Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 32-52 in the reply filed on 4/6/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 53-62 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 4/6/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 32-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In particular, at claim 32, from which all other claims depend either directly or indirectly, the feature of an inducing portion is recited as “being configured to induce a touch”. How does the inducing portion induce a touch? The claim language is unclear and clarification is requested. Are there other components that work together to “induce a touch”? It seems the general meaning of “inducing” with regarding to physics refers to generation of an electrical current. However, this is unclear in terms of inducing a touch.
Claim 49 recites dependency from claim 17, however, claim 17 is canceled. It seems this is a typographical error, in which the claim should instead depend from claim 37. For purposes of examination, claim 49 is examined as if it were written to depend from claim 37. If this is correct, please make corresponding amendments to claim 49. If not, please provide clarification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 32-48 and 50-51 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN107675437 (cited on IDS filed 4/5/2024) herein referred to as “CN” and reference made to translation attached.
As to claim 32, CN discloses a washing machine laundry for cleaning clothes (page 1 of translation) according to washing parameters (translation at page 1). At Figs. 1-2, CN discloses a knob integrating rotation, touch control and display functions, including a control circuit board 1, a rotation structure 2 (reads on a manipulation portion that is rotatable), a touch control structure 3, and a display screen component 4. The rotating structure 2 is electrically connected with the control circuit board 1 and can rotate relative to it to select the corresponding washing program and adjust the washing parameters. The touch structure 3 (reads on a selection portion) is arranged in the rotating structure 2 and connected to the control circuit board 1. Electrically connected for switching on and off, setting and confirmation of functions, the display screen component 4 (reads on a display portion, in addition to window 35) is electrically connected to the touch structure 3 for scrolling and displaying the current washing parameters and the working status of the machine (see translation at pages 3-4, and page 5 regarding the window 35).
At the translation, page 5, there is disclosure of a touch sheet 34, which reads on the selection portion: Please refer to Figures 2 to 4, a preferred implementation of this embodiment: the touch structure 3 includes a lamp holder 31, an LED circuit board 32, an LED light source 33, a touch sheet 34 and a window cover 35 , the lamp holder 31 is a cylindrical shape, and a plurality of annularly distributed light guide holes 311 are provided on the lamp holder 31 near the peripheral wall, so that the light of the LED light source 33 can be guided from the light guide holes 311. The lamp holder 31 has An accommodation space for installing the LED circuit board 32. The LED light source 33 is electrically welded to the LED circuit board 32. The LED circuit board 32 is electrically connected to the control circuit board 1 through wires. One end of the touch sheet 34 is electrically welded to the LED circuit board 32, and the other end is in contact with the window cover 35. A plurality of touch holes 312 are opened in the lamp holder 31 for accommodating the touch screen. The control piece 34, the window cover 35 is connected to the top of the lamp holder 31. LEDs 33 read on the inducing means which are spaced apart from the display 4.
As to claim 33, CN discloses wherein the display portion comprises:
a mounting body that is fixed to the cabinet and disposed inside the manipulation portion, the mounting body being configured to support the display (Fig. 2, see element 31); and
a circuit board disposed at a rear side of the display and configured to receive the determination command from the selection portion (circuit board 1), wherein the mounting body defines:
a seating groove that supports the display, an inducing hole spaced apart from the seating groove, the inducing portion being disposed at the inducing hole (Figs. 2-4, see seating groove at 313), and
a sensor hole that passes through the mounting body and is spaced apart from the inducing hole, the selection portion extending toward the circuit board through the sensor hole (see corresponding hole between 313 and circuit 1)).
As to claim 34, as shown at Fig. 2 of CN the inducing hole is defined between a lower end of the seating groove and an inner circumferential face of the mounting body (see hole 313), and wherein the sensor hole is defined between the lower end of the seating groove and the inner circumferential face (see hole below 313 and continuing to circuit 1).
As to claim 35, CN discloses the sensor hole is defined between the inner circumferential face and the inducing hole (Fig. 2 of CN shows that the sensor hole is defined as claimed).
As to claim 36, CN discloses an area of the sensor hole is greater than an area of the inducing hole (Figs. 2-3 the area of the sensor hole at 21 is bigger than that within 314, as evidenced by the fitting of the structure of 314 inside element 21).
