DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to applicant’s remarks submitted on 03/18/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 12/18/2025. Claims 14 and 16-17 were cancelled previously. Claim 12 is cancelled currently. Therefore, claims 1-11, 13 and 15 are pending and addressed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavva et al. (2021/0351885, corresponding to WO 2020213964 as submitted in IDS) Chavva hereinafter, in view of Park et al. (2019/0109626, same assignee but published more than a year ago before the EFD of the instant application), Park hereinafter.
Re. Claims 1 and 13, Chavva teaches a method (Fig.8 & ¶0149/¶0151/¶0153) and an apparatus (Fig. 23 / Fig. 2/Fig. 4, UE) comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig. 23, 2320); and at least one processor (Fig. 23, 2310) coupled with the at least one transceiver (Fig. 23, 2320), wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 23, 2310) is configured to: receive configuration information related to a channel state information (CSI) report (Fig. 8 & ¶0149 - At step 801, the method includes receiving a feedback configuration, by the UE 601, from the gNB 607. The feedback configuration is relevant to reception of CSI-RS and/or SSB. The feedback configuration can be used by the UE 601 to send the CSI as a feedback report. The UE 601 can receive the feedback configuration in a RRC message. The RRC message includes CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, CSI-ReportConfig, and CodebookConfig. Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-MeasConfig IE can indicate whether the UE 601 needs to perform at least one of interference measurement and channel measurement. The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received. The CSI-ReportConfig IE can include time slots in which the UE 601 can send the CSI report, feedback parameters to be included in the CSI report, and so on. The CodebookConfig indicates to the UE 601 as to whether the CSI feedback configuration, provided to the UE 601, is pertaining to type-1 CSI or type-2 CSI.); receive information for a payload configuration related to the CSI report (Fig. 6 & ¶0036 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: …. a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH. Fig. 6 & ¶0056 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: ….a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH; Fig. 4 & ¶0112 - the UE receives CSI-RS, followed by PDSCH through a first beam. The UE utilizes the CSI-RS, which is received periodically from the gNB, to generate a CSI-RS report. Based on the CSI report, the gNB can choose appropriate MCS to transmit the subsequent PDSCH); and report CSI based on the configuration information,(Fig. 6 & ¶0036 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: …. a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH). Fig. 6 & ¶0056 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: ….a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH; a CSI reporting periodicity; and a code rate for scheduling the PDSCH by the gNB (607)), wherein, the CSI includes information based on a prediction of a channel state at a timing after reporting the CSI (Fig. 6 & ¶0036 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: …. a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH. Fig. 6 & ¶0056 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: ….a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH; Fig. 6 & ¶0057 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); Fig. 6 & ¶0061 - wherein the system (600) is further configured to generate, by the neural network (602c), a plurality of CSI reports by at least one of computing and predicting probable values of the feedback parameters at a plurality of future time instances, wherein the plurality of CSI reports are sent to the gNB (607) in one of a single reporting slot and a plurality of periodic reporting slots. Also, see claim 1).
Yet, Chavva does not expressly teach wherein the CSI is calculated based on the payload configuration.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses wherein the CSI is calculated based on the payload configuration. (Fig. 1-22 & ¶0520 - when the UE is set as Type II CSI, SB reporting, and PUSCH-based reporting and the payload size of the CSI to be reported is larger than the payload size for the resource allocated for the UCI, the UE may report CRI/RI, CQI, and PMI according to CSI of Type I by falling back to the CSI of Type I instead of omitting (or dropping) all or some of the CSI of Part 2 of Type II. Fig. 1-22 & ¶0527 - when the UE is configured as Type II CSI, SB reporting, and PUSCH-based reporting and the payload size of the CSI to be reported is larger than the payload size for the resource allocated for the UCI, the UE may continuously transmit the CSI of Type II in rank 1. Fig. 1-22 & ¶0534 - when the UE is configured as Type II CSI, SB reporting, and PUSCH-based reporting and the payload size of the CSI to be reported is larger than the payload size for the resource allocated for the UCI, the UE may restrict and calculate # of non-zero amplitude coefficient according to the size of the payload for the allocated resource at the time of calculating the CSI of Type II.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system to include Park’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for reporting channel state information (CSI) to a base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0121, Park)
Re. Claim 2, Chavva and Park teach claim 1.
