DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1-10, 12, 14, 19, 24, and 29) in the reply filed on March 2, 2026 (hereafter, Reply) is acknowledged. Election was made without traverse in the Reply.
Claims 1-10, 12, 14, 19, 24, 29, 36-38, and 40-41 remain pending. Claims 36-38, 40-41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (US 20230051095 A1, hereafter Wei).
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses:
A method of multicast broadcast services (MBS) system information and configuration signaling (Figs.1-6), comprising the steps of: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) (UE 6) from a base station (BS) (BS 3), a plurality of system information blocks (SIBs) (SIB13, MBS-SI, MBS-SIB) including a first SIB (MBS-SI, MBS-SIB) associated with one or more MBS services ([0150] In response to the received request, the BS 3 transmits the on-demand MBS-SI to the UE 6 at 14, wherein the on-demand MBS-SI includes the multicast (control) channel(s), the notificationConfig field of the SIB13 and the areaInfoList field of the SIB13. The on-demand MBS-SI is included in a system information message in response to the RRCSystemInfoRequest.; [0075] The on-demand MBS-SI may be a new SIB (on-demand MBS-SIB).), wherein the first SIB (MBS-SI, MBS-SIB) comprises scheduling information (multicast control channel scheduling information (MCCH scheduling information)) for reception of MBS control configuration parameters (MCCH message, MCCH information) ([0151] Moreover, the on-demand MBS-SI includes multicast control channel scheduling information (MCCH scheduling information), which, include an indication whether a MCCH message (e.g. MBSFNAreaConfiguration) is broadcasted on-demand and when the MCCH message is broadcasted (e.g. time domain scheduling and lower layer configuration).); receiving an MBS control channel (MCCH) comprising scheduling information (beamforming configuration of MTCH) for reception of an MBS traffic channel (MTCH) via a first cell (cell 2) ([0136] It has been recognized that the content of MCCH information may include the beamforming configuration of MTCH physical layer based on above options and/or feedback patterns. [0152] At 15, the UE 6 receives the on-demand MBS-SI including the MCCH scheduling information. [0153] Based on the detected scheduling information and the MCCH scheduling information the UE 6 requests the MCCH message at 16 (via the MCCH) in order to receive MCCH information for using the available multicast services. [0154] At 17, the requested MCCH message is transmitted from the BS 3 to the UE 6 (via the MCCH). [0155] Accordingly, in this embodiment, the information, required to receive and use multicast service in the cell 2 established by the BS 3 is provided in an on-demand manner and signaling overhead may be reduced.; Note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “scheduling information” includes Wei’s “beamforming configuration” because, according to [0159] of the instant specification, “scheduling information … include … information about … beams”); and receiving MBS data (multicast service) based on the scheduling information (beamforming configuration of MTCH) for reception of the MBS traffic channel (MTCH) ([0155] Accordingly, in this embodiment, the information, required to receive and use multicast service in the cell 2 established by the BS 3 is provided in an on-demand manner and signaling overhead may be reduced.).
Regarding claim 2, Wei discloses:
receiving first system information (scheduling information in SIB1 for MBS-SI) associated with the first cell (cell 2) indicating that at least one system information block (SIB) (MBS-SI, MBS-SIB) associated with one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) services is applicable to the first cell (cell 2) (0146] The BS 3 is basically configured to communicate with the UE 6 and to provide multicast services in the cell 2. Thus, the BS 3 transmits (e.g. broadcasts) the SIB1 (predetermined system information) including scheduling information for on-demand multicast broadcast service system information (on-demand MBS-SI) to the UE 6 at 11.; [0075] The on-demand MBS-SI may be a new SIB (on-demand MBS-SIB).).
Regarding claim 3, Wei discloses:
wherein the first system information (scheduling information in SIB1 for MBS-SI) is based on a system information block one (SIB1) (SIB1) (0146] The BS 3 is basically configured to communicate with the UE 6 and to provide multicast services in the cell 2. Thus, the BS 3 transmits (e.g. broadcasts) the SIB1 (predetermined system information) including scheduling information for on-demand multicast broadcast service system information (on-demand MBS-SI) to the UE 6 at 11.).
