DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nattukallingal (US 2018/0329209).
Regarding claim 1, Nattukallingal discloses a method for controlling a smart glasses temple (see figure 17, for instance), wherein the method is applied to a smart glasses temple comprising a temple body (102), the temple body is provided with a detection element (1782, 1783) used to respond to a trigger element on a glasses frame (see figure 17), and the method comprises the steps of: recognizing an interrupt signal of the detection element ([0078], “When user open the temples the magnetic connectors 1783 and 1782 can come into contact with each other…”, the interrupt signal being closing the circuit between 1782 / 1783); and waking up the temple body when the interrupt signal of the detection element is recognized ([0078]; “the smart eyeglasses 103 can wake up”).
Regarding claim 9, Nattukallingal discloses an apparatus for controlling a smart glasses temple (see figures 1 and 17, for instance), comprising; a processor (119), a memory (105), and a program for controlling a smart glasses temple that is stored in the memory and can run on the processor ([0035]; [0090]); wherein when the program for controlling a smart glasses (102) temple runs on the processor, a method for controlling a smart glasses temple is executed, wherein the method is applied to a smart glasses temple comprising a temple body ([0078]); the temple body is provided with a detection element (1782) used to respond to a trigger element on a glasses frame, and the method comprises the steps of: recognizing an interrupt signal of the detection element ([0078], “When user open the temples the magnetic connectors 1783 and 1782 can come into contact with each other…”, the interrupt signal being closing the circuit between 1782 / 1783); and waking up the temple body when the interrupt signal of the detection element is recognized ([0078]; “the smart eyeglasses 103 can wake up”).
Regarding claim 10, Nattukallingal discloses a computer-readable storage medium ([0035]; [0090]; 105) having a program for controlling a smart glasses temple stored thereon; wherein when the program for controlling a smart glasses temple runs on a processor (119), a method for controlling a smart glasses temple is executed, wherein the method is applied to a smart glasses temple comprising a temple body ([0078]), the temple body is provided with a detection element (1782) used to respond to a trigger element on a glasses frame, and the method comprises the steps of: recognizing an interrupt signal of the detection element ([0078], “When user open the temples the magnetic connectors 1783 and 1782 can come into contact with each other…”, the interrupt signal being closing the circuit between 1782 / 1783); and waking up the temple body when the interrupt signal of the detection element is recognized ([0078]; “the smart eyeglasses 103 can wake up”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-8 and 11-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2, Nattukallingal discloses the method for controlling a smart glasses temple according to claim 1. However, Nattukallingal does not expressly disclose wherein, after the step of waking up the temple body, the method further comprises: performing threshold judgment on the data obtained by the detection element; when a magnetic flux is within a first preset range, determining that the temple body is in a state of being connected to the glasses frame; and when the magnetic flux is within a second preset range, determining that the temple body is in a state of entering a glasses case, nor would it have been obvious to do so in combination.
Claims 3-8 depend from claim 2, and are therefore objected to on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 11, Nattukallingal discloses the apparatus for controlling a smart glasses temple according to claim 9. However, Nattukallingal does not expressly disclose wherein, after the step of waking up the temple body, the method further comprises: performing threshold judgment on the data obtained by the detection element; when a magnetic flux is within a first preset range, determining that the temple body is in a state of being connected to the glasses frame; and when the magnetic flux is within a second preset range, determining that the temple body is in a state of entering a glasses case, nor would it have been obvious to do so in combination.
Claims 12-20 depend from claim 11, and are therefore objected to on the same grounds.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gui et al. (US 2020/0174558) discloses a set of smartglasses with embedded sensors for detecting open / close states, and activating the displays accordingly in response.
Castaneda et al. (US 11,137,621) discloses a set of smartglasses with embedded magnetic sensors in the temple arms.
Kubota et al. (US 11,366,341) discloses a smartglasses case with embedded magnetic sensors that connect to corresponding magnetic sensors of the smartglasses.
/NATHANAEL R BRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871 12/18/2025