As to claim 37, in CN the selection portion comprises a receiver (Figs. 4-5: display screen component 4) disposed forward relative to the sensor hole, the receiver being configured to sense the user and receive the determination command, and wherein an area of the receiver is greater than an area of the sensor hole.
As to claim 38, CN discloses wherein the receiver extends from the sensor hole toward the inducing hole (Fig. 4: see extension of display screen component 4 being connected through 14 via electrical connection).
As to claim 39, CN discloses wherein the receiver extends from the sensor hole and surrounds at least a portion of the inducing hole (screen component 4 shown at Figs. 3-4).
As to claim 40, CN discloses wherein the inducing hole is defined between a lower end of the seating groove and an inner circumferential face of the mounting body, wherein the sensor hole is defined between a first side of the seating groove and the inner circumferential face, and wherein the receiver extends from the sensor hole toward a space between a first side of the inducing hole and the inner circumferential face (see analysis above regarding at least claims 34, 36, and 38).
As to claim 41, CN discloses the receiver extends from the sensor hole toward the inner circumferential face and extends from the sensor hole toward a second side of the inducing hole and the inner circumferential face (Fig. 3: see extension of the electrical components of element 4 which extend toward the inner circumferential face and toward the inducing hole and circuit 1).
As to claim 42, CN discloses the receiver is spaced apart from a lower end and both sides of the inducing hole (Figs. 2-3 the screen assembly 4 is spaced apart from a lower end and both sides of the inducing hole formed near the circuit 1).
As to claim 43, CN discloses a gap between the inducing hole and the receiver defines a reference distance between the receiver and each of a lower edge and side edges of the inducing hole (Fig. 3, see gap between elements 4 and 1).
As to claim 44, CN discloses at Figs. 2-3 the receiver covers a space between (i) the seating groove and the inducing hole and (ii) an inner circumferential face of the mounting body (see space between seating groove in which screen 4 is seated and the inducing hole, and a space of the circumferential face of the mounting body of 23; see also aerial view at Fig. 5).
As to claim 45, CN discloses the selection portion comprises a conductor and is configured to sense an electrical current based on the user interacting with the receiver (touch screen 3 comprises multiple parts, including an LED board 32, LED light source 33, touch control sheet 34 and window cover 35; each of these is electrically connected to the circuit board through a conducting wire, see translation at pages 3-4).
As to claim 46, CN discloses wherein the display portion comprises a window that is disposed at a front surface of the mounting body and covers the display, and wherein the receiver is disposed between the window and the mounting body (see CN regarding display via screen 4 formed between the window 35 and mounting body).
As to claim 47, CN discloses wherein the receiver is attached to or printed on a rear surface of the window (the electrical components of screen 4 is formed on its rear side and connected to the circuitry).
As to claim 48, CN discloses the receiver comprises a conductor and is configured to sense the user (the screen 4 and touch screen areas 353 are operated via touch control).
As to claim 50, CN discloses the receiver (screen 4 covers the hole and an interior edge of the inducing hole) covers the sensor hole and an edge of the inducing hole.
As to claim 51, CN discloses the selection portion further comprises a transmitter that extends through the sensor hole, the transmitter being connected to the receiver and the circuit board (the plurality of touch areas on cover 35 may be pressed and the touch signals are transmitted to the circuit board).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 49 and 52 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN as applied to claims above, and further in view of Eriksson et al. herein referred to as “Eriksson” (USPN 9,811,163).
As to claims 49 and 52, CN disclosed electrical connection of its touch screen and circuit board to sense touch and other inputs. CN is silent regarding the material composition of its electrical components, particularly “the receiver comprises a film that is made from carbon” and “the transmitter is made of an elastic material”. However, in the art of touch screen panels with circuit boards, Eriksson discloses these materials as known and useful in the art. Specifically, Eriksson discloses the known use of a PET film 803 (reads on a carbon film) and flexible layer 650. These types of materials are useful in detection of levels of touch detection, including detection of an initial touch, and detection of a touch with pressure (see Eriksson at col. 81, lines 42-44). These characteristics would allow for improved touch feedback, accuracy, and overall user experience, which would be beneficial in operating a touch panel.
Conclusion
/RITA P ADHLAKHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711