DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/28/2023 & 07/24/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 1, 5-6, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavva et al. (2021/0351885, corresponding to WO 2020213964 as submitted in IDS) Chavva hereinafter, in view of Noh et al. (2022/0256458), Noh hereinafter.
Re. Claims 1 and 13, Chavva teaches a method for performing channel state information (CSI) reporting (Fig.8 & ¶0149/¶0151/¶0153) by a terminal (Fig. 23 / Fig. 2/Fig. 4, UE) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 2/Fig. 4), and a terminal (Fig. 23 / Fig. 2/Fig. 4, UE) for performing channel state information (CSI) reporting (Fig.8 & ¶0149/¶0151/¶0153) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 2/Fig. 4), the terminal comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig. 23, 2320); and at least one processor (Fig. 23, 2310) coupled with the at least one transceiver (Fig. 23, 2320), wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 23, 2310) is configured to: receive configuration information related to the CSI reporting from a base station (Fig. 8 & ¶0149 - At step 801, the method includes receiving a feedback configuration, by the UE 601, from the gNB 607. The feedback configuration is relevant to reception of CSI-RS and/or SSB. The feedback configuration can be used by the UE 601 to send the CSI as a feedback report. The UE 601 can receive the feedback configuration in a RRC message. The RRC message includes CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, CSI-ReportConfig, and CodebookConfig. Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-MeasConfig IE can indicate whether the UE 601 needs to perform at least one of interference measurement and channel measurement. The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received. The CSI-ReportConfig IE can include time slots in which the UE 601 can send the CSI report, feedback parameters to be included in the CSI report, and so on. The CodebookConfig indicates to the UE 601 as to whether the CSI feedback configuration, provided to the UE 601, is pertaining to type-1 CSI or type-2 CSI.); receive control information based on the configuration information from the base station (Fig. 8 & ¶0151 - At step 802, the method includes receiving CSI-RS and/or SSB, by the UE 601, if a current slot includes the CSI-RS and/or SSB. The UE 601 determines whether a current slot includes the CSI-RS, and which future slot is likely to include the CSI-RS; based on the information included in the CSI-ResourceConfig); and perform the CSI reporting based on the configuration information and the control information (Fig. 8 & ¶0153 - At step 803, the method includes computing, by the UE 601, feedback parameters based on the information included in the CSI-RS and/or SSB. The embodiments compute the feedback parameters periodically, wherein the periodicity is indicated in the CSI-ResourceConfig and CSI-ReportConfig IEs. Fig. 8 & ¶0159 - At step 805, the method includes generating, by the UE 601, at least one CSI report comprising the computed feedback parameters and the predicted values of the feedback parameters. The embodiments include generating the CSI report at the reporting time slot. In an embodiment, a single CSI report is generated, wherein the CSI report includes the predicted values of the feedback parameters at a single future time instance. In an embodiment, a plurality of CSI reports is generated, wherein the plurality of CSI reports include the predicted values of the feedback parameters at multiple future time instances.),
Yet, Chavva does not expressly teach wherein, based on that data scheduling by the base station is to be performed after the CSI reporting, the CSI reporting is based on information on a channel state at a timing of the data scheduling.
However, in the analogous art, Noh explicitly discloses wherein, based on that data scheduling by the base station is to be performed after the CSI reporting, the CSI reporting is based on information on a channel state at a timing of the data scheduling (Fig. 9-15 & ¶0205 - The time domain resource allocation of the PUCCH or PUSCH including the CSI report of the terminal may be indicated by some or all of the slot interval with the PDCCH indicated through the DCI, the start symbol and symbol length indication in the slot for the time domain resource allocation of the PUSCH, and the PUCCH resource indication. Fig. 9-15 & ¶0232 - When the base station indicates to transmit an aperiodic CSI report #X in the uplink slot n′ through the DCI using DCI format 0_1, the CPU occupation time (9-05) for the CSI report #X transmitted in the uplink slot n′ may be defined as the time from the symbol next the last symbol occupied by the PDCCH (9-10) including the DCI indicating the aperiodic CSI report #0 to the last symbol occupied by the PUSCH (9-15) including the CSI report #X transmitted in the uplink slot n′. Fig. 9-15 & ¶0322 - when the base station indicates the semi-persistent CSI report through the DCI and thus the terminal performs the first CSI report of the semi-persistent CSI report #X, the CPU occupation time for the first CSI report may be defined as the time from the symbol next the last symbol occupied by the PDCCH including the DCI indicating the semi-persistent CSI report #X to the last symbol occupied by the PUSCH including the first CSI report.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system to include Noh’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for improving power conservation for a user device by determining whether to apply a power saving interval based on resource allocation information received from a base station, in turns, determines a channel estimation method and a channel state information generation method based on the determining to apply the power saving interval in the wireless communication system. (¶0005-¶0006, Noh)
Re. Claim 5, Chavva and Noh teach claim 1.