Regarding claim 4, Wei discloses:
wherein the first system information (scheduling information in SIB1 for MBS-SI) is based on a remaining system information (RMSI) (SIB1) (0146] The BS 3 is basically configured to communicate with the UE 6 and to provide multicast services in the cell 2. Thus, the BS 3 transmits (e.g. broadcasts) the SIB1 (predetermined system information) including scheduling information for on-demand multicast broadcast service system information (on-demand MBS-SI) to the UE 6 at 11.; Note that the broadest reasonable interpretation of “RMSI” includes “SIB1” because, according to [0100] of the instant specification, “SIB1 may be referred to as remaining minimum system information (RMSI)”).
Regarding claim 5, Wei discloses:
wherein the first system information (scheduling information in SIB1 for MBS-SI) is received prior to the first system information block (SIB) (MBS-SI, MBS-SIB) ([0146] The BS 3 is basically configured to communicate with the UE 6 and to provide multicast services in the cell 2. Thus, the BS 3 transmits (e.g. broadcasts) the SIB1 (predetermined system information) including scheduling information for on-demand multicast broadcast service system information (on-demand MBS-SI) to the UE 6 at 11.; [0150] In response to the received request, the BS 3 transmits the on-demand MBS-SI to the UE 6 at 14; See e.g., Fig.4, where step 11 is prior to step 14).
Regarding claim 7, Wei discloses:
wherein the first system information (scheduling information in SIB1 for MBS-SI) is received via a broadcast channel (0146] The BS 3 is basically configured to communicate with the UE 6 and to provide multicast services in the cell 2. Thus, the BS 3 transmits (e.g. broadcasts) the SIB1 (predetermined system information) including scheduling information for on-demand multicast broadcast service system information (on-demand MBS-SI) to the UE 6 at 11.).
Regarding claim 8, Wei discloses:
wherein the first system information block (SIB) (MBS-SI, MBS-SIB) further comprises one or more multicast broadcast services (MBS) configuration parameters ([0159] Furthermore, the transmitted on-demand MBS-SI at 14 may include a MCCH change notification indicative for a time when the MCCH message changes, which is based on one or more bits or bitmap in the on-demand MBS-SI. [0160] Additionally, as illustrated in FIG. 3, the BS 3 may support beamforming and the transmitted on-demand MBS-SI at 14 may include beamforming configuration information. Then, the on-demand MBS-SI transmitted, for example, to the UE 6 and the UE 5 (see FIGS. 1 and 3) include different beamforming configuration information.).
Regarding claim 9, Wei discloses:
wherein the multicast broadcast services (MBS) control channel (MCCH) is associated with a multicast control channel (MCCH) logical channel (MCCH) ([0152] At 15, the UE 6 receives the on-demand MBS-SI including the MCCH scheduling information. [0153] Based on the detected scheduling information and the MCCH scheduling information the UE 6 requests the MCCH message at 16 (via the MCCH) in order to receive MCCH information for using the available multicast services. [0154] At 17, the requested MCCH message is transmitted from the BS 3 to the UE 6 (via the MCCH).).
Regarding claim 10, Wei discloses:
wherein the multicast broadcast services (MBS) traffic channel (MTCH) is associated with a multicast traffic channel (MTCH) logical channel (MTCH) ([0136] It has been recognized that the content of MCCH information may include the beamforming configuration of MTCH physical layer based on above options and/or feedback patterns. [0155] Accordingly, in this embodiment, the information, required to receive and use multicast service in the cell 2 established by the BS 3 is provided in an on-demand manner and signaling overhead may be reduced.).
Regarding claim 12, Wei discloses:
receiving multicast broadcast services (MBS) notification signaling (MCCH change notification in MBS-SI) indicating a change or an update to the multicast broadcast services (MBS) control configuration parameters (MCCH message, MCCH information) ([0159] Furthermore, the transmitted on-demand MBS-SI at 14 may include a MCCH change notification indicative for a time when the MCCH message changes, which is based on one or more bits or bitmap in the on-demand MBS-SI.).
Regarding claim 14, Wei discloses:
wherein at least one of the first system information (scheduling information in SIB1 for MBS-SI), the first system information block (SIB) (MBS-SI, MBS-SIB) and the multicast broadcast services (MBS) control channel (MCCH) are used for transmission of first parameters that are beam-specific or distributed unit (DU)-specific ([0160] Additionally, as illustrated in FIG. 3, the BS 3 may support beamforming and the transmitted on-demand MBS-SI at 14 may include beamforming configuration information. Then, the on-demand MBS-SI transmitted, for example, to the UE 6 and the UE 5 (see FIGS. 1 and 3) include different beamforming configuration information.).
