DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s Amendments and Arguments filed 01/02/2026 have been considered for examination.
With regard to the objections to Specification and Claims, Applicant’s arguments filed 01/02/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the objections to Specification and Claims have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 112(b) rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 01/02/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Thus, the 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
With regard to the 103 rejections, Applicant’s arguments filed 01/02/2026 in view of the amendments have been fully considered but are moot because the arguments are not applied to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US Publication No. 2020/0146037) in view of “Discussion on reliability improvement”, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #104b-3 e-Meeting, April 12th - 20th, 2021 (R1-2102901) (hereinafter, “3GPP1”)1 and further in view of Choi et al (US Publication No. 2019/0215126).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses, a method comprising:
receiving, by user equipment (UE), from a base station, configuration information related to hybrid automatic repeat and request (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) reporting for a . . . physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; ¶1002, the UE first receives first configuration information for one or more first UL resources for SR transmission from an base station (S1510); further see ¶1003, the UE then receives second configuration information for a second UL resource for UCI transmission from the base station (S1520); further see ¶1010, the second UL resource may be a PUCCH resource carrying HARQ-ACK information; further see [¶0850, a PUCCH resource carrying HARQ-ACK information for a PDSCH scheduled by a DL assignment (or DL scheduling DCI)], wherein . . . the HARQ-ACK reporting for . . .PDSCH is configured based on the configuration information [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; ¶1002-1003 and ¶1010, the second UL resource may be a PUCCH resource carrying HARQ-ACK information; note that transmission of the HARQ-ACK is configured];
receiving, by user equipment (UE), from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the PDSCH [¶0850, a PUCCH resource carrying HARQ-ACK information for a PDSCH scheduled by a DL assignment (or DL scheduling DCI); further see ¶0615 and 0995];
receiving, by the UE, from the base station, the PDSCH [¶0069-0070, receiving a PDSCH from base station; further see ¶0815, a PUCCH resource carrying HARQ-ACK information for a PDSCH scheduled by a DL assignment (or DL scheduling DCI); note that in order to transmit HARQ-ACK information for a PDSCH, receiving of the PDSCH is required beforehand]; and
based on resources for i) first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with HARQ-ACK information related to the . . . PDSCH according to the . . . HARQ-ACK reporting and ii) second PUCCH transmission with a scheduling request (SR) [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; ¶1016-1017, the UE first determines a first PUCCH format carrying positive SR information, and a second PUCCH format carrying HARQ-ACK information] overlapping in a slot [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; ¶1004, the first UL resources/first PUCCH and the second UL resource/second PUCCH overlap in the time domain; note that overlapping of two resources in the time domain requires overlapping thereof at least in a (time) slot], transmitting, by the UE, the HARQ-ACK information and the SR in a PUCCH to the base station [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; If N (N is a natural number larger than 1) first UL resources for N SR transmissions overlap with the second UL resource in the time domain, the UE transmits bit information indicating SR information for N SR configurations (or SR processes) together with the UCI in the second UL resource (S1530); further see ¶1010, the second UL resource may be a PUCCH resource carrying HARQ-ACK information], wherein a cyclic shift (CS) resource for the HARQ-ACK information and the SR are determined respectively for a case in which a negative SR and a NACK are multiplexed in the PUCCH [¶0376, table 15, negative SR + NACK (fourth row), for “negative SR+NACK, the UE may not transmit any signal; note that no sequence/no CS offset (e.g., CS offset = 0) is applied], a case in which a positive SR and a NACK are multiplexed in the PUCCH [¶0376, table 15, positive SR + NACK (second row), sequences 1 and 2 are used; further see ¶0137, “a cyclic shift (CS) resource for a specific sequence refers to a resource resulting from applying a cyclic time shift (a cyclic frequency shift) to the sequence on the time axis (on the frequency axis)”], and a case in which a positive SR and an ACK are multiplexed in the PUCCH [¶0376, table 15, positive SR + ACK (first row), only sequence 1 is used; further see ¶0137, ““a cyclic shift (CS) resource for a specific sequence refers to a resource resulting from applying a cyclic time shift (a cyclic frequency shift) to the sequence on the time axis (on the frequency axis)”].
