DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-15, 17-18 and 20-21 filed on 03/16/2026 are pending.
Claims 16 and 19 are canceled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments and remarks, filed 03/16/2026, with respect to amended 1-15, 17-18 and 20-21 has been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant presented argument that SHA and THANGARASA do not disclose the following technical features set forth in the amended claim 1:
“determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE does not have the first eDRX cycle, that a measurement duration for the UE to perform a cell selection is a predetermined value; or
determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE has the first eDRX cycle, that a measurement duration for the UE to perform a cell selection is a larger one of a predetermined value and the first eDRX cycle.”,
because THANGARASA at most discloses performing the cell re-selection with
the pre-start duration, but does not teach or suggest determining the measurement duration based on information indicating whether the UE has the eDRX cycle.
THANGARASA does not mention information indicating whether the UE has
the eDRX cycle. Instead, THANGARASA discloses determining whether the DRX cycle is greater than a threshold. (REMARKS, Pages 9-10)
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The Examiner presents the above cited limitation are in alternative form.
Further, THANGARASA discloses-
Page 5 Line 34 – Page 6 Line 3:
According to embodiments herein the radio network node configures the wireless device with at least two groups of carriers for measurements taking the DRX length into account, the wireless device may then when using an eDRX, i.e. DRX cycle or DRX
period > threshold, measures all carriers within the same group in one DRX cycle, e.g.
during ON duration of the DRX cycle …
Page 20 Line 35 – Page 21 Line 2:
…. in typical MTC operation with eDRX, the DRX cycles are expected to be quite long meaning that the wireless device 10 is expected to be in IDLE mode for most of the time.
Figure 3c boxes 313-315, Figure 5, Page 23 Lines 23-25:
One typical example of the procedure of a wireless device 10 configured with a pre-start duration to wake up prior to DRX ON duration and to measure on different groups on each pre-start duration and DRX ON duration is illustrated in Figure 5.
Page 25 Lines 25 – 33,
Number of bands available at the wireless device 10 for the measurement can be taken into account when deciding on the group size and also pre-start period. If there is more number of bands available for measurements, then it may take longer time for the wireless device 10 to measure on all those carriers …… If the number of bands is less, then wireless device 10 may measure more frequently.
The information on number of bands can also be used in combination with length of ON duration and/or length of DRX cycle. The ON duration and the length of DRX cycle that the wireless device 10 is configured with may be pre-defined.
Page 34 Line 27 – Page 35 Line 1:
Adapting of measurement procedure may comprise several actions. As part of the adapting procedure, the wireless device 10 may use information on pre-start duration length, T1 ms, provided that the wireless device 10 is pre-defined or configured with such information to configure the wireless device 10 to wake up T1 ms before the ON-duration of the DRX cycle to perform measurements. This is illustrated in Figure 5 above.
The pre-start duration length or period length, which is pre-defined or signaled, may depend on several factors as follows:
length of the DRX cycle;
Page 35 Lines 12-15:
In another example the pre-start duration length for said wireless device 10 may
be set to T1, where T1 is 800 ms, when the configured eDRX length is 30 minutes. However, the same wireless device 10 may be predefined with a pre-start duration
length of T2, where T2 is 400 ms, when it is configured with eDRX length of 5 minutes.
Page 37 Lines 11-20:
The radio network node 12 may also configure the wireless device 10 with prestart duration which allows the wireless device 10 to wake up prior to the start of the ON duration to perform measurements. The idea of pre-start duration is to allow time for the wireless device 10 to measure on configured carriers prior to ON-duration in order to take necessary actions, e.g. cell re-selection, handover, RRC re-establishment etc., during the ON-duration.
In above THANGARASA discloses –
cell/carrier measurements are done by wireless device or UE for Cell selection, handover (Page 37 Lines 11-20),
wireless device or UE measures carriers for an eDRX cycle or DRX cycle > threshold (Page 5 Line 34 – Page 6 Line 3)
eDRX cycle is associated with idle state of wireless device or UE (Page 20 Line 35 – Page 21 Line 2)
wireless device or UE measures cell/carriers during pre-start duration and DRX ON duration (Figure 5, Page 23 Lines 23-25)
pre-start duration is predefined or predetermined (Page 34 Line 27 – Page 35 Line 1)
if wireless device or UE configured or has eDRX length of 30 minutes a larger the predefined pre-start duration of T1=800ms for measurement may be used compared to predefined pre-start duration of T2=400ms when eDRX length of 5 minutes. (Page 35 Lines 12-15)
Therefore, THANGARASA discloses determining that wireless device or UE has a 30 minutes first eDRX cycle, the measurement duration of pre-start duration + DRX ON duration includes larger predefined T1 value of 800 ms for pre-start duration and first eDRX cycle for idle state,
which obviously teaches at least “determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE has the first eDRX cycle, that a measurement duration for the UE to perform a cell selection is a larger one of a predetermined value and the first eDRX cycle” as required by amended claim 1.
Accordingly claim1 and similarly claims 20 and 21 are rejected.