Chavva further teaches wherein: the control information includes information indicating a rank value at any one of a timing of the CSI reporting or a timing of the data scheduling, and the CSI reporting is performed based on the rank value. (Fig. 9A-B/Fig. 10/Fig.12 & ¶0103 - In 5th Generation (5G) New Radio (NR) communication systems, a User Equipment (UE) is configured to compute Channel State Information (CSI) parameters such as Rank Indicator (RI), Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), CSI-Reference Signals (CSI-RS) Indicator (CRI), and so on, for at least one beam, as per CSI-RS or Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) configuration. Thereafter, the computed parameters can be sent to a Next Generation Node B (gNB), as part of a CSI report or CSI feedback. The CSI report, sent to the gNB, is used for scheduling data transmissions with a delay (known as feedback delay). Fig. 9A-B/Fig. 10/Fig.12 & ¶0104 - At step 104, the UE can process data included in the reference signal (CSI-RS) for estimating feedback parameters, i.e., CSI parameters. The CSI parameters can be estimated based on channel coefficients, which in turn can be determined based on the CSI-RS data. For example, the UE can compute CSI parameters such as PMI, RI, CQI and LI. Fig. 9A-B/Fig. 10/Fig.12 & ¶0107 - The CSI enable trigger informs the UE that the gNB is going to send the CSI-RS. The UE can compute the feedback parameters (such as RI, PMI, CQI, CRI, and so on), to be included in the CSI report, using the content in the CSI-RS. The UE can utilize the estimated channel coefficients and the measurements to compute the feedback parameters. Fig. 9A-B/Fig. 10/Fig.12 & ¶0120 - For Type-1 CSI reporting, the UE 601 can send gNB 607 antenna port configuration, and a set of values of the feedback parameters (such as PMI and RI), which can be considered as valid, to the gNB 607. The gNB 607 can choose at least one of the reported values from the range, provided to the gNB 607 by the UE 601).
Re. Claim 6, Chavva and Noh teach claim 1.
Chavva further teaches wherein: the configuration information includes information on multiple reporting objects related to the CSI reporting (Fig. 9A-B/Fig. 10/Fig.12 & ¶0120 - The CodebookConfig can provide an indication to the UE 601 whether the CSI feedback configuration is Type-1 or Type-2. For both Type-1 and Type-2 CSI reporting in NR, the gNB 607 can specify CSI reporting configuration in the CodebookConfig. For Type-1 CSI reporting, the UE 601 can send gNB 607 antenna port configuration, and a set of values of the feedback parameters (such as PMI and RI), which can be considered as valid. Fig. 8 & ¶0149 - The UE 601 can receive the feedback configuration in a RRC message. The RRC message includes CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, CSI-ReportConfig, and CodebookConfig. Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-MeasConfig IE can indicate whether the UE 601 needs to perform at least one of interference measurement and channel measurement. The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received. The CSI-ReportConfig IE can include time slots in which the UE 601 can send the CSI report, feedback parameters to be included in the CSI report, and so on. The CodebookConfig indicates to the UE 601 as to whether the CSI feedback configuration, provided to the UE 601, is pertaining to type-1 CSI or type-2 CSI), the control information includes information indicating at least one reporting object among the multiple reporting objects (Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received. The CSI-ReportConfig IE can include time slots in which the UE 601 can send the CSI report, feedback parameters to be included in the CSI report, and so on. Fig. 8 & ¶0151 - At step 802, the method includes receiving CSI-RS and/or SSB, by the UE 601, if a current slot includes the CSI-RS and/or SSB. The UE 601 determines whether a current slot includes the CSI-RS, and which future slot is likely to include the CSI-RS; based on the information included in the CSI-ResourceConfig.), and the CSI reporting is based on the at least one reporting object (Fig. 8 & ¶0153 - At step 803, the method includes computing, by the UE 601, feedback parameters based on the information included in the CSI-RS and/or SSB. The embodiments compute the feedback parameters periodically, wherein the periodicity is indicated in the CSI-ResourceConfig and CSI-ReportConfig IEs. Fig. 8 & ¶0159 - At step 805, the method includes generating, by the UE 601, at least one CSI report comprising the computed feedback parameters and the predicted values of the feedback parameters. The embodiments include generating the CSI report at the reporting time slot. In an embodiment, a single CSI report is generated, wherein the CSI report includes the predicted values of the feedback parameters at a single future time instance. In an embodiment, a plurality of CSI reports is generated, wherein the plurality of CSI reports include the predicted values of the feedback parameters at multiple future time instances).
