DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12-28-2023 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “about” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stjernman, et. al., U.S. patent Application Publication Number 2019/0190575, published June 20, 2019.
As per claim 1, Stjernman discloses an antenna (1) characterized in comprising at least one antenna panel (10), each comprising at least two groups (12a, 12b) of dipoles having a +45 degrees polarization and at least two groups (14a, 14b) of dipoles having a -45 degrees polarization, each group comprising at least one dipole (Stjernman, Fig. 1, 61 and 62 and ¶29),
two passive horizontal lobe shaping units, HLSUs, (30a, 30b) each comprising a directional coupler (Stjernman, Fig. 1, 21 and 22 and ¶25),
wherein the groups of +45 degrees polarized dipoles are directly connected to a first HLSU (30a) and the groups of -45 degrees polarized dipoles are directly connected to a second HLSU (Stjernman, Fig. 1, 21-24),
wherein the first HLSUs (30a) is configured to provide a 90 degrees phase shift between the signals from the two groups (12a, 12b) of +45 degrees polarized dipoles, and the second HLSU (30b) is configured to provide a 90 degrees phase shift between the signals from the two groups (14a, 14b) of -45 degrees polarized dipoles (Stjernman, ¶35).
As per claim 2, Stjernman further discloses the antenna according to claim 1, wherein the HLSUs (30a,30b) are directional couplers configured to shape the antenna lobe in a horizontal direction into two lobes (Stjernman, Fig. 6 and ¶25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stjernman.
As per claim 4, Stjernman discloses the four vertical lobe shaping units (Fig. 4, 40, 111, 112, 113) but fails to expressly disclose the interconnects.
Note that it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As per claim 5, Stjernman further discloses the antenna according to claim 4, wherein each VLSU (20a-d) is a splitter, combiner and/or amplitude- and phase distributor configured to shape the antenna lobe in a vertical direction (Stjernman, Fig. 4, 102).
As per claims 6 and 7, Stjernman further discloses stacked antenna panels (Stjernman, Fig. 1 and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the layer limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 3, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stjernman in view of Timofeev, et. al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2011/0205119, published August 25, 2011.
As per claims 3, 8 and 9, Stjernman discloses the antenna of claim 1 but fails to expressly disclose angles of the lobes.
Timofeev teaches multiple lobes with preferred angles (¶39).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to contrive any number of desirable ranges for the angle limitation disclosed by Applicant, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is provided on form PTO-892.
/MARCUS E WINDRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3646