Dependent claims 2-13, 15 and 17-18 are also rejected for the same reason as above.
Claim 14 remains allowable subject matter, but objected being dependent on a base rejected claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 15, 17-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sha et al. (US 20220124624 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘SHA’) in view of Thangarasa et al. (WO 2016190798 A2, of IDS, hereinafter ‘THANGARASA’).
Regarding claim 1, SHA teaches a method for determining a measurement configuration (
Fig. 3, [0068] FIG. 3 is a flowchart of a terminal energy-saving method), performed by a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 3, UE or Terminal,
[0180] The terminal includes a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor), comprising:
determining relevant information of a first extended discontinuous reception (eDRX) cycle based on a non-connected state of the UE and an eDRX configuration of the UE (
Fig. 3 Step 304 -> 305,
[0078] In step 303, the base station determines the first parameter of the UE, that is, the paging eDRX parameter in the idle state and/or the deep sleep parameter in the idle state.
[0084] In step 304, the base station sends an RRC connection release message to the UE, where the RRC connection release message carries the first parameter.
[0086] In step 305, the UE performs the radio quality measurement and the paging monitoring based on the first parameter and a first predefined rule.
[0087] After receiving the RRC connection release message, the UE enters a context suspend state of the idle state or an RRC-Inactive state.
See also Fig. 6 step 602,
[0116] In step 602, the UE determines according to the first parameter to be in a normal mode in the idle state or a deep sleep mode in the idle state.); and
determining the measurement configuration of the UE based on the relevant information (
[0086] In step 305, the UE performs the radio quality measurement and the paging monitoring based on the first parameter and a first predefined rule.
[0088] The first predefined rule includes at least one of rules described below.
[0089] 1. When the first parameter includes the eDRX parameter in the idle state, the UE performs the paging monitoring only within the paging time window configured in the eDRX parameter.
[0090] 2. When the first parameter includes the deep sleep parameter in the idle state, the UE in the normal mode in the idle state performs the radio quality measurement and the paging monitoring; and the UE in the deep sleep mode in the idle state only maintains the necessary timers (such as the timer for determining that the UE enters the deep sleep (ActiveTimer) and a timer for the maximum duration of the deep sleep of the UE (DSM Timer)) and performs neither the radio quality measurement nor the paging monitoring.
[0091] After receiving the RRC connection release message, the UE enters the idle state. In the embodiment, the idle state is divided into the normal mode and the deep sleep mode. The normal mode in the idle state means that the UE releases an RRC connection, enters the idle state, and performs the radio quality measurement and the paging monitoring according to eDRX. That is, the UE in the normal mode in the idle state performs the radio quality measurement and the paging monitoring.
See also Fig. 6 step 604,
[0124] In step 604, when entering the normal mode in the idle state from the deep sleep mode, the UE performs the radio quality measurement and the paging monitoring.).
SHA does not explicitly disclose determining the measurement configuration of the UE based on the relevant information comprises:
determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE does not have the first eDRX cycle, the measurement duration for the UE to perform the cell selection is a predetermined value; or
determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE has the first eDRX cycle, the measurement duration for the UE to perform the cell selection is a larger one of a predetermined value and the first eDRX cycle.
In an analogous art, THANGARASA teaches determining the measurement configuration of the UE based on the relevant information comprises:
determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE does not have the first eDRX cycle, the measurement duration for the UE to perform the cell selection is a predetermined value; or
determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE has the first eDRX cycle, the measurement duration for the UE to perform the cell selection is a larger one of a predetermined value and the first eDRX cycle (
Page 5 Line 34 – Page 6 Line 3:
According to embodiments herein the radio network node configures the wireless device with at least two groups of carriers for measurements taking the DRX length into account, the wireless device may then when using an eDRX, i.e. DRX cycle or DRX
period > threshold, measures all carriers within the same group in one DRX cycle, e.g.
during ON duration of the DRX cycle …
Page 20 Line 35 – Page 21 Line 2:
…. in typical MTC operation with eDRX, the DRX cycles are expected to be quite long meaning that the wireless device 10 is expected to be in IDLE mode for most of the time.
Figure 3c boxes 313-315, Figure 5, Page 23 Lines 23-25:
One typical example of the procedure of a wireless device 10 configured with a pre-start duration to wake up prior to DRX ON duration and to measure on different groups on each pre-start duration and DRX ON duration is illustrated in Figure 5.
Page 25 Lines 25 – 33,
Number of bands available at the wireless device 10 for the measurement can be taken into account when deciding on the group size and also pre-start period. If there is more number of bands available for measurements, then it may take longer time for the wireless device 10 to measure on all those carriers …… If the number of bands is less, then wireless device 10 may measure more frequently.
The information on number of bands can also be used in combination with length of ON duration and/or length of DRX cycle. The ON duration and the length of DRX cycle that the wireless device 10 is configured with may be pre-defined.