Re. Claim 10, Chavva and Noh teach claim 1.
Chavva further teaches wherein: the CSI reporting is further based on information on a transmission scheme at the timing of the data scheduling (Fig. 1-21 & ¶0097 - determining an optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and an optimal periodicity for reporting CSI. The embodiments include reporting the optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and the optimal periodicity to the gNB for optimizing the throughput and CSI feedback overhead. The gNB can send updated CSI-RS resources and updated feedback configurations for CSI-RS. The embodiments include determining the optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and the optimal periodicity periodically based on variation in the channel metrics and the baseband metrics. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0108 - When the gNB needs to send data to the UE, the gNB requests the UE to send measurements, including the CSI report. At time instance t1, the UE can send a CSI feedback report to the gNB. The UE can evaluate the ideal Modulation and Coding Scheme (MCS), and report the ideal MCS to the gNB at t1. The gNB can utilize the CSI report for scheduling downlink data transmission. …. Based on the CSI report received from the UE, the gNB can schedule the transmission of Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDSCH) and choose the appropriate MCS to encode the PDSCH.), and the information on the transmission scheme includes at least one of a precoding scheme or resource allocation information (Fig. 1-21 & ¶0049 - wherein one of the CSI feedback parameters is a Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), wherein the neural network (602c) determines a most probable PMI value amongst a predefined number of probable PMI values, wherein the predefined number of PMI values are selected amongst a plurality of predicted PMI values. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0091 - methods and systems for reporting Channel State Information (CSI), to a Next Generation Node B (gNB), comprising of parameters, wherein the parameters are computed and/or predicted using Neural Network (NN) based learning models. For example, the parameters can be Precoding Matrix Indicator (PMI), Channel Quality Indicator (CQI), CSI-Reference Signals (CSI-RS) Indicator (CRI), Rank Indicator (RI). Fig. 1-21 & ¶0097 - determining an optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and an optimal periodicity for reporting CSI. The embodiments include reporting the optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and the optimal periodicity to the gNB for optimizing the throughput and CSI feedback overhead. The gNB can send updated CSI-RS resources and updated feedback configurations for CSI-RS. The embodiments include determining the optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and the optimal periodicity periodically based on variation in the channel metrics and the baseband metrics. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0141 - the neural network 602c can determine an optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and an optimal periodicity of sending CSI reports. The UE 601 can send the optimal CSI-RS resource allocation and the optimal periodicity for sending CSI reports, to the gNB 607, for optimizing the throughput and CSI feedback overhead).
Re. Claim 11, Chavva and Noh teach claim 1.
Chavva further teaches wherein: the configuration information is received through higher layer signaling (Fig. 8 & ¶0149 - At step 801, the method includes receiving a feedback configuration, by the UE 601, from the gNB 607. The feedback configuration is relevant to reception of CSI-RS and/or SSB. The feedback configuration can be used by the UE 601 to send the CSI as a feedback report. The UE 601 can receive the feedback configuration in a RRC message. The RRC message includes CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, CSI-ReportConfig, and CodebookConfig.),
Yet, Chavva does not expressly teach the control information is received through dynamic signaling.