Yet, Chavva does not expressly teach wherein: the CSI is reported through at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses wherein: the CSI is reported through at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH). (Fig. 1-22 & ¶0308 - The periodic CSI reporting is performed on short PUCCH and long PUCCH. Fig. 1-22 & ¶0317 - the aperiodic CSI reporting is performed on the PUSCH and is triggered by the DCI.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system to include Park’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for reporting channel state information (CSI) to a base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0121, Park)
Re. Claim 4, Chavva and Park teach claim 2.
Chavva further teaches wherein: based on the information for the payload configuration, a codebook parameter for the CSI is determined by using an artificial intelligence model. (Fig. 1-21 & ¶0081 - methods and systems for reporting Channel State Information (CSI), to a Next Generation Node B (gNB), comprising of at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter is computed and/or predicted using at least one Machine Learning (ML) based learning model. The embodiments include computing at least one transmission parameter using the at least one ML based model. The parameter(s) can be considered as feedback parameters, when the parameters are included in the CSI report that is sent to the gNB. The embodiments include computing the feedback parameter(s) based on measurement data comprising channel metrics and baseband metrics, determined using CSI-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) and/or Synchronization Signal Block (SSB)); and a relationship between the measurement data and measurement data obtained from the sensors of the UE. The gNB can utilize the feedback parameters for scheduling transmission of Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH). Fig. 1-21 & ¶0117 - The UE 601, through the communication interface 603, can receive a Radio Resource Configuration (RRC) message. The gNB 607 can include a feedback configuration for CSI-RS in the RRC message. The feedback configuration comprises Information Elements (IEs) such as CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, CodebookConfig, and CSI-ReportConfig. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0120 - The CodebookConfig can provide an indication to the UE 601 whether the CSI feedback configuration is Type-1 or Type-2. For both Type-1 and Type-2 CSI reporting in NR, the gNB 607 can specify CSI reporting configuration in the CodebookConfig. For Type-1 CSI reporting, the UE 601 can send gNB 607 antenna port configuration, and a set of values of the feedback parameters (such as PMI and RI), which can be considered as valid, to the gNB 607. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0124 - The neural network 602c can predict the probable values of the feedback parameters at a future time instance as configured by the gNB 607 in the CSI-ReportConfig IE. For example, consider that the CSI-ReportConfig IE indicates that the UE 601 needs to report the values of PMI and RI to the gNB 607 in a CSI report. The CodebookConfig can specify a set of values for each of the PMI and RI, which are considered as valid by the gNB 607 for reporting. The neural network 602c of the UE 601 can compute and/or predict a plurality of values of PMI and a plurality of values of RI for type-1 or type-2 CSI reporting. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0154 - feedback parameters using a ML based learning model. In an embodiment, the ML based learning model can be a neural network 602c. The embodiments include generating feature vectors using at least one of channel metrics, basement metrics, RX beam pattern information, and sensor measurements. The feature vectors can be provided to the neural network 602c, for computing the feedback parameters. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0236 - methods and systems for reporting CSI to a gNB, by a UE, wherein the CSI report can include parameters that are computed and predicted using ML based learning models).
Re. Claim 5, Chavva and Park teach claim 1.
Chavva also teaches further comprising: receiving information for a rank value at any one of a timing of reporting the CSI or the timing after reporting the CSI, wherein the CSI is calculated based on the rank value. (Fig. 9A-B/Fig. 10/Fig.12 & ¶0103 - In 5th Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) communication systems, a User Equipment (UE) is configured to compute Channel State Information (CSI) parameters such as Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), CSI-Reference Signals (CSI-RS) Indicator (CRI), and so on, for at least one beam, as per CSI-RS or Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration. Thereafter, the computed parameters can be sent to a Next Generation Node B (gNB), as part of a CSI report or CSI feedback. The CSI report, sent to the gNB, is used for scheduling data transmissions with a delay (known as feedback delay). Fig. 9A-B/Fig. 10/Fig.12 & ¶0104 - At step 104, the UE can process data included in the reference signal (CSI-RS) for estimating feedback parameters, i.e., CSI parameters. The CSI parameters can be estimated based on channel coefficients, which in turn can be determined based on the CSI-RS data. For example, the UE can compute CSI parameters such as PMI, RI, CQI and LI. Fig. 9A-B/Fig. 10/Fig.12 & ¶0107 - The CSI enable trigger informs the UE that the gNB is going to send the CSI-RS. The UE can compute the feedback parameters (such as RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, and so on), to be included in the CSI report, using the content in the CSI-RS. The UE can utilize the estimated channel coefficients and the measurements to compute the feedback parameters. Fig. 9A-B/Fig. 10/Fig.12 & ¶0120 - For Type-1 CSI reporting, the UE 601 can send gNB 607 antenna port configuration, and a set of values of the feedback parameters (such as PMI and RI), which can be considered as valid, to the gNB 607. The gNB 607 can choose at least one of the reported values from the range, provided to the gNB 607 by the UE 601).