Page 34 Line 27 – Page 35 Line 1:
Adapting of measurement procedure may comprise several actions. As part of the adapting procedure, the wireless device 10 may use information on pre-start duration length, T1 ms, provided that the wireless device 10 is pre-defined or configured with such information to configure the wireless device 10 to wake up T1 ms before the ON-duration of the DRX cycle to perform measurements. This is illustrated in Figure 5 above.
The pre-start duration length or period length, which is pre-defined or signaled, may depend on several factors as follows:
length of the DRX cycle;
Page 35 Lines 12-15:
In another example the pre-start duration length for said wireless device 10 may
be set to T1, where T1 is 800 ms, when the configured eDRX length is 30 minutes. However, the same wireless device 10 may be predefined with a pre-start duration
length of T2, where T2 is 400 ms, when it is configured with eDRX length of 5 minutes.
Page 37 Lines 11-20:
The radio network node 12 may also configure the wireless device 10 with prestart duration which allows the wireless device 10 to wake up prior to the start of the ON duration to perform measurements. The idea of pre-start duration is to allow time for the wireless device 10 to measure on configured carriers prior to ON-duration in order to take necessary actions, e.g. cell re-selection, handover, RRC re-establishment etc., during the ON-duration.
(In above THANGARASA discloses –
cell/carrier measurements are done by wireless device or UE for Cell selection, handover (Page 37 Lines 11-20),
wireless device or UE measures carriers for an eDRX cycle or DRX cycle > threshold (Page 5 Line 34 – Page 6 Line 3)
eDRX cycle is associated with idle state of wireless device or UE (Page 20 Line 35 – Page 21 Line 2)
wireless device or UE measures cell/carriers during pre-start duration and DRX ON duration (Figure 5, Page 23 Lines 23-25)
pre-start duration is predefined or predetermined (Page 34 Line 27 – Page 35 Line 1)
if wireless device or UE configured or has eDRX length of 30 minutes a larger the pre-start duration of T1=800ms for measurement may be used compared to pre-start duration of T2=400ms when eDRX length of 5 minutes. (Page 35 Lines 12-15)
From above, it is obvious that THANGARASA discloses determining that wireless device or UE has a 30 minutes first eDRX cycle, the measurement duration of pre-start duration + DRX ON duration includes larger predefined T1 of 800 ms for pre-start duration and first eDRX cycle)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of prioritized carriers for measurements during eDRX cycle of THANGARASA to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA in order to take the advantage of a method for deriving benefits of public safety carriers, for example, by prioritizing high priority carriers during long DRX cycle when wireless device may not be able to measure as frequently (THANGARASA: Page 26 line 25 - Page 27 line 2).
Regarding claim 2, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 1.
SHA does not explicitly disclose wherein the measurement configuration comprises at least one of:
a measurement time interval for the UE to measure a high-priority frequency; wherein, the high-priority frequency is a frequency with a priority higher than a frequency of a serving cell of the UE;
a measurement duration for the UE to perform a cell selection; or
a measurement parameter for radio resource management (RRM) measurement of a specified type of UE, wherein carriers to be measured of the specified type of UE comprise:
a first carrier group and a second carrier group, the first carrier group is a carrier group for which the specified type of UE has a carrier measurement requirement the same as a non-specified type of UE, and the second carrier group is a carrier group to be measured for which a measurement requirement is lower than the measurement requirement for the first carrier group
(although SHA discloses [0175] a UE reports to a base station a capability to support demodulation of a measurement signal of a different system; and the base station sends configuration information of the measurement signal of the different system to the UE …….. The UE jointly performs radio quality measurement such as RSRP/RSRQ for a cell of the UE and/or a neighbor cell based on a measurement signal of a system of the UE and the measurement signal of the different system ).
THANGARASA teaches wherein the measurement configuration comprises at least one of:
a measurement time interval for the UE to measure a high-priority frequency (
Page 26, Lines 27-31,
..... when grouping the carriers for measurement is the priority of bands/carriers. .... the carriers available for measurements may have different priorities ...... For example, the public safety carrier may have a higher priority than a MTC carrier. A cellular carrier may have higher priority than a MTC carrier etc. High priority carriers may be prioritized for measurements in case the wireless device 10 is configured with long DRX cycles); wherein, the high-priority frequency is a frequency with a priority higher than a frequency of a serving cell of the UE (
Page 26, Lines 27-31,
For example, the public safety carrier may have a higher priority than a MTC carrier. A cellular carrier may have higher priority than a MTC carrier etc. High priority carriers may be prioritized for measurements in case the wireless device 10 is configured with long DRX cycles.
(It is obvious if the serving cell carrier is a MTC carrier, then higher priority cellular carrier is measured during eDRX cycle));
a measurement duration for the UE to perform a cell selection (
Page 16 Lines 15-25,
Typically eDRX cycle capable wireless device 10 is configured or preconfigured by the radio network node 12 with an information element (IE) or a message associated with at least two group of carriers, e.g. a carrier group measurement IE, enabling the wireless device 10 to measure on cells of one or more carriers with the configured groups. ……The measurements are used by the radio network node 12 and/or the wireless device 10 to support functionalities such as mobility ….
