DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 30 recites the broad recitation “bird blood”, and the claim also recites “preferably EDTA- and/or heparin-anticoagulated bird blood” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sousa (US 20190323949 A1) in view of Paseman (US 8594758 B2).
With regards to claims 16 and 27, Sousa discloses an optical system comprising:
a chamber 26 for receiving an element to be characterized by the optical system [0118] (Figs. 3a and 12),
a light source 5 for illuminating the chamber, and
a spectrometer 6 for recording a spectrum of light issuing from the chamber (Claim 1), wherein the light source being coupled to the chamber such a manner that light is guided from the light source to the chamber when the light source is activated [0121, 0129] (Abstract),
wherein in operation:
light is directed onto the element;
measuring a spectrum of reflected components of the light, scattered components of the light, and/or light caused by Raman scattering or fluorescence of the element with the spectrometer;
and determining the parameter by evaluating the spectrum (Abstract).
Sousa fails to explicitly teach wherein the light source comprises at least two separate LEDs that emit light having at least two spectral maxima in different wavelength ranges. Paseman discloses a spectroscopic analysis system (Fig. 1) comprising at least two LEDs that emit light having at least two spectral maxima in different wavelength ranges (column 5, lines 3-13). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Sousa with the claimed LEDs as taught by Paseman in order to detect different components within a sample to increase diagnostic flexibility.
With regards to claim 17, Sousa discloses a plurality of illuminating fibers and a single receiving fiber [0110] (Fig. 8).
With regards to claims 18-21 and 28, Sousa discloses uv-vis-nir LEDs [0104], but lacks an explicit teaching of the claimed configurations. Paseman teaches LEDs emitting light at different wavelengths including UV and visible wavelengths (column 5, lines 3-13), wherein multiple components may be detected simultaneously (superimposed light; column 5, lines 3-33). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Sousa with the claimed configurations in order to detect different components within a sample to increase diagnostic flexibility.
With regards to claim 22, Sousa discloses wherein the spectrometer comprises a brightness control for controlling a brightness of the light source [0141].
With regards to claims 23-26 and 29, Sousa discloses controlling measurement parameters so the detector operates within its useful linear/dynamic range [0141], but does not teach each of the claimed limitations as claimed. Paseman teaches adjusting the brightness of the light source (column 4, lines 50-52), wherein the intensity of each light source can be independently controlled (column 7, lines 46-47), and further wherein the light source is controlled via a control loop based on a detected output (column 4, lines 50-62). It would have been well known, obvious, and predictably suitable to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Sousa with the teachings of Paseman in order to optimize performance of the spectrometer.
With regards to claim 30, Sousa discloses the claimed element [0059].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MARCUS H TANINGCO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884