Re. Claim 6, Chavva and Park teach claim 1.
Chavva further teaches further comprising: based on that the configuration information includes information on multiple report objects related to the CSI report (Fig. 9A-B/Fig. 10/Fig.12 & ¶0120 - The CodebookConfig can provide an indication to the UE 601 whether the CSI feedback configuration is Type-1 or Type-2. For both Type-1 and Type-2 CSI reporting in NR, the gNB 607 can specify CSI reporting configuration in the CodebookConfig. For Type-1 CSI reporting, the UE 601 can send gNB 607 antenna port configuration, and a set of values of the feedback parameters (such as PMI and RI), which can be considered as valid. Fig. 8 & ¶0149 - The UE 601 can receive the feedback configuration in a RRC message. The RRC message includes CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, CSI-ReportConfig, and CodebookConfig. Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-MeasConfig IE can indicate whether the UE 601 needs to perform at least one of interference measurement and channel measurement. The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received. The CSI-ReportConfig IE can include time slots in which the UE 601 can send the CSI report, feedback parameters to be included in the CSI report, and so on. The CodebookConfig indicates to the UE 601 as to whether the CSI feedback configuration, provided to the UE 601, is pertaining to type-1 CSI or type-2 CSI), receiving information indicating at least one report object among the multiple reporting objects (Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received. The CSI-ReportConfig IE can include time slots in which the UE 601 can send the CSI report, feedback parameters to be included in the CSI report, and so on. Fig. 8 & ¶0151 - At step 802, the method includes receiving CSI-RS and/or SSB, by the UE 601, if a current slot includes the CSI-RS and/or SSB. The UE 601 determines whether a current slot includes the CSI-RS, and which future slot is likely to include the CSI-RS; based on the information included in the CSI-ResourceConfig.), and wherein the CSI is calculated based on the at least one report object. (Fig. 8 & ¶0153 - At step 803, the method includes computing, by the UE 601, feedback parameters based on the information included in the CSI-RS and/or SSB. The embodiments compute the feedback parameters periodically, wherein the periodicity is indicated in the CSI-ResourceConfig and CSI-ReportConfig IEs. Fig. 8 & ¶0159 - At step 805, the method includes generating, by the UE 601, at least one CSI report comprising the computed feedback parameters and the predicted values of the feedback parameters. The embodiments include generating the CSI report at the reporting time slot. In an embodiment, a single CSI report is generated, wherein the CSI report includes the predicted values of the feedback parameters at a single future time instance. In an embodiment, a plurality of CSI reports is generated, wherein the plurality of CSI reports include the predicted values of the feedback parameters at multiple future time instances).
Re. Claim 10, Chavva and Park teach claim 1.
