaning agent for the semiconductor substrate of the present invention...a semiconductor substrate having high time course stability of the copper wiring film or the copper alloy wiring film can be obtained, and thus such a semiconductor substrate can be obtained that little generates short circuit between the copper wiring or the copper alloy wiring, because corrosion caused by bimetallic corrosion (galvanic corrosion) can be suppressed; Abstract, The present invention relates to a cleaning agent....comprising...(B) amines selected from the group consisting of (B-1) diamines, (B-2) amidines, (B-3) azoles, and (B-4) pyrazines or pyrimidines; Para. [0086], A specific example of (B-3) the azoles represented by general formula (4) includes, for example, imidazoles such as imidazole, 1-methylimidazole, 2-methylimidazole,
5-methylimidazole, 1,2-dimethylimidazole, 2-mercaptoimidazole, 4,5-dimethyl-2-mercaptoimidazole, 4-hydroxyimidazole, 2,2' -biimidazoe...pyrazoles such as pyrazole, 1-methylpyrazole, 3-methylpyrazole...1,2,4-triazoles such as 1,2,4-triazole, 3-methyl-1,2,4-triazole, 3-amino-1,2,4-triazole...1,2,3-triazoles such as 1,2,3-triazole, 5-methyl-1,2,3-triazole).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Swanson with the azoles teaching of Kajikawa et al. for the purpose of providing an improved composition which is efficient in suppression of corrosion (Kajikawa et al., Para. [0096]).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the solvent comprises ethylene glycol, diethylene glycol, triethylene glycol, tetraethylene glycol, tripropylene glycoll,2- propanediol, 1,3-propanediol, 1,2-butanediol, 1,3-butanediol, 1,4-butanediol, 1,5-pentanediol, neopentyl glycol, 1,2-hexanediol, 1,6-hexanediol, 1,2- octanediol, 1,8-octanediol,
1,2-decanediol, 1,10-decanediol, glycerol, 2,2- dimethylolpropane, trimethylolethane, trimethylolpropane, pentaerythritol, dipentaerythritol, sorbitol, 1,2,4-butanetriol, 2,2,4-trimethyl-1, 3-pentanediol, or combinations thereof (Para. [0027], In an aspect, the PWTC optionally comprises a solvent. In some aspects the solvent comprises C2 to C20 ethers, C2 to C20 carbonates, C2 to C20 esters, C2 to C20 ketones, C2 to C20 aldehydes, C2 to C20 alcohols or combinations thereof. Alternatively, the solvent comprises a C2 to C20 alcohol. Nonlimiting examples of alcohols suitable for use in the present disclosure include methanol, ethanol, propanol, butanol, pentanol; isopropanol, ethylene glycol and propylene glycol).
Regarding Claim 9 (as best interpreted), modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the solvent comprises methanol, ethanol, propanol, isopropanol, n-butanol, isobutanol, pentanol, hexanol, heptanol, octanol, benzyl alcohol, phenol, cyclohexanol or combinations thereof (Para. [0027], In an aspect, the PWTC optionally comprises a solvent. In some aspects the solvent comprisesC2 to C20 ethers, C2 to C20 carbonates, C2 to C20 esters, C2 to C20 ketones, C2 to C20 aldehydes, C2 to C20 alcohols or combinations thereof. Alternatively, the solvent comprises a C2 to C20 alcohol. Nonlimiting examples of alcohols suitable for use in the present disclosure include methanol, ethanol, propanol, butanol, pentanol: isopropanol, ethylene glycol and propylene glycol).
