DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicants' communication filed on May 26, 2026. Claims 31-32 are added, Claims 3-4, 16 and 18 are cancelled, and presents arguments, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-2, 5-15, 17 and 19-32 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 26, 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant argues in its Argument that cited arts fail to teach limitations of the amended independent Claims.
A method of wireless communication by a network entity, comprising: communicating with a user equipment (UE) and a core network; and sending or receiving radio paging information indicating at least one of cell coverage information or an identifier associated with a geographic area in which the UE is located, wherein the geographic area is in a coverage path of a non-terrestrial network (NTN);receiving, from the core network, a paging message for the UE or a paging arrival indication for the UE with further indication of the identifier; detecting that the UE is in an out-of-coverage state with a cell in the geographic area; and performing one or more actions in response to the paging message or the paging arrival indication with the identifier and the detection, wherein performing the one or more actions comprises: storing the paging message while the UE is in the out-of-coverage state; and transmitting the paging message to the UE when the UE is in an in-coverage state with the NTN.
Geng teaches Figs. 1-4, system configuration for TN and NTN communication networks and paging interactions between TN and NTN through AMP;
D2 and D3 further teaches D2: 8.2., e.g., Figure 8.2.1.1-1, UE location based paging method that comprises UE, gNB1-n, and AMF (i.e., a core network); UE location info is transmitted to AMF through corresponding gNB; AMF stores the UE location info, and any other assistance info, e.g., UE type, speed info, time stamp info; AMF decides where to page the UE according to the store info; AMF selects gNB(s) according to the stored location info; and the gNB may decide which satellite(s) or beam(s) to be paged and page the UE accordingly; If the location based paging is failed (implies paging indication between the gNB and AMF), AMF may extend the paging area and re-send the UE according to its paging policy, e.g. re-send the paging in the whole registration area of the UE; Figures 7.3.1.3.1-1 and 7.3.1.3.1-2; geographic areas are identified through PLMN ID and TAC; In addition, D3: Fig. 1, illustrates UE location and associated info is transmitted to and stored in AMF upon be released other than UE reports the location info;
Furthermore, D2: p110, Case 2: at 10:13, the UE move out of the Registration Area: Step 4 (see Figure 8.2.2-1): at 10:13, the UE detects current NTN beam broadcasting TAC#1. Even TAC#1 is in the Registration Area assigned by the AMF in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message (Step 2), but the timing information does not match (i.e. TAC#1 only for 10:01-10:10, but not for 10:13), this means the UE is moving out of current Registration Area. So the UE initiates a Registration Update procedure, which implies once UE completes its registration update, a new serving cell may forward page(s) to the UE, as well taught by Geng, D2 and D3.
Geng, D2 and D3 are all in the same technical and application areas, and D2 and D3 are industrial standard protocol docs, therefore, leveraging standard protocols are common practices in the communication field.
Therefore, it is reasonable to conclude that li as modified teaches all limitations as claimed for Claims 1, 15, and 29-30, .
Conclusion: Examiner has shown the rejections set forth in the Office Action of February 27, 2026 are proper. In light of amended Claims, new grounds of rejection are set forth below. Since the new grounds of rejection are necessitated by Applicant's amendments to the claims, the present action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-15, 17 and 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20230093240 A1 (Geng), in further view of 3GPP TR 38.821 V16.1.0 (D2) and in further view of 3GPP R3-206276 (D3).
Regarding Claims 1, 15 and 29-30:
A method of wireless communication by a network entity, comprising: communicating with a user equipment (UE) and a core network; and sending or receiving radio paging information indicating at least one of cell coverage information or an identifier associated with a geographic area in which the UE is located, wherein the geographic area is in a coverage path of a non-terrestrial network (NTN);receiving, from the core network, a paging message for the UE or a paging arrival indication for the UE with further indication of the identifier; detecting that the UE is in an out-of-coverage state with a cell in the geographic area; and performing one or more actions in response to the paging message or the paging arrival indication with the identifier and the detection, wherein performing the one or more actions comprises: storing the paging message while the UE is in the out-of-coverage state; and transmitting the paging message to the UE when the UE is in an in-coverage state with the NTN (Geng: Figs. 1-4, system configuration for TN and NTN communication networks and interactions between TN and NTN).
Geng does not illustrate explicitly on claim limitations as claimed. However D2 and D3 teaches (D2: 8.2., e.g., Figure 8.2.1.1-1, UE location based paging method that comprises UE, gNB1-n, and AMF (i.e., a core network); UE location info is transmitted to AMF through corresponding gNB; AMF stores the UE location info, and any other assistance info, e.g., UE type, speed info, time stamp info; AMF decides where to page the UE according to the store info; AMF selects gNB(s) according to the stored location info; and the gNB may decide which satellite(s) or beam(s) to be paged and page the UE accordingly; If the location based paging is failed (implies paging indication between the gNB and AMF), AMF may extend the paging area and re-send the UE according to its paging policy, e.g. re-send the paging in the whole registration area of the UE; Figures 7.3.1.3.1-1 and 7.3.1.3.1-2; geographic areas are identified through PLMN ID and TAC; In addition, D3: Fig. 1, illustrates UE location and associated info is transmitted to and stored in AMF upon be released other than UE reports the location info; Furthermore, D2: p110, Case 2: at 10:13, the UE move out of the Registration Area: Step 4 (see Figure 8.2.2-1): at 10:13, the UE detects current NTN beam broadcasting TAC#1. Even TAC#1 is in the Registration Area assigned by the AMF in the REGISTRATION ACCEPT message (Step 2), but the timing information does not match (i.e. TAC#1 only for 10:01-10:10, but not for 10:13), this means the UE is moving out of current Registration Area. So the UE initiates a Registration Update procedure, which implies once UE completes its registration update, a new serving cell may forward page(s) to the UE, as well taught by Geng, D2 and D3).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to modify Geng with specific claim limitations as further taught by D2 and D3. The advantage of doing so is to enhance product features and ensure market compatibility by compliant to industrial standard protocols which address the same issues as Geng and Application.