Chavva further teaches wherein: the CSI is calculated further based on information for a transmission scheme at the timing after reporting the CSI (Fig. 1-21 & ¶0056 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: ….a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); Fig. 1-21 & ¶0097 - determining an optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and an optimal periodicity for reporting CSI. The embodiments include reporting the optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and the optimal periodicity to the gNB for optimizing the throughput and CSI feedback overhead. The gNB can send updated CSI-RS resources and updated feedback configurations for CSI-RS. The embodiments include determining the optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and the optimal periodicity periodically based on variation in the channel metrics and the baseband metrics. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0108 - When the gNB needs to send data to the UE, the gNB requests the UE to send measurements, including the CSI report. At time instance t1, the UE can send a CSI feedback report to the gNB. The UE can evaluate the ideal Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS), and report the ideal MCS to the gNB at t1. The gNB can utilize the CSI report for scheduling downlink data transmission. …. Based on the CSI report received from the UE, the gNB can schedule the transmission of Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) and choose the appropriate MCS to encode the PDSCH.), and the information for the transmission scheme includes at least one of a precoding scheme or resource allocation information(Fig. 1-21 & ¶0049 - wherein one of the CSI feedback parameters is a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), wherein the neural network (602c) determines a most probable PMI value amongst a predefined number of probable PMI values, wherein the predefined number of PMI values are selected amongst a plurality of predicted PMI values. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0091 - methods and systems for reporting Channel State Information (CSI), to a Next Generation Node B (gNB), comprising of parameters, wherein the parameters are computed and/or predicted using Neural Network (NN) based learning models. For example, the parameters can be Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), CSI-Reference Signals (CSI-RS) Indicator (CRI), Rank Indicator (RI). Fig. 1-21 & ¶0097 - determining an optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and an optimal periodicity for reporting CSI. The embodiments include reporting the optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and the optimal periodicity to the gNB for optimizing the throughput and CSI feedback overhead. The gNB can send updated CSI-RS resources and updated feedback configurations for CSI-RS. The embodiments include determining the optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and the optimal periodicity periodically based on variation in the channel metrics and the baseband metrics. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0141 - the neural network 602c can determine an optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and an optimal periodicity of sending CSI reports. The UE 601 can send the optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and the optimal periodicity for sending CSI reports, to the gNB 607, for optimizing the throughput and CSI feedback overhead).
Re. Claim 11, Chavva and Park teach claim 1.
Chavva further teaches wherein: the configuration information is received through higher layer signaling (Fig. 8 & ¶0149 - At step 801, the method includes receiving a feedback configuration, by the UE 601, from the gNB 607. The feedback configuration is relevant to reception of CSI-RS and/or SSB. The feedback configuration can be used by the UE 601 to send the CSI as a feedback report. The UE 601 can receive the feedback configuration in a RRC message. The RRC message includes CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, CSI-ReportConfig, and CodebookConfig.),
Yet, Chavva does not expressly teach the information for the payload configuration is received through dynamic signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses the information for the payload configuration is received through dynamic signaling (Fig. 1-22 & ¶0338 - When decoding for the DCI is successful, the UE performs aperiodic CSI reporting using the PUSCH of a serving cell c. Fig. 1-22 & ¶0341 - When decoding DCI format 0_1 activating a semi-persistent (SP) CSI trigger state is successful, the UE performs SP CSI reporting for the PUSCH. Fig. 1-22 & ¶0344 - The PUSCH resource and the modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the SP CSI reporting are semi-permanently allocated by the UL DCI.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system to include Park’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for reporting channel state information (CSI) to a base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0121, Park)
Re. Claim 15, Chavva teaches an apparatus (Fig. 22 / Fig. 2/Fig. 4, gNB/Base Station) comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig. 22, 2220); and at least one processor (Fig. 22, 2210) coupled with the at least one transceiver (Fig. 22, 2220), wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 22, 2210) is configured to: transmit configuration information related to a channel state information (CSI) report ((Fig. 8 & ¶0149 - At step 801, the method includes receiving a feedback configuration, by the UE 601, from the gNB 607. The feedback configuration is relevant to reception of CSI-RS and/or SSB. The feedback configuration can be used by the UE 601 to send the CSI as a feedback report. The UE 601 can receive the feedback configuration in a RRC message. The RRC message includes CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, CSI-ReportConfig, and CodebookConfig. Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-MeasConfig IE can indicate whether the UE 601 needs to perform at least one of interference measurement and channel measurement. The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received. The CSI-ReportConfig IE can include time slots in which the UE 601 can send the CSI report, feedback parameters to be included in the CSI report, and so on. The CodebookConfig indicates to the UE 601 as to whether the CSI feedback configuration, provided to the UE 601, is pertaining to type-1 CSI or type-2 CSI.); transmit information for a payload configuration related to the CSI report (Fig. 6 & ¶0036 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: …. a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH. Fig. 6 & ¶0056 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: ….a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH; Fig. 4 & ¶0112 - the UE receives CSI-RS, followed by PDSCH through a first beam. The UE utilizes the CSI-RS, which is received periodically from the gNB, to generate a CSI-RS report. Based on the CSI report, the gNB can choose appropriate MCS to transmit the subsequent PDSCH); receive CSI which is reported based on the configuration information (Fig. 6 & ¶0036 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: …. a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH). Fig. 6 & ¶0056 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: ….a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH; a CSI reporting periodicity; and a code rate for scheduling the PDSCH by the gNB (607)), wherein, the CSI includes information reporting is based on a prediction of information on a channel state at a timing after reporting the CSI (Fig. 6 & ¶0036 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: …. a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH. Fig. 6 & ¶0056 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: ….a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH; Fig. 6 & ¶0057 - wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); Fig. 6 & ¶0061 - wherein the system (600) is further configured to generate, by the neural network (602c), a plurality of CSI reports by at least one of computing and predicting probable values of the feedback parameters at a plurality of future time instances, wherein the plurality of CSI reports are sent to the gNB (607) in one of a single reporting slot and a plurality of periodic reporting slots. Also, see claim 1).