Regarding Claim 10 (as best interpreted), modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the biochelant is a mixture of aldaric and uronic acids (Para. [0016], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises an aldonic acid, uronic acid, aldaric acid or combination thereof).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the biochelant is a mixture of aldaric acid, uronic acid, and their respective counter-cation (Para. [0016], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises an aldonic acid, uronic acid, aldaric acid or combination thereof and a counter cation).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the biochelant comprises glucaric acid (Para. [0018], In such aspects, the biochelant comprises a mixture of gluconic acid and glucaric acid), gluconic acid (Para. [0018], In such aspects, the biochelant comprises a mixture of gluconlc acid and glucaric acid), glucuronic acid (Para. [0016], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises an aldonic acid, uronic acid i.e. a glucuronic acid), glucose oxidation products, and gluconic acid oxidation products (Para. [0017], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises a glucose oxidation product, a gluconic acid oxidation product, a gluconate or combination thereof; Para. [0018], Alternatively, the biochelant comprises a buffered glucose oxidation product, a buffered gluconic acid oxidation product or combinations thereof).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the biochelant comprises sugar oxidation products (Para. [0017], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises a glucose oxidation product) comprising disaccharides, oxidized disaccharides, uronlc acid, and aldaric acid (Para. [0016], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises an aldonic acid, uronic acid, aldaric acid or combination thereof and a counter cation; Para. [0017], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises a glucose oxidation product, a gluconic acid oxidation product, a gluconate or combination thereof. The glucose oxidation product, gluconic acid oxidation product or combination).
Regarding Claim 14, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the biochelant comprises gluconic acid (Para. [0018], the biochelant comprises a mixture of gluconic acid and glucaric acid), glucaric acid (Para. [0018], the biochelant comprises a mixture of gluconic acid and glucaric acid), glucuronic acid (Para. [0016], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises an aldonic acid, uronic acid i.e. a glucuronic acid), n-keto-acids and C2-C6 diacids (Para. [0018), the biochelant..further comprises a minor component species comprising n-keto-acids, C2-C5 diacids or combinations thereof).
Regarding Claim 15, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the biochelant further comprises a counter-cation (Para. [0016], In an aspect, the biochelant comprises an aldonic acid...and a counter cation...The counter cation may comprise an alkali metal (Group I), an alkaline earth metal (Group II) or combinations thereof), wherein the counter-cation comprises an alkali earth metal of group 1 and group 2 (Para. [0016], The counter cation may comprise an alkali metal (Group I), an alkaline earth metal (Group II) or combinations thereof).
Regarding Claim 18, modified Swanson discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1.
Swanson teaches a method for reducing corrosion in a system (Para. [0014], the present disclosure provides methods and compositions for the removal of contaminants from produced waters (e.g., blackwater) and the generation of beneficial end use waters. Herein such compositions for the treatment of produced water are termed produced water treatment compositions and designated PWTC; Para. [0031], In one or more aspects, a PWTC may also function to sequester metals (e.g., iron) and reduce or prevent the formation of iron sulfide species. As known to one of ordinary skill in the art, a range of iron sulfides, of varying stoichiometry and crystalline forms, may cause operational problems in many well-servicing situations. Iron sulfide precipitation in the formation matrix, tubulars and associated equipment may result in losses in production, reduced injectivity and inhibit well intervention by wireline. iron sulfide films on steel surfaces may cause under-deposit corrosion and promote hydrogen damage. Also, because iron sulfide particulates stabilize oil/water emulsions, and therefore impede separation, they may initiate environmental problems by causing oily water emissions), and the method comprising: introducing an aqueous solution (Para. [0009]. Disclosed herein is a method of purifying a produced water comprising contacting a produced water stream with a composition comprising (i) a cheiant; (ii) an oxidizing agent; and (iii) a surfactant under conditions suitable for the formation of a purified produced water).