Page 32, Lines 14-18,
The wireless device 10 after performing the measurements use the measurement results for one or more tasks or operations. Examples of such tasks are:
■ Performing cell change e.g. cell selection, cell reselection etc;); or
a measurement parameter for radio resource management (RRM) measurement of a specified type of UE (
Page 33, Lines 1-4,
One important aim of the adaptation of the measurement procedure is to comply and meet one or more pre-defined wireless device requirements related to wireless device measurements aka measurement requirements, Radio Resource Management (RRM) requirements, mobility requirements), wherein carriers to be measured of the specified type of UE comprise:
a first carrier group and a second carrier group, the first carrier group is a carrier group for which the specified type of UE has a carrier measurement requirement the same as a non-specified type of UE, and the second carrier group is a carrier group to be measured for which a measurement requirement is lower than the measurement requirement for the first carrier group (
Page 16 Lines 15-25,
Typically eDRX cycle capable wireless device 10 is configured or preconfigured by the radio network node 12 with an information element (IE) or a message associated with at least two group of carriers, e.g. a carrier group measurement IE, enabling the wireless device 10 to measure on cells of one or more carriers with the configured groups. The carriers can be intra-frequency, inter-frequency and inter-RAT carriers. The same or different set of carrier groups may be configured for measurements in RRC idle and connected states. The configured set of carrier groups may be cell specific, i.e. same for all wireless devices or group of wireless devices in the cell, or may be wireless device specific, i.e. configure for each wireless device separately. The measurements are used by the radio network node 12 and/or the wireless device 10 to support functionalities such as mobility.
Page 38, Lines 1-12,
The radio network node 12 ... may be configured to transmit the message .... informing the wireless device which carrier or carriers to perform radio 5 measurements on when the wireless device 10 is configured with the DRX cycle above the threshold. .......The message may comprise data indicating the at least one carrier of the first group to perform radio measurement on when the DRX cycle is above the threshold and data indicating at least one second carrier of 10 the second group to perform radio measurement on when the DRX cycle is equal to or below the threshold, e.g. when the first group is for MTC devices and the second group is four non MTC devices.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of prioritized carriers for measurements during eDRX cycle of THANGARASA to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA in order to take the advantage of a method for deriving benefits of public safety carriers, for example, by prioritizing high priority carriers during long DRX cycle when wireless device may not be able to measure as frequently (THANGARASA: Page 26 line 25 - Page 27 line 2).
Regarding claim 3, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the relevant information of the first eDRX cycle based on the non-connected state of the UE and the eDRX configuration of the UE comprises at least one of:
in response to the UE being in an idle state and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle; or in response to the UE being in an idle state and not configured with an idle state eDRX cycle, determining that the UE does not have the first eDRX cycle (
.See [0089-0091] cited for claim 1.
See also Fig. 6, Step 604, Fig. 7A).
Regarding claim 4, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 3, wherein, when it is determined that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle, and a measurement time of the UE falls within a paging time window (PTW) of the idle state eDRX cycle (
[0089] 1. When the first parameter includes the eDRX parameter in the idle state, the UE performs the paging monitoring only within the paging time window configured in the eDRX parameter.
See also Fig. 5A PTW (Paging Time Window) in Paging eDRX cycle).
SHA does not explicitly disclose the first eDRX cycle is greater than a first cycle.
THANGARASA teaches the first eDRX cycle is greater than a first cycle (
Page 26 Lines 9-10, 29-32,
when the wireless device 10 is configured with a short DRX cycles, e.g. DRX cycle< 5 min. ....High priority carriers may be prioritized for measurements in case the wireless device 10 is configured with long DRX cycles while the same carriers may be equally split between groups in case the wireless device 10 is configured with short DRX cycles….
Page 35 Lines 15-17,
when it is configured with eDRX length of 5 minutes. The reason is that the wireless device 10 is inactive for longer time when the configured eDRX length is long ….).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of prioritized carriers for measurements during eDRX cycle of THANGARASA to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA in order to take the advantage of a method for deriving benefits of public safety carriers, for example, by prioritizing high priority carriers during long DRX cycle when wireless device may not be able to measure as frequently (THANGARASA: Page 26 line 25 - Page 27 line 2).
Regarding claim 5, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein determining the relevant information of the first eDRX cycle based on the non-connected state of the UE (
Fig. 6, Steps 610->602) and the eDRX configuration of the UE comprises at least one of:
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle not greater than a first cycle and not configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle, determining that the UE does not have the first eDRX cycle; or in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle not greater than a first cycle and not configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle (
[0039] all terminals that support RRC INACTIVE, such as LTE and 5G terminals, cannot enter the eDRX or the PSM when they are in the RRC-Inactive state.
[0040] In embodiments of the present disclosure, a new terminal energy-saving scheme is provided, which enables the UE that accesses the 5GC to support an energy-saving mode in the idle state, thereby reducing the power consumption of the UE.
(Construed that when the UE/Terminal in inactive state and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle not greater than a first cycle and not configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle, does not have first eDRX cycle for inactive state)).