However, in the analogous art, Noh explicitly discloses the control information is received through dynamic signaling (Fig. 9-15 & ¶0209 - When the base station indicates an aperiodic CSI report or a semi-persistent CSI report to the terminal through the DCI, the terminal may determine whether valid channel reporting may be performed through the indicated CSI report by considering the channel calculation time (CSI computation time) required for the CSI report. With respect to the aperiodic CSI report or semi-persistent CSI report indicated through the DCI, the terminal may perform a valid CSI report from an uplink symbol after a Z symbol after the end of the last symbol included in the PDCCH including the DCI indicating the CSI report. The above Z symbol may vary according to the numerology of the downlink bandwidth part corresponding to the PDCCH including the DCI indicating the CSI report, the numerology of the uplink bandwidth part corresponding to the PUSCH transmitting the CSI report, or the types of characteristics (the report quantity, the frequency band granularity, the number of ports of the reference signal, the codebook type, and/or the like) of the channel information reported in the CSI report. Fig. 9-15 & ¶0210 - when a reference signal for channel measurement about the aperiodic CSI report indicated to the terminal through the DCI is an aperiodic reference signal, a valid CSI report may be performed from the uplink symbol after a Z′ symbol after the end of the last symbol including the reference signal, and the Z symbol may vary according to the numerology of the downlink bandwidth part corresponding to the PDCCH including the DCI indicating the CSI report, the numerology of the bandwidth corresponding to the reference signal for channel measurement about the CSI report, the numerology of the uplink bandwidth part corresponding to the PUSCH transmitting the CSI report, and the types or characteristics (report quantity, frequency band granularity, number of reference signal ports, codebook type, or the like) of the channel information reported in the CSI report. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system to include Noh’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for improving power conservation for a user device by determining whether to apply a power saving interval based on resource allocation information received from a base station, in turns, determines a channel estimation method and a channel state information generation method based on the determining to apply the power saving interval in the wireless communication system. (¶0005-¶0006, Noh)
Re. Claim 12, Chavva and Noh teach claim 1.
Chavva further teaches wherein: at least one of the configuration information, the control information or the information on the channel state at the timing of the data scheduling is an output value calculated based on at least one input by using an artificial Intelligence model by the base station or the terminal (Fig. 1-21 & ¶0081 - methods and systems for reporting Channel State Information (CSI), to a Next Generation Node B (gNB), comprising of at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter is computed and/or predicted using at least one Machine Learning (ML) based learning model. The embodiments include computing at least one transmission parameter using the at least one ML based model. The parameter(s) can be considered as feedback parameters, when the parameters are included in the CSI report that is sent to the gNB. The embodiments include computing the feedback parameter(s) based on measurement data comprising channel metrics and baseband metrics, determined using CSI-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) and/or Synchronization Signal Block (SSB)); and a relationship between the measurement data and measurement data obtained from the sensors of the UE. The gNB can utilize the feedback parameters for scheduling transmission of Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH). Fig. 1-21 & ¶0154 - feedback parameters using a ML based learning model. In an embodiment, the ML based learning model can be a neural network 602c. The embodiments include generating feature vectors using at least one of channel metrics, basement metrics, RX beam pattern information, and sensor measurements. The feature vectors can be provided to the neural network 602c, for computing the feedback parameters. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0236 - methods and systems for reporting CSI to a gNB, by a UE, wherein the CSI report can include parameters that are computed and predicted using ML based learning models).
