DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation
“a controller” in claim 1;
“a loudspeaker” in claim 4;
“a screen” in claim 5;
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the products to be cooked are placed”, “the bottom of the cooking chamber (4)”, “the cooking options”, “the pot (2)”, “the ingredients”, “the preparation of stews and yogurt”, and “the operating temperature” are insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The limitation “contains a controller that allows the operating temperature to be set to 150° C.-210° C., time interval 1-120 minutes for cooking stews and the operating temperature to be set to 35° C.-55° C., time interval 5-10 hours for yogurt preparation feature” is indefinite, because it is unclear what structure contains a controller.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation is interpreted to the hot air flow cooking appliance comprising a controller.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation “it comprises a controller which activates the heater in the yogurt preparation function” is indefinite. 1) The structure that the term “it” refers to is unclear. 2) It is unclear whether the controller in this claim is the same controller in claim 1.
For the purpose of examination, the term “it” is interpreted to hot air flow cooking appliance, and the “controller” in this claim is interpreted to be the same controller in the claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “it comprises a lid (1) which covers the pot (2) placed inside the cooking chamber (4)” is indefinite. The structure that the term “it” refers to is unclear.
For the purpose of examination, the term “it” is interpreted to hot air flow cooking appliance.
Regarding claim 4, the limitation “it comprises a loudspeaker providing audible information about cooking operations” is indefinite. The structure that the term “it” refers to is unclear.
For the purpose of examination, the term “it” is interpreted to hot air flow cooking appliance.
Regarding claim 5, the limitation “it comprises a loudspeaker providing audible information about cooking operations it comprises a screen on the keypad (5) for monitoring the cooking temperature and time” is indefinite. The structure that the term “it” refers to is unclear.
For the purpose of examination, the term “it” is interpreted to hot air flow cooking appliance.
Regarding claim 6, the limitation “it comprises a keypad (5) for manually changing the temperature time setting by means of buttons located thereon” is indefinite. 1)The structure that the term “it” refers to is unclear. 2) It is unclear whether the keypad (5) in this claim is the same keypad (5) in claim 1.
For the purpose of examination, the term “it” is interpreted to hot air flow cooking appliance, and the “keypad (5)” in this claim is interpreted to be the same keypad (5) in the claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (CN 215650646) in view of Stewart (US 2020/0315389).
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a hot air flow cooking appliance (See figs.) comprising a cooking chamber (4) (interior space of fryer assembly 200) in which the products to be cooked are placed, a fat collector (3) (Oil receiving tray 302) placed on the bottom of the cooking chamber (4) (chamber; see the annotation of fig.1) and a keypad (5) (keypad; see the annotation of fig.3) on which the cooking options are selected, characterized in that;
the pot (2) (fryer assembly 200) placed on the fat collector (3) (Oil receiving tray 302), in which the ingredients required for the preparation of stews and yogurt are added (fryer assembly 200 is capable to receive ingredients),
Wu does not explicitly teach contains a controller that allows the operating temperature to be set to 150° C.-210° C., time interval 1-120 minutes for cooking stews and the operating temperature to be set to 35° C.-55° C., time interval 5-10 hours for yogurt preparation feature.
However, Stewart teaches in the same field of endeavor of a cooking appliance comprising a controller (processor 102) that allows the operating temperature to be set up to 450 ºF (about 232.2°C) (See para.[0125]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the cooking appliance of Wu by adding a controller that allows the operating temperature to be set up to 232.2°C as taught by Stewart, so that operator can select desired temperature and cooking time for various types of food, such as to set operating temperature to 150° C.-210° C, time interval 1-120 minutes for cooking stews and to set the operating temperature to 35° C.-55° C., time interval 5-10 hours for yogurt preparation feature, in order to provide best flavor for the food.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Wu and Stewart teaches a controller (processor 102 of Stewart) which activates the heater in the yogurt preparation function (See para.[0125] of Stewart “ a controller or processor 102 for controlling operation of the heating elements 82, 84 (and air movement device 86 including the motor 88 and fan 90 associated therewith”).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches a lid (1) (lid; see the annotation of fig.1) which covers the pot (2) (fryer assembly 200) placed inside the cooking chamber (4) (chamber).
Regarding claims 5-6, Wu does not explicitly teach a screen on the keypad (5) for monitoring the cooking temperature and time. a keypad (5) for manually changing the temperature time setting by means of buttons located thereon.
However, Stewart teaches in the same field of endeavor of a cooking appliance comprising a screen (display 96) on the keypad (5) (control panel 92) for monitoring the cooking temperature and time; a keypad (5) (control panel 92) for manually changing the temperature time setting by means of buttons located thereon (see fig.1A and para.[0124] The control panel 92 includes one or more inputs 94 associated with energizing the one or more heating elements 82, 84 of the cooking system 20 and for selecting various modes of operation of the cooking system 20. One or more of the inputs 94 may include a light or other indicator to show that the respective input has been selected. The control panel 92 may additionally include a display 96 separate from and associated with the at least one input 94.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the cooking appliance of Wu by adding a keypad as taught by Stewart, in order to allow user to control the cooking operations of the cooking appliance manually (para.[0124]-[0126] of Stewart).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the modification of Wu and Stewart in view of Moon (US 2021/0137300).
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Wu and Stewart does not explicitly teach a loudspeaker providing audible information about cooking operations.
However Moon teaches in the same field of endeavor of a cooking appliance comprising a loudspeaker providing audible information about cooking operations (see para.[0059] “8. Once the unit comes to pressure the unit will ˜beep˜ one (1) time and will begin to cook at the default time for the program chosen… 10. Once cooking is complete, the unit will ˜beep˜ three (3) times and the LED display will show “End”.” Since the cooking appliance can provide “beep” sound, the cooking appliance is inherently comprising a loudspeaker.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the claimed invention was made to modify the cooking appliance of the modification of Wu and Stewart by adding a loudspeaker as taught by Moon, in order to indicate different status of cooking operation.
Conclusion
/CHRIS Q LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761