Yet, Chavva does not expressly teach wherein the CSI is calculated based on the payload configuration,
However, in the analogous art, Park explicitly discloses wherein the CSI is calculated based on the payload configuration (Fig. 1-22 & ¶0520 - when the UE is set as Type II CSI, SB reporting, and PUSCH-based reporting and the payload size of the CSI to be reported is larger than the payload size for the resource allocated for the UCI, the UE may report CRI/RI, CQI, and PMI according to CSI of Type I by falling back to the CSI of Type I instead of omitting (or dropping) all or some of the CSI of Part 2 of Type II. Fig. 1-22 & ¶0527 - when the UE is configured as Type II CSI, SB reporting, and PUSCH-based reporting and the payload size of the CSI to be reported is larger than the payload size for the resource allocated for the UCI, the UE may continuously transmit the CSI of Type II in rank 1. Fig. 1-22 & ¶0534 - when the UE is configured as Type II CSI, SB reporting, and PUSCH-based reporting and the payload size of the CSI to be reported is larger than the payload size for the resource allocated for the UCI, the UE may restrict and calculate # of non-zero amplitude coefficient according to the size of the payload for the allocated resource at the time of calculating the CSI of Type II.),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system to include Park’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for reporting channel state information (CSI) to a base station operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0121, Park)
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavva, in view of Park, further in view of Zeineddine et al. (2023/0171623), Zeineddine hereinafter.
Re. Claim 3, Chavva and Park teach claim 2.
Yet, Chavva and Park do not expressly teach wherein: the information for the payload configuration is configured or indicated based on a format indicator for the at least one of the PUCCH or the PUSCH.
However, in the analogous art, Zeineddine explicitly discloses wherein: the information for the payload configuration is configured or indicated based on a format indicator for the at least one of the PUCCH or the PUSCH. (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0091 - Table 3 (See snapshots below) shows uplink channels used for CSI reporting as a function of the CSI codebook type. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0092 - CSI reporting, PUSCH-based reports may be divided into two CSI parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2. The reason for this may be that a size of CSI payload varies significantly, and, therefore, a worst-case UCI payload size design may result in large overhead. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0093 - CSI part 1 has a fixed payload size (e.g., may be decoded by a gNB without prior information) and may contain the following: 1) RI (if reported), CRI (if reported) and CQI for the first codeword; and/or 2) a number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for Type II CSI feedback on PUSCH. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0094 - CSI part 2 has a variable payload size that may be derived from CSI parameters in CSI part 1, and may contain PMI and the CQI for the second codeword if RI>4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system and Park’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment in a wireless communication system to include Zeineddine’s invention of a system and a method for channel state information reporting in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a multi-TRP and/or multi-panel networks in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, Zeineddine)
Re. Claim 7, Chavva and Park teach claim 6.
Yet, Chavva and Park do not expressly teach wherein: the CSI is calculated based on a differential value for remaining report objects excluding the at least one report object among the multiple report objects.