Re. Claim 15, Chavva teaches a base station for receiving channel state information (CSI) reporting (Fig.8 & ¶0149/¶0151/¶0153/¶0160) in a wireless communication system (Fig. 2/Fig. 4), the base station (Fig. 22 / Fig. 2/Fig. 4, gNB/Base Station) comprising: at least one transceiver (Fig. 22, 2220); and at least one processor (Fig. 22, 2210) coupled with the at least one transceiver (Fig. 22, 2220), wherein the at least one processor (Fig. 22, 2210) is configured to: transmit configuration information related to the CSI reporting to a terminal (Fig. 8 & ¶0149 - At step 801, the method includes receiving a feedback configuration, by the UE 601, from the gNB 607. The feedback configuration is relevant to reception of CSI-RS and/or SSB. The feedback configuration can be used by the UE 601 to send the CSI as a feedback report. The UE 601 can receive the feedback configuration in a RRC message. The RRC message includes CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, CSI-ReportConfig, and CodebookConfig. Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-MeasConfig IE can indicate whether the UE 601 needs to perform at least one of interference measurement and channel measurement. The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received. The CSI-ReportConfig IE can include time slots in which the UE 601 can send the CSI report, feedback parameters to be included in the CSI report, and so on. The CodebookConfig indicates to the UE 601 as to whether the CSI feedback configuration, provided to the UE 601, is pertaining to type-1 CSI or type-2 CSI.); transmit control information based on the configuration information to the terminal (Fig. 8 & ¶0151 - At step 802, the method includes receiving CSI-RS and/or SSB, by the UE 601, if a current slot includes the CSI-RS and/or SSB. The UE 601 determines whether a current slot includes the CSI-RS, and which future slot is likely to include the CSI-RS; based on the information included in the CSI-ResourceConfig); and receive the CSI reporting based on the configuration information and the control information from the terminal (Fig. 8 & ¶0153 - At step 803, the method includes computing, by the UE 601, feedback parameters based on the information included in the CSI-RS and/or SSB. The embodiments compute the feedback parameters periodically, wherein the periodicity is indicated in the CSI-ResourceConfig and CSI-ReportConfig IEs. Fig. 8 & ¶0159 - At step 805, the method includes generating, by the UE 601, at least one CSI report comprising the computed feedback parameters and the predicted values of the feedback parameters. The embodiments include generating the CSI report at the reporting time slot. In an embodiment, a single CSI report is generated, wherein the CSI report includes the predicted values of the feedback parameters at a single future time instance. In an embodiment, a plurality of CSI reports is generated, wherein the plurality of CSI reports include the predicted values of the feedback parameters at multiple future time instances. Fig. 8 & ¶0160 - At step 806, the method includes sending, by the UE 601, the at least one CSI report to the gNB 607, if the current slot is a reporting time slot. ….the plurality of CSI reports is sent to the gNB 607 at the same time…… each of the plurality of CSI reports are sent to the gNB 607 during the periodic reporting slots, as per the CSI-RS feedback configuration.),
Yet, Chavva does not expressly teach wherein, based on that data scheduling by the base station is to be performed after the CSI reporting, the CSI reporting is based on information on a channel state at a timing of the data scheduling.
However, in the analogous art, Noh explicitly discloses wherein, based on that data scheduling by the base station is to be performed after the CSI reporting, the CSI reporting is based on information on a channel state at a timing of the data scheduling. (Fig. 9-15 & ¶0205 - The time domain resource allocation of the PUCCH or PUSCH including the CSI report of the terminal may be indicated by some or all of the slot interval with the PDCCH indicated through the DCI, the start symbol and symbol length indication in the slot for the time domain resource allocation of the PUSCH, and the PUCCH resource indication. Fig. 9-15 & ¶0232 - When the base station indicates to transmit an aperiodic CSI report #X in the uplink slot n′ through the DCI using DCI format 0_1, the CPU occupation time (9-05) for the CSI report #X transmitted in the uplink slot n′ may be defined as the time from the symbol next the last symbol occupied by the PDCCH (9-10) including the DCI indicating the aperiodic CSI report #0 to the last symbol occupied by the PUSCH (9-15) including the CSI report #X transmitted in the uplink slot n′. Fig. 9-15 & ¶0322 - when the base station indicates the semi-persistent CSI report through the DCI and thus the terminal performs the first CSI report of the semi-persistent CSI report #X, the CPU occupation time for the first CSI report may be defined as the time from the symbol next the last symbol occupied by the PDCCH including the DCI indicating the semi-persistent CSI report #X to the last symbol occupied by the PUSCH including the first CSI report.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system to include Noh’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for improving power conservation for a user device by determining whether to apply a power saving interval based on resource allocation information received from a base station, in turns, determines a channel estimation method and a channel state information generation method based on the determining to apply the power saving interval in the wireless communication system. (¶0005-¶0006, Noh)
Claims 2-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavva, in view of Noh, further in view of Zeineddine et al. (2023/0171623), Zeineddine hereinafter.
Re. Claim 2, Chavva and Noh teach claim 1.
Yet, Chavva and Noh do not expressly teach wherein: at least one of the configuration information or the control information includes payload indication information on at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) carrying the CSI reporting.
