DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.03.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment of 02/06/2026 does not place the Application in condition for allowance.
Claims 1-10 are currently pending. In response to Office Action mailed on 11/17/2025, Applicant has amended claim 1. Claim 10 is withdrawn from consideration as being part of non-elected invention.
Status of the Rejections
Due to Applicant’s amendment of claim 1, all rejections from the Office Action mailed on 11/17/2025 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bettinelli (CN 113678263 A) (refer to English translation as provided).
Regarding claim 1, Bettinelli discloses a heterojunction cell (photovoltaic cell 50, figures 5-18), comprising:
a cell sheet (50) having a front side (side that receives incident radiation, page 9) and a rear side (side that captures scattering or reflecting radiation) opposite to each other (see page 9) (see also figure 5);
screen-printed grid lines (12) (screen printing gate line) configured as silver paste and provided on the front side and rear side of the cell sheet (50) (page 9 and figure 5); and
a metal mesh (formed by 22 and 23, figure 18 and page 11) connected to the screen-printed grid lines (12) and fixed on the cell sheet (50), the metal mesh comprising a plurality of first metal wires (22) and a plurality of second metal wires (23), the plurality of first metal wires (22) being spaced apart along a first direction of the cell sheet (50), the plurality of second metal wires being spaced apart along a second direction of the cell sheet (50), the first metal wires (22) perpendicularly intersecting with the second metal wires (23) (see fig. 18), wherein the first metal wires (22) are configured as main grid lines, and the second metal wires (23) are configured as auxiliary grid lines (page 11),
wherein each metal wire of the first metal wires (22) of the metal mesh is in contact with and bonded to a corresponding screen-printed grid line (12) (see fig. 18 that shows 22 overlaps/intersects with 12),
and each metal wire of the second metal wires (23) of the metal mesh is in electrical contact with and indirectly bonded to a corresponding screen-printed grid line (12) (see fig. 18 that shows 23 is in electrical contact with and bonded to 12 through 22).
It is noted that instant claim does not require direct contact or direct bonding of second metal wires with the screen-printed grid line. Thus, the electrical contact and indirect bonding as shown by Bettinelli are interpreted to read on the claimed contact and bonding.
Regarding claim 9, Bettinelli discloses a photovoltaic assembly cell string, comprising at least two heterojunction cells (3 cells shown in figure 17C) according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1), and the at least two heterojunction cells are connected into a string in a shingled manner (see figure 17C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bettinelli as applied above.
Regarding claim 2, Bettinelli further discloses that the screen-printed grid lines (12) are configured as silver paste wires (page 9), a width of the silver paste wire (12) is less than 60 μm (page 9), and a height of the silver paste wires (12) is less than 60 μm (page 9). Thus, claimed range overlaps with the disclosed range.
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists (In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)) (MPEP § 2144.05 - (I)).
Regarding claim 3, Bettinelli further discloses that the screen-printed grid lines (12) and the metal mesh (22 and 23) have the same structure (rectangular structure, see fig. 18), such that the screen-printed grid lines (12) are in full contact with and attached to the metal mesh (22 and 23) (see fig. 18).
Regarding claim 4, Bettinelli further discloses that a distribution area of the screen-printed grid lines (12) on the cell sheet is less than a distribution area of the metal mesh (22, 23) on the cell sheet (50), such that the screen-printed grid lines (12) are in partial contact with and attached to the metal mesh (22, 23).
Regarding claim 5, Bettinelli further discloses that the metal mesh (22, 23) is any one of alloy mesh (page 15, solder paste).
Regarding claim 6, Bettinelli further discloses that a wire diameter of the main grid line (22) is greater than or equal to a wire diameter of the auxiliary grid line (23) (page 12).
Regarding claim 7, Bettinelli further discloses that the main grid line (22) has a connecting wire segment (36) (fig. 17B), and the connecting wire segment extends (36) to one side or two opposite sides of the cell sheet (50) (rectangular segment extends both sides, fig. 17B).
Regarding claim 8, Bettinelli further discloses that the auxiliary grid line (23) has a connecting wire segment (36) (fig. 17B), and the connecting wire segment (36) extends to one side or two opposite sides of the cell sheet (50) (rectangular segment extends both sides, fig. 17B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-9 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by the amendments.
Applicant argues that Bettinelli fails to disclose that the second metal wires of the metal mesh is in electrical contact with and indirectly bonded to a corresponding screen-printed grid line.
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Bettinelli discloses that each metal wire of the second metal wires (23) of the metal mesh is in electrical contact with and indirectly bonded to a corresponding screen-printed grid line (12) (see fig. 18 that shows 23 is in electrical contact with and bonded to 12 through 22).
It is noted that instant claim does not require direct contact or direct bonding of second metal wires with the screen-printed grid line. Thus, the electrical contact and indirect bonding as shown by Bettinelli are interpreted to read on the claimed contact and bonding.
Correspondence/Contact Information
/GOLAM MOWLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721