Regarding Claims 2 and 17, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein sending the radio paging information comprises sending, to the core network, the radio paging information when the UE is released from a connected state (D2: Fig. 1).
Regarding Claims 5 and 19, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 4, wherein performing one or more actions comprise: sending, to the core network, an indication whether the network entity will attempt to send the paging message to the UE when the UE is in the in-coverage state with the NTN (D2: e.g., 8.2.2.1, paging (TAC with timestamp) as in Fig. 8.2.2.-1)
Regarding Claims 6 and 20, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein performing one or more actions comprise sending, to the core network, an indication that the UE is in the out-of-coverage state (D2: 8.2.1.1; If the location based paging is failed (implies paging indication between the gNB and AMF), AMF may extend the paging area and re-send the UE according to its paging policy, e.g. re-send the paging in the whole registration area of the UE).
Regarding Claim 7, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein performing one or more actions comprise sending, to the core network, an indication of one or more cells that are expected to be in communication with the UE when the UE is in an in-coverage state with the NTN (D2: e.g., 8.2.2.2, Step 5: UE measures and records the observed TAI list of the best cells with respect to time; Step 6: UE compares the TAI list assigned by AMF with the observed TAI from Step 5 and determines whether it is still within the registration area or not; Step 7: If UE concludes that it has left the registration area, it initiates the Registration Update procedure and reports the observed TAI list to AMF by which AMF may assign a new UE-specific TAI list. The determination of the observed TAI list in UE including adding or deleting a TAI is possible alternative).
Regarding Claims 8, 22 and 26, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein performing one or more actions comprise sending, to the core network, an indication of when the UE is expected to be in an in- coverage state with the NTN (D2: 8.2.2.1, AMF knows the UE's last location and will be served by NTN beam#2 with TAC#2 during 10:11-10:20. AMF sends the Paging message with TAC#2 to the NG-RAN).
Regarding Claims 9 and 25, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 1, wherein the radio paging information includes an indication of a duration of an out-of-coverage state between the UE and a cell (D2: 8.2.2.1, The REGISTRATION ACCEPT message includes enhanced Registration Area information, consisting of a list of TAIs with timing information (in this example, AMF would like the UE to initiate a Registration Update 10-min later)
+ TAC#1 with (10:05 – 10:10)
+ TAC#2 with (10:11 – 10:15)).
Regarding Claims 10 and 24, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 3, wherein performing one or more actions comprise sending, to the core network, an indication that a cell will refrain from sending the paging message (D2: 8.7.1.3, e.g., the gNB may continue to broadcast system information while the switch is ongoing, but refrain from scheduling any users, i.e., cell refrains from sending user/UE scheduling).
Regarding Claims 11 and 23, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, to the core network, an indication of when the UE will be in an in-coverage state with a cell to send a paging message to the UE (D2: 8.2.2.1, The REGISTRATION ACCEPT message includes enhanced Registration Area information, consisting of a list of TAIs with timing information (in this example, AMF would like the UE to initiate a Registration Update 10-min later)
+ TAC#1 with (10:05 – 10:10)
+ TAC#2 with (10:11 – 10:15)).
Regarding Claims 12 and 27, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, to the core network, an indication of when the UE was last in an in-coverage state with the NTN (D2: 8.2.2.1. during registration; D2: Fig. 1, when UE is released).
Regarding Claim 13, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the UE, capability information indicating that the UE will be in a power saving state during an out-of- coverage state between the UE and a cell (D2: p132, definition of additional assistance information for cell selection/reselection (e.g. using UE location information, satellite Ephemeris information); Use earth-fixed tracking area to avoid frequent TAU in idle mode; 7.2.1.2.1: e.g., using drx-Inactivity-Timer) .
Regarding Claims 14 and 28, Geng as modified further teaches:
The method of claim 1, further comprising receiving, from the UE, capability information indicating that the UE will be reachable after exiting an out-of-coverage state between the UE and a cell (Geng: e.g., par. ” network device obtains capability information of the terminal device, where the capability information is used to determine whether the terminal device supports the NTN cell and/or the TN cell”).
Regarding Claim 21, all limitations are taught by Claims 7-8. Therefore, Claim 21 is rejected for the same reasons as Claims 7-8.
Allowable Subject Matter
The Claim 31 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but is potentially allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 32 depends on Claim 31, therefore, it is objected for the same reason as Claim 31.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHITONG CHEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649