DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1, 2, 18-31, 33, 34, 36, and 37 in the reply filed on 04/27 is acknowledged.
Regarding claims 33 and 34, the Examiner missed label the claims 33 and 34 in Group II. Group II should be read “claims 32 and 33-35” since claim 33-35 are process claims the same as claim 32. Therefore, claims 33-35 are considered as non-elected claims. Claims 1, 2, 18-31, 36, and 37 are examined in the merits. The Examiner apologizes for the confusion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 21, 22, 26-30, 36, and 37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Quigley et al. (2012/0167401), hereinafter Quigley.
Regarding claim 1, Quigley teaches a shaver handle, wherein at least part of a surface 12 of the shaver handle comprises a first material, wherein the first material comprises a first polymer (thermoplastic polymer) and rubber particles, wherein the rubber particles comprise carbon black and wherein a core 14 of the shaver handle comprises a second material (thermoplastic polymer).
See Fig. 1 and para. [0022] and [0025].
Regarding claim 21, Quigley teaches a thermoplastic elastomer. See para. [0022].
Regarding claim 22, Quigley teaches a styrenic block copolymer. See para. [0022].
Regarding claim 36, the styrenic block copolymer comprising styrene-ethylene-butylene-styrene. See para. [0022].
Regarding claim 26, Quigley teaches a natural rubber. See para. [0025].
Regarding claim 27, Quigley teaches butyl rubber and chloroprene. See para. [0025].
Regarding claim 28, Quigley teaches fillers. See para. [0026]
Regarding claims 29-30, Quigley teaches a second polymer such as a thermoplastic polymer. See para. [0022].
Regarding claim 37, Quigley teaches polypropylene in para. [0022].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 18-20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quigley et al. (2012/0167401), hereinafter Quigley, in view of Bohm et al. (2020/0255637), hereinafter Bohm.
Regarding claims 2 and 18, Quigley teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the rubber particles comprising devulcanized rubber particles.
Bohm teaches the use of devulcanized rubber. See the Abstract.
To select a well-known material such devulcanized rubber would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Quigley teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the rubber particles comprising devulcanized rubber particles.
Bohm teaches the use of devulcanized rubber. See the Abstract.
To select a well-known material such devulcanized rubber would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Bohm further teaches the devulcanized rubber including thiol-group such as butylthiol.
Regarding claim 25, Quigley teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the rubber particles comprising a recycled rubber particles.
Bohm teaches the use of devulcanized rubber. See the Abstract.
To select a well-known material such devulcanized rubber from tire would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quigley et al. (2012/0167401), hereinafter Quigley.
Regarding claim 23, Quigley teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the amount of rubber particles being about 5-60wt. -% of the total weight of the first material.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the amount of rubber particles being about 5-60wt. -% of the total weight of the first material for achieving a desire tackiness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 24, Quigley teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the amount of the first polymer being about 40-90wt. -% of the total weight of the first material.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the amount of the first polymer being about 40-90wt. -% of the total weight of the first material for achieving a desire tackiness, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Quigley et al. (2012/0167401), hereinafter Quigley, in view of Brown et al. (2003/0070309), hereinafter Brown.
Regarding claim 31, Quigley teaches the invention substantially as claimed except for the thermoplastic polymer being a polyolefin.
Brown teaches a core of a razor handle made from polyolefin for slip resistance purpose. See para. [0028].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the core of the shave handle from polyolefin as taught by Brown for slip resistance purpose.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Razor handles of general interest are cited in form PTO-892.
/PHONG H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3724