Regarding claim 6, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 4, wherein, determining the relevant information of the first eDRX cycle based on the non-connected state of the UE and the eDRX configuration of the UE comprises:
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than the first cycle and not configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle, and that the measurement time of the UE falls within the PTW defined by the idle state eDRX cycle (
[0040] In embodiments of the present disclosure, a new terminal energy-saving scheme is provided, which enables the UE that accesses the 5GC to support an energy-saving mode in the idle state, thereby reducing the power consumption of the UE.
See also Fig. 5A PTW (Paging Time Window) in eDRX cycle).
Regarding claim 15, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 2, determining the measurement configuration of the UE based on the relevant information (
See SHA cited for claim 1).
SHA does not explicitly disclose comprises:
determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE does not have the first eDRX cycle, the measurement time interval of the high-priority frequency is M*Nlayers, or determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE has the first eDRX cycle, the measurement time interval of the high-priority frequency is a larger one of M*Nlayers and at least one first eDRX cycle;
wherein, M is any positive integer, and Nlayers is a total number of high-priority frequencies.
THANGARASA teaches comprises:
determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE does not have the first eDRX cycle, the measurement time interval of the high-priority frequency is M*Nlayers, or determining, based on the relevant information indicating that the UE has the first eDRX cycle, the measurement time interval of the high-priority frequency is a larger one of M*Nlayers and at least one first eDRX cycle;
wherein, M is any positive integer, and Nlayers is a total number of high-priority frequencies (
Page 25 Lines 25-33,
Number of bands available at the wireless device 10 for the measurement can be taken into account when deciding on the group size and also pre-start period. If there is more number of bands available for measurements, then it may take longer time for the wireless device 10 to measure on all those carriers …... If the number of bands is less, then wireless device 10 may measure more frequently.
The information on number of bands can also be used in combination with length of ON duration and/or length of DRX cycle. The ON duration and the length of DRX cycle that the wireless device 10 is configured with may be pre-defined.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of prioritized carriers for measurements during eDRX cycle of THANGARASA to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA in order to take the advantage of a method for deriving benefits of public safety carriers, for example, by prioritizing high priority carriers during long DRX cycle when wireless device may not be able to measure as frequently (THANGARASA: Page 26 line 25 - Page 27 line 2).
Regarding claim 17, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 2, determining the measurement configuration of the UE based on the relevant information (
See SHA cited for claim 1).
SHA does not explicitly disclose comprises at least one of:
in response to the specified type of UE having the first eDRX cycle, determining, based on a number of carriers in the first carrier group, the measurement configuration of a neighboring cell corresponding to the carriers in the first carrier group;
in response to the specified type of UE having the first eDRX cycle not greater than a second cycle, determining, based on a number of carriers in the second carrier group and a relaxation coefficient, the measurement configuration of a neighboring cell corresponding to the carriers in the second carrier group; or
in response to the specified type of UE having the first eDRX cycle greater than a second cycle, and a signal measurement value of the serving cell of the UE meeting a preset condition, determining, based on a number of carriers in the second carrier group and a relaxation coefficient, the measurement configuration of a neighboring cell corresponding to the carriers in the second carrier group;
wherein, the relaxation coefficient is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2.
THANGARASA teaches comprises at least one of:
in response to the specified type of UE having the first eDRX cycle, determining, based on a number of carriers in the first carrier group, the measurement configuration of a neighboring cell corresponding to the carriers in the first carrier group;
in response to the specified type of UE having the first eDRX cycle not greater than a second cycle, determining, based on a number of carriers in the second carrier group and a relaxation coefficient, the measurement configuration of a neighboring cell corresponding to the carriers in the second carrier group; or
in response to the specified type of UE having the first eDRX cycle greater than a second cycle, and a signal measurement value of the serving cell of the UE meeting a preset condition, determining, based on a number of carriers in the second carrier group and a relaxation coefficient, the measurement configuration of a neighboring cell corresponding to the carriers in the second carrier group;
wherein, the relaxation coefficient is a positive integer greater than or equal to 2 (
Fig. 6, Page 31 Lines 1-13, Page 32 Lines 8-11:
Action 601. The wireless device 10 may obtain the information on the groups of carriers for measurement from a serving network node e.g. from the radio network node 12 serving any of the serving cells such as PCell, SCell, PSCell etc.
Action 602. The wireless device 10 may also obtain the information on the 5 groups of carriers for measurement from other network nodes, such as neighbor network nodes, core-network node, or other type of dedicated or non-dedicated nodes. For example in this case the wireless device 10 may read the system information sent on a broadcast channel by the radio network node 12 or another network node.
Action 603. The wireless device 10 may also be pre-configured with full or 10 partial information related to the groups of carriers for measurements. In case of reconfiguration of the partial information some parameters may be pre-configured while the remaining parameters may be received from the radio network node 12.
......
Action 607. The wireless device 10 upon obtaining said information uses at least the obtained information to perform one or more measurements on one or more 10 cells on the carriers belonging to the determined carrier groups based on the length of the DRX cycle configured for the wireless device 10.
