DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Peterson et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0058474 A1 (“Peterson”).
As to Claim 1, Peterson teaches the following:
A sensor unit (“sensor housing assembly”) 800 for measuring biometric information of a user by being attached to skin of a user (see “The present invention relates generally to glucose monitoring sensors. More particularly, the present invention relates to glucose monitoring sensors and an inserter assembly therefor for continuous glucose monitoring in a patient.” in para. [0002]; and see “Referring now to FIG. 13, a top perspective view shows an embodiment of sensor housing assembly 800 separate from inserter assembly 200.” in para. [0137], and see figs. 13 and 14), the sensor unit comprising;
a sensor (not labeled, see the sensor structure shown in fig. 20) comprising a sensor body (“sensor board”) 280, and an insertion portion (“continuous monitoring sensor”) 120 connected to the sensor body 280 to be disposed on a plane different from the sensor body 280 (“sensor board 280” and “continuous monitoring sensor 120” are shown in different vertical planes) to be inserted into the skin of the user (see “FIGS. 19 and 20 illustrate enlarged views of sensor 120 and sensor board 280.” in para. [0139], and figs. 19 and 20);
a housing base (“sensor housing”) 206 having a housing base hole (“sensor opening”) 250 through which the insertion portion 120 passes, and supporting the sensor body 280 (see “Sensor deployment assembly 236 remains with sensor housing 206 due to continued engagement between deployment body catch 238 and base catch surface 242. Sensor deployment assembly 236 includes a deployment body 236a, deployment guide 244, a sensor carrier 270, and a sensor board 280. Continuous monitoring sensor 120 extends through a sensor opening 250 in bottom 252 of sensor housing 206 when implanted subcutaneously in a patient.” in para. [0137], and see fig. 14);
a housing cap (“sensor deployment assembly”) 236 coupled to the housing base 206 and covering the sensor body 280 (see “Sensor deployment assembly 236 remains with sensor housing 206 due to continued engagement between deployment body catch 238 and base catch surface 242. Sensor deployment assembly 236 includes a deployment body 236a, deployment guide 244, a sensor carrier 270, and a sensor board 280.” in para. [0137], and see fig. 14); and
a retention protrusion (“deployment body catch”) 238 protruding from the housing cap 236 to be contacted with (contacted via “deployment body 236a” and “sensor deployment assembly 236”) the sensor (not labeled, see the sensor structure shown in fig. 20 and shown in fig. 14) to prevent movement of the insertion portion 120 retreating toward the housing cap 236 (see “Sensor deployment assembly 236 remains with sensor housing 206 due to continued engagement between deployment body catch 238 and base catch surface 242.” in para. [0137]).
As to Claim 6, Peterson teaches the following:
wherein the housing cap 236 has a protrusion (“sensor carrier”) 270 pressing the sensor body 280 toward the housing base 206 by being contacted with the sensor body 280 (see “Turning now to FIGS. 15 and 16, there are illustrated enlarged views of one embodiment of the sensor carrier 270 and sensor 120.” in para. [0138], and see figs. 15 and 16).
As to Claim 7, Peterson teaches the following:
an adhesive pad (“sensor housing adhesive pad”) 600 interposed between the sensor body 206 and the housing cap 236 to adhere the sensor body 206 and the housing cap 236 (see para. [0185]).
As to Claim 8, Peterson teaches the following:
a sensor adhesive portion (“sensor housing adhesive pad”) 600 interposed between the sensor body 280 and the housing base 206 to attach one surface of the sensor body 280 to the housing base 206 (see para. [0185]),
wherein the sensor adhesive portion 600 has a sensor adhesive portion opening, the sensor body 280 has a contact point disposed in the sensor adhesive portion opening for electrical connection, and the sensor adhesive portion 600 seals the contact point by surrounding the contact point (see fig. 23).
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
6. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to Claims 2-5, Peterson teaches the subject matter of base claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Peterson teaches the following:
wherein:
the sensor (not labeled, see the sensor structure shown in fig. 20) connects the sensor body 280 and the insertion portion 120 by being disposed on the plane different from the sensor body 280 (“sensor board 280” and “continuous monitoring sensor 120” are shown in different vertical planes) and comprises a middle portion (not labeled, see loop of “continuous monitoring sensor 120” shown in fig. 19) wider than the insertion portion 120 (the width of the loop of “continuous monitoring sensor 120” shown in fig. 19 is wider than the width of the “continuous monitoring sensor 120”), and …
However, neither Peterson nor the prior art of record teaches the sensor unit of base claim 1, including the following, in combination with all other limitations of the base claim:
the retention protrusion is provided to contact the middle portion.
Conclusion
/NAVIN NATNITHITHADHA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791 12/17/2025