Although Park discloses, “receiving, by user equipment (UE), from a base station, configuration information related to hybrid automatic repeat and request (HARQ)-acknowledgement (ACK) reporting for a . . . physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH), wherein . . . the HARQ-ACK reporting for . . .PDSCH is configured based on the configuration information; receiving, by user equipment (UE), from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) for scheduling the PDSCH; receiving, by the UE, from the base station, the PDSCH; and based on resources for i) first physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) transmission with HARQ-ACK information related to the . . . PDSCH according to the . . . HARQ-ACK reporting and ii) second PUCCH transmission with a scheduling request (SR), transmitting, by the UE, the HARQ-ACK information and the SR in a PUCCH to the base station, wherein a cyclic shift (CS) resource for the HARQ-ACK information and the SR are determined respectively for a case in which a negative SR and a NACK are multiplexed in the PUCCH” as set forth above, Park does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the PDSCH and HARQ-ACK reporting are “multicast” PDSCH and “NACK only based” HARQ ACK reporting, respectively.
However, the above-mentioned features are well known/established in the telecommunication art as recited in 3GPP standard, i.e., 3GPP1.
In particular, 3GPP1 discloses, multicast PDSCH and NACK only based HARQ ACK reporting [see section 3, NACK-only based HARQ ACK feedback; for NACK-only based HARQ-ACK feedback, UEs in the same group only report NACK for multicast PDSCH on the same PUCCH resource with the same sequence].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide well-established standard of providing the above-mentioned well-known feature, as taught by 3GPP1 in the system of Park, so that it would provide interoperability and compatibility between telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers, thereby providing users with easier and faster seamless transition regardless where the users are located in the country/world.
Further, although Park discloses, all the claimed cases in which a negative SR and a NACK being multiplexed, a positive SR and a NACK being multiplexed, and a positive SR and an ACK being multiplexed, as set forth above, Park in view of 3GPP1 does not explicitly disclose (see, italicized and bold limitations), the CS resource or sequence to be determined for the above cases, as disclosed in Park is modified to be a “CS offset”.
However, Choi discloses, CS offsets are determined for different combination of HARQ-ACK and SR, claimed as “cyclic shift (CS) offsets for the HARQ-ACK information and the SR are determined respectively for a case in which a SR and a NACK [¶0166 and table 7, final CS for SR + NACK = CS offset (3)] and a case in which a SR and an ACK” [¶0166 and table 7, final CS for SR + ACK = CS offset (6+3)].
It is noted that the above-mentioned feature is a known technique in the field Applicant's endeavor, e.g., telecommunication art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the system of Park in view of 3GPP1 with "the above-mentioned known feature(s)" taught by Choi to reach the claimed invention as set forth above. Since one having ordinary skill in the art could have recognized that applying the known technique taught by Choi into the system of Park in view of 3GPP1 would have yield predictable results and/or resulted in the improved system, such as e.g., ensure to overhead signaling in uplink control region and reduce latency, such a modification (or application) would have involved the mere application of a known technique to a piece of prior art ready for improvement," the claim is unpatentable under 35 U.S.C. 103(a). Ex Parte Smith, 83 USPQ.2d 1509, 1518-19 (BPAI, 2007) (citing KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses, a user equipment (UE) [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; ¶1002-1003, user equipment (UE); further see FIG. 16], comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; ¶1002-1003, user equipment (UE); further see FIG. 16, transmitter 10 and receiver 20; note that every UE has at least one transceiver]; and
at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; ¶1002-1003, user equipment (UE); further see FIG. 16, processor 40; note that every UE has at least one processor].
Since claim 11 recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features, claim 11 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, Park discloses, a base station [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; ¶1002-1003, base station; further see FIG. 16] comprising:
at least one transceiver for transmitting and receiving a wireless signal [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; ¶1002-1003, base station; further see FIG. 16, transmitter 110 and receiver 120; note that every base station has at least one transceiver]; and
at least one processor for controlling the at least one transceiver [FIGS. 13-15; their related descriptions; ¶1002-1003, base station; further see FIG. 16, processor 140; note that every base station has at least one processor].
Since claim 15 is merely different from claim 1 in that it recites claimed features from the perspective of a base station, but recites similar features to claim 1 without further additional features, claim 15 is rejected at least based on a similar rationale applied to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.f attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ian Moore can be reached on (571) 272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SUN JONG KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469
1 3GPP1 was filed in an IDS by the applicant.