Swanson fails to explicitly disclose a method for reducing corrosion in a system comprising copper, brass, other yellow metals, alloys thereof, or combinations thereof, the method comprising: introducing an aqueous solution comprising the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1. Kajikawa et al. teaches a method for reducing corrosion in a system (Abstract, The present invention relates to a cleaning agent for a semiconductor substrate having a copper wiring film or a copper alloy wiring film, and a cobalt-containing film to be used in a post-process of a chemical mechanical polishing process, comprising (A) an organic acid...(B) amines selected from the group consisting of (B-1) diamines, (B-2) amidines, (B-3) azoles...(C) a hydroxylamine derivative; Paras. [0019)-(0020]. In a conventional semiconductor substrate, even if a part of copper (I) oxide and cobalt (II) oxide is corroded, caused by generation of bimetallic corrosion (galvanic corrosion), it has not been a serious problem, because line width of the wiring and the barrier metal were not so fine...it has been understood that corrosion of the barrier metal, caused by bimetallic corrosion (galvanic corrosion), raises a serious problem...Under such background, a development of such a cleaning agent has been desired...The present invention has been made in view of the above-described circumstances, and an object of the present invention is to provide a cleaning agent to be used for a semiconductor substrate having a copper wiring film or a copper alloy wiring film) comprising copper, brass. other yellow metals, alloys thereof, or combinations thereof (Para. [0033], By using the cleaning agent for the semiconductor substrate of the present invention...a semiconductor substrate having high time course stability of the copper wiring film or the copper alloy wiring film can be obtained, and thus such a semiconductor substrate can be obtained that little generates short circuit between the copper wiring or the copper alloy wiring, because corrosion caused by bimetallic corrosion (galvanic corrosion) can be suppressed), the method comprising: introducing an aqueous solution (Para. [0114], The cleaning agent for the semiconductor substrate of the present invention is a cleaning agent to be used in an aqueous solution) comprising the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1 (Abstract, The present invention relates to a cleaning agent for a semiconductor substrate having a copper wiring film or a copper alloy wiring film... comprising (A) an organic acid...(B) amines...(C) a hydroxylamine derivative; Para. [0110], Among (C) the hydroxylamine derivative, N-ethylhydroxyiamine...N,N-diethylhydroxylamine is a preferable hydroxylamine derivative from the viewpoint that it is easily available, and effect of suppressing corrosion of a copper wiring film or a copper-alloy wiring film, by reduction of divalent copper oxide such as copper (ii) oxide and copper {ii) hydroxide to copper (I) oxide, and protecting the surface of the copper wiring film or the surface of the copper-alloy wiring film).
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Swanson with the copper-surface teaching of Kajikawa et al. for the purpose of providing an efficient method in inhibiting the corrosion of copper surface by suppressing the bimetallic or galvanic corrosion (Kajikawa et al., Para. [0033]).
Regarding Claim 19, modified Swanson discloses the method of claim 18, wherein the system comprises industrial or source water (Para. [0014]. the present disclosure provides methods and compositions for the removal of contaminants from produced waters (e.g., blackwater) and the generation of beneficial end use waters. Herein such compositions for the treatment of produced water are termed produced water treatment compositions and designated PWTC).
Regarding Claim 20, modified Swanson discloses the method of claim 19.
Swanson fails to explicitly disclose wherein the industrial or source water further comprises soluble copper, halides or both, wherein the soluble copper content of the industrial or source water is greater than 0.05 mg.
Kajikawa et al. teaches wherein the industrial or source water further comprises soluble copper, halides or both (Para. [0114], The cleaning agent for the semiconductor substrate of the present invention is a cleaning agent to be used in an aqueous solution; Para. [0152], Each 40 ml of aqueous solutions (cleaning agents) was prepared...Next, the evaluation substrate A was put into these aqueous solutions (these cleaning agents), and immersed each 8 ml of the aqueous solutions (the cleaning agents) was sampled...and then dissolved amount of copper contained in copper {I) oxide was measured), wherein the soluble copper content of the industrial or source water is greater than 0.05 mg (Para. [0152], Each 40 ml of aqueous solutions {cleaning agents) was prepared...Next, the evaluation substrate A was put into these aqueous solutions {these cleaning agents), and immersed each 8 ml of the aqueous solutions (the cleaning agents) was sampled...and then dissolved amount of copper contained in copper (I) oxide was measured...it is necessary to suppress the dissolution amount to at least 0.4 ppm or less. Based on the above consideration, the aqueous solutions {the cleaning agents) showing 0.4 ppm or less (i.e. 0.399 mg/I of copper (I) oxide) of a dissolution amount of copper (I) oxide were judged "good" in view of time course stability of a copper wiring and corrosion suppression capability).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Swanson with the soluble copper teaching of Kajikawa et al. for the purpose of providing an efficient method for suppressing copper surface corrosion (Kajikawa et al., Para. [0033]).