Page 33 Lines 5-8:
Examples of wireless device requirements related to wireless device measurements are measurement time, measurement reporting time or delay, measurement accuracy, e.g. RSRP/RSRQ accuracy, number of cells to be measured over the measurement time etc.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of prioritized carriers for measurements during eDRX cycle of THANGARASA to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA in order to take the advantage of a method for deriving benefits of public safety carriers, for example, by prioritizing high priority carriers during long DRX cycle when wireless device may not be able to measure as frequently (THANGARASA: Page 26 line 25 - Page 27 line 2).
Regarding claim 18, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 17, wherein the signal measurement value comprises: a reference signal received power (RSRP) or a reference signal received quality (RSPQ) (
[0174] as shown in FIG. 11A, a base station sends configuration information of a measurement signal of a different system to a user equipment (UE). ….. The UE ….. jointly performs radio quality measurement such as reference signal receiving power (RSRP)/reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ) for a cell of the UE and/or a neighbor cell based on a measurement signal of a system of the UE and the measurement signal of the different system.).
SHA does not explicitly disclose meeting the preset condition comprises:
a RSRP of the serving cell being not greater than a RSRP threshold; or a RSPQ of the serving cell being not greater than a RSRQ threshold.
THANGARASA teaches meeting the preset condition comprises:
a RSRP of the serving cell being not greater than a RSRP threshold; or a RSPQ of the serving cell being not greater than a RSRQ threshold (
Page 8, Lines 1-4:
The time between two consecutive DRX cycles is so long that the M2M device internal settings may have changed or the M2M device may have considerably been moved with respect to its earlier physical location. For example, the old serving cell may not be available any longer....
Page 18, Lines 4-19:
Action 404. The radio network node 12 transmits information about the 5 determined groups of carriers to the wireless device 10 for enabling the wireless device 10 to perform one or more measurements on the carrier/s of at least one group.
Action 407. The radio network node 12 may receive reports of measurements from the wireless device 10.
Action 408. The radio network node 12 may compare one or more measurements, e.g. RSRP, RSRQ, with their respective thresholds.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of prioritized carriers for measurements during eDRX cycle of THANGARASA to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA in order to take the advantage of a method for deriving benefits of public safety carriers, for example, by prioritizing high priority carriers during long DRX cycle when wireless device may not be able to measure as frequently (THANGARASA: Page 26 line 25 - Page 27 line 2).
Regarding claim 20, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is interpreted mutatis mutandis of claim 1 and rejected for the same reason as set forth for claim 1.
Claims 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sha et al. (US 20220124624 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘SHA’) in view of Thangarasa et al. (WO 2016190798 A2, of IDS, hereinafter ‘THANGARASA’) in view of Koskinen et al. (US 20240147571 A1, of record, hereinafter ‘KOSKINEN’).
Regarding claim 7, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 1, determining the relevant information of the first eDRX cycle based on the non-connected state of the UE and the eDRX configuration of the UE (
See SHA as cited for claim 1).
SHA and THANGARASA do not explicitly disclose comprises at least one of:
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle not greater than a first cycle and an inactive state eDRX cycle not greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the inactive state eDRX cycle; or
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle not greater than a first cycle and an inactive state eDRX cycle not greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to a smaller one of the inactive state eDRX cycle and the idle state eDRX cycle.
In an analogous art, KOSKINEN teaches wherein determining the relevant information of the first eDRX cycle based on the non-connected state of the UE and the eDRX configuration of the UE comprises at least one of:
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle not greater than a first cycle and an inactive state eDRX cycle not greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the inactive state eDRX cycle; or
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle not greater than a first cycle and an inactive state eDRX cycle not greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to a smaller one of the inactive state eDRX cycle and the idle state eDRX cycle (
[0070] In one example network broadcast whether eDRX for both IDLE are INACTIVE mode is allowed or supported on the cell.
[0071] Further in accordance with an example embodiment of the invention dedicated control to enable eDRX or DRX is done via at least one of the following:
[0072] Enabled via RRC release message when sending the UE to IDLE/INACTIVE mode;
[0073] Enabled via NAS e.g. via registration procedure;
[0074] It could be one bit enabling or NAS could additionally configure maximum eDRX allowed for the UE since NAS functionality also needed to support for eDRX, and/or
[0075] The UE uses the minimum between NAS configured maximum eDRX cycle and the SIB broadcasted eDRX cycle, or the broadcasted eDRX cycle is only used if it is shorter than the NAS configured maximum eDRX cycle.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of Extended Discontinuous Reception configurations (eDRX) of KOSKINEN to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA and THANGARASA in order to take the advantage of a method for optimizations for improving eDRX configurations operations (KOSKINEN: [0001, 0019]).
Regarding claim 8, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 1, determining the relevant information of the first eDRX cycle based on the non-connected state of the UE and the eDRX configuration of the UE (
See SHA as cited for claim 1).