However, in the analogous art, Zeineddine explicitly discloses wherein: the CSI is calculated based on a differential value for remaining report objects excluding the at least one report object among the multiple report objects. (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0120 - WB CQI value q′t (e.g., 4 bits) may be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+1, indicating CQI for TRP t transmission with rank v′t. In certain embodiments, differential WB CQI value q″t (e.g., 2 bits) may be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+2, indicating CQI index offset value for TRP t single transmission with full rank vt, where the offset value is with respect to q′t. In some embodiments, differential WB CQI value q′t,t* (e.g., 2 bits) may be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+1, CSI report 2(t*−1)+1, or both, indicating a CQI index offset under joint transmission from both TRPs t, t* with rank v′t, v′t*, respectively. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0121 - sub-band (“SB”) CQI values for each CQI sub-band index w may be reported in a similar manner (e.g., reporting sub-band differential CQI values p″t(w) with respect to a function f 2(q′t, q″t)) for full-rank transmission vt of TRP t to be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+2. … a sub-band differential CQI values pJTt,t*(w) may be defined with respect to qJTt,t* to be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+1, CSI report 2(t*−1)+1, or both.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system and Park’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment in a wireless communication system to include Zeineddine’s invention of a system and a method for channel state information reporting in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a multi-TRP and/or multi-panel networks in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, Zeineddine)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavva, in view of Park, further in view of Hindy et al. (2024/0250728), Hindy hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, Chavva and Park teach claim 1.
Chavva also discloses further comprising: based on that the configuration information includes information indicating at least one frequency domain resource for the CSI report (Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-MeasConfig IE can indicate whether the UE 601 needs to perform at least one of interference measurement and channel measurement. The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received.), receiving information indicating at least one specific frequency domain resource among the at least one frequency domain resource (Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-MeasConfig IE can indicate whether the UE 601 needs to perform at least one of interference measurement and channel measurement. The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received. Fig. 8 & ¶0151 - At step 802, the method includes receiving CSI-RS and/or SSB, by the UE 601, if a current slot includes the CSI-RS and/or SSB. The UE 601 determines whether a current slot includes the CSI-RS, and which future slot is likely to include the CSI-RS; based on the information included in the CSI-ResourceConfig),
Yet, Chavva and Park do not expressly teach wherein the CSI is calculated based on the at least one specific frequency domain resource.
However, in the analogous art, Hindy explicitly discloses wherein the CSI is calculated based on the at least one specific frequency domain resource. (Fig. 1-14 & ¶0146 - Regarding the 3GPP NR Rel-16 Type-II Codebook, it is assumed that the gNB is equipped with a two-dimensional (2D) antenna array with N.sub.1, N.sub.2 antenna ports per polarization placed horizontally and vertically and communication occurs over N.sub.3 PMI sub-bands. A PMI sub-band consists of a set of resource blocks, each resource block consisting of a set of subcarriers. In such case, 2N.sub.1N.sub.2N.sub.3 CSI-RS ports are utilized to enable DL channel estimation with high resolution for NR Rel. 16 Type-II codebook. In order to reduce the UL feedback overhead, a Discrete Fourier transform (DFT)-based CSI compression of the spatial domain is applied to L dimensions per polarization, where L<N.sub.1N.sub.2. Similarly, additional compression in the frequency domain is applied, where each beam of the frequency-domain precoding vectors is transformed using an inverse DFT matrix to the delay domain, and the magnitude and phase values of a subset of the delay-domain coefficients are selected and fed back to the gNB as part of the CSI report.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system and Park’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment in a wireless communication system to include Hindy’s invention of a system and a method for PUCCH reporting of reciprocity-based type-II codebook in a 5G/New Radio (NR) communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing uplink (UL) Channel State Information (“CSI”) feedback overhead for estimating UL channel estimation at a next-generation node-B (gNB) operating in the 5G/New Radio (NR) communication system. (¶0003-¶0005, ¶0146, Hindy)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavva, in view of Park, further in view of Tang et al. (2020/0314698), Tang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Chavva and Park teach claim 1.