Regarding claim 19, Wei discloses:
wherein at least one of the first system information (scheduling information in SIB1 for MBS-SI), the first system information block (SIB) (MBS-SI, MBS-SIB) and the multicast broadcast services (MBS) control channel (MCCH) are used for transmission of first parameters that are MBS service specific ([0153] Based on the detected scheduling information and the MCCH scheduling information the UE 6 requests the MCCH message at 16 (via the MCCH) in order to receive MCCH information for using the available multicast services.; [0155] Accordingly, in this embodiment, the information, required to receive and use multicast service in the cell 2 established by the BS 3 is provided in an on-demand manner and signaling overhead may be reduced.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Lee et al. (US 20220232403 A1, hereafter Lee).
Regarding claim 6,
Wei does not disclose: wherein the first system information is received via a physical downlink shared channel.
However, Lee discloses:
wherein SIB1 is received via a physical downlink shared channel ([0100] … A CORSET may be configured by system information (e.g., a master information block (MIB)) or higher-layer signaling (e.g., radio resource control (RRC) signaling). For example, configuration information about a specific common CORSET (e.g., CORESET #0) may be transmitted in an MIB. For example, a PDSCH carrying system information block 1 (SIB1) may be scheduled by a specific PDCCH, and CORSET #0 may be used to carry the specific PDCCH).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first system information of Wei in such a way that the scheduling information for MBS-SI is transmitted in SIB1 carried in PDSCH as taught by Lee, in order to transmit SIB1 according to MIB or CORESET #0 (Lee, [0100]).
Claims 24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei in view of Fujishiro et al. (US 20240032073 A1, hereafter Fujishiro).
Regarding claim 24,
Wei does not disclose: wherein at least one of the first system information, the first system information block (SIB) and the multicast broadcast services (MBS) control channel are used for transmission of first parameters that are bandwidth part (BWP)-specific.
However, Fujishiro discloses:
wherein at least one of the first system information , the first system information block (SIB) (MBS SIB) and the multicast broadcast services (MBS) control channel (MBS control channel) are used for transmission of first parameters (bandwidth part information for each predetermined channel) that are bandwidth part (BWP)-specific (MBS control channel) ([0145] In Operation Example 4 described above, the notification message may include, for each predetermined channel of the plurality of predetermined channels in the neighboring cell C2, bandwidth part information indicating a bandwidth part in which the predetermined channel is to be transmitted. [0146] For example, the gNB 200A includes transmitted BWP information and/or the search space identifier for each MBS control channel of the neighboring cell C2, in the notification message (MBS SIB and/or MBS control channel) transmitted in step S401.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify at least one of the first system information block (SIB) and the multicast broadcast services (MBS) control channel of Wei to be used for transmission of BWP-specific parameters as taught by Ref2, in order to facilitate UE’s attempt to perform reception in the cell C2 (Fujishiro, [0148]).
Regarding claim 29,
Wei does not disclose: wherein the first system information block (SIB) comprises information about availability of a first MBS service in a neighboring cell.
However, Fujishiro discloses:
wherein the first system information block (SIB) (MBS SIB) comprises information (a set of the identifier of the MBS traffic channel and the search space identifier corresponding to … each MBS traffic channel) about availability of a first MBS service in a neighboring cell (cell C2) ([0146] For example, the gNB 200A includes transmitted BWP information and/or the search space identifier for each MBS control channel of the neighboring cell C2, in the notification message (MBS SIB and/or MBS control channel) transmitted in step S401. [0147] The gNB 200A may include, in the notification message transmitted in step S401, the transmitted BWP information and/or the search space identifier for each MBS traffic channel of the neighboring cell C2. In this case, the notification message includes, for each MBS traffic channel of a plurality of MBS traffic channels, a set of the identifier of the MBS traffic channel and the search space identifier corresponding to the MBS traffic channel. The identifier of the MBS traffic channel is, for example, an MBS traffic channel identifier, a channel identifier allocated to the MB S traffic channel, or an RNTI allocated to the MBS traffic channel.).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the first system information block (SIB) of Wei to comprise information as taught by Ref2, in order to facilitate UE’s attempt to perform reception in the cell C2 (Fujishiro, [0148]).
Conclusion
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418