SHA and THANGARASA do not explicitly disclose comprises at least one of:
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and not configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle; or in response to the UE being in an inactive state, configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and not configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle, determining that the UE does not have the first eDRX cycle.
KOSKINEN teaches wherein determining the relevant information of the first eDRX cycle based on the non-connected state of the UE and the eDRX configuration of the UE comprises at least one of:
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and not configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle; or in response to the UE being in an inactive state, configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and not configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle, determining that the UE does not have the first eDRX cycle (
[0023] wherein the allowance information is identifying whether eDRX for both IDLE and INACTIVE states is allowed or supported or can be applied on the cell.
[0070] In one example network broadcast whether eDRX for both IDLE are INACTIVE mode is allowed or supported on the cell.
[0075] The UE uses the minimum between NAS configured maximum eDRX cycle and the SIB broadcasted eDRX cycle, or the broadcasted eDRX cycle is only used if it is shorter than the NAS configured maximum eDRX cycle.
(It is obvious same eDRX cycle can be applied for both IDLE are INACTIVE mode, and therefore the configured eDRX cycle can be idle state eDRX cycle applicable for INACTIVE state )).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of Extended Discontinuous Reception configurations (eDRX) of KOSKINEN to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA and THANGARASA in order to take the advantage of a method for optimizations for improving eDRX configurations operations (KOSKINEN: [0001, 0019]).
Regarding claim 9, SHA, in view of THANGARASA and KOSKINEN, teaches the method of claim 8.
SHA and THANGARASA do not explicitly disclose wherein, the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle, a measurement time of the UE falls within a PTW defined by the idle state eDRX cycle.
KOSKINEN teaches wherein, the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle, a measurement time of the UE falls within a PTW defined by the idle state eDRX cycle (
[0041] Agreement via email
2. For RRC_IDLE and/or RRC_INACTIVE, if the NR DRX cycle range is extended beyond 10.24s, the LTE eDRX mechanism beyond 10.24s (e.g., PTW, PH, etc.) is used as baseline when NR eDRX cycle is configured beyond 10.24s.
See also [0047] 3GPP TS 36.300 the following is specified:
…. When extended DRX (eDRX) is used in idle mode, the following are applicable….
During the PTW, the UE monitors paging for the duration of the PTW …
[0070] network broadcast whether eDRX for both IDLE are INACTIVE mode is allowed or supported on the cell.
[0075] The UE uses the minimum between NAS configured maximum eDRX cycle and the SIB broadcasted eDRX cycle, or the broadcasted eDRX cycle is only used if it is shorter than the NAS configured maximum eDRX cycle.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of Extended Discontinuous Reception configurations (eDRX) of KOSKINEN to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA and THANGARASA in order to take the advantage of a method for optimizations for improving eDRX configurations operations (KOSKINEN: [0001, 0019]).
.
Regarding claim 10, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 1, determining the relevant information of the first eDRX cycle based on the non-connected state of the UE and the eDRX configuration of the UE (
See SHA as cited for claim 1).
SHA and THANGARASA do not explicitly disclose comprises at least one of:
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle not greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle; or in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle not greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to a smaller one of the inactive state eDRX cycle and the idle state eDRX cycle.
KOSKINEN teaches wherein determining the relevant information of the first eDRX cycle based on the non-connected state of the UE and the eDRX configuration of the UE comprises at least one of:
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle not greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle; or in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle not greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to a smaller one of the inactive state eDRX cycle and the idle state eDRX cycle (
[0070] In one example network broadcast whether eDRX for both IDLE are INACTIVE mode is allowed or supported on the cell.
[0077] Additionally or alternatively, the UE is configured with maximum eDRX cycle the UE can apply in IDLE/INACTIVE state, e.g., via NAS or RRC releasee message. Based on the eDRX configuration broadcast over SIB for a given cell, UE determines whether it is allowed to use the eDRX in the cell or not, or which cycle to be used. In case the eDRX cycle applied in the cell is longer than the maximum allowed eDRX cycle for the UE, the UE applies normal DRX or apply the maximum allowed value.
[0078] In one example, the NW can broadcast multiple eDRX configurations within a cell and/or multiple eDRX cycles. The UE applies the longest eDRX cycle it is allowed to use.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of Extended Discontinuous Reception configurations (eDRX) of KOSKINEN to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA and THANGARASA in order to take the advantage of a method for optimizations for improving eDRX configurations operations (KOSKINEN: [0001, 0019]).
Regarding claim 11, SHA, in view of THANGARASA and KOSKINEN, teaches the method of claim 10.
SHA and THANGARASA do not explicitly disclose wherein [[in]] in case of determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle, and a measurement time of the UE falls within a PTW of the idle state eDRX cycle.
KOSKINEN teaches wherein [[in]] in case of determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle, and a measurement time of the UE falls within a PTW of the idle state eDRX cycle (
[0041] Agreement via email
2. For RRC_IDLE and/or RRC_INACTIVE, if the NR DRX cycle range is extended beyond 10.24s, the LTE eDRX mechanism beyond 10.24s (e.g., PTW, PH, etc.) is used as baseline when NR eDRX cycle is configured beyond 10.24s.