Chavva further teaches further comprising: based on that the configuration information includes at least one parameter related to a reference resource for the CSI report (Fig. 1-21 & ¶0104 - At step 101, a CSI feedback configuration is initialized. The gNB can send a feedback configuration for CSI-RS to the UE. The feedback configuration, received by the UE, includes CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, and CSI-ReportConfig. The feedback configuration informs the UE about the feedback parameters that are to be included in the CSI report, periodicity of transmission of the CSI report, time/frequency resource allocation for CSI-RS, and port information for receiving the CSI-RS. …At step 102, the UE can check whether a currently received symbol/slot includes the CSI-RS or SSB. If a received symbol/slot includes CSI-RS/SSB, then, at step 103, the UE can receive reference signal data corresponding to at least one configured Transmitter (TX) beam.),
Yet, Chavva and Park do not expressly teach receiving information for an adjustment value for the at least one parameter.
However, in the analogous art, Tang explicitly discloses receiving information for an adjustment value for the at least one parameter. (Fig. 3 & ¶0162 - At S330, the network device # A may perform an adjustment process for the code rate used by the terminal device # A based on the quality of the link # A reported by the terminal device # A. Fig. 4 & ¶0182 - at S430, the network device # B may determine a target code rate to which the code rate currently used by the terminal device # A needs to be adjusted based on the quality of the link # A. Fig. 4 & ¶0186 - performing, by the first network device, an adjustment process of a code rate currently used by the first terminal device according to a relationship between the target code rate and the first code rate comprises: if the first code rate is greater than the target code rate, the first network device adjusts the code rate currently used by the first terminal device to the target code rate. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system and Park’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information (CSI) by a user equipment in a wireless communication system to include Tang’s invention of a system and a method for sending encoding data in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for ensuring reliability and accuracy of transmission by detecting link quality of a communication link between a terminal device and a network device and adjust a code rate used by the terminal device in a process of data encoding according to the link quality of the communication link in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Tang)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 03/18/2026 with respect to claims 1, 13 and 15 have been considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding arguments at pages 7-9 as submitted on 03/18/2026 for independent claim 1, applicant asserts that Chavva fails to teach,” receive information for a payload configuration related to the CSI report," as recited in independent claim 1;
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Chavva discloses that wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: …. a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH. See ¶0036 along with Fig. 6. Chavva further discloses that wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH; See ¶0056 along with Fig. 6. Chavva further discloses that UE receives CSI-RS, followed by PDSCH through a first beam. The UE utilizes the CSI-RS, which is received periodically from the gNB, to generate a CSI-RS report. Based on the CSI report, the gNB can choose appropriate MCS to transmit the subsequent PDSCH. See ¶0112 along with Fig. 6, quite a contrast to applicant’s assertion at least at pages 7-9 of remarks as submitted on 03/18/2026.
The applicant further argues that Chavva fails to teach, “wherein, the CSI includes information based on a prediction of a channel state at a timing after reporting the CSI.“.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant. For example, Chavva discloses that wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: …. a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH. See ¶0036 along with Fig. 6. Chavva further discloses that wherein the probable values of the CSI feedback parameters at the future time instance are predicted based on at least one of: a delay in scheduling a Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH) by the gNB (607) after receiving the CSI report from the UE (601); a block error rate pertaining to reception of the PDSCH; See ¶0056 along with Fig. 6. Chavva further discloses that wherein the system (600) is further configured to generate, by the neural network (602c), a plurality of CSI reports by at least one of computing and predicting probable values of the feedback parameters at a plurality of future time instances, wherein the plurality of CSI reports are sent to the gNB (607) in one of a single reporting slot and a plurality of periodic reporting slots. See ¶0061 along with Fig. 6. Also, see claim 1, quite a contrast to applicant’s assertion at least at pages 7-9 of remarks as submitted on 03/18/2026.
The applicant further argues that Chavva fails to teach, wherein the CSI is calculated based on the payload configuration.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Park et al. (2019/0109626, same assignee <appears to be the same inventor from the same assignee> but published more than a year ago before the EFD of the instant application), discloses the limitation as mapped in §103 rejection.
Noh et al. (2022/0256458 [Wingdings font/0xF3] Old reference) is NOT used in the instant office action, hence, moot.
There are NO specific allegations for any other references, hence, moot.
Similar arguments are applicable for the independent claims 13 and 15.
For reasons as explained supra, it is maintained that independent claims 1, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavva, in view of Park et al. (2019/0109626 [Wingdings font/0xF3] new reference, same assignee <appears to be the same inventor from the same assignee> but published more than a year ago before the EFD of the instant application).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claim 1, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467