Claim(s) 1, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 5,788,857) in view of Bennett et al. (US 2018/0148632).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a corrosion inhibitor (Abstract, This invention relates to the
use of iminoalkylenephosphonic acids to prevent corrosion, including both localized corrosion and
general corrosion on iron based metal surfaces in contact with a corrosive system water in an
aqueous system) for a surface comprising copper or alloys thereof (Col. 2, Lns. 54-60), the
corrosion inhibitor comprising: a biochelant (Col. 5, Lns. 54-59, Examples of the other corrosion
inhibitors that can be used in combination with the compounds represented by the formula (I) are
phosphorus containing inorganic chemicals, such as orthophosphates, pyrophosphates, polyphosphates;
hydroxycarboxylic acids and their salts, such as gluconic acids; glucaric acid, See current
specification, PCT/US22/74127, Claims 4 and 12); a primary corrosion inhibitor (Col. 5, Lns. 62-65, Examples of the yellow metal corrosion inhibitors that can be used in combination with the compounds represented by the formula (I) include benzotriazole, tolytriazole, mercaptobenzothiazole and other azole compounds).
Yang fails to explicitly disclose a solvent.
Bennett et al. is in the field of corrosion inhibitor compositions (Bennett et al., Abstract) and teaches a
corrosion inhibitor (Abstract, A composition for inhibiting corrosion and/or removing
hydrocarbonaceous deposits in oil and gas applications is provided. The composition comprises an
iron sulfide dissolver, an organic solvent, and a corrosion inhibitor), and a solvent (Para.
(0011], A composition for inhibiting corrosion and/or removing hydrocarbonaceous deposits in oil
and gas applications is provided. The composition comprises...an organic solvent, and a corr9sion
inhibitor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to
modify Yang with the solvent teaching of Bennett et al. for the purpose of providing a composition which
efficiently inhibits corrosion and removes deposits (Bennett et al., Para. (0128]).
Regarding Claim 16, modified Yang discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the
biochelant further comprises a counter-cation (Col. 5, Lns. 54-59, Examples of the other corrosion
inhibitors that can be used in combination with the compounds represented by the formula (I)
are...hydroxycarboxylic acids and their salts, such as gluconic acids; glucaric acid; Zn2+ ; Ce2+ ;
MoO6 2- ; WO4 2- ; nitrites), wherein the counter-cation comprises a rare earth metal (Col. 5, Lns. 54-59, Examples of the other corrosion inhibitors...hydroxycarboxylic acids and their salts, such as gluconic acids; glucaric acid; Zn2+ ; Ce2+ i.e. cation of rare earth metal).
Regarding Claim 17, modified Yang discloses the corrosion inhibitor of claim 1, wherein the
biochelant further comprises a counter-cation (Col. 5, Lns. 54-59, Examples of the other corrosion
inhibitors that can be used in combination with the compounds represented by the formula (I) are
phosphorus containing inorganic chemicals, such as orthophosphates, pyrophosphates, polyphosphates;
hydroxycarboxylic acids and their salts, such as gluconic acids; glucaric acid; Zn2+ ; Ce2+ ; MoO6
2- ; WO4 2- ; nitrites).
Yang fails to explicitly disclose wherein the counter-cation comprises ammonium.
Bennett et al. teaches wherein the counter-cation comprises ammonium (Para. [0011], The composition
comprises an iron sulfide dissolver, an organic solvent, and a corrosion inhibitor. The iron
sulfide dissolver comprises allaric acid...galactaric acid, galactonic acid, galacturonic acid,
glucaric acid, glucoheptonic acid, gluconic acid, glucuronic acid, gulonic acid...Preferably, the
iron sulfide dissolver comprises gluconic acid or a salt thereof, glucaric acid or a salt or
derivative thereof ... More preferably, the iron sulfide dissolver comprises sodium gluconate,
ammonium gluconate...ammonium glucarate i.e. ammonium salt of glucaric acid).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to
modify Yang with the ammonium teaching of Bennett et al. for the purpose of providing a composition which efficiently inhibits corrosion and removes
deposits (Bennett et al., Para. [0128]).
Conclusion
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799