See also [0047] 3GPP TS 36.300 the following is specified:
…. When extended DRX (eDRX) is used in idle mode, the following are applicable….
During the PTW, the UE monitors paging for the duration of the PTW …
[0070] network broadcast whether eDRX for both IDLE are INACTIVE mode is allowed or supported on the cell.
[0077] Additionally or alternatively, the UE is configured with maximum eDRX cycle the UE can apply in IDLE/INACTIVE state, e.g., via NAS or RRC releasee message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of Extended Discontinuous Reception configurations (eDRX) of KOSKINEN to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA and THANGARASA in order to take the advantage of a method for optimizations for improving eDRX configurations operations (KOSKINEN: [0001, 0019]).
Regarding claim 12, SHA, in view of THANGARASA, teaches the method of claim 1, determining the relevant information of the first eDRX cycle based on the non-connected state of the UE and the eDRX configuration of the UE (
See SHA as cited for claim 1).
SHA and THANGARASA do not explicitly disclose comprises at least one of:
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle;
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the inactive state eDRX cycle; or in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to a smaller one of the idle state eDRX cycle and the inactive state eDRX cycle.
KOSKINEN teaches comprises at least one of:
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle;
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the inactive state eDRX cycle; or
in response to the UE being in an inactive state, and configured with an idle state eDRX cycle greater than a first cycle and configured with an inactive state eDRX cycle greater than the first cycle, determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to a smaller one of the idle state eDRX cycle and the inactive state eDRX cycle (
[0070] In one example network broadcast whether eDRX for both IDLE are INACTIVE mode is allowed or supported on the cell.
[0077] Additionally or alternatively, the UE is configured with maximum eDRX cycle the UE can apply in IDLE/INACTIVE state, e.g., via NAS or RRC releasee message. Based on the eDRX configuration broadcast over SIB for a given cell, UE determines whether it is allowed to use the eDRX in the cell or not, or which cycle to be used. In case the eDRX cycle applied in the cell is longer than the maximum allowed eDRX cycle for the UE, the UE applies …… the maximum allowed value.
[0078] In one example, the NW can broadcast multiple eDRX configurations within a cell and/or multiple eDRX cycles. The UE applies the longest eDRX cycle it is allowed to use.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of Extended Discontinuous Reception configurations (eDRX) of KOSKINEN to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA and THANGARASA in order to take the advantage of a method for optimizations for improving eDRX configurations operations (KOSKINEN: [0001, 0019]).
Regarding claim 13, SHA, in view of THANGARASA and KOSKINEN, teaches the method of claim 12.
SHA and THANGARASA do not explicitly disclose wherein,
in case of determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle, a measurement time of the UE falls within a PTW of the idle state eDRX cycle; or
in case of determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the inactive state eDRX cycle, a measurement time of the UE falls within a PTW of the inactive state eDRX cycle.
KOSKINEN teaches wherein,
in case of determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the idle state eDRX cycle, a measurement time of the UE falls within a PTW of the idle state eDRX cycle; or
in case of determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the inactive state eDRX cycle, a measurement time of the UE falls within a PTW of the inactive state eDRX cycle (
[0041] Agreement via email
2. For RRC_IDLE and/or RRC_INACTIVE, if the NR DRX cycle range is extended beyond 10.24s, the LTE eDRX mechanism beyond 10.24s (e.g., PTW, PH, etc.) is used as baseline when NR eDRX cycle is configured beyond 10.24s.
See also [0047] 3GPP TS 36.300 the following is specified:
…. When extended DRX (eDRX) is used in idle mode, the following are applicable….
During the PTW, the UE monitors paging for the duration of the PTW …
[0070] network broadcast whether eDRX for both IDLE are INACTIVE mode is allowed or supported on the cell.
[0077] Additionally or alternatively, the UE is configured with maximum eDRX cycle the UE can apply in IDLE/INACTIVE state, e.g., via NAS or RRC releasee message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to take the technique of Extended Discontinuous Reception configurations (eDRX) of KOSKINEN to the system of terminal energy-saving of SHA and THANGARASA in order to take the advantage of a method for optimizations for improving eDRX configurations operations (KOSKINEN: [0001, 0019]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and in intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14, SHA, THANGARASA, KOSKINEN or any prior arts of record either alone or in combination fails to teach the method of claim 12, wherein in case of determining that the UE has the first eDRX cycle equal to the smaller one of the idle state eDRX cycle and the inactive state eDRX cycle, a measurement time of the UE falls within a smaller one of a PTW of the idle state eDRX cycle and a PTW of the inactive state eDRX cycle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Shrestha et al. (US 20220078872 A1) describing SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR OPERATION OF ENHANCED MACHINE TYPE COMMUNICATION (EMTC) AND NARROW BAND INTERNET-OF-THINGS (NB-IOT) USER EQUIPMENTS (UES) WHEN CONNECTED TO 5G CORE NETWORK (5GCN)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAH M RAHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413