However, in the analogous art, Zeineddine explicitly discloses wherein: at least one of the configuration information or the control information includes payload indication information on at least one of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) carrying the CSI reporting. (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0091 - Table 3 shows uplink channels used for CSI reporting as a function of the CSI codebook type. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0092 - CSI reporting, PUSCH-based reports may be divided into two CSI parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2. The reason for this may be that a size of CSI payload varies significantly, and, therefore, a worst-case UCI payload size design may result in large overhead. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0093 - CSI part 1 has a fixed payload size (e.g., may be decoded by a gNB without prior information) and may contain the following: 1) RI (if reported), CRI (if reported) and CQI for the first codeword; and/or 2) a number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for Type II CSI feedback on PUSCH. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0094 - CSI part 2 has a variable payload size that may be derived from CSI parameters in CSI part 1, and may contain PMI and the CQI for the second codeword if RI>4. Also, examiner interprets that only one of the claimed features to be mapped because of the presence of “at least one of” and “or” in the limitation.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system and Noh’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information in a wireless communication system to include Zeineddine’s invention of a system and a method for channel state information reporting in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a multi-TRP and/or multi-panel networks in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, Zeineddine)
Re. Claim 3, Chavva, Noh and Zeineddine teach claim 2.
Yet, Chavva and Noh do not expressly teach wherein: based on the payload indication information being for the PUCCH, the payload indication information is configured in association with a format of the PUCCH.
However, in the analogous art, Zeineddine explicitly discloses based on the payload indication information being for the PUCCH, the payload indication information is configured in association with a format of the PUCCH. (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0091 - Table 3 (See snapshots below) shows uplink channels used for CSI reporting as a function of the CSI codebook type. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0092 - CSI reporting, PUSCH-based reports may be divided into two CSI parts: CSI part 1 and CSI part 2. The reason for this may be that a size of CSI payload varies significantly, and, therefore, a worst-case UCI payload size design may result in large overhead. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0093 - CSI part 1 has a fixed payload size (e.g., may be decoded by a gNB without prior information) and may contain the following: 1) RI (if reported), CRI (if reported) and CQI for the first codeword; and/or 2) a number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer for Type II CSI feedback on PUSCH. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0094 - CSI part 2 has a variable payload size that may be derived from CSI parameters in CSI part 1, and may contain PMI and the CQI for the second codeword if RI>4)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system and Noh’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information in a wireless communication system to include Zeineddine’s invention of a system and a method for channel state information reporting in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a multi-TRP and/or multi-panel networks in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, Zeineddine)
Re. Claim 4, Chavva, Noh and Zeineddine teach claim 2.
Chavva further teach wherein: based on the payload indication information, a codebook parameter for the CSI reporting is determined by using an artificial intelligence model (Fig. 1-21 & ¶0081 - methods and systems for reporting Channel State Information (CSI), to a Next Generation Node B (gNB), comprising of at least one parameter, wherein the at least one parameter is computed and/or predicted using at least one Machine Learning (ML) based learning model. The embodiments include computing at least one transmission parameter using the at least one ML based model. The parameter(s) can be considered as feedback parameters, when the parameters are included in the CSI report that is sent to the gNB. The embodiments include computing the feedback parameter(s) based on measurement data comprising channel metrics and baseband metrics, determined using CSI-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) and/or Synchronization Signal Block (SSB)); and a relationship between the measurement data and measurement data obtained from the sensors of the UE. The gNB can utilize the feedback parameters for scheduling transmission of Physical Downlink Scheduling Channel (PDSCH). Fig. 1-21 & ¶0117 - The UE 601, through the communication interface 603, can receive a Radio Resource Configuration (RRC) message. The gNB 607 can include a feedback configuration for CSI-RS in the RRC message. The feedback configuration comprises Information Elements (IEs) such as CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, CodebookConfig, and CSI-ReportConfig. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0120 - The CodebookConfig can provide an indication to the UE 601 whether the CSI feedback configuration is Type-1 or Type-2. For both Type-1 and Type-2 CSI reporting in NR, the gNB 607 can specify CSI reporting configuration in the CodebookConfig. For Type-1 CSI reporting, the UE 601 can send gNB 607 antenna port configuration, and a set of values of the feedback parameters (such as PMI and RI), which can be considered as valid, to the gNB 607. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0124 - The neural network 602c can predict the probable values of the feedback parameters at a future time instance as configured by the gNB 607 in the CSI-ReportConfig IE. For example, consider that the CSI-ReportConfig IE indicates that the UE 601 needs to report the values of PMI and RI to the gNB 607 in a CSI report. The CodebookConfig can specify a set of values for each of the PMI and RI, which are considered as valid by the gNB 607 for reporting. The neural network 602c of the UE 601 can compute and/or predict a plurality of values of PMI and a plurality of values of RI for type-1 or type-2 CSI reporting. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0154 - feedback parameters using a ML based learning model. In an embodiment, the ML based learning model can be a neural network 602c. The embodiments include generating feature vectors using at least one of channel metrics, basement metrics, RX beam pattern information, and sensor measurements. The feature vectors can be provided to the neural network 602c, for computing the feedback parameters. Fig. 1-21 & ¶0236 - methods and systems for reporting CSI to a gNB, by a UE, wherein the CSI report can include parameters that are computed and predicted using ML based learning models).
Re. Claim 7, Chavva and Noh teach claim 6.
Yet, Chavva and Noh do not expressly teach wherein: the CSI reporting is further based on a differential value for remaining reporting objects excluding the at least one reporting object among the multiple reporting objects.
However, in the analogous art, Zeineddine explicitly discloses wherein: the CSI reporting is further based on a differential value for remaining reporting objects excluding the at least one reporting object among the multiple reporting objects. (Fig. 1-11 & ¶0120 - WB CQI value q′t (e.g., 4 bits) may be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+1, indicating CQI for TRP t transmission with rank v′t. In certain embodiments, differential WB CQI value q″t (e.g., 2 bits) may be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+2, indicating CQI index offset value for TRP t single transmission with full rank vt, where the offset value is with respect to q′t. In some embodiments, differential WB CQI value q′t,t* (e.g., 2 bits) may be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+1, CSI report 2(t*−1)+1, or both, indicating a CQI index offset under joint transmission from both TRPs t, t* with rank v′t, v′t*, respectively. Fig. 1-11 & ¶0121 - sub-band (“SB”) CQI values for each CQI sub-band index w may be reported in a similar manner (e.g., reporting sub-band differential CQI values p″t(w) with respect to a function f 2(q′t, q″t)) for full-rank transmission vt of TRP t to be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+2. … a sub-band differential CQI values pJTt,t*(w) may be defined with respect to qJTt,t* to be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+1, CSI report 2(t*−1)+1, or both.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system and Noh’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information in a wireless communication system to include Zeineddine’s invention of a system and a method for channel state information reporting in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for reporting channel state information (CSI) in a multi-TRP and/or multi-panel networks in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0003, Zeineddine)
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavva, in view of Noh, further in view of Jang et al. (2022/0255700), Jang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 8, Chavva and Noh teach claim 1.
Chavva further discloses wherein: the configuration information includes information indicating at least one frequency domain resource for the CSI reporting (Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-MeasConfig IE can indicate whether the UE 601 needs to perform at least one of interference measurement and channel measurement. The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received.), the control information includes information indicating at least one specific frequency domain resource among the at least one frequency domain resource (reporting (Fig. 8 & ¶0150 - The CSI-MeasConfig IE can indicate whether the UE 601 needs to perform at least one of interference measurement and channel measurement. The CSI-ResourceConfig IE can include information pertaining to allocation of time/frequency resources for CSI-RS reception such as time slots in which the UE 601 can expect to receive the CSI-RS, frequency of the CSI-RS, and ports through which the CSI-RS can be received. Fig. 8 & ¶0151 - At step 802, the method includes receiving CSI-RS and/or SSB, by the UE 601, if a current slot includes the CSI-RS and/or SSB. The UE 601 determines whether a current slot includes the CSI-RS, and which future slot is likely to include the CSI-RS; based on the information included in the CSI-ResourceConfig),
Yet, Chavva and Noh do not expressly teach the at least one specific frequency domain resource is associated with frequency domain resource allocation according to the data scheduling.
However, in the analogous art, Jang explicitly discloses the at least one specific frequency domain resource is associated with frequency domain resource allocation according to the data scheduling. (Fig.11 & ¶0224 - a bitmap corresponding to the frequency-domain resource allocation information 1104 is referred to as a “first bitmap,” a bitmap corresponding to the time-domain resource allocation information 1103 is referred to as a “second bitmap,” and a bitmap corresponding to the period information 1105 is referred to as a “third bitmap.” If all or some of the time and frequency resources of the scheduled data channel 1101 overlap the configured rate matching resource 1102, the base station may perform rate matching for the data channel 1101 in the rate matching resource 1102 part and transmit the same.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system and Noh’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information in a wireless communication system to include Jang’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information through repeated uplink data transmission in network cooperative communication in a 5G communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for effectively providing a plurality of intelligent services, such as, smart homes, smart buildings, smart cities, smart cars or connected cars, healthcare, digital education, retail businesses, security and safety related services based on a 5G communication technology and an IoT-related technology in 5G communication system. (Abstract & ¶0002-¶0007, Jang)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chavva, in view of Noh, further in view of Tang et al. (2020/0314698), Tang hereinafter.
Re. Claim 9, Chavva and Noh teach claim 1.
Chavva further teaches wherein: the configuration information includes at least one parameter related to a reference resource for the CSI reporting (Fig. 1-21 & ¶0104 - At step 101, a CSI feedback configuration is initialized. The gNB can send a feedback configuration for CSI-RS to the UE. The feedback configuration, received by the UE, includes CSI-MeasConfig, CSI-ResourceConfig, and CSI-ReportConfig. The feedback configuration informs the UE about the feedback parameters that are to be included in the CSI report, periodicity of transmission of the CSI report, time/frequency resource allocation for CSI-RS, and port information for receiving the CSI-RS. …At step 102, the UE can check whether a currently received symbol/slot includes the CSI-RS or SSB. If a received symbol/slot includes CSI-RS/SSB, then, at step 103, the UE can receive reference signal data corresponding to at least one configured Transmitter (TX) beam.),
Yet, Chavva and Noh do not expressly teach the control information includes an adjustment value for the at least one parameter.
However, in the analogous art, Tang explicitly discloses the control information includes an adjustment value for the at least one parameter. (Fig. 3 & ¶0162 - At S330, the network device # A may perform an adjustment process for the code rate used by the terminal device # A based on the quality of the link # A reported by the terminal device # A. Fig. 4 & ¶0182 - at S430, the network device # B may determine a target code rate to which the code rate currently used by the terminal device # A needs to be adjusted based on the quality of the link # A. Fig. 4 & ¶0186 - performing, by the first network device, an adjustment process of a code rate currently used by the first terminal device according to a relationship between the target code rate and the first code rate comprises: if the first code rate is greater than the target code rate, the first network device adjusts the code rate currently used by the first terminal device to the target code rate. ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Chavva’s invention of a system and a method for generating a CSI (Channel State Information) report comprising of parameters estimated and predicted using Machine Learning (ML) in a 5th Generation (5G)-New Radio (NR) communication system and Noh’s invention of a system and a method for reporting channel state information in a wireless communication system to include Tang’s invention of a system and a method for sending encoding data in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism for ensuring reliability and accuracy of transmission by detecting link quality of a communication link between a terminal device and a network device and adjust a code rate used by the terminal device in a process of data encoding according to the link quality of the communication link in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0005, Tang)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Xiao et al; (2024/0171246); See Abstract, ¶0036/¶0050 along with Fig. 1-7.
3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 Meeting #95; R1-1813854; Source: Ericsson; Title: Summary of views on CSI reporting v1; Spokane, USA, 12th-16th November 2018. See §1-§12.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 Meeting #97; R1-1906038; Source: Huawei, HiSilicon; Title: CSI measurement enhancement for multi-TRP/panel transmission; Reno, USA, May 13th – 17th, 2019. See §2-§3.
3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #98; R1-1908961; Source: Spreadtrum Communications; Title: Discussion on CSI enhancement for multiple TRP/Panel transmission; Prague, CZ, August 26th – 30th, 2019. See §1-§3.
3GPP TSG-RAN WG1 #91; R1-1720974; Source: Ericsson; Title: CSI feedback for multi-TRP; Reno, USA, November 27th – December 1st, 